*** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread*** (UNC/PP EDITION 2010-2015)

de_dougla_smurf

Re: *** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread***

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 22nd, 2014, 12:36 pm

Yes he is, because the PP is ethical in all business practices and contract issuance, in both professional and personal capacities.

This is common knowledge.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 22nd, 2014, 12:48 pm

UML wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Are you discounting the transparency of Transparency International?
I doh know too much about these things, but I thought they are some sort of authority on this.
http://www.transparency.org/whoweare/or ... ruption/2/

yes i am

The perceptions of country analysts, business people or the general public form the basis of our corruption indices

Agreed it is a perception by a sampling of the population, but we are not an economic island. If the rest of the world perceives us as being fairly corrupt, what are the range of socio-economic implications and possible impact?

The data presented is not the issue. What the data translates to is the bigger picture in my unbiased opinion.
You are essentially shooting the messenger.

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2014, 7:54 pm

I like this. Everybody seeing but the pp sheep.

Postby eliteauto » April 22nd, 2014, 9:00 pm

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 19&fref=nf

so once the person not towing the Gov't line is to remove them? I wonder if the Gov't endorses this message?

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2014, 9:12 pm

While dem toatin how al wari geh de file, dey even look at the report? And wid all da speed talk about accountability, why dem braksing from the section 34 investigation?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 23rd, 2014, 1:40 am

Typical politricks.

Leh we beat up about how the file got leaked rather than what is actually contained in it. The sheep will never notice and will forget about the whole thing in 7 days or so which, is happening by the way.

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2014, 2:46 am

eliteauto wrote:
UML wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Corruption perception index still high.
http://www.transparency.org/country#TTO ... eysIndices

do you know how it is calculated? or the criteria used to calculate it?

Its a "perception" not based on valid, objective data.

If I interview rfari, rasc, douglaboy, reximann, hustlambition, banzai, etc.through a survey if this govt corrupt without taking into consideration their political affiliation, what do you think will be the answer?

what is the politicial affiliation of the head of the T&T branch?

how do you determine one's political affiliation? Or is that too a perception?

Black = PNM.

Postby UML » April 23rd, 2014, 11:25 am

eliteauto wrote:
UML wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Corruption perception index still high.
http://www.transparency.org/country#TTO ... eysIndices

do you know how it is calculated? or the criteria used to calculate it?

Its a "perception" not based on valid, objective data.

If I interview rfari, rasc, douglaboy, reximann, hustlambition, banzai, etc.through a survey if this govt corrupt without taking into consideration their political affiliation, what do you think will be the answer?

what is the politicial affiliation of the head of the T&T branch?

how do you determine one's political affiliation? Or is that too a perception?

Black = PNM.

rfari, rasc, douglaboy, reximann, hustlambition, banzai

dem black?!!! :shock:

Postby desifemlove » April 23rd, 2014, 12:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
UML wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Are you discounting the transparency of Transparency International?
I doh know too much about these things, but I thought they are some sort of authority on this.
http://www.transparency.org/whoweare/or ... ruption/2/

yes i am

The perceptions of country analysts, business people or the general public form the basis of our corruption indices

Agreed it is a perception by a sampling of the population, but we are not an economic island. If the rest of the world perceives us as being fairly corrupt, what are the range of socio-economic implications and possible impact?

The data presented is not the issue. What the data translates to is the bigger picture in my unbiased opinion.
You are essentially shooting the messenger.

PNM bs..

Perception based on experiences, firsthand knowledge, reports, cases, etc. I doh see anyting wrong with the methodology, only PNM cyah see how "perception" meant here... And with any survey you need a sample, it's statistic 101. Should they ask every Trinibagonian? Every American? Every Indian or Chinese, or Nigerian, German or Korean?

The fact is PNM people say "de country lawless!!" but I remember Manning and co. saying "what does perception mean, perception ent reality" when this same index had a lower rating in their time haha..

Much of what we see as bad today under UNC is continuations of badness under PNM. PNM people blind if dey tink we was angels before and only now we'z corrupt..

