Les Bain wrote:redmanjp wrote:Les Bain wrote:Cannot remember the source but I read a local news article that claimed the official figures are low because people are doing home testing and not coming forward if they test positive.
Feels as though pandemic burnout is being confused for the end of covid, but it has wrecked enough lives, businesses and financial situations.
home testing would mean hundreds or over 1000 test kits sold per day at the peak in january - i doubt local providers have that much in stock.
Purely speculative, but not everyone feeling symptoms would take action on it by testing. For some, is Panadol, horse metson or cough til they feel better.
matr1x wrote:Allyuh who run and take the vaccine real dotish.
All the big threat and ppl return to work like normal. Nobody getting send home for not taking the jab
Red, u guys still continue to humor that incel jackass and his trolling. Just ignore him, he's used to it.redmanjp wrote:matr1x wrote:Allyuh who run and take the vaccine real dotish.
All the big threat and ppl return to work like normal. Nobody getting send home for not taking the jab
if covid decide to surprise us and mutate to another more severe strain that even escape previous immunity against infection & severe disease that mandate cud come back eh. omicron already escapes immunity against infection - we lucky that it's a milder strain (milder, not mild like flu for unvaxxed ppl with no prior infection) protection against severe disease from both vaccination and previous infection still exists.
matr1x wrote:Allyuh who run and take the vaccine real dotish.
pugboy wrote:so when allyuh think the next wave coming after the immunity from jab and infections start to wear off?
matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
alfa wrote:matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
That's public sector. I know plenty people in the oil industry who get fired for not taking it
Principal Medical Officer Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards has said there have been encouraging trends in hospital occupancy over the last month in the parallel health care system. She said overall occupancy nationally is at 22 per cent.
“All hospitals are at under 30 per cent occupancy, with three out of ten beds at each hospital being fully occupied. At ward level, occupancy is 22 per cent, in intensive care units (ICU) occupancy is 26 per cent, with 21 of 80 beds being occupied, and high-dependency unit occupancy is 13 per cent. There are 159 patients in hospital, with 16 accessing the step-down level of care.”
Speaking at the health ministry’s virtual media conference on covid19 on Wednesday, Abdool-Richards said there had also been a decline in the number of patients in accident and emergency (A&E) departments waiting for transfer to the parallel health care system. There are 15 patients being treated for covid19 in ten A&E departments nationwide and she said the current rolling average for covid19 ambulance usage is 15 per cent.
The last time the numbers were at these levels were in April 2021, before the spike in cases.
Abdool-Richards also said the Point Fortin Area Hospital will be upgraded from a step-down facility in the parallel health care system for covid19 and will now be designated as a hospital facility within the system.
This measure follows the return of the new Point Fortin Hospital to the mainstream public health care system.
“The area hospital has now been upgraded to treat moderately and severely ill patients, so patients in the Area Hospital, Point Fortin, are now being treated with oxygen and for more serious cases of covid19.
"As of this afternoon, and on our dashboard, the Area Hospital, Point Fortin, will now be classified under 'hospitals' as opposed to 'step-down facilities.' This follows the Prime Minister’s announcement that we will be consolidating the parallel health care system as we attempt to return to normalcy.”
Abdool-Richards said any further decommissioning of step-down and hospital facilities would be announced by the Health Minister, and occupancy continues to be reviewed.
Epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds said the levels of illness presenting to the covid19 health care system were decreasing. The current seven-day rolling average in the number of cases is 312, he said, and percentage positivity was now in the low 30 per cent range.
Asked what the health team thought about the Prime Minister’s announcement that he was contemplating opening up the country, Hinds said any comments would be pre-emptive and premature until the PM met with the Health Ministry.
*dyingMmoney607 wrote:4 people dieing everyday means 120 deaths a month. That is encouraging?
Mmoney607 wrote:4 people dieing everyday means 120 deaths a month. That is encouraging?
The current estimate is 60% of the TTO population has been infected at least once. Countries with significantly higher infection estimates and vaccination rates are experiencing increases in infections due to BA.2. The same is likely to occur in TTO but at a higher incidence at some point in the future.redmanjp wrote:hopefully as omicron spreads more ppl get natural immunity. also an avg 200 ppl get vaxxed everyday (the safer way to get immunity especially if u are >60 or have NCDs) so soon most ppl would be immune and the death rate would go down further- in a few weeks we may see a day or days with 0 deaths.
matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
adnj wrote:The current estimate is 60% of the TTO population has been infected at least once. Countries with significantly higher infection estimates and vaccination rates are experiencing increases in infections due to BA.2. The same is likely to occur in TTO but at a higher incidence at some point in the future.redmanjp wrote:hopefully as omicron spreads more ppl get natural immunity. also an avg 200 ppl get vaxxed everyday (the safer way to get immunity especially if u are >60 or have NCDs) so soon most ppl would be immune and the death rate would go down further- in a few weeks we may see a day or days with 0 deaths.
drchaos wrote:matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
Quite a few people in the private sector got dismissed for not taking the jab ....
Both in the formal and informal economy.
BTW we still talking bout covid?
I thought it done
IHME policy briefing.redmanjp wrote:adnj wrote:The current estimate is 60% of the TTO population has been infected at least once. Countries with significantly higher infection estimates and vaccination rates are experiencing increases in infections due to BA.2. The same is likely to occur in TTO but at a higher incidence at some point in the future.redmanjp wrote:hopefully as omicron spreads more ppl get natural immunity. also an avg 200 ppl get vaxxed everyday (the safer way to get immunity especially if u are >60 or have NCDs) so soon most ppl would be immune and the death rate would go down further- in a few weeks we may see a day or days with 0 deaths.
source?
also we already confirmed BA.2 so another wave will happen sooner rather than later
Wrong thread.sMASH wrote:paria board getting sacked, and the line of command down to the supervisor, that decided to interrupt the rescue and cap of teh line
redmanjp wrote:drchaos wrote:matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
Quite a few people in the private sector got dismissed for not taking the jab ....
I thought it done
2 ppl who were not elderly died yesterday out of a total of 5 deaths. one of those 5 had 0 health issues.
https://newsday.co.tt/2022/03/24/5-deaths-366-covid19-cases-recorded/
it eh done yet. although it could have been so if we vaccinated most of the population especially those elderly that died. and if we wanted to know what endemic would or should look like- let's look at flu cases. the last prepandemic flu season had only about 44 deaths. that an average of less than 1 death per week. we still getting more than 20 covid deaths per week currently. that's close to 90-100 per month until almost all the population becomes immune.
Still stupid about COVID after two years of trolling the thread.Mmoney607 wrote:redmanjp wrote:drchaos wrote:matr1x wrote:Not a single person got dismissed for not taking the jab or boosters.
I thought it done
2 ppl who were not elderly died yesterday out of a total of 5 deaths. one of those 5 had 0 health issues.
https://newsday.co.tt/2022/03/24/5-deaths-366-covid19-cases-recorded/
it eh done yet. although it could have been so if we vaccinated most of the population especially those elderly that died. and if we wanted to know what endemic would or should look like- let's look at flu cases. the last prepandemic flu season had only about 44 deaths. that an average of less than 1 death per week. we still getting more than 20 covid deaths per week currently. that's close to 90-100 per month until almost all the population becomes immune.
So how this different to if they never imposed any covid restrictions