*** The OFFICIAL Soca Warriors Football Thread***

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » October 14th, 2008, 7:34 pm

USA resting those 9 to suck up to Jack... They want a World Cup on their home soil..

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » October 14th, 2008, 7:41 pm

ROTARY_FATEFULL, :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Cjruckus » October 14th, 2008, 7:56 pm

USA 4 - 0 by the half.

Terran

Postby Terran » October 14th, 2008, 8:41 pm

Maserati wrote:
Greypatch wrote:remember when we defeated Mexico 1-0

last WC Campaign? Think it was 2-1

It was 3-2 in favour of T&T. Stern John was the star that day.

Postby Maserati » October 14th, 2008, 8:46 pm

Terran wrote:
Maserati wrote:
Greypatch wrote:remember when we defeated Mexico 1-0

last WC Campaign? Think it was 2-1

It was 3-2 in favour of T&T. Stern John was the star that day.

which match you all talking about?
the one at home we won 2-1 which enabled us to play Bahrain.
http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior ... ort&id=428 or is it another match?

Terran

Postby Terran » October 14th, 2008, 10:30 pm

Sheesh!! I must have been dreaming! Thanks for the reminder, Maserati!

blazing

Postby blazing » October 14th, 2008, 11:43 pm

the 3-2 was against guatemala

and the 1-0 win against mexico was long time, wen latas buss Campos net.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 15th, 2008, 7:18 am

1-0 TT

JBL

Postby JBL » October 15th, 2008, 7:23 am

T&T 1 - 0 USA

its relli gona be a difficult game for T&T but i think they can pull it off

best of luck to the SOCA WARRIORS !!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 15th, 2008, 8:06 am

We go loss this match. sorry to say that but ah being realistic.
One goal in we arse and we spirits go break. All downhill from there.

Plus we always have this mental block when it comes to TT and USA (ever since 1989).

I guess miracles can always happen eh?

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 15th, 2008, 8:08 am

if the match is being played at 8pm, then with the chance of rain and a wet field then the varialbes can become unpredictable.

i'm calling: 3-1 in favor of TT

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 15th, 2008, 9:48 am

WCQ Preview: United States - Trinidad and Tobago

Who: United States vs Trinidad and Tobago
What: World Cup 2010 qualifying, CONCACAF semifinal round, Group 1
When: 8 pm ET, Wednesday, October 15, 2008
Where: Hasely Crawford Stadium; Port of Spain, Trinidad TV: ESPN and Galavision

Well that looked easy. After a dominating 6-1 victory over Cuba this weekend, the United States National Team finds itself assured of a place in the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualification with two matches remaining. The win allowed coach Bob Bradley to send Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Oguchi Onyewu home, while calling up sometime internationals Chris Rolfe, Brian Carroll, and Jonathan Bornstein, as well as newcomer Marvell Wynne.

Wednesday's game against Trinidad and Tobago marks a chance for to evaluate some younger talent in a hostile environment against a squad that absolutely needs this win. The match should provide an excellent trial by fire for Freddy Adu and Jozy Altidore -- who look to start -- as well as show who can step up in the absence of the team's traditional veteran leadership.

One team needs a win
While the outcome doesn't matter for the United States, getting a result is Trinidad and Tobago's No. 1 priority. After four matches, the Soca Warriors sit on five points, even with Guatemala. Of any match in the semifinal round, the U.S. is at its most vulnerable in this one. (For November's game against Guatemala, Bradley could bring some of his regular vets back as pre-preparation for the Hexagonal.)

A T&T win, which isn't a stretch, would almost certainly give the squad the upper hand in the race for second place in Group A. It would also provide some measure of revenge for the 3-0 pasting the team suffered at the hands of the U.S. in September.

The leadership of Beasley
Before Saturday's game, followers of U.S. soccer (including, I'll admit, yours truly) were questioning the continued usefulness of the Beas on the national team. And for good reason: he had looked terrible since coming back from a gruesome knee injury. After two goals and, more importantly, a dynamic, inspired performance against Cuba, it's clear that the Rangers man wasn't been 100 percent until Saturday's match.

Now, he finds himself as both the most capped player and the one with the most goals on a team facing a tough, if ultimately meaningless, road game. How he handles the situation will likely reflect directly on the performance on the younger members of the team and dictate how the U.S. plays.

Give Torres, Adu and Altidore 90 minutes
All three impressed against Cuba on Saturday. That said, they were playing a squad that was beaten down both by the distraction of the defections and from playing with 10 men for the entire second half. T&T will provide a much better opponent. There will be no home crowd providing support, especially for Adu who fed off the love he received from the D.C. fan base. Landon won't be running the offense, nor will the defense will be anchored by Gooch, Bocanegra, and Tim Howard. Beasley will offer some help, but this trio represents the future of U.S. soccer. On Wednesday, there's no time like the present to show you're ready.

