COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Btw this “spike” that you guys only saying this week next wek this week nex week....

Just remember they are not testing as much.

Im sure many Trinis have it, but the symptoms are too mild for them to get tested.

Yuh cant call the hotline and say yuh have a dry cough, chest hurting and yuh now sheit dong yuhself.....they wont test you.

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 9:54 pm

They aren't testing ppl who don't have a travel history. But 20000 ppl came into this country in the past 2 weeks! The CMO is estimating that about 1000 of them are infected and because they have a travel history they will be tested once they get symptoms. So that's where the surge would happen. Btw 'mild' in the context of covid only mean u not so bad off as to require hospitalization.

I really hope they call out the entire army for this. This is a war against an invisible enemy. Lives are at stake.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 9:57 pm

Lets remain calm redman,

The hospitals wouldve been crowded by now.

Most ppl that have it, have it mild. So mild that its not affecting the vulnerable....we wouldve had more severe cases by now.

Postby Gladiator » March 27th, 2020, 10:04 pm

Max you still in dreamland boy.... wake up wake up!!!

MaxPower wrote:Lets remain calm redman,

The hospitals wouldve been crowded by now.

Most ppl that have it, have it mild. So mild that its not affecting the vulnerable....we wouldve had more severe cases by now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 10:09 pm

What about things like minor surgery, infections in people who are diabetics etc and who are scheduled for appointments at hospitals is this still going to happen or have they put a hold on any of these things?

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 10:11 pm

https://www.discovermagazine.com/health ... y-you-dont
Asymptomatic Carriers Are Fueling the COVID-19 Pandemic. Here’s Why You Don’t Have to Feel Sick to Spread the Disease
dicovah magazine wrote:Fueling a Pandemic

In a study published in the journal Science earlier this month, Shaman and his colleagues found that undocumented COVID-19 cases were responsible for 86 percent of the spread of the disease in China before the country enacted travel restrictions on January 23, 2020.

The scientists estimated that undocumented cases were about half as contagious as people with confirmed and documented disease. There is likely a correlation between symptom severity and the amount of virus your body is shedding, says Shaman. It stands to reason that if a person is sicker and coughing more, for example, they could be spreading more virus into the community and may be more contagious. But because of the sheer quantity of people with undocumented cases of COVID-19, those people did the “lion’s share of transmission,” says Shaman.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 10:12 pm

^ lol boi Glads...

Yuh dont find the population movin like it mild?

So its mild to them so why adhere to social distancing?

Hadda blame boxy mentor, the dunce doctor who eased the panic saying that its mild...so why Trinis bothered?

You HAVE to panic Trinis for them to care....an example is how they embarrass themselves to scamper for toilet paper. Hit them a panic to keep their unhygienic ass home. Too late now.

The govt has to let the public know how serious this can turn out to be.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2020, 10:22 pm

Bill Gates says returning to normal life in April is not realistic

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 27th, 2020, 10:24 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Should a ban all international flights 2 weeks before those 20000 ppl came in.

Oh well it was a good run folks the coronapocalypse is here. 1 in 5 of our infected families will be hospitalized and a few will die.
Thanks to the CCP virus.

China must be made to suffer for this. They should bleed as the world has bled.

Probably punishment for their dog meat trade.

notice all the chinese in the chine grocery wearing the gloves and mask long time, most chinese food place closed for a while, so i either they family in china know how serious this is or they know something else that we dont know. dey protecting they self about a month now while we trini still not wearing mask etc. this have to be airborn more easily than what reported.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 27th, 2020, 10:29 pm

The problem that people have in TnT is they consuming too much scientific information without placing it in context.

The virus is a brief virus...time between contraction and recovery is abt 14-21 days for average person.

To put timelines into perspective Arsenal's manager tested positive for the virus on 12 of march. On 23rd March he was cleared of virus and resumed activities. That is only 11 days after testing positive. He is suspected of contracting the virus on 12th March after interacting with a confirmed case.

So the virus was contracted on 12th, he tested positive 2 days later and 11 days later he made a full recovery. So we talking abt recovery taking about 14 days to fully recover.

This is why timelines are so important in understanding disease.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Screws doh study the chinee dem na mamoo.

You do your part in society and thats all that is required.

Stay safe

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 10:32 pm

Which dip sh!t thinks that returning to normal by April is likely?

Returning to normal even within the next few years is still a pipe dream according to the top expert behind the SARS on 60 minutes Australia.

People are going to have to go back to work sooner or later regardless of this virus else we will start eating eachother. I guess it's a good time to find out how good your immune system is, if you ever wondered.

