PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 10:54 pm

Thats the autovista mode mostly, ROFL. in game graphics... pffft... a 3200 ATi is doing the rendering.

If you want realism, play some sims like GTR :lol: i still play it :oops:

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 27th, 2011, 11:55 pm

corsair xms ddr3 1333mhz will work ok wit z68 mb and i52500k?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 27th, 2011, 11:58 pm

^^ yes it will, shud oc a bit as well

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 28th, 2011, 1:13 am

^^ kool.. how much u think i could get for a phenom II x2 560 BE and a gigabyte 890gx mb??

B11 e16 bison

Postby B11 e16 bison » October 28th, 2011, 1:21 am

I wonder what you guys would think about my contraption..lol.
I water cooled my computer from scratch...i got inspired by force bcuz the heat output of my then hd 4850 was too much to bear at the time :shock: ...I now have a HD 4890. :drinking:

system specs are
Amd Phenom 9750 @ 2.8ghz 1.3 vcore
ECS GF 8200a
4 GB DDR 2 800
Sapphire Vapor X HD 4890 OC 1050/1150 (Volt modded 1.58v) 0X

Planning on upgrading now that i have good cooling. :P

Cpu never passes 44 deg on load. (Prime 95)
Gpu never passes 55 deg on load during Furmark.

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » October 28th, 2011, 8:20 am

Dem fellas over by tom's hardware test out battlefield 3 with a slew of video cards.... i wonder if my athlon 2 x3 would be able to make.... :( Best i try to unlock the 4th core :drinking:

*edit - like i would be able to run it after all! men running it on two cores normal and getting 80fps

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/battlefield-3-graphics-performance,3063-9.html

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 28th, 2011, 9:16 am

Zeroman wrote:Entire setup. Tower was about 11,000

Cool guessing is a intel beast...might make the switch to intel next year, really liking their new mobo technology where is let ya use a portion a of regular HDD & use it as a SSD.

The i7 2600k should drop in price by the time I'm ready to upgrade. Or I may just go for the new ivy bridge cpu's.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 28th, 2011, 10:28 am

iM@st@1 wrote:

Cool guessing is a intel beast...might make the switch to intel next year, really liking their new mobo technology where is let ya use a portion a of regular HDD & use it as a SSD.

The i7 2600k should drop in price by the time I'm ready to upgrade. Or I may just go for the new ivy bridge cpu's.

if u using it for gaming alone really de 2500k will be enough.. both 2600k and 2500k are almost the same in gaming.. for apps and sheit de 2600k will be g8.. i am getting the 2500k soon.. i hope.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 28th, 2011, 11:05 am

mickey17 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

if u using it for gaming alone really de 2500k will be enough.. both 2600k and 2500k are almost the same in gaming.. for apps and sheit de 2600k will be g8.. i am getting the 2500k soon.. i hope.

Well I do alot of streaming as well as games, apps & would like to learn Mac OSX too. A lil familar with it but wana be verse so I think an a OC 2600k or the new ivy bridge is the flick. After all my upcoming upgrades I should be set for a couple years.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2011, 11:30 am

B11 e16 bison wrote:I wonder what you guys would think about my contraption..lol.
I water cooled my computer from scratch...i got inspired by force bcuz the heat output of my then hd 4850 was too much to bear at the time :shock: ...I now have a HD 4890. :drinking:

system specs are
ECS GF 8200a
4 GB DDR 2 800

yo, that badass.. talkin about pc modding, that is it right there.. give me a project like that to do anyday over building a regular high end pc, i am sure you enjoy that beauty!!

B11 e16 bison

Postby B11 e16 bison » October 28th, 2011, 1:29 pm

Chiney wrote:
B11 e16 bison wrote:I wonder what you guys would think about my contraption..lol.

system specs are
ECS GF 8200a
4 GB DDR 2 800

yo, that badass.. talkin about pc modding, that is it right there.. give me a project like that to do anyday over building a regular high end pc, i am sure you enjoy that beauty!!

Yes sir it was a good project, i like to build my own stuff the feeling of accomplishing a task sure beat the feeling of just buying something and not know the inner workings.

Total cost of materials was $400 everything else was salvaged.. :o

Elyon

Postby Elyon » October 28th, 2011, 2:04 pm

first look at asus X79 stuff

http://techgage.com/article/asus_x79_mo ... _preview/1

rampage 4 looks good, not fond of the heatpipe running along the side by the memory though

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 28th, 2011, 5:07 pm

Elyon wrote:first look at asus X79 stuff

http://techgage.com/article/asus_x79_mo ... _preview/1

rampage 4 looks good, not fond of the heatpipe running along the side by the memory though
looks Good second look for me at this..it was on a thread on my site like 4 days ago. 8-)

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 29th, 2011, 7:55 am

Anyone does case mods, want to get a side window installed on my case...would like to attempt it myself but has no equipment.

desert punk

Postby desert punk » October 29th, 2011, 1:32 pm

system specs are
ECS GF 8200a
4 GB DDR 2 800

this real bad :shock: .
thats some real skill to put together them stuff especially the custom made cpu an gpu blocks.

