COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

richiepooh

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby richiepooh » March 27th, 2020, 3:14 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
richiepooh wrote:Hi Folks,

Did they say anything about leaving your house to Exercise??

This one I agree with Stuart but at the same time I think it was too strict a measure right now, only because many studies and WHO officials who say you're in very little danger of spreading or contracting while jogging once social distancing is maintained. However, all week I'm seeing groups and droves of people jogging together, training together on the Savannah and Chancellor.

Peter pay for paul here because DAMN trinis CANNOT socially distance themself.

Yeah Man.............cool

Postby gastly369 » March 27th, 2020, 3:25 pm

I put a full sanitizer station and wash. Before anything and anyone coming into the house from the essential runs... Other than that home is closed to any visitors friends etc till such time...

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2020, 3:26 pm

common sense much?
Why yuh tink dey have 'guest house' on d list for?

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2020, 3:29 pm

killercow wrote:

common sense much?
Why yuh tink dey have 'guest house' on d list for?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2020, 3:32 pm

gastly369 wrote:I put a full sanitizer station and wash. Before anything and anyone coming into the house from the essential runs... Other than that home is closed to any visitors friends etc till such time...

Also best to wash the clothes asap and take a decent shower.

boxy

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 65 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby boxy » March 27th, 2020, 3:34 pm

Smash you have proven to me that u don't even take the time to read up on your ramblings before hitting the post button.

I'm done trying to edify you after this cause you beginning to go into the realm of ED territory and I not going to argue with mad people.

On that note the US also follows WHO guidelines of testing only when there are symptoms. If you have symptoms you have to call the hotline in the US a health care personnel will ask you the relevant questions and direct you to the nearest drive through testing area. There is only one way to determine if you have covid 19 and that by providing a reasonable amount of culture sample that has a decent threshold of the virus in it or you get a FALSE Negative if you don't have symptoms. This was repeated daily in the first week of press conferences by both the Health Minister and the CMO up to yesterday when asked If you don't want to believe the local Pharmacy minister who is a quack or the Programmed toeing the line CMO then go to the WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION WEBSITE OR CDC WEBSITE AND EDUCATE YOURSELF INSTEAD OF TRYING TO PROVE FACTS AS FAKE NEWS.
The age of social media is really a curse upon us cause a dunce who have 0 passes in Basic CXC can create a Facebook page and post falsehoods and 30% of the population believes it because it's in their comfort zone.
Nice chat Smash but I no longer have the zeal to do this anymore. Take win from now.
sMASH wrote:
boxy wrote:Smash please go to the WHO website and educate yourself on how testing works please cause at this point I honestly believe u are trolling and it's useless trying to get u to comprehend how modern medicine works.

In a nutshell YOU WILL BE WASTING PRECIOUS TESTING KIT RESOURCES IF YOU TEST SOMEONE WITHOUT SYMPTOMS. The kits provided to CARPHA came from WHO and special guidelines are to be met before using these limited resources.

Secondly the set of people who end up in front of NIB should have called first what country in the world makes an announcement of that magnitude and makes it available by the following day. You are purposely being difficult.

Lastly you do not know what capabilities the government uses to track the people who should be quarantined be it that it could be none you don't know and I don't know for sure.

Basically your entire rants on this page either has been debunked numerous times or you parroting talking points from Facebook.

Can you believe people saying the CMO was programmed lmao aye Allyuh real different here yes and my eye literally twitched when my bredrin bring back up Dr Trotman expressing the mild symptoms Allyuh continue to live in ignorance and believe there is a conspiracy to everything. Doh take the vacinne too when it is made cause u might end up becoming a PNM for life as a side effect

sMASH wrote:
boxy wrote:See if this one works
https://tinyurl.com/yx7ncfco

@smash the Ministry would have done immediate contact tracing with his primary persons of contact and by now they would have developed symptoms similarly to the cruise ship victims and they would have been added to the tally. Or you believe they are covering this up as well?

boxy wrote:Your arguement is getting annoying now.
On another note here is an example of the stupidity of Boris Johnson before and regret after. Take note of the way he stresses on the term mild symptoms for all the Web MD graduates who still think the specialists are saying the virus is mild.

https://twitter.com/mufc_1878_1902/stat ... 02437?s=09
Gladiator wrote:From the timeline in the article...is it safe to say that if we did not have Carnival Mr Leon would not have come to Trinidad and died and whoever he infected could have been avoided.

Awaits the carnival jumbies to start their rants...
hydroep wrote:The CMO/MOH is withholding the date when the gentleman was (first) admitted. Why?...:|

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wide-tracing-net-needed-for-1st-covid-fatality-6.2.1087619.1a5fbcd137
Your link isn't leading to a page however hopefully it was not this you were referring to when talking about Boris!!