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 10:36 pm

summary of the Tobago press conference (which you can view in its entirety here):
https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 155600580/

- Tobago conference advised by the MoH not to give out specifics of the persons testing positive.
-Media found out from other sources that the person positive is a Health Care Worker at Scarborough General.
-The Tobago authorities did not give more details, but have said the infection was found by the hospital's self-monitoring procedures for COVID19.
-Infected health care worker was wearing at mask when they reported flu-like symptoms.
- Media asks if the person was in the A&E department and if that department was shut down. The response was the patient was isolated and the department was sanitized.
-Family members of the infected person in quarantine.
-No travel history
-hospital administrator has resigned with immediate effect, but not discussed as this is a COVID19 discussion.
-PPE use is appropriate for the situation (eg, doing an intubation requires more PPE than, say, an ambulance driver). Inappropriate use of PPE actually increases chances of infection.
-Media says that residents would prefer persons with flu-like symptoms should be sent to a separate facility instead of the Scarborough A&E. The Tobago authorities actually acknowledge this is a good idea and are working on it, with a temporary tent to be set up first.
-contact tracing for the infected Healthcare worker under way.
-covid19 prep is new experience and a "general ongoing adjustment" in the hospital. Some level of fear and anxiety in the staff, but none are refusing to do their jobs.
-Most active time of transmission is when patients are symptomatic.

Also the Tobago conferences are much better than the Roiley/Deyalsingh "badman talking and allyuh listening" conferences in Trinidad. Tobago might very well come out of this far better than us dealing with the Trinidad authorities.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 27th, 2020, 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 10:41 pm

I saw on the news a group of scientists developed a formula to address how many people are likely to have corona virus, the numbers are within millions. This is supposedly a good thing because it means while it is extremely contagious it isn't as deadly as we believe it to be even tho it is pretty deadly when compared to most diseases.

The fact that it is very likely that millions of people have this virus and don't even know or their symptoms are soo mild that they can't even be bothered is actually pretty promising. We may be able to live with this virus being the norm which is what we will have to do like it or not it isn't going anywhere

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 10:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I saw on the news a group of scientists developed a formula to address how many people are likely to have corona virus, the numbers are within millions. This is supposedly a good thing because it means while it is extremely contagious it isn't as deadly as we believe it to be even tho it is pretty deadly when compared to most diseases.

The fact that it is very likely that millions of people have this virus and don't even know or their symptoms are soo mild that they can't even be bothered is actually pretty promising. We may be able to live with this virus being the norm which is what we will have to do like it or not it isn't going anywhere

except for the hundreds of thousands (or millions even) that will die this year, yes. :drinking:
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 27th, 2020, 10:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 10:45 pm

even so 1 in 5 ppl having to be hospitalized from getting a virus becoming the norm? i not sure who on the planet would be ok with that- seasonal flu never do that

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Unfortunately it will be the norm at least until a vaccine is developed. We have to face reality this virus isn't going anywhere anytime soon it will take every life it has set out to take until science can defeat it.

Social distancing, shutting down a country isn't a solution for this virus that much is obvious. Since we didn't have the good fortune of having evolved for 200 million years with bullet proof immune systems like crocodiles and vultures (Avian Dinosaurs) the only thing we have is science. Society is NOT going to return to normal until a vaccine is developed for this thing. Experts agree on this by a large margin we WILL have to return to work with this virus being the norm once we reach critical breaking point.

We can't shut down entire countries for years, people will eat each other.

OR we could win the lotto and somehow with a 0.001% chance we will wake up one morning and this virus will be nothing but a distant nightmare, driven back into the wild. I won't hold my breath on that gamble tho

carluva

Postby carluva » March 27th, 2020, 11:04 pm

Yuh know. It's alot of conjecture now. The unfortunate thing is none of us can change the outcome as none of us are in positions to effect a change. So we are all reliant on the same government, like it or not, to "lead" us through this. The only this we can do is remain compliant with the rules and practice what the medical pundits say. Is that so hard? And all the while we need to stay put and this'll go away. That's all we need to do, stay put and not move around unnecessarily.

Nothing will shutdown on its own, but when we panic buy and rush around like headless chickens, we cause the system to shutdown as demand surpasses supply.

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 11:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Which dip sh!t thinks that returning to normal by April is likely?

Returning to normal even within the next few years is still a pipe dream according to the top expert behind the SARS on 60 minutes Australia.

People are going to have to go back to work sooner or later regardless of this virus else we will start eating eachother. I guess it's a good time to find out how good your immune system is, if you ever wondered.

trump

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 11:08 pm

sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Which dip sh!t thinks that returning to normal by April is likely?

trump

he want church pack fuh easter

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 11:08 pm

I really do wish everyone of you the best of health, I have kinda accepted my faith I have diabetes and hypertension, if I die well I guess I die, nothing I could do about it. Reading reports on the outcome of patients who need to be hospitalized the situation is pretty grim, majority do not make it at least from what I saw on the news by some top doctors at US hospitals.