B11 e16 bison

Postby B11 e16 bison » October 29th, 2011, 10:31 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Anyone does case mods, want to get a side window installed on my case...would like to attempt it myself but has no equipment.

It easy all you need is template of what you want the window to look like and borrow someone's jigsaw ( use a scroll blade) and your good to go. Plexi can be used for the window and just used 3M double sided tape.
There are a bunch of videos on Youtube.

@ Desert Punk..lol yeh man. That 4890 is a best card..i looking to upgrade though...looking to go i7 2600k and maybe a ATI HD 6950. But for now i might crossfire the HD 4890, so if u got another to sell im buying.

Water cooling is awesome BTW. I could share more details of how i built the block and fan controller etc. but here is not the place for that. :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 29th, 2011, 10:43 pm

^^ oh yes it is, its the pc tech thread..let us have it.

wen i did my AS electronics, its helped me alot with understand motherboards and their PWM as well as overclocking and CPU voltage regulators/controllers.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 29th, 2011, 11:21 pm

^^ what chiney said

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 29th, 2011, 11:43 pm

B11 e16 bison wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Anyone does case mods, want to get a side window installed on my case...would like to attempt it myself but has no equipment.

It easy all you need is template of what you want the window to look like and borrow someone's jigsaw ( use a scroll blade) and your good to go. Plexi can be used for the window and just used 3M double sided tape.
There are a bunch of videos on Youtube.

Well I've seen the vidz & willing to do it but I'll need to find some1 who has a jigsaw/dremel & wanna lend it out. Know some ppl funny when it comes to lending out their power tools. I rather let some1 w/ experience do it anyw don't wanna fack it up the side panel.

(nxt yr. will invest in some tools :oops: )

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 29th, 2011, 11:55 pm

Was d word chiney :evil:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 30th, 2011, 1:06 am

lol u want me do it for you???

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 30th, 2011, 1:12 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 30th, 2011, 1:21 am

yes it wud... i am considering one

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2011, 7:45 am

Chiney wrote:lol u want me do it for you???

Well I asked firstchoice so waiting for his response in terms of cost. PM me your quote nah.

This is what I looking for & with 120/140mm fan mounts on the panel.

I was actually refering to the cpu cooler trade tho? 8-)

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2011, 7:55 am

mickey17 wrote:u guys think this will work gud
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11743 ... _-HOT.html

I was checking this out too, but it would be a waste of $ cause the noctua wuking. But would love to build a WC rig one day.

Go for it bro

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » October 30th, 2011, 8:28 am

iM@st@1 wrote:

I was checking this out too, but it would be a waste of $ cause the noctua wuking. But would love to build a WC rig one day.

Go for it bro

what cpu and what temps u getting with the noctua iM@st@1? I looking to upgrade from stock cause i realize my x3 could unlock to quad and i know the aluminum heat sink aint cutting it. Saw temps in the bios reach 50c between unlocking,restarting, running cpu-z and jumping back into bios.

looking at the new cooler master 212 evo they released a while ago

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » October 30th, 2011, 8:35 am

BTW guys check out this cpu air cooler from a company now stepping into the cpu cooling game.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1759/1/

Results showing they got it damn right! :twisted:

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 30th, 2011, 9:57 am

iM@st@1 wrote:

Go for it bro

i know de noctua wuking real good.. i upgrading to a 2500k soon.. jus looking at some nice stuff... heard it works really well but no real comparison online between it and the noctua.i know for sure the intel would stay cooler than the amd i using rite now on the noctua.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 30th, 2011, 10:19 am

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showth ... 239&page=6
wanna get mine something like that but not de same colours

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2011, 11:04 am

jumpkickjoe wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Go for it bro

what cpu and what temps u getting with the noctua iM@st@1? I looking to upgrade from stock cause i realize my x3 could unlock to quad and i know the aluminum heat sink aint cutting it. Saw temps in the bios reach 50c between unlocking,restarting, running cpu-z and jumping back into bios.

looking at the new cooler master 212 evo they released a while ago

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099

Have a 955 black ed. stock 3.2Ghz..haven't OC it yet cause I wanted to wait on some addtl case fans I ordered so I'll have optimal air flo. As compared to the previous cooler I was using (Artic 7 Pro) the noctua gimme a good 5-7° drop in temps (idle 33-35°) once is a cool day as opposed to I think 39-41° using the Artic 7.

If it hot is like idle 38-39° ....using the Artic 7 was like 40-44°. But room temps is definitely a big factor, when I AC dong meh room know the Noctua gonna real get on.

So is a big performance increase imo, my system actually is a lil snappier as well. If I had an intel machine sure I would get even lower temps. How my room is now I really should've considered goin WC tho cause it small & gets kina hot. But $ spend aready & putting plans for an AC.

To be honest tho I wish I had bought the H100 because of the size of the Noctua it actually doesn't allow for a big side fan to be installed on my case (NZXT Phantom) & I really wanted to make use of that. Hoping to mod the side panel so I'll perhaps mount some 120 or a 140mm fan a bit lower ova the gpu & so the mobo could get some more air. Not happy with my system temps atall right now (38-40°). Side fans really help.