Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2012, 6:59 pm

what can the torch be used for?

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2012, 7:09 pm

hmmn, the tool container. i bought a lot of the rectangular powder soap from pricemart. for just a little more than the tool box, i got a rectangle tool kit that fits well in the trunk and soap.

if not that, u could get some thin aluminum or galvanize sheets and rivet them into rectangle boxes of your desired dimensions. u can caulk them with silicone to make the liquid proof if u want to rub down the tools with oil.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 23rd, 2012, 7:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:what can the torch be used for?

gonna try my hand at some aluminium brazing, already have some brazing rods

Postby pioneer » April 23rd, 2012, 7:29 pm

where sells those rods?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 23rd, 2012, 7:40 pm

The torch uses propane? Where do you get the refills? Is it costly?

Imagine what that could do to a jep nest...

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2012, 8:11 pm

the propane isnt expensive, about 35$ for a bottle
i have one of these to light coals and sometimes 0g wire soldering

http://www.amazon.com/BernzoMatic-JT680 ... 45&sr=8-12

i would like to get one that can do the mild steel rods or even brass!

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2012, 8:34 pm

ah doh need it but at 17USD
it facking itchin my fingers to click "order now"

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FK1R
0W/ref=ord_cart_shr?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 23rd, 2012, 8:37 pm

pioneer wrote:where sells those rods?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000C ... 00_s00_i00

i dont know anywhere locally though

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 23rd, 2012, 8:40 pm

dok_tec are the safety glasses De Walt brand as well? Did you get it locally?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 23rd, 2012, 8:45 pm

^^^ got it on amazon but its the best money i spent ever

http://www.amazon.com/Dewalt-DPG82-11C- ... 240&sr=8-1

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 23rd, 2012, 9:18 pm

X_Factor wrote:the propane isnt expensive, about 35$ for a bottle

Where would one go to get this?

Saw the empty canisters at Peakes.

Check out this new Amazon site. Industrial supply store but this is where they keep the really good stuff.

http://www.amazonsupply.com/

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2012, 9:29 pm

bhags has them in the 1lb cylinders, looks like that

Postby pioneer » April 23rd, 2012, 9:34 pm

$35?...last place i checked was like $120

aware me @ $35 brah

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2012, 9:47 pm

boy, i paid 35$ for the "ACE" brand from bhags december last yr
heh

Postby pioneer » April 23rd, 2012, 9:51 pm

doh fleck me up wdmc

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 26th, 2012, 11:09 pm

i got a bernzomatic fat boy in bhag for $120... last time im doing that.but other that dat the nozzle and 5 foot hose really helps

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2012, 12:43 pm

it looking nice but what u really it to do ? ...

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 27th, 2012, 1:35 pm

aluminium brazing is the main reason i have it....its pretty much aluminium welding just not as strong.planning on making an aluminium air box this weekend and well also breaking loose stubborn seized bolts

watch the vid below and see how strong aluminium brazing is

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2012, 4:25 pm

yeah, ive done it before a couple of times....its not difficult
u have flux for the rods rite?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 27th, 2012, 11:28 pm

^^^^ yep

mugenracer

Postby mugenracer » April 28th, 2012, 1:46 am

Anyone has any experience shipping down tools in a barrel or crate? What's the cost of the barrel with shipping etc. and the relative safety your purchase during shipping?

Postby X_Factor » April 28th, 2012, 8:55 am

when i checked it up, with laparkan it was coming up to approx 1000.00TT for the purchase of the barrel and shipping with documents.
then u have to clear it urself and pay whatever customs taxes on ur stuff

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 10th, 2012, 8:35 pm

Nobody buying any tools?

The posts a bit sparse up in here.

Inlaws went Florida and came back with these. I think some comparison testing will be in order. The specs are similar to my Milwaukee saw and PC planer. My hands itching but mih father in law hasn't used them yet.

Dewalt DW368

Bosch PL1682

Postby X_Factor » May 10th, 2012, 9:45 pm

it might be hard for the planer
but use the same blade for the circular saw when testing

i bought this..it has been burning my eyes since i posted it, should reach next week

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2012, 10:13 pm

I have a Dewalt circular saw, the heaviest one DW364,
too heavy though, I wouldn't buy it again
however it has a stop brake so when you release the trigger the blade stops spinning immediately
which is a good safety feature

another good thing about it is it has front/back alignment adjustment
the blade alignment can be messed up if the saw is dropped on the floor or twisted badly.

many saws don't have that adjustment
I used to cuss when making angled cuts and they would be all over the place.
someone on a boxbuilding forum told me to check that.
I happen to have a digital angle gauge which helped

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm

only tool i buy recently is a "best value" brand wire cutter in bhags

it looks like this 1 :

been eying it a while when it was normally priced at $69 & was skeptical to buy it but when i saw that it went down to $57.50 i say let me take a chance - i sooo damn happy i bought it !

cuts thick car audio wires like 4g & 0g rel nice & clean

honestly its a joy to use when somebody comes in my store to buy speaker wire or power wire ..... :oops: ........ :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 11th, 2012, 9:48 pm

Never knew there were alignment adjustments on power saws. Only ever saw (pun intended) that on tablesaw setups.

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2012, 11:25 pm

anyone know where i can get beam clamps?

was just reading something about them online, need a few to try them out

is it commonplace in any hardware?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 25th, 2012, 10:49 am

Can any one recomend a good place to buy a welding combo kit (grinder, chop saw, welding plant etc)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 25th, 2012, 10:53 am

^u check ft farfan , laughlin or edoo's ? ...