Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby j.o.e » April 9th, 2013, 4:07 am

i probably late but anybody notice the bmobile banner ad with the z10 countdown? (15 days). Just glimpsed it

Postby ismithx » April 9th, 2013, 8:05 am

yes stephon doh fraid to come out the closet.... z10 is very bad!

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » April 9th, 2013, 8:28 am

S_2NR wrote:
Stephon. wrote:My BARBER has a Z10

MY BARBER!!!

When will you EVER have a BARBER with one of the FEW flagship devices from a brand BEFORE it's released to the masses

WHEN WILL YOUR ASSOCIATES!?!

Your barber is NOT a regular barber

Some barbers make money money than a bank teller tho...so havin him havin a z10 iz nt farfetched

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2013, 9:25 am

j.o.e wrote:i probably late but anybody notice the bmobile banner ad with the z10 countdown? (15 days). Just glimpsed it

the launch is ongoing at the moment in the Oval

Postby foss » April 9th, 2013, 9:32 am

grimreaper009 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

MY BARBER!!!

When will you EVER have a BARBER with one of the FEW flagship devices from a brand BEFORE it's released to the masses

Some barbers make money money than a bank teller tho...so havin him havin a z10 iz nt farfetched

barbers make rel money dan ... doh get tie up

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2013, 9:38 am

correction, it's not the consumer launch at the oval, it's enterprise - from Khafra

the z10 is on demo at the oval

casper

Postby casper » April 9th, 2013, 9:45 am

Stephon. wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

MY BARBER!!!

Doh be on Mario!

I was playing with it for a lil bit tho, it's really smoothe and whatnot, it's really solid and kind of premium ... ish ..

It feels like a samsung phone in your hand but better lol. like from samsung to apple .... it falls right in the middle wrt how it feels in your hand .... if that makes sense :oops:

dawg this SOOOO not sounding right eh...specially from a guy that calls other guys "pumpkin" and "sweety"

slick

Postby slick » April 9th, 2013, 10:06 am

tr1ad wrote:correction, it's not the consumer launch at the oval, it's enterprise - from Khafra

Launch happening in Hilton right now.

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2013, 10:33 am

casper wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

MY BARBER!!!

Doh be on Mario!

I was playing with it for a lil bit tho, it's really smoothe and whatnot, it's really solid and kind of premium ... ish ..

It feels like a samsung phone in your hand but better lol. like from samsung to apple .... it falls right in the middle wrt how it feels in your hand .... if that makes sense :oops:

dawg this SOOOO not sounding right eh...specially from a guy that calls other guys "pumpkin" and "sweety"

lol wow look where your mind is

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » April 9th, 2013, 12:17 pm

foss wrote:
grimreaper009 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

MY BARBER!!!

barbers make rel money dan ... doh get tie up

this we knw...........

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 9th, 2013, 1:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:i probably late but anybody notice the bmobile banner ad with the z10 countdown? (15 days). Just glimpsed it

You spotted the hint eh. Now i dont have to pretend i dont know - April 23rd is the Caribbean-wide launch with availability, from jamaica to trinidad

They didn't announce pricing, but it was told to me again that its gonna be less than what a lot of ppl are thinking, at least on contract

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 9th, 2013, 1:20 pm

slick wrote:
tr1ad wrote:correction, it's not the consumer launch at the oval, it's enterprise - from Khafra

Launch happening in Hilton right now.

The Hilton Launch today was for enterprise customers and especially the launch of BES10

Consumer launch and availability comes later in the month. i must say though that the room was packed (government and private enterprise clients) and everyone was very eager to see the hands-on demoes of the Z10 done by the Bmobile staff after the presentation.

It was of course humorous for me when the Bmobile rep demoed my own apps for me and other ppl at the table.

BlackBerry guys presented and demoed several features on stage including 4G video/voice calling with BBM screen sharing (i've used it myself and its excellent). The sentiment in the room was that this was a high quality, perfect for business product. I think they made an excellent pitch.

recklessone

Postby recklessone » April 9th, 2013, 8:36 pm

Khafra wrote:

You spotted the hint eh. Now i dont have to pretend i dont know - April 23rd is the Caribbean-wide launch with availability, from jamaica to trinidad

They didn't announce pricing, but it was told to me again that its gonna be less than what a lot of ppl are thinking, at least on contract

I'm thinking that Z10 is going to be priced higher at bmobile than the price independent dealers currently sell it for as this is usually the case. I know they offer a one year warranty but is it worth it?

