Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby 16 cycles » July 27th, 2011, 3:20 pm

embed disabled from OP's post

can see images of the aftermath coming to end of vid...

carmelo

Postby carmelo » July 27th, 2011, 3:43 pm

Strauss wrote:
I dare to say you lack the economic intelligence (as most of the population) to understand HOW the NAR saved the country. If it wasn't for their strict policies, we'd be like Haiti now.

But uneducated people after years of PNM-gimme-gimme mentality would not see this. They expect everything to just get better while not having to sacrifice a cent. And yet they want to be jealous of successful people who sacrifice to get where they are now.

ok economic intelligence you say.............. a country borrows money from the IMF as a last resort. we didnt need to go there do you know what the IMF does when they loan money to a country what is the policy behind their lending practices it is called the washington concensus, and this is how it works:
the IMF sends they financial analysts to the country central bank and begins to implement policies on how the government should spend that money which necessarily mean cutting out social services , govt funding on projects , increases taxes, devaluing currency, which in turn results in retrenchment job cuts, cost of living increases, salary cuts, prices go up. during the time of the NAR govt this was the order of the day.
it was only a matter of time. but i think there is more to 1990 that ppl would never hear about. what all them businessmen who burn out their businesses during that time and claim insurance from the gov't.
who bring in the guns, u really think abu bakr could do that.
why do you think narco trade still booming
why do think that election was called so early
what was the so called meetings with certain sectors of the business community and the now PM was about?
all i can say is this if we continue to be ignorant due to lack of knowledge then we are doomed to fail and repeat the same mistakes. it will happen again and this time it will be alot worse that 1990

the 1990 coup was a smokescreen to transition our country into a state where a particular sector will continue to bind us to their policies and subject the population to abject strife.

Postby Cjruckus » July 27th, 2011, 7:00 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:blue... Cj is a cnut. Has always, and will always be.

CJ, wham boy yuh eh see meh question??? How yuh he hail meh? Ah did hail yuh in superpharm d other day if yuh remember.... eh "yusif" lol really thought you looked like richard yes... the gym doing yuh good.

thanx man.
Didn't recognize you at all. But its good to see you around.

Postby Cjruckus » July 27th, 2011, 7:02 pm

bluefete wrote:
Strauss wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
Thank you Yasin Abu Bakr for saving us from the tyranny known as The National Alliance for Reconstruction.

As we head down similar paths that built up to the climax known as the coup of 1990, I encourage all citizens to remember how Abu Bakr rescued a nation from the NAR.

Pray to God someone does it again.

One Love.

I dare to say you lack the economic intelligence (as most of the population) to understand HOW the NAR saved the country. If it wasn't for their strict policies, we'd be like Haiti now.

But uneducated people after years of PNM-gimme-gimme mentality would not see this. They expect everything to just get better while not having to sacrifice a cent. And yet they want to be jealous of successful people who sacrifice to get where they are now.

CJRuckus: Are you old enough to remember the circumstances of the coup? If you are, time seems to have dulled your memory. The PEOPLE of T&T were NOT in support of this attempted coup!! As a matter of fact, citizens were cooking and feeding the army personnel who were trying to suppress this travesty. Maybe with the exception of your PNM leader - Patrick Manning.

Why don't you go and ask Mr. Manning, at your next balisier meeting, where he was hiding during the coup. I could tell you but I prefer you to ask.

You PNM people wanted Abu to do your dirty work for you and then were hoping that he would turn the country back over to the PNM.

Why don't you tell us which high ranking customs official(s) allowed those thousands of guns and ammunition to come into the country unimpeded and which port they came through?

Hint: They did not come through Icacos.

Go talk to the families of those who were MURDERED during the coup.

And you dare to talk about the murder rate now. If you do some research, you will see the exponential increase in our murder rates since July 1990.

How come the PNM was ALWAYS AGAINST having a gun amnesty in T&T?

Which locals financed Abu Bakr? And please don't tell me anything about Gaddaffi. He is just a smoke screen.

Anyway, lemme just end here before I choke on the bile in my throat caused by your nefarious wishes for the country.

The old people have a saying:

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR. YOU MIGHT GET IT.

And you really better be careful CJ because if it comes it will hit you so close to home that you will regret ever writing these words.

Have a good day.

So you won't agree that the Coup did the country some good?

Remember, history is written by the victors.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 27th, 2011, 7:11 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:blue... Cj is a cnut. Has always, and will always be.