Screenshot_2020-03-27-07-56-37-532_bbc.mobile.news.ww.jpeg

think garcia. day before school has to open, he comes out and reports to rowley, every thing is regular and correct, all schools will be open, and ready for business. when school reopens, if all do open, some of them close back during that first week for a myriad of reasons. most of the time is repairs that did not occur during the vacation period.

same ting now; a lot of grandiose proclamations of how they got this, but really, they are operating minute to minute. and by the seat of thier pants. case in point, all the goodies they promised people, the next day every body outside nib and MoSS, and they had to tell them they have nothing in place for what ever promises that was made.

another point, the 20k people, they said that they would be called twice a day to keep track of them. if each call lasted no more than 1 minute, it would take 83 callers, calling non stop for 4 hours without break to call all 20k persons, once. and they said they will do it twice a week.

they like to feed u all bs, with a calm sedate tone, and u all lap it up. they are at least a month behind every measure.

anohter thing, they needed to do quasi random testing at various places to figure out how far it is in the population. we have two confirmed deaths now, but we had 40 flu deaths that would nothave had a covid test done.

they re selectively measuring for this disease, and the lack of social suppression would(had) allowed it to spread, and would wait till they get a release by a careless person to blame it on, eg ian. so population testing will be actoined after the carnival incubation, so u will not have data to show carnival spread.

not so much a cover up, as a system engineered to skew the data a certain direction.

u dont get selected to get those positions on merit, u get it by toeing lines.

and my rants, by america testing 50k persons a day, through drive through testing, and have now attained the rank of the country with the most positives, that shows what testing does.

u dont have to test every one, but u do need to do some quasi random testing, sampling the population, to pick up any that was outside of control. especially since uncle real palance before he was hospitalized.
'oh, they contact traced him'
well, by not sampling the population u dont establish data to show how much community spread, if any.

ostrich head in sand syndrome. when more of the population gets it, blame it on ian for frolicking all over .

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 27th, 2020, 3:42 pm

^^&Bro, u on tuner long enough to know that presenting facts and talking sense is frowned upon in here.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 27th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Smash

You are really beginning to sound like an uneducated jack arse and stirring up misinformation just to cause panic.

There is no such thing as "random" testing in these situations. Testing tells you nothing about a person unless you have a person's exposure history or level and their symptoms. Have you ever worked in a lab environment involving testing for infectious diseases? You would understand that this is a very tedious and careful process and positive samples are usually tested 3/4 times for confirmation.

For a person who get an accurate test then they would have to be aware of what an exposure event is and when to get tested. If that person never had an exposure event then you are wasting a valuable test event.
If they test to early then you are providing them with a false negative and placing them unaware back into the population where they will become spreaders unknowingly because they have a false sense of security.

For you to get an accurate test on a random person you would have to isolate and quarantine that person for minimum 14 days and tests them daily to see when seroconversion occurs. Other than that healthcare officials are guessing and estimating based on a patient's history.

For e.g a person who is in close contact with a confirmed positive person who has been showing symptoms of infection and whose test result is showing a faint positive is most likely in the process of undergoing seroconversion amd would be confirmed positive within the next few days when the process is complete.

In contrast a person with no symptoms, np history of contact with a positive person and no history of an exposure incident whose test result is showing a faing positive, that test could be viewed as a false positive and retesting would be done to confirm diagnosis with the subsequent test most likely being negative in the following days a long as no new exposure incidents occur.

Testing is a very complicated process and not as open shut as you are trying to make it sound. There are many factors that need to be considered before delivering a negative test result.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 27th, 2020, 3:48 pm

People already bawling and looking for loopholes and trying to justify making themselves an exception. My hope is not high for flattening the curve like Japan and South Korea because frankly we cannot understand and follow instructions as written without making a comesse about edge cases and what if scenarios and then ignoring them altogether. People simply do not understand that they do not have the same freedom and leeway that they once enjoyed because we are in an unprecedented crisis. Luxuries will have to be foregone, and make no mistake, many things we take for granted are luxuries, and defeating this pandemic will take almost Spartan discipline, something I am not entirely sure most Trinis can muster. I do not want to be a pessimist, but we are our own worst enemies.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2020, 3:59 pm

US almost at 100,000 cases and China slips down to 3rd

Screenshot 2020-03-27 at 3.58.02 PM.jpg

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 4:05 pm

do small food vendors such as doubles vendors, fruit vendors count as essential?

Halfbreed12

Postby Halfbreed12 » March 27th, 2020, 4:08 pm

Pretty sure China is at least 1mil.

Lol at being 3rd

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 4:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:do small food vendors such as doubles vendors, fruit vendors count as essential?

