The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2020, 8:10 am

Duplicate

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2020, 8:12 am

alfa wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
matr1x wrote:Could someone explain how they count the entire election in a few hours, but recount taking days?

On election night raw ballots are counted.
When a recount is done each ballot is crosschecked against the original list and the box is audited to confirm that the votes associated with that polling division are in that box. It’s also done by a recount committee in the presence of candidates or their reps.
A recount will take longer because it’s almost like a mini audit. It’s confirming someone didn’t dump 1000 fraudulent votes for one party in. They’re not just recounting the votes again.

So on first count someone can dump 1000 extra fraudulent votes and no one will pick it up unless a recount is called for?

Unlikely but people literally think a recount is “maybe we count wrong lewwe count again”

Like it or not out elections processes have a lot of checks and balances, anyone who had been close to it can tell you that. The recount process is there to give people that option to further validate that process.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 12th, 2020, 8:48 am

eliteauto wrote:He just got that part backwards. We're first past the post, not proportional representation. The UNC got the popular vote and lost, I'm seeing several posts on social media harping on this and questioning how is that possible, seems many don't know our system. Ironically the UNC has spoken about a PR system and had the constitutional majority to implement it and didn't

PNM ppl will not welcome proportional representations, Manning was never in favor of it nor will Rowlee.

We still need to see the official results and not no media results

This is worst election ever from EBC, they operated like a village council elections

Every election has discrepencies. And we were in a novel situation. There has never been a time in the history of universal adult suffrage in this country where an election was conducted in a pandemic.
Fact is the opposition will never get a better chance to unseat GORTT. The incumbent was probably the most unpopular since the NAR. All they needed to do was present a realistic manifesto and hold the course until the date of polls. Instead, they self destructed, exemplarily led by their leader: from sun;ight. to using utc and nib investments for capital projects to bananagate....the list of self inflicted wounds was endless, from start to finish.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » August 12th, 2020, 9:36 am

Hopefully this spells the end of the UNC.

All of them should just find a new job/go back to their regular jobs and leave the governing to PNM and 1%.

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2020, 9:56 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Hopefully this spells the end of the UNC.

All of them should just find a new job/go back to their regular jobs and leave the governing to PNM and 1%.

And this here is the problem.

We dont need the UNC to disappear.

We need UNC to step up their game, get the party straight...and put real effective pressure on the Govt for the next 5 years.

We need the PNM to realize that if THEY do not up their game that there is an acceptable alternative in the form of the UNC or a third party.

We need 1.1M voters to take the stance that regardless of which 3 letters that label a party-if thats the best choice then I CAN/WILL vote for them.

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 10:12 am

Redman wrote:

And this here is the problem.

We dont need the UNC to disappear.

We need UNC to step up their game, get the party straight...and put real effective pressure on the Govt for the next 5 years.

We need the PNM to realize that if THEY do not up their game that there is an acceptable alternative in the form of the UNC or a third party.

We need 1.1M voters to take the stance that regardless of which 3 letters that label a party-if thats the best choice then I CAN/WILL vote for them.

They can step up all they want that's of little use..

As we have seen the media is very bias and plays minds games on the gullible public and the EBC continues to moves bounders in favor of PNM.

As I have said fence cowards are really PNM voters but don't want to be known.

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 10:14 am

Watch you bank account disappear in paying taxes and as we hear rumors' more income taxes coming , so lets take home pay for you,

Take Bull

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2020, 10:16 am

FB_IMG_1597236712441.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2020, 10:17 am

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1597236712441.jpeg
Ahh the next fingerprint.

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2020, 10:18 am

Watch you bank account disappear in paying taxes and as we hear rumors' more income taxes coming , so lets take home pay for you,

Take Bull
I hear every month we gonna pay property tax?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 12th, 2020, 10:26 am

I see plenty people in the UNC groups on fb rallying for Kamla and for her to not step down (mostly women). Something really wrong with these people yes. Like they don't want to win elections.

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 10:26 am

aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

Well its going to be large taxes you will have to pay, so i guess they will take monthly installments to soften the blow.

Don't expect any improvements or services from paying you house taxes.

If you live in a Non PNM area you have nothing to get

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 12th, 2020, 10:32 am

Take Bull

hoss, of all the major countries in the caribbean, trinidad pays the least amount of tax. Three countries currently poorer than us bay more tax_ Guyana:26% Jamaica:24% and Barbados 33%....our tax rate is 19% of salaries. That is unacceptable

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2020, 10:34 am

oh ho, so that is why it have so much potholes. We doh pay enough tax.

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2020, 10:39 am

aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

Well its going to be large taxes you will have to pay, so i guess they will take monthly installments to soften the blow.

HAAAAAA you exaggerating -as usual.

Large?

3% of the Annual Rental Value is large?

Office of the Prime Minister

https://www.opm.gov.tt/residential-home ... perty-tax/

Ernst and Young breakdown of the tax.
http://www.classifieds.guardian.co.tt/n ... operty-tax

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2020, 10:40 am

aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

I have an idea..create 'The end is near' thread since alot of apocalyptic events happpening. You see Russia gas station explosion yesterday?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2020, 11:09 am

Trinispougla wrote:

Take Bull

hoss, of all the major countries in the caribbean, trinidad pays the least amount of tax. Three countries currently poorer than us bay more tax_ Guyana:26% Jamaica:24% and Barbados 33%....our tax rate is 19% of salaries. That is unacceptable

They also all don't have our level of value of mineral extraction.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 12th, 2020, 11:10 am

maj. tom wrote:oh ho, so that is why it have so much potholes. We doh pay enough tax.