CJ, wham boy yuh eh see meh question??? How yuh he hail meh? Ah did hail yuh in superpharm d other day if yuh remember.... eh "yusif" lol really thought you looked like richard yes... the gym doing yuh good.

thanx man.
Didn't recognize you at all. But its good to see you around.

yeah im pulling d shave head look... But long time. Thanks for d bess coolant and a great price! BTW i saw hans the other day but didn't get to talk to him.

Postby janfar » July 28th, 2011, 2:47 am

pioneer wrote:wait wait hold on i now see this one...

bluefete wrote:Why don't you tell us which high ranking customs official(s) allowed those thousands of guns and ammunition to come into the country unimpeded and which port they came through?

Let's go back further, how come did the ATF allow the containers of guns to leave the Port of Miami? (United States, it's not in barackpoor or couver)

They were tracking Bakr's movements for months and very well knew of the gun trade shows he went to.

Tell us about that?

Maybe just maybe, the Americans used Bakr as a tool to remove robbie and the corrupt drug-running regime?

NAR opened the floodgates to hell by handing the drug runners this country on a silver platter. As i said before, there are lots of top-ranking NAR people still holding power today, why?

stop beatin up yuh chess... enlighten the masses and the ignorant. I for one would like to know exactly what you all have been insinuating all this time... enough with the parables...

oh... one moar teeng...

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=355349&hilit=scott+drug+report

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2011, 5:54 am

pioneer wrote:wait wait hold on i now see this one...

bluefete wrote:Why don't you tell us which high ranking customs official(s) allowed those thousands of guns and ammunition to come into the country unimpeded and which port they came through?

Let's go back further, how come did the ATF allow the containers of guns to leave the Port of Miami? (United States, it's not in barackpoor or couver)

They were tracking Bakr's movements for months and very well knew of the gun trade shows he went to.

Tell us about that?

Maybe just maybe, the Americans used Bakr as a tool to remove robbie and the corrupt drug-running regime?

NAR opened the floodgates to hell by handing the drug runners this country on a silver platter. As i said before, there are lots of top-ranking NAR people still holding power today, why?

Maybe daiz why dey los' de ole man (not Bakr, de one in NY) in jail recently. Something was gonna give and dey hadda put away witnesses.

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2011, 5:59 am

Cjruckus wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Strauss wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
Thank you Yasin Abu Bakr for saving us from the tyranny known as The National Alliance for Reconstruction.

As we head down similar paths that built up to the climax known as the coup of 1990, I encourage all citizens to remember how Abu Bakr rescued a nation from the NAR.

One Love.

CJRuckus: Are you old enough to remember the circumstances of the coup? If you are, time seems to have dulled your memory. The PEOPLE of T&T were NOT in support of this attempted coup!! As a matter of fact, citizens were cooking and feeding the army personnel who were trying to suppress this travesty. Maybe with the exception of your PNM leader - Patrick Manning.

Why don't you go and ask Mr. Manning, at your next balisier meeting, where he was hiding during the coup. I could tell you but I prefer you to ask.

You PNM people wanted Abu to do your dirty work for you and then were hoping that he would turn the country back over to the PNM.

Why don't you tell us which high ranking customs official(s) allowed those thousands of guns and ammunition to come into the country unimpeded and which port they came through?

Hint: They did not come through Icacos.

Go talk to the families of those who were MURDERED during the coup.

And you dare to talk about the murder rate now. If you do some research, you will see the exponential increase in our murder rates since July 1990.

How come the PNM was ALWAYS AGAINST having a gun amnesty in T&T?

Which locals financed Abu Bakr? And please don't tell me anything about Gaddaffi. He is just a smoke screen.

Anyway, lemme just end here before I choke on the bile in my throat caused by your nefarious wishes for the country.

The old people have a saying:

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR. YOU MIGHT GET IT.

And you really better be careful CJ because if it comes it will hit you so close to home that you will regret ever writing these words.

Have a good day.

So you won't agree that the Coup did the country some good?

Remember, history is written by the victors.

NOPE!!!! What is the current murder toll?

On the other hand, it made people more aware of what is going on in T&T. 20 years later, it is still vivid in the memories of so many people. And it is important to remember so that we do not forget.

So, who has written about the history of the coup?

bootmee

Postby bootmee » July 28th, 2011, 10:41 am

pioneer wrote:ALLAH AKBAR!

Allāhu Akbar :)

TheOne

Postby TheOne » August 7th, 2011, 4:01 am

Strauss wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

One Love.