Postby UML » April 26th, 2014, 1:56 pm

lets hope this becomes an "Achievement" soon
AG considering watchdog council to deal with medical negligence
Baby Simeon death probe to begin

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 25, 2014 at 9:20 PM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 25, 2014 at 9:20 PM ECT
ATTORNEY General Anand Ramlogan yesterday said he will be considering the possibility of establishing a Medical Complaints Council, comprising a panel of medical experts, to assess claims of medical negligence made by aggrieved members of the public.
Ramlogan said the council would correct the “inequality of arms in the courts” currently experienced by individuals as they attempt to take legal action against the State.
The AG made the statement during a news conference to formally present the committee appointed to investigate the death of Simeon Cottle.
On March 1, Cottle died after his head was cut open when his mother Quelly Ann Cottle underwent a Caesarean section at Mt Hope Women’s Hospital.
Dr Javed Chinnia, who performed the surgery, has since been suspended.
A team comprising United Kingdom specialist Dr Melanie Clare Davies, neonatologist Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne and chaired by retired judge Mustapha Ibrahim has been appointed by Ramlogan to probe the baby’s death.
“I have met with the members of the committee and asked that this be an objective, hard-hitting enquiry into the facts. I have asked that they not be swayed by anything they’ve read in the newspapers but to look at the evidence that is presented to them and deal with the matter in their own collective professional experience and wisdom,” Ramlogan said.
“I have no doubt that we will get an unbiased report and one that will be of benefit to the public health-care sector in Trinidad and Tobago to prevent a reoccurrence of these unfortunate tragic cases. I also hope it will bring a measure of closure to the family, whose distress and anguish remains a cause for concern for the Government.”
Ramlogan said this is a “timely intervention” by the Government and an opportune time to take a second look at the issue of maternal health care in Trinidad and Tobago and see how it matches up to international best practice.
“That is why I have asked the committee to shoot from the hip if necessary. I hold no brief for anyone. When I receive that report, if there is any evidence to suggest there is a basis for referring the matter to the DPP (Director of Public Prosecutions) I have no difficulty in doing that, but for now we must respectfully allow the committee to not be inflamed by public passions but to deal with the matter in a dispassionate and indeed compassionate manner to all concerned based on the facts that occurred,” he said.
Ibrahim said the investigation will be done in the quickest time as possible.
“The doctors who are summoned to come as witnesses to testify are entitled to have their legal representatives present and there are one or two at the moment whose legal representative and they themselves are out of the country and they are a little hesitant to come without their legal representatives, but other than that all the other doctors have complied willingly and have come forward as requested.”
Ibrahim said if the investigation unearths evidence for criminal charges to be levelled, they will be.
Ramlogan said there is difficulty in proving cases of medical negligence because doctors are reluctant to testify against their colleagues.
“The crisis that contributes to the problem in this country is that it is a very small country, numerically, and the medical profession, just like the legal profession and any other profession, is quite small and very close-knit ... you cannot fight a case for medical negligence without expert evidence to say that there was negligence and there is a great reluctance on the part of doctors to testify against their colleagues,” Ramlogan said.
“That has hampered the development of the law and has also hampered the lifting of the bar that one would want to see.”
Ramlogan said the establishment of a medical complaints council may assist in correcting this situation.
“In England, they have a Medical Complaints Council and they assess claims from citizens to see if there is any wrongdoing or any negligence involved. It may very well be that I would have to consider through the Law Reform Commission looking at the Medical Complaints Council in England to see if we can establish a similar medical complaints council here in Trinidad to evaluate and assess claims of medical negligence made by aggrieved members of the public, so a panel of independent medical experts can do, so that we do not have the inequality of arms in the courts that we presently have.”
“You have the RHAs (regional health authorities), the Ministry of Health and the Attorney General stacking up a neat stock of expert opinions that they gather from all and sundry and the poor woman or father is left struggling to prove his case because he is not a doctor, the lawyer is not a doctor and there is no doctor who is willing to step forward to vindicate their claim.
“The medical complaints council is an idea whose time has come for Trinidad and Tobago, it is a matter I would have for stakeholder consultation on and speak to the doctors, the health-care professionals and then treat with the matter at Cabinet and if necessary take it to Parliament,” Ramlogan said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG- ... 85131.html