Actually yes......and the potholes in roads outside of main roads comes under local government. Increased tax revenue goes to the burgesses and the regional corporations. All allyuh men who does go to USA and Europe, why do you think their roads and social services and systems are as well taken care of as they are? It is because on average, 45 % of the salaries in western Europe is subjected to taxation. Even in the usa, they themselves are talking about renovating ageing infrastructure which would be funded by taxation....as free market as they are. They understand the benefits of having a taxation system

VII

Postby VII » August 12th, 2020, 11:18 am

Before I go.

Ouch Kamla.

I could consider voting for such reasonable men,party and race dont even factor for me.. some of you tuntuns here could learn a thing or two about basic decency and class from these UNC stalwarts.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/latest- ... 2e6d50ddba

The recount won’t produce changed results. It’s the same strategy UNC used in 2015 with election petitions - which failed. How can a PNM victory margin of 2,000-odd votes be seen as a ‘close figure?’ Our La Horquetta candidate, for instance, spent a long time working that seat and still lost. When the UNC won San Juan in 2015 by a margin of 500 votes, PNM didn’t seek recount.’’

He added, “We’ve seen figures showing where candidates who replaced Ganga and Ramona Ramdial apparently got less votes than they did. Why didn’t our supporters come out in safe seats? UNC shouldn’t have failed in this election since this was the most unpopular PNM government. UNC’s been kidnapped by people with personal interests. Members, if they ever find their backbone, should reorganise the party.’’

Maharaj said the leadership’s failure to congratulate Rowley on winning was also poor and ungracious.

Khan also agreed the recount call was a time-buying effort

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2020, 11:27 am

The election process allows for recounts though.
Why all the beatup when it is requested?

And some history. Patrick Manning has admitted several times he lost his seat in 1986 and only NAR's reluctance to ask for a recount allowed him to be one of the 3 PNM in Parliament (Patos used to attribute it to divine intervention). Imagine how different life could have been if he had lost, left politics to go back into Geology and we wouldn't have had what could arguably be one of the most wasteful and corrupt administrations in this country's history.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 12th, 2020, 11:27 am

d only problem with them argument is more tax don't mean better services, it just mean richer PNM and friends, Burkie et al team and more suffering for the GP.

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 11:31 am

Redman wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

Large?

You really think by paying these taxes you are going to get value for money?

We have nothing to get after paying these absurd taxes.

Redman you know very we will get nothing for paying these hindrance of a tax.

Worst if you live in a Non PNM area

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 12th, 2020, 11:32 am

daxt0r wrote:d only problem with them argument is more tax don't mean better services, it just mean richer PNM and friends, Burkie et al team and more suffering for the GP.

You cannot say that definitively. You can however say that inadequate taxation significantly cuts into GORTT revenues. With oil and gas companies, most of a government's revenue is from taxation.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 12th, 2020, 11:34 am

Redman wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

Large?

After years on Trinituner....you does really take ZR opinion seriously? de man is a walking, talking contradiction

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 11:37 am

Trinispougla wrote:
maj. tom wrote:oh ho, so that is why it have so much potholes. We doh pay enough tax.

Actually yes......and the potholes in roads outside of main roads comes under local government. Increased tax revenue goes to the burgesses and the regional corporations. All allyuh men who does go to USA and Europe, why do you think their roads and social services and systems are as well taken care of as they are? It is because on average, 45 % of the salaries in western Europe is subjected to taxation. Even in the usa, they themselves are talking about renovating ageing infrastructure which would be funded by taxation....as free market as they are. They understand the benefits of having a taxation system

Their roads , social services and systems are best because they have account for it.

Here we cant complain when you get bad service.

In TT we get slap dash shoddy poor workmanship , lazy workers

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 11:40 am

Trinispougla wrote:
Redman wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Take Bull

Large?

After years on Trinituner....you does really take ZR opinion seriously? de man is a walking, talking contradiction

Paying house taxes does not bother me one bit.

I will simply raise my rents to cover it.

Hard luck to my PNM tenants.

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2020, 11:46 am

But if, say plastic bags not selling already can can you raise the the price to cover the tax? Assuming :| that you own a property of course. :|

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2020, 11:49 am

The Political leader of the Congress of the People, Ms. Carolyn Seepersad- Bachan has resigned.
At a special meeting on Tuesday evening she told her party followers that she had pledged to honour the mandate of the COP when she took up the mantle of leadership.
That is, to find enduring unity and strength in the nation's diversity. She said the fight in the latest election was to strengthen the country's parliamentary democracy.
Ms. Seepersad-Bachan says that along the way she was humbled by the many people who listened and shared their views and concerns with her. She is grateful that regardless of their final political choice they treated her with respect.
Ms. Seepersad-Bachan says that in the interim the national COP Council will appoint one of their Deputy Leaders to act as Political leader. She urges her followers to hold on to the believe that change will come and they will be beneficiaries of good governance.
FB_IMG_1597247251972.jpeg

VII

Postby VII » August 12th, 2020, 11:57 am

Always like her...all the best to you Mam.

Postby toyolink » August 12th, 2020, 12:05 pm

The road we as a people continue to be heading down is just amazingly silly as it relates to the post election discourse.
We just dont understand that doing the same things over and over and expecting different results just dont work.
Elections are more or less over and we need to move on without sowing bitterness and other nonsense.
The work we all have to do requires us to get going in the same direction since like covid19, other forms of destructive pressures not going to distinguish between unc or pnm.