Where is the like button.....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 7th, 2011, 10:44 am

Allah owe ackbar

PapaDouen

Postby PapaDouen » August 7th, 2011, 11:18 am

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 12:58 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/22n ... 65756.html

22nd anniversary of attempted coup
Story Created: Jul 26, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 26, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
TODAY marks the 22nd anniversary of one of the darkest days in this country's history.
On July 27, 1990 the Jamaat-al -Muslimeen led by Imam Yasin Abu Bakr attempted to overthrow the government of Trinidad and Tobago.
One hundred and fourteen insurgents stormed the Red House during a sitting of Parliament and government television station, TTT taking hostages and killing others.
At the end of the siege some two dozen people were reportedly killed including then Diego Martin Central Member of Parliament Leo Des Vignes.
Then Prime Minister Arthur N R Robinson was shot.
Port of Spain, the country's capital city, was a heap of rubble and destruction.
Coup maker Abu Bakr is scheduled to appear before Justice Mark Mohammed in the Port of Spain High Court in his sedition trial.
Former member of parliament Rawle Raphael has planned a press conference at his office located along Tragarete Road in Woodbrook today.
And former hostage Wendell Eversley will be walking from the Dial in Arima to the Eternal Flame in "remembrance and consideration of all those who lost their lives during this tragic event".
Eversley's walk is also to thank Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for calling a commission of enquiry into the attempted coup.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 1:02 am

damn.....22 years passed since this happened....I remember this like if it was yesterday....

Was at Kaydonna drive in with my folks.......movie now start and all...steups...

RIP to those who lost their lives because of this.......

still yet after 22 years justice still has not been served and the man behind this is still not locked away......

where were u guys 22 years ago this date..?...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 1:05 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2012, 1:06 am

I was at the National Stadium watching a football match when we heard the and saw the Police Headquarters explosion

sounded like thunder at first.

imagine the chaos, and no cell phones back then - you had to hope your family was safe if they were still out on the road.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 27th, 2012, 1:50 am

Boy I was in Trini and my mother was working Air Caribbean Crown Point those days...

I remember spending all day calling and harassing her to come home and after level buff she got me a flight. Bore buff ensured from Airport to home then suddenly watchning the news she buss down in tears: Mine as the last flight outta Trinidad that evening...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 1:58 am

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » July 27th, 2012, 8:09 am

Strauss wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

One Love.

^this^

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2012, 8:43 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Image

all govt buildings doing this today?

Postby sliderz1 » July 27th, 2012, 8:53 am

not here :roll:

Postby Les Bain » July 27th, 2012, 9:00 am

OP is a fag.

The Jamaat deserve treatment worse than what the Nazis gave the Jews.

Postby turbosingh » July 27th, 2012, 9:11 am

I was taking een my daily Sesame Street normal an then rudely interrupted!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 27th, 2012, 9:12 am

lots of voiced opinions from ppl that were in pampers at the time ........ talking about politics before they were born ...... lol

Postby rollingstock » July 27th, 2012, 9:26 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:lots of voiced opinions from ppl that were in pampers at the time ........ talking about politics before they were born ...... lol

Oh! So why do we study History in school?

Why study and discus it huh?

Postby Les Bain » July 27th, 2012, 9:37 am

My brother and I walked home from an aunt's house normal August holidays thing. Got home to see our parents watching Abu Bakr's takeover broadcast on TTT.

Over the next couple of days we used to brave the bush trails to go up by our other aunt's house which had a great view of the Police post (Mt. Pleasantish side in Arima). Was strange because that place seemed abandoned before the coup, but it was really busy during.

At 10, it was pretty much over my head what was going on and I can only fully appreciate it today. Dark time. According to my coworker, it was the day Trinidad cherry get pop. Little children were seeing their parents monkey glands raise, either looting or vandalizing wrong and strong. Now those little sons of beyotches are young men and women with the same or worse attitudes.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2012, 9:56 am

Was a young one back then and my biggest concern at the point in time was why wasn't Mcguyver showing at its regular scheduled time.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » July 27th, 2012, 10:05 am

Strauss wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

One Love.

Couldnt have said it better ...so true

Postby noshownogo » July 27th, 2012, 10:10 am

An uncertain time for a kid barely able to understand what was taking place.

Was in Kaydonna as well that evening (Gremlins 2 was the feature if my memory serves me correctly), I remember seeing a handwritten note on the screen and a cloud of smoke rising from the POS direction. Needless to say, panic ensued and patrons jammed the exit gates.

Got home to see my parents viewing TTT's Panorama News with Dominic Kallipersad. Only this time it appeared to be interrupted by whom we later learned was the Muslimeen leader Abu Bakr and his supporters.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2012, 10:17 am

CNC or TV6 this morning had Muhamad Al Shabazz as a guest. Kinna a slap in the face of T&Tfor him to be on TV on July 27th.