Postby rfari » May 13th, 2014, 10:06 pm

And dey say i's a pnm. Huh
‘E-books’ for pupils
Story Updated: May 13, 2014
Milions spent: Education Minister Dr Tim
Gopeesingh during his contribution at
yesterday’s sitting of the Upper House of
Parliament in Port of Spain. —Photo:
JERMAINE CRUICKSHANK
After spending some $249.6 million on
textbooks for schools between 2010 and
2014, the Government will be seeking to
introduce e-books to ease the heavy burden
pupils have when they carry textbooks.
This was stated by Education Minister Dr Tim
Gopeesingh in the Senate yesterday.
Responding to a question filed by People’s
National Movement (PNM) Senator Camille
Robinson-Regis, Gopeesingh said the
Government spent $249,653,750 on
textbooks since 2010.
Asked by PNM Senator Faris Al-Rawi whether
there was any thought of having textbooks,
especially those printed locally, available
electronically, Gopeesingh said: “In fact just
recently, through Cabinet, the Prime Minister
instructed the Minister of Education to work
towards ensuring that these textbooks are
provided in the e-form so that the burden of
having to carry these textbooks to the
schools by students at an early age would be
a thing of the past; and so I have already
started discussions with the 24 publishers we
have locally and ten publishers that we get
books from internationally. So far it seems to
be relatively rewarding. But further
discussions are taking place and more
information would be given as far as that is
concerned.”
He gave the breakdown of Government
expenditure:
2010 — 17,874,220.48 spent on textbooks:
$13,451,578.50 for textbooks for primary
schools; $4,422, 641.89 for secondary
schools;
2011 — $35,662,000 spent on textbooks:
$17,931,100 for primary schools, $15,450,000
for textbooks for secondary schools and
$2,280,900 for special education;
2012 — Spending rose sharply, with
$84,857,589.23 spent on textbooks:
$46,454,477.98 for primary schools,
$33,422,700.25 for secondary schools and
$4.980,411 for special schools;
2013 — $70,028,613.10 for textbooks:
$31,087,739.85 for textbooks for primary
schools, $33,805,971 for textbooks for
secondary schools and $5,134,902.25 for
special schools;
2014 — $41,231,337.94 spent:
$28,020,590.99 on textbooks for primary
schools, $10,334,141.95 on textbooks for
secondary schools and $2,876,605 for special
schools.
Gopeesingh said 2,249,987 textbooks were
purchased in the period 2010 to 2013 for
primary and secondary schools. He said
there were 134 secondary schools, 476
primary schools, 190 early childhood
education centres and 14 Government special
education and 11 private special education
schools. He said the Government purchased
material for all these schools.
The minister said 1,439,285 textbooks were
purchased for the primary level in 2010,
2011, 2012 and 2013; and 810,562 textbooks
were purchased for the secondary level in
the years 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.
Gopeesingh said in 2010, 354,642 textbooks
were purchased; in 2011, 342,070 were
purchased; in 2012, 1,193,148 were
purchased and in 2013, 359,987 were
purchased.
In response to a question on the number of
Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA)
examination candidates for the years 2010,
2011, 2012 and 2013, Gopeesingh said over
the period 2010 to 2013, the average number
of pupils writing SEA annually was 17,600. In
2010, there were 17,268 candidates; 17,280
in 2011; 17,863 in 2012; and 18,345 in 2013.
In 2010, 97.7 per cent of pupils were placed
—92.4 per cent in Government and
Government-assisted schools, 2.9 per cent in
private secondary schools and 2.3 per cent in
prevocational centres.
In 2011, 97.6 per cent of pupils were placed
—92.8 per cent in Government and
Government-assisted schools, 2.8 per cent in
private secondary and two per cent in
prevocational centres. In 2012, 97.9 per cent
of pupils were placed—92.9 per cent of
pupils were placed in secondary schools,
93.4 per cent in Government and
Government-assisted schools, 2.7 per cent in
private secondary and 1.8 per cent in
prevocational centres.
He said in 2013, 97.6 per cent of pupils were
placed, 93.1 per cent in Government and
Government-assisted schools, three per cent
in private secondary and 1.5 per cent in
prevocational centres. He said an average of
two per cent of pupils who wrote SEA and
were 13 years and under and whose average
composite scores were 30 per cent or less
were allowed to repeat Standard Five and
SEA.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/E-b ... lmob=y&c=n

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 13th, 2014, 10:26 pm

No mo bosey back from big bookbag?

talkin bout.

Postby rfari » May 19th, 2014, 8:18 am

Jamaat wukkin in national security yes. Laaarrdd. Well done kamala

bluefete wrote:Just in case allyuh feel I doe no whut i duz be writing about!!! Check my previous posts in this thread. Express brave, oui.

