COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

SuperiorMan

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby SuperiorMan » March 14th, 2022, 12:28 pm

sMASH wrote:Covee done. Rowley eat enough pandemic food. Z(15).jpg

This man is such a disgrace.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2022, 2:30 pm

Once symptoms are mild, it will be ops normal.

When Trinis internals start melting, bodies burning on the side of the road, Trinis line up on the highway howling like monkeys and dropping dead due to no medical attention……start to worry.

Other than that, have a safe Carnival 2023 and let the braying continue.

Postby K74T » March 16th, 2022, 12:37 pm

Post-Carnival COVID-19 spike recorded

A post-Carnival spike in COVID-19 cases was recorded. However, according to information presented by the Ministry of Health’s epidemiology division’s technical director, Dr Avery Hinds, it was not significant enough to burden the country.

Speaking during Wednesday’s virtual press conference, he indicated it presented itself almost two weeks ago.

“There was what we consider to be an unusual number of cases for one day. That was March 7 which is about a week after the official Carnival weekend and maybe a week or two of some of those additional activities (unsanctioned, underground parties),” he said.

“While we did see that uptick, it wasn’t something that caused enough significant severe illness to burden the healthcare system. It’s not that it’s concerning that we’re missing data, again we see it, we know where it’s from but its impact had been mitigated by a few things.”

He said one of the mitigating factors was the lower severity of illness brought on by the Omicron variant along with the effect of the public health measures instituted within the country.

-CNC3

Postby adnj » March 17th, 2022, 6:04 am

Possible repost of updated booster schedule:

Postby Country_Bookie » March 18th, 2022, 1:57 pm

Cuba 7 day average of New cases: 583
Total deaths in last 7 days: 1

Trinidad 7 day average of New cases: 348
Total deaths in last 7 days: 27

Our number of active cases is still higher than Cuba, but it does show how bad things still are in our health care system. Just because we not having 37 deaths a day like December it doesn't mean the standard of care has improved. Ah well, at least the PM appointed a committee to fix it

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2022, 2:04 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Cuba 7 day average of New cases: 583

Our number of active cases is still higher than Cuba, but it does show how bad things still are in our health care system. Just because we not having 37 deaths a day like December it doesn't mean the standard of care has improved. Ah well, at least the PM appointed a committee to fix it

Terry tears go eventually wash away all the ills of the public health care system

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2022, 2:47 pm

Nearly 90% of Cuba is vaccinated

Postby adnj » March 18th, 2022, 4:05 pm

Thank you for spelling it out s l o w l y for the back row.

Postby matr1x » March 18th, 2022, 4:30 pm

Numbers can't rise, if you not counting it.

Cuba solution

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2022, 6:26 pm

everybody home testing

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2022, 6:57 pm

adnj wrote:

Thank you for spelling it out s l o w l y for the back row.

0% mRNA... smrt people

Postby matr1x » March 20th, 2022, 7:54 pm

Also, an issue related to covid and the vaccine is acute hair loss.

Postby timelapse » March 21st, 2022, 7:02 am

matr1x wrote:Also, an issue related to covid and the vaccine is acute hair loss.
Hair loss is seldom cute

Postby matr1x » March 21st, 2022, 10:22 am

It is if it's not natural

Postby matr1x » March 21st, 2022, 10:26 am

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:Also, an issue related to covid and the vaccine is acute hair loss.
Hair loss is seldom cute

Oh shoot....lol, missed that one

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2022, 10:30 am

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:At what stage were they given it? When they deteriorated or early on as symptoms developed?
If you do become ill, take fluoxetine or fluvoxamine instead.

Both are cheap. Both have been show likely effectiveness. Both are widely available. Both are generic. Both have been around for about 30 years.

there also require a prescription - are doctors prescribing it for covid?

and u didnt answer the question tho.

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2022, 10:58 am

yall realize half the country vaxxed right? why u doh talk to them? afaik none of my vaxxed family get any bald head

is like we living in alternate universes :roll:

do u know that covid can make u impotent? oh and apparently it can also cause hair loss

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/after-covid-19-some-survivors-experience-heart-wrenching-hair-loss-n1244158

https://www.bostonherald.com/2021/12/03/hair-loss-after-coronavirus-infection-common-but-very-rare-after-vaccination/

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 21st, 2022, 11:02 am

redmanjp wrote:

yall realize half the country vaxxed right? why u doh talk to them? afaik none of my vaxxed family get any bald head

is like we living in alternate universes :roll:

do u know that covid can make u impotent? oh and apparently it can also cause hair loss

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/after-covid-19-some-survivors-experience-heart-wrenching-hair-loss-n1244158

https://www.bostonherald.com/2021/12/03/hair-loss-after-coronavirus-infection-common-but-very-rare-after-vaccination/

Some vaccines can cause hair loss if you research it properly though it's rare.