It may be time for me to meet my maker, really did wish I got the chance to operate a big cat excavator before I died tho it was one of those things I wanted to do. meh whatever I guess......

I feel like what is even scarier is seeing friends and family die in front your eyes, no funeral no nothing all die alone like in Italy the country with the 4th best health care in the world beating USA and Canada.

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 11:13 pm

^ the most you can do is try to keep your blood sugar & blood pressure under control. from what iv'e read is that yes you are high risk but uncontrolled diabetes is much worse than controlled diabetes for this virus. do what u have to do take medication or drastically change your diet for the next few weeks at least while this virus is here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 11:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

trump

he want church pack fuh easter

Amazingly that has to be the dumbest suggestion I ever heard, although experts do agree that packing churches for easter will actually speed up the course of natural selection and kill out everybody who isn't able to combat this virus.

Eventually when this virus kills millions which experts think it almost certainly will, the ones remaining will be almost immune to it. It honestly does boil down to survival of the fittest, too bad I ain't the fittest. But again such is life and that is how evolution works we can't stop these things from happening but China needs to be held accountable for covering this thing up, arresting anybody who spoke out about it etc they basically unleashed this onto the world and they are protected by politicians and business people who can gain financially from China.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 11:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ the most you can do is try to keep your blood sugar & blood pressure under control. from what iv'e read is that yes you are high risk but uncontrolled diabetes is much worse than controlled diabetes for this virus. do what u have to do take medication or drastically change your diet for the next few weeks at least while this virus is here.

yeah my vacation paid leave from work starts next week and lasts 1 week cause the boss says he can't give more than that as he needs people to work. So I will be in self isolation until then, honestly if push comes to shove I have saved up some money with all the overtime work I took, I feel like maybe I could just fire the wuk and remain home as my health is really important more so than any job I reckon.

But this virus eh going nowhere, since I work in essential its better I keep the wuk but risk dying....

What would you do?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2020, 11:45 pm

Just to add to this discussion.

I'm 99% sure my co-worker has it right now, however, he lives alone, no recent travel history and his symptoms are mild. He has called the hotline twice and been refused a test both times. He is being extremely responsible and has not left his apartment in over 15 days.

He was in meetings with some clients who came from the US on March 5th and 6th. On the 13th he woke up sick and we haven't seen him since the 12th March.

Yet he is still coughing, occasional fever, headaches, and sore throat. He says all of this has been mild and he could have come to work right through and feel fine.

If he has it, I guarantee hundreds of other Trinis have as that same group of US clients went out quite a bit on the 6th and 7th.

The spike is coming soon.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2020, 11:48 pm

What are the chances of this being a bio weapon? realistically speaking if we were to put a percentage on this? Is there a way to accomplish something like that with the limited evidence?

China has refused since day one to co operate with the outside world, they operated like people who knew what this virus truly was and covered it up. This doesn't happen just like that they move like they were trying to hide something even tho they were just probably trying to save face I guess we will never know, this covid 19 will remain one of life's greatest mysteries.

Just imagine we still know almost nothing about this virus and its real long term impact eh. And that is the most scary part about it

Postby Gladiator » March 27th, 2020, 11:54 pm

Where you working bro?

Dohplaydat wrote:Just to add to this discussion.

I'm 99% sure my co-worker has it right now, however, he lives alone, no recent travel history and his symptoms are mild. He has called the hotline twice and been refused a test both times. He is being extremely responsible and has not left his apartment in over 15 days.

He was in meetings with some clients who came from the US on March 5th and 6th. On the 13th he woke up sick and we haven't seen him since the 12th March.

Yet he is still coughing, occasional fever, headaches, and sore throat. He says all of this has been mild and he could have come to work right through and feel fine.

If he has it, I guarantee hundreds of other Trinis have as that same group of US clients went out quite a bit on the 6th and 7th.

The spike is coming soon.

Postby Gladiator » March 28th, 2020, 12:44 am

Spain, Italy and France on total lockdown and still reporting +7900, +6900 and +3900 cases per day. Allyuh sure that this thing not airborne?

Will our quasi-lockdown from Monday be effective? Just shut the sheit down totally like India... or is Armageddon in we skin.

Postby Mark! » March 28th, 2020, 2:05 am

You MFs here still like to fight up.

Jus stay alive.

Postby Redman » March 28th, 2020, 3:33 am

New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?

https://www.zerohedge.com/health/new-or ... -epicenter