JAMAAT RAKING IN GOVT $$
Muslimeen thrives on land, funding from State

By Asha Javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: May 18, 2014 at 11:27 PM ECT

Story Updated: May 18, 2014 at 11:45 PM ECT

The Sunday Express yesterday reported on the growing force of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen in Carapo under Imam Hassan Ali and his son, Rajaee Ali.
Imam Ali told the Sunday Express that criminals and former prisoners would approach him to join the Jamaat and Islam. He said the group was now learning “how to come to order around here”.
Today, the Express examines the factors which have helped the Jamaat to thrive since the 1990 coup attempt.

Part II

The Carapo-based Jamaat-al-Muslimeen is controlling the mammoth share of the Ministry of Sport’s $113,502,273 Life Sport Programme, which the Ministry of Finance has found to be riddled with irregularities.
The co-ordinator of the programme is Rajaee Ali, son of the north-west leader of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen, Imam Hassan Ali.
R Ali told the Express that police had detained him for gang-related activities following the murder of former independent senator and senior counsel Dana Seetahal.
The Life Sport Programme is one way in which the Jamaat has been funded through the Government in the past two years as payback for support for the People’s Partnership in the last general election.

Imam Hassan said he helped mobilise voters to get the People’s Partnership Government into office in 2010 “against orders”.
The Jamaat had openly supported the United National Congress (UNC) to help Basdeo Panday win the general election in 1995. However, the relationship quickly soured and the Jamaat, under leader Yasin Abu Bakr, supported the People’s National Movement (PNM) in the 2000, 2001 and 2002 general elections.

Hassan told the Express last Friday he was assisted by the Government “to help bring voters to vote. That kind of thing. I am telling you straight, my position.”
“I, me, prefer the coalition, the Partnership. I know it’s not a good example of what that could be but it’s a start. I didn’t like the one party ruling. I believe in power sharing. You understand what I’m saying?” he said in an interview at the Carapo mosque, where he is based.
“So we decide to help this against orders not to support them. We didn’t care. I participated to help the UNC come into power the first time they came into power. We were effective in the streets. We participate in the politics. We help try to bring the voters in and influence the voters and we know we do that well,” he said.

The Express questioned: How has the Jamaat been rewarded for its help?
In return, Hassan responded that he has “been assisted to help resolve issues on the ground on the low...quiet.”

Express: You’ve been assisted by the Ministry of National Security?
Hassan Ali: “I can’t say directly, I can’t say.”
Express: Are you disappointed now?
Hassan Ali: “I am not disappointed. The leadership show more testicular fortitude than a lot of them in trying to do things. I didn’t expect perfection. I expected people to try. As a matter of fact, we find we does function better when the UNC has some influence. These are things people don’t know.”
The Express learnt that the land on which the Jamaat is building its Carapo mosque is State land. Most of the residents in the surroundings houses are squatters, but the Express understands a senior Government official has assisted many residents in obtaining certificates of comfort from the State.
The east arm of the Jamaat was originally based in Arima, upstairs Pennywise building, but moved to Carapo in 2000.

Funding from Ministry of Sport’s
Life Sport Programme

Hassan told the Express that he is able to assist many of the young men, whom he described as “the dregs of the society”, by enrolling them in the Ministry of Sport’s Life Sport Programme.
“They gave the programme to my son (Rajaee),” said Hassan without identifying who were “they”.
The Life Sport Programme was an initiative of the Ministry of Sport’s permanent secretary Ashwin Creed.

Its intent was to introduce sport and life skills to youths between 16-25 to curb crime in high-risk areas.
As coordinator of the programme, in Carapo’s case, Rajaee Ali would select 60 names and submit them to the programme. Each participant would be given a stipend of $1,500 a month to attend sessions from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily.

The programme is similar in principle to the Ministry of National Security’s $70 million-plus Hoop of Life, which is now under review by the Ministry.
When the Express observed that there were no facilities for the programme at the Carapo mosque, where emphasis was placed on introducing sport, Hassan pointed out that tents were erected outside the mosque to facilitate the programme.