Postby matr1x » March 21st, 2022, 11:20 am

Something to be concerned about for sure

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2022, 11:50 am

it seems like almost every possible side effect of the vax is a symptom of covid infection as well. just that in most cases it is more likely with covid infection than vaccination. and u can't say well ill just avoid getting covid - with omicron its so contagious everyone is being exposed and most will get it eventually, so its better it meets an already trained (vaxxed) immune system that can respond quickly, rather than an untrained (unvaxxed) one that has to now figure out how to fight it which it will, but because it takes longer, the virus has more time to do damage and give u all the same issues u worried the vax will give u.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 21st, 2022, 12:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:it seems like almost every possible side effect of the vax is a symptom of covid infection as well. just that in most cases it is more likely with covid infection than vaccination. and u can't say well ill just avoid getting covid - with omicron its so contagious everyone is being exposed and most will get it eventually, so its better it meets an already trained (vaxxed) immune system that can respond quickly, rather than an untrained (unvaxxed) one that has to now figure out how to fight it which it will, but because it takes longer, the virus has more time to do damage and give u all the same issues u worried the vax will give u.

This is true. I was just replying to this comment

redmanjp wrote:yall realize half the country vaxxed right? why u doh talk to them? afaik none of my vaxxed family get any

that it is actually a real side effect.
Last edited by SuperiorMan on March 21st, 2022, 1:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2022, 1:00 pm

it have pills advertising on cable for covid that ppl could take at home. that's why the US could 'live with it'. we still in the pandemic stage where u only get treated in hospital. we waiting on WHO to authorize them pills - maybe next year we getting dat - same for the 5-11 vaccines :roll:

Postby MaxPower » March 21st, 2022, 1:19 pm

Continue to follow the protocols.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 21st, 2022, 1:35 pm

Government announced that all schools going back out for term 2 (april) but to date we have not been given ANy date for the start or approval for vaccinating children 5-12 .. and its impossible for them to be fully vaccinated by that date so who knows whats really going on.
Kids in Primary school have been home for 2 years now, thats robbed them of so much social development .. i really hope they can start going back out.

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2022, 1:38 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Government announced that all schools going back out for term 2 (april) but to date we have not been given ANy date for the start or approval for vaccinating children 5-12 .. and its impossible for them to be fully vaccinated by that date so who knows whats really going on.
Kids in Primary school have been home for 2 years now, thats robbed them of so much social development .. i really hope they can start going back out.

most kids are at low risks with covid. however the exceptions are those with asthma and other health conditions, including simply being overweight. that last one might be a lot of kids.

Postby adnj » March 22nd, 2022, 10:53 am

Updated. Lowest number of estimated daily infections in nearly a year.

ImageImage

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2022, 11:20 am

i feel the public testing labs so overwhelmed they was sending ppl back. otherwise we should have reached thousands of cases per day in January & February. i dont think is ppl doing home testing ppl just not testing. far less than testing during delta.

Postby Les Bain » March 22nd, 2022, 11:33 am

Cannot remember the source but I read a local news article that claimed the official figures are low because people are doing home testing and not coming forward if they test positive.

Feels as though pandemic burnout is being confused for the end of covid, but it has wrecked enough lives, businesses and financial situations.

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2022, 11:50 am

Les Bain wrote:Cannot remember the source but I read a local news article that claimed the official figures are low because people are doing home testing and not coming forward if they test positive.

Feels as though pandemic burnout is being confused for the end of covid, but it has wrecked enough lives, businesses and financial situations.

home testing would mean hundreds or over 1000 test kits sold per day at the peak in january - i doubt local providers have that much in stock.

Postby Les Bain » March 22nd, 2022, 1:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Cannot remember the source but I read a local news article that claimed the official figures are low because people are doing home testing and not coming forward if they test positive.

home testing would mean hundreds or over 1000 test kits sold per day at the peak in january - i doubt local providers have that much in stock.

Purely speculative, but not everyone feeling symptoms would take action on it by testing. For some, is Panadol, horse metson or cough til they feel better.