In Search of Kenny Cooper
Once again, the Dallas striker won't be partaking in a United States game. This time, however, it's his own choice. After getting a call from Bradley, Cooper decided against traveling to Port of Spain. "I made the difficult decision to pass on this opportunity because I had picked up a virus and have been playing with a sprained ankle," he told the FCD Dallas blog.

An acceptable decision -- especially since he needs to make an impression in his first appearance -- but afterwards he added some words about choosing his club team over the Nats: "Considering the importance of my club's game versus Real Salt Lake this week, and that the National Team has already clinched a berth in the next round of qualifying, I felt it was the right thing to do to stay in Dallas and make sure I get well, and hopefully there will be other opportunities down the line." This likely, and shouldn't, effect his future with the team, but maybe Kenny should keep your mouth shut next time.

Projected U.S. Lineup

-----------------Altidore-------------------

--- Beasley----------Torres-------Adu---

-------Kljestan--------Edu---------

Pearce-----Califf------Wynne----- Hejduk

-------------------Guzan-------------------

Goal.com prediction: United States 2-1 Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.goal.com/en-us/Articolo.aspx ... oId=912224

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 15th, 2008, 10:05 am

fack...beasley playing...

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2008, 10:22 am

that is still a decent team the yanks are putting out

Evoloution

Postby Evoloution » October 15th, 2008, 12:28 pm

Warriors Warriors Warriors

T&T - 1 USA - 0

Goal coming from Birch.

Good Luck fellas. Represent T&T

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 15th, 2008, 3:24 pm

i feel beasley will get break up badly

Postby noshownogo » October 15th, 2008, 3:40 pm

i honestly believe we going to win :|

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 15th, 2008, 4:04 pm

yea man we will win SOME people just need to have faith in the team i.e the new side with latapy , birchall ,d "best finisher" JOHN :lol: etc etc......

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 15th, 2008, 4:10 pm

Wait nah the match in Trinidad?I really need to start back reading papers yes.

TNT 2 US 2

The US can't totally throw the game but at the same time they doh want to make Jack mad...some sort of draw will play out, that way both sides happy.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » October 15th, 2008, 4:13 pm

I say 2-1 T&T..............who in d game later??

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 15th, 2008, 4:17 pm

i jus hope they dont bring a shittty azz referee like in the guetamala match because i will be cussin again :!:

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » October 15th, 2008, 4:19 pm

is the match coming on tv

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 15th, 2008, 4:24 pm

Trinidad TV: ESPN and Galavision

AND FOXS ON DIRECT TV !!- 8PM

mitchd23

Postby mitchd23 » October 15th, 2008, 4:56 pm

fellas what website ah could watch d game live.

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » October 15th, 2008, 5:05 pm

yeeeeeeees it's playing on ESPN

i will be watching

oh and I predict t&t 1, US 0

I have my hopes up after their showing against the Guats

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2008, 5:14 pm

<embed src="http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/player.swf?mediaId=3641184" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="440" height="361" allowScriptAccess="always"></embed>

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 15th, 2008, 6:01 pm

1-1

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2008, 6:51 pm

is either 6 or 9 men US resting for this game.
madness.

Uncle Jack done sort out the stories.

TT 1 - US 0

Goal from Scotland, Birch, or Stern

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 15th, 2008, 6:56 pm

3-1 usa wins.

Terran

Postby Terran » October 15th, 2008, 7:06 pm

Now let's see...

Guatemala will more than likely beat Cuba by at least 3 goals.

If T&T wins tonight too, they will need to win by at least 6 clear goals to move into 2nd spot. Otherwise, the standings will remain as they currently are:

1. USA
2. Guatemala
3. T&T
4. Cuba

If Guatemala wins and T&T does not, then we will have to HOPE that the US puts a licking on Guatemala in their final match and that T&T rains goals on Cuba to emerge with a better goal difference than Guatemala. T&T and Guatemala would have equal points, and they would be separated by goal difference.

Historically, we have always relied on other teams doing us "favours" to boost our chances. Why can't we just go out there and do what WE have to do??

Anyway, if T&T advances to the final CONCACAF WC qualifying round, they would most likely meet:

USA
Mexico
Costa Rica
Honduras
El Salvador

The first 3 teams will automatically qualify for the 2010 WC, and the fourth placed team will enter a play-off between the 5th placed team from the South American zone, just as we did for the 2006 WC qualification against Bahrain. Currently, the 5th placed South American team is Uruguay.

I anticipate a victory for us tonight. But I do believe we'll need that 12th man - either the crowd, or the referee.