He pointed to two piles of sand, which he said are going to be used to lay a permanent foundation to facilitate the programme.
“We used to have tents on the road. They (people who participated) weren’t all Muslims. Some of the Muslims were a little disappointed in attendance,” said Hassan.
Express: “Would you say that programme is a way to secure votes?”
Hassan Ali: “URP too. Anything could secure votes, but something is needed to help.”
Anil Roberts helped

Rajaee Ali told the Express that he was chosen by the Ministry of Sport to be head of Carapo’s Life Sport.
He said he met Sport Minister Anil Roberts “about nine to ten times” in the past two years. Roberts is also the MP for the area, D’Abadie/O’Meara.

“People on the board chose people in different areas who they believe could co-ordinate the youths in the programme. I just came out of prison. Someone on the board who knew me, who went to school with me, told me about it,” said R Ali.
In 2004, R Ali was charged with the murder of Amadoo Huggins, when he was just 18. He has spent eight years in prison.
In 2007, he was one of three prisoners who escaped from Golden Grove Prison in Arouca, but was eventually caught and sent back and was released in 2011.

“I was chosen. Once I could get up to 60 participants, which I carried out.
“That is how the rumours started about Anil Roberts funding crime. He gave men in the constituency an option to do something legal, to make money fair,” R Ali said.

In the Draft Estimates of Recurrent Expenditure for the Financial Year 2014, Life Sport is listed as a Transfer Programme. In 2012, the programme was given $6.6m. In 2013, the cost multiplied by almost five times to $29 million. By 2014, the programme increased in cost by $84.4m to $113,502,273.
It was the largest increase in the Ministry’s transfer.

Because of ballooning costs, the Life Sport Programme was audited by the Ministry of Finance, which showed multiple irregularities.
The Express understands that R Ali controls the mammoth share of the Life Sport Programme, not just in Carapo but in East Trinidad.
For the participants, $90,000 is allocated each month, which is exclusive of administrative costs and a stipend to the coordinator of each area.

The Express was told that R Ali facilitates several “ghost” names throughout the East and money is collected on their behalf. The Express understands this amounts to more than a million dollars every month.
“They’re making that money tax-free. People are collecting cheques for not even showing up,” said one Carapo resident familiar with the programme.
Questioned on these allegations of the programme, R Ali said: “It’s not a ghost programme, you have to do the work or else we don’t get pay.”

When the Express questioned him on the attendance of people enrolled in the programme, he explained that it was difficult for people to commit every day for the programme, but that it was left up to “the co-ordinators to make the adjustments”.
R Ali also addressed whether the Jamaat had threatened Creed within the last month.
The Express understands that Creed reportedly received threats from a known criminal he gave a $30 million contract under the Life Sport Programme.

On April 14, he contacted head of the Public Service Reynold Cooper requesting “emergency leave”, faxed him a letter with the request and left Trinidad on the same day.
Contacted yesterday, Cooper confirmed the events, but could not say why Creed needed the emergency leave. He told the Express that Creed was now back at work.

Asked whether he had threatened Creed, R Ali responded: “That’s not true. Rumours.”
Hassan Ali said: “They tried to use us, speculate with us. We know who is doing it and why.”
The Express understands that Cabinet was briefed on the Jamaat funding through the Life Sport Programme, but it has not been stopped.

Neither Creed nor Roberts returned calls or texts to the Express requesting information on the Life Sport Programme.

To be continued

Griffith responds

National Security Minister Gary Griffith is concerned that Government programmes are being used to fund gang activity.
“If political parties worked with groups to help them mobilise during election campaigns, that is not my business. It is not an illegal act. My focus is on gangs and specific gang leaders who have access to State contracts and using their profit not to enhance their community and reduce crime, but to use the profit to fuel crime via importation of illegal drugs and weapons and using naive youths to do their dirty work, upon which they become causalities,” he said.
“They are the ultimate enemies of the State. They are not community leaders but cold-blooded murderers and they would be treated, recognised and dealt with as such. They are causing fear, panic and grief to the law-abiding citizens of the country and I would leave no stone unturned to crush them. I have no intention to negotiate with cold-blooded killers,” he added
“They use intimidation and fear tactics to succeed. That can’t work on me. There is a saying that if you play with filthy animals then you would get fleas. I do not care if it is a member of my family, a friend, a co-worker or law enforcement official involved. Anyone affiliated with criminals would be treated as such. That is my assurance,” he ended.

Postby UML » May 19th, 2014, 9:01 am

^^^^^^^ should be in the corruption thread

but disturbing nevertheless

PS and Anil have some questions to answer!!!