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 9th, 2013, 8:41 pm

recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:

I'm thinking that Z10 is going to be priced higher at bmobile than the price independent dealers currently sell it for as this is usually the case. I know they offer a one year warranty but is it worth it?

I am telling you it will NOT be more than CURRENT dealer prices, dealers are going to have to drop that price when it goes on sale

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2013, 9:16 pm

As far as our folks that were at the "Launch" were told, these would be subsidized just as the iPhone and android devices, with 4G plans of course

Postby stev » April 9th, 2013, 9:40 pm

some die hard android and iphone users from the office (blackberry haters as well) went to the launch....they are considering buying actually.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 9th, 2013, 9:57 pm

stev wrote:some die hard android and iphone users from the office (blackberry haters as well) went to the launch....they are considering buying actually.

The launch had one of the best BB10 presentations I've seen to date, and described many of the enterprise friendly features as well

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2013, 10:09 pm

So how d android porting thing working, was watching a review and d man say sometimes it does work and sometimes it doesn't

waz da one.

so if i wanna play subway surfers on a z10 ... id have to HOPE it works? :?

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2013, 10:10 pm

So how d android porting thing working, was watching a review and d man say sometimes it does work and sometimes it doesn't

waz da one.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 9th, 2013, 10:11 pm

so we could expect prices around 2500- 3000?

Postby stev » April 9th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Stephon. wrote:So how d android porting thing working, was watching a review and d man say sometimes it does work and sometimes it doesn't

waz da one.

'porting' in this case means that an android developer can take his android app and easily create a version to run on BB10. this was made possible when RIM decided to make the blackberry emulation engine available to developers.

so u cant download an android .apk and run it on your Z10 just so...it just means that a lot of the useful and popular apps u get on android will be available for blackberry (depending on the developer).

this is very cool indeed....i just hope they doh add a pricetag on the apps they port for BB10. lol

some downsides at the moment: the emulation engine is not enough to properly port an android app at the moment (it works but not well)...obviously this will get better in the near future.

as a result, apps that are ported by the developer using the engine alone wud not be as smooth on BB10 and will definitely have issues....again...which will only get better as time goes by.

Postby tr1ad » April 10th, 2013, 12:20 am

You can take the .apk file and convert it to .bar format to side load via a very small application and it's very simple to do so. I have done it with numerous apps.
What rim is trying to do is get these developers to create the specific versions for thw os10 devices as when ported not everything from the app transfers over most times.

A good example of perfect porting is the tuner app which runs with no problems.

I have been using this ported app for a week with not a problem, I gave khafra a copy to try on his device as well.

Haven't heard any issues yet.

Postby Stephon. » April 10th, 2013, 6:54 am

Oh ok cool, thanks

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 10th, 2013, 7:46 am

No issues at all, Google Maps, Facebook Messenger, Facebook Pages Manager also work well with no performance issues

recklessone

Postby recklessone » April 10th, 2013, 11:33 am

Khafra wrote:
recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:

I am telling you it will NOT be more than CURRENT dealer prices, dealers are going to have to drop that price when it goes on sale

Then I shall continue my wait :D

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » April 10th, 2013, 1:36 pm

ppl i cant upgrade my blkberry OS its a blkberry 9320 and i want bbm voice they is always an error when upgrading

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 10th, 2013, 9:10 pm

recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:
recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:

Launch on a Tuesday? That kinda weird.
Anyway, looking forward to this.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 10th, 2013, 9:29 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:
recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:
recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:

Launch on a Tuesday? That kinda weird.
Anyway, looking forward to this.

i know i am wish is was tomorrow

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 10th, 2013, 9:37 pm

That is a short wait. Next 2 weeks it will be launched.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 10th, 2013, 9:40 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:That is a short wait. Next 2 weeks it will be launched.

i still find it to long, i must admite am excited can't wait to see the iphones and adroid lovers on work faces