Stuart Young said roadside vegetable vendors count as food producers and food sales, and are considered essential. i would guess fruit vendors and doubles man fall in that same category.

if doubles man have line and people staying to eat though, the police would probably start closing them down for congregating.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 65 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2020, 4:19 pm

boxy wrote:That is the job of the opposition leader though so you can't really fault her for doing what her job objectives outline. Rowley would have done something similar if the media put a mic to his face and asked him for his opinion as opposition leader.
I just think she should just check them on actual faults they make. Instead of grabbing at straws. The only way for her to get a win out of this is if Rowley tests positive for the virus and it was contracted in Ghana. So she can bury him in his incompetence and stupidity but the incubation period is pretty much over to show symptoms.
On another note I would have loved to know Fuad Khan thoughts when he saw that death announcement I sure he face palmed because he and other members of the opposition who are doctors are fully aware of the medical protocols of patients deaths.
goalpost wrote:
Redman wrote:It's pretty informative how the Opposition leaders statements so succinctly identifies the UNCs position at this point in time
Well done KPB.

boi, KPB losing the little bit of point remaining in the way she politicizing everything.
somebody advising she real badly.

Nah don't talk sheit nah man! Rowley would have stood side by side and worked with the UNC through this difficult time and not in a million years make kantish statements like "We not supporting anything from this GORTT" when in Opposition. KPB is playing to her base, but I suspect she is alienating a lot of swing voters, with her insistence that she must say something, even if it is personal attacks on Goebbels, War on Salt and JUHN Scarfy.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 27th, 2020, 4:28 pm

War on salt? Lol

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 4:50 pm

I am looking forward to the TTPS and TTDF using an aggressive and violent approach in dealing with those individuals in breach of the stay at home orders.

This is still a joke to Trinidadians, and we must flatten the curve as well as their faces as necessary.

As your PM stated...we need to slap them down.

Examples must be made as verbal pleas have proven to be ineffective.

Postby pugboy » March 27th, 2020, 4:57 pm

is there a number to call to report church still operating ?

Postby 16 cycles » March 27th, 2020, 5:06 pm

List to stay home might be shorter..

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 5:11 pm

pugboy wrote:is there a number to call to report church still operating ?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/gary-se ... 679b86ea19

The CoP says that the public has options of reporting these matters:

a) The TTPS App. The CoP calls on citizens to use the Police Service App, “You see something, You Say Something”, to report persons who breach the regulations. All you have to do is download the TTPS App.

Once that is done, you go on the right lower section of your phone, “Report Crime”. Just click on that and you will see options such as uploading photographs and videos.

b) 482-GARY. The CoP says that citizens can continue to send videos and photographs via WHATSAPP to 482-GARY.

c) Persons can also contact 555 where reports will be received 24/7.

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2020, 5:14 pm

FB_IMG_1585343474298.jpeg
FB_IMG_1585340159473.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 5:16 pm

pugboy wrote:is there a number to call to report church still operating ?

Good job bro.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 27th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Anyone see a 4pm update?

linton

Postby linton » March 27th, 2020, 5:31 pm

People giving good info here , but their posts being spoilt by comments like 'uneducated jackarse' and other insults. These so called educated ones have no training . They getting on just like the ministers who come to give info but using tones and voices that are unbecoming. I listened to the Bajan Ag this morning and was pleasantly surprised by his language and demeanour.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2020, 5:33 pm

ST Auto wrote:Anyone see a 4pm update?

I waiting also. Looking like one update a day now :|

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 5:42 pm

killercow wrote:

Numbers too low for Trinis to care bro...

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 5:51 pm

Postby aaron17 » March 27th, 2020, 5:56 pm

I called the police station and they said I dont need papers to show them when going to drop someone to work. So what really going on dread?

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2020, 6:05 pm

killercow wrote:

Numbers too low for Trinis to care bro...

More like the PM, Ministers etc following their own advice. I'm sure if any drastic situation occurs( and if KPB doesn't let it out first :? ) we'll have an unscheduled presser.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 27th, 2020, 6:05 pm

linton wrote:People giving good info here , but their posts being spoilt by comments like 'uneducated jackarse' and other insults. These so called educated ones have no training . They getting on just like the ministers who come to give info but using tones and voices that are unbecoming. I listened to the Bajan Ag this morning and was pleasantly surprised by his language and demeanour.

Some people here don't care about facts bro. They only care to spread misinformation to cause uncertainty and panic. Need a strong response in case anyone reading what they writing and taking it as fact.

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 6:10 pm

aaron17 wrote:I called the police station and they said I dont need papers to show them when going to drop someone to work. So what really going on dread?

the list is pretty exhaustive. Yuh could tell them you going to cut grass for a small change and that is covered under the legislation.

that said, it is up to the discretion of the officer. If he doubts you, he'll ask to see your whacker or the address you are going to. you could lie again but at some point you would get ketch.

I personally not going anywhere unless necessary. Some of the officer out there are not pleasant people to interact with.

the list again:
https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 1033905610
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 27th, 2020, 6:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.