Postby eliteauto » May 19th, 2014, 9:10 am

the Life Sport Programme has cause the death of at least 1 person in Malabar and it's participants some of whom don't qualify to be in the programme,sell and use narcotics while on the compound and participating in the programme which consists of such activities as "liming all day"

Jaipaulsingh

Postby Jaipaulsingh » May 19th, 2014, 9:13 am

de_dougla_smurf wrote:No mo bosey back from big bookbag?

Big man doh deal wit bag pon back.

Postby shogun » May 19th, 2014, 9:18 am

Wow @ article.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » May 19th, 2014, 9:24 am

eliteauto wrote:the Life Sport Programme has cause the death of at least 1 person in Malabar and it's participants some of whom don't qualify to be in the programme,sell and use narcotics while on the compound and participating in the programme which consists of such activities as "liming all day"

1 death yuh say ?

Postby rfari » May 19th, 2014, 9:26 am

UML wrote:^^^^^^^ should be in the corruption thread

i think its an achievement tho. in lieu of actually fighting the narcotrade and others crimes, the govt has found an ingenious way to deal with the criminal elements of the country; throw money at them. keep the money flow going. let them bring in the guns, drugs, give them big contracts so that they wouldnt be kidnapping ppl chirren for money like when pnm had put the squeeze on them some year aback :fadein:

Postby UML » May 19th, 2014, 9:33 am

rfari wrote:

i think its an achievement tho. in lieu of actually fighting the narcotrade and others crimes, the govt has found an ingenious way to deal with the criminal elements of the country; throw money at them. keep the money flow going. let them bring in the guns, drugs, give them big contracts so that they wouldnt be kidnapping ppl chirren for money like when pnm had put the squeeze on them some year aback :fadein:

didnt the pnm invent this idea? :idea:

doh play chupid now......with their "community leaders" being wined and dined at Crowne Plaza and gangs having "truce and peace talks".....but it still wrong nevertheless as i said.

pnm never put the squeeze on anyone bro..they let the kidnapping reign so that ppl would migrate.

I will take the information with a pinch of salt, seeing that it is the Express with their political agenda :roll:

Postby rfari » May 19th, 2014, 9:38 am

UML wrote:
rfari wrote:

didnt the pnm invent this idea? :idea:

doh play chupid now......with their "community leaders" being wined and dined at Crowne Plaza and gangs having "truce and peace talks".....but it still wrong nevertheless as i said.

I will take the information with a pinch of salt, seeing that it is the Express with their political agenda :roll:

'cus pnm do it. :lol: u eh realise manning put dem fellas in place after the crown plaza meeting? every last one of them destroyed.
successful mission is successful

kaylex

Postby kaylex » May 19th, 2014, 9:43 am

Must understand.. you cannot buy peace,.. contracts would never cause the murder rate to decline

Postby UML » May 19th, 2014, 2:41 pm

........let stay focused on the good work this government is doing.

Minister praised as Marper Farms reopens for business
Published:
Sunday, May 18, 2014
Shaliza Hassanali

After closing its doors for 21 years, Marper Farms in Manzanilla is set to reopen tomorrow, and 50,000 citrus plants will be available to farmers. In 1993 the farm’s propagating station, which produced the best variety of citrus and fruit plants on 100 acres of land was closed down by the People’s National Movement Government due to its unprofitability.

Only a cocoa germ plasm unit at the station was kept operational in order to continue the work of the Cocoa Research Unit at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine campus.

However, in 2012 farmers in and out of the community appealed to Food Production Minister Devant Maharaj to reopen the propagating station since there was a shortfall of nursery plants. The farmers claimed that sourcing young plants at the St Augustine Nurseries, La Reunion Propagation Station in Centeno, and at Farm Road in St Joseph, was leaving them frustrated.

The farmers also suggested that the station be used as a training centre for budding agriculturalists and farmers, to generate jobs, produce a variety of seedlings, and to be converted into an eco-park for tourists.

Maharaj invests $3.5 million in farm
Maharaj eventually took the farmers’ advice and injected $3.5 million to re-establish the station to cater for the needs of the farmers who have been crying out for help. They praised the efforts of the Food Production Minister. In the last 18 months, senior agricultural foreman Hayman Ramdhanie said there was a major transformation of the old station. “We did a lot of upgrade work, and 50,000 citrus plants were propagated and tended to by OJT trainees to get the project off the ground,” Ramdhanie said.

“We have really come a long way in turning this place around.” Next year, Ramdhanie said, they will produce 150,000 citrus and fruit plants which will be offered to both farmers and the public. “While we will try to ensure that every farmer is supplied plants, priority will be given to those who have placed orders at the government farms since 2008. We are in the process of contacting these farmers to inform them when to come in and make their purchases.”

Sourcing labour a big problem
For the plants to grow in a conducive environment, Ramdhanie said, two large glass houses and five plant sheds were constructed last year. A water pump, water tanks, agricultural equipment and machinery were also purchased. Also, an access road leading to the farm was paved, while security cameras were installed, a fence erected, and armed guards were hired.

He said the station’s biggest problem, however, was sourcing labour. “Like every farm in the country, attracting workers has been difficult as few people want to get involved in agriculture. As it stands, we need at least 50 workers to reach our projected target next year. We are keeping our fingers crossed that things work out,” he said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-05- ... s-business

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 19th, 2014, 8:02 pm

achievement: government wishes to build house on agriculture lands,geee dem...

Postby zoom rader » May 20th, 2014, 5:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:achievement: government wishes to build house on agriculture lands,geee dem...

200000 ppl on a waiting list for house and wishing to eat bodi

Bodi price will raise first time in trini history

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2014, 6:49 am

well eat the house nuh^

Postby UML » May 20th, 2014, 7:44 am

PTSC gets its first CNG bus
By Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Dec 14, 2012 at 11:02 PM ECT

Story Updated: Dec 14, 2012 at 11:02 PM ECT

The Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) has created local history by converting the first bus in its fleet to run entirely on compressed natural gas (CNG).

The process was done right locally at the company's engineering department's workshop using the Corporation's crew—with the aid of two technicians from Myanmar.

"This has been 24 years in the making and we congratulate the team on their accomplishment," PTSC chairman Dr Vincent Lasse said yesterday.

The Express received the exclusive first look at the finished bus yesterday at the PTSC compound, City Gate, Port of Spain.

The project took about a week "of long hours" for installation, and after a further few weeks of safety tests and checks, the vehicle is expected officially join the fleet by January.

"It's about saving money. The Government has been trying for several years to convert the fleet and utilise the large supply of CNG we have available to us here in the country," vehicle maintenance supervisor Esther Sookoo-Pierre said.

The bus has a 210-litre diesel equivalent CNG-run engine. One fill-up on diesel costs about $230 per day.

On Monday, the bus made its first gas station stop for a fill-up costing just $97— saving the corporation more than 50 per cent in fuel costs.

The PTSC had held long discussions over the years with several local companies to find a supplier of conversion kits that would allow 100 per cent CNG, instead of a combination of diesel and CNG. It settled on PowerTech out of California, USA, an affiliate of local distributor G Singh Marketing out of Duncan Village. The company agreed to a free installation and demonstration process for three buses (two 40-ft buses and a 20-ft bus) as a pilot project.

The conversion of the second bus is underway. The corporation is also converting a maxi-taxi style bus to show the maxi-taxi associations how well the conversion process works on their style of vehicle. The corporation hopes after this initial test phase, the team can get cracking on converting the entire fleet—almost 400 buses—at a rate of five to ten buses a week.

"The first conversion took a week, but that was to get accustomed. Strangely, the hardest part was not so much training, but convincing the team that CNG was safe and the equipment would not explode," Sookoo-Pierre said.

Eventually they got over their fears, to successfully convert the first 100 per cent CNG bus in the English-speaking Caribbean.

This bus is the first to exceed the PTSC's benchmark emissions standards according to the European Union's criteria for diesel engines.

"Our current newest members of the fleet are at Euro 3. The current standard is Euro five. Older buses are at Euro two. Once the fleet is converted, all the buses, even the old ones, will exceed Euro five emission standards. It will be a great way for the Corporation to help the environment and reduce our carbon footprint," Sookoo-Pierre said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 95861.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2014, 8:18 am

UML you getting paid for this ched??

Postby UML » May 20th, 2014, 8:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:UML you getting paid for this ched??

nope but i must say the beatup is entertaining :mrgreen:

Postby zoom rader » May 20th, 2014, 8:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:well eat the house nuh^

Well they have to choose, it's either homes for families in need or continue with farmers squatting on states lands, paying no taxes, getting agri (range rover) equipment tax free while digging your eye for bodi .