Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

PariaMan

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby PariaMan » January 28th, 2024, 8:42 pm

As I said, the civid minded not living in the so-called original Hotspots will end up subsidizing those who live there .

That's another way in which this bill will be disadvantageous to some people.

Postby paid_influencer » January 28th, 2024, 10:37 pm

PariaMan wrote:As I said, the civid minded not living in the so-called original Hotspots will end up subsidizing those who live there .

ent in parliament they say the taxes going to your local govt body,
so penal people not paying for beetham people
and vice versa

or all that was bluff and everything going to the consolidated fund where is wing

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 28th, 2024, 10:43 pm

I heard they will still be giving cash to areas that do not get as much tax from other areas

Also let's say you live next door to a so called hot spot.

Same local corporation!

Postby j.o.e » January 29th, 2024, 9:31 am

PariaMan wrote:As I said, the civid minded not living in the so-called original Hotspots will end up subsidizing those who live there .

I get nobody wants more taxes but this sounds like you want to go hospital because you pay health surcharge.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 29th, 2024, 1:32 pm

And I get they want to raise revenue but they could have looked at the following first

1. The increase should not have been so drastic

2. They should have started with commercial as the UNC intended

3. Looked at taxing people who make say 1 million more

3. Probably increase PAYE because at least these people not on a fixed income like pensioners who own their house

This tax will be very onerous on pensioners who are just trying to get by on a fixed income

And remember, if we live long enough, we too will be old one day

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2024, 1:52 pm

PariaMan wrote:And I get they want to raise revenue but they could have looked at the following first

1. The increase should not have been so drastic

2. They should have started with commercial as the UNC intended

3. Looked at taxing people who make say 1 million more

3. Probably increase PAYE because at least these people not on a fixed income like pensioners who own their house

This tax will be very onerous on pensioners who are just trying to get by on a fixed income

And remember, if we live long enough, we too will be old one day

PAYE has actually been falling. The basic allowance has moved from $60 to $90k in what?..... the last 6 years
They never intended for the working class to bear all of the tax burden

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2024, 2:07 pm

The give back was always less than the take back.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 29th, 2024, 3:42 pm

I do not mind paying more tax when working and less tax when I become a pensioner on a fixed income

Postby bluefete » January 29th, 2024, 4:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

and vice versa

or all that was bluff and everything going to the consolidated fund where is wing

You expect the PNM to tell the truth? They are just as bad as the UNC.

It is easier to hide bobol by lumping everything into the consolidated fund.

Postby bluefete » January 29th, 2024, 4:18 pm

Dave wrote:The give back was always less than the take back.

Signature material here, Dave.

Postby bluefete » January 29th, 2024, 4:33 pm

PariaMan wrote:This tax will be very onerous on pensioners who are just trying to get by on a fixed income

The same pensioners will go back and vote PNM.

Postby 88sins » January 29th, 2024, 5:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

and vice versa

And you believe them. So, lemme ask you this.
Which local government body have direct access to the consolidated fund? And why not allow the said local government body to administer the property tax collection and expenditure?

Because what they tell you they going to do, is not what they ever planned to do.

Postby paid_influencer » January 29th, 2024, 5:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:PAYE has actually been falling. The basic allowance has moved from $60 to $90k in what?..... the last 6 years

this might sound chipid to some of allyuh,

but the working class are the ones that bear everything.

if they didn't, they'd be in the non-working class.

QED

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 30th, 2024, 3:44 pm

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2024, 4:07 pm

the ol pareto principle

paid_influencer wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:PAYE has actually been falling. The basic allowance has moved from $60 to $90k in what?..... the last 6 years

this might sound chipid to some of allyuh,

but the working class are the ones that bear everything.

if they didn't, they'd be in the non-working class.

QED

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2024, 5:17 pm

PariaMan wrote:https://azpnews.com/the-poverty-tax-i-mean-the-property-tax/

first thing I does do when reading opinion articles is to see who wrote it, you know, to get a feel of the biases and interests involved.

Neil Gosine is an insurance executive. He is also the treasurer of the UNC

well there you go.

Why didn't the UNC scrap the law when they got into power? Why hold it like blackmail on the population to keep power in perpetuity?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 30th, 2024, 6:24 pm

Doh shoot the messenger see what points he is making

Secondly, the UNC plan was to bring commercial first.

I am not a UNC, but for me, this would have been more palatable

As I said, the problem with this tax is the effect on the old and vulnerable. These people will suffer

Say what you will about the UNC. I have found them to have always been on the lookout for the poor man

The introduced Foreign used and kept it at 6 years, which allowed many a poor man to afford a reasonable vehicle, for example

They opened the PBR during off peak

The road development was all over the country

They kept the price of gas down

The did not close down sugar and oil

And the list goes on

PNM gives you the impression that their caring is more about the 1 percent

Postby maj. tom » January 31st, 2024, 1:12 pm

Plenty logical fallacy argument is "how come the UNC didn't do ......?" When it's actually the other party who has done something that affect us all negatively. It's illogical. How you know they weren't going to do it in the 2nd term, just like the PNM?

Well the PNM propaganda machine is a well oiled machine anyway. They've got most of the population thinking like that, like we should be grateful for being punished because Kamla didn't fix something in the 5 years. We grateful PNM close down Petrotrin because Kamla couldn't do it. Meanwhile the PNM ruling and wasting resources for how many years?

I'll always come back to the example of how Panday removed tax on computers and books and pushed this country into the dot-com Windows 95 global internet era. PNM put it back the tax on computers, laptops, cellphones AND textbooks in 2016, then removed it for 2020 elections and everybody was so so sooooo grateful that massa give we something. But propaganda works.

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2024, 9:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:Plenty logical fallacy argument is "how come the UNC didn't do ......?" When it's actually the other party who has done something that affect us all negatively. It's illogical. How you know they weren't going to do it in the 2nd term, just like the PNM?

Well the PNM propaganda machine is a well oiled machine anyway. They've got most of the population thinking like that, like we should be grateful for being punished because Kamla didn't fix something in the 5 years. We grateful PNM close down Petrotrin because Kamla couldn't do it. Meanwhile the PNM ruling and wasting resources for how many years?

I'll always come back to the example of how Panday removed tax on computers and books and pushed this country into the dot-com Windows 95 global internet era. PNM put it back the tax on computers, laptops, cellphones AND textbooks in 2016, then removed it for 2020 elections and everybody was so so sooooo grateful that massa give we something. But propaganda works.

I see your point, but here is where you erred.
Kamla made the promise to the voters, that the unc would remove it if they won that election. Not a second, third, fourth or tenth term, her statement related very directly to that election. And then she and her minions proceeded to do what all politicians do, which is, discard all memories of all promises and proclaimed mandates issues in the run up to the election, and look to enrich themselves and their people at the expense of everyone else.

Never forget padawan
No politician cares about the population, no matter how often or loudly they may bray that they do.
A comon ploy in politics is the use of the monkeys paw tactics.
they will give you a brand new crisp one dollar note, and tell you "see I giving you this nice new dollar, i know you want it, and u see i check for you so much you didn't even have to ask for it",
Meanwhile you watching what they giving you, they done relieve you of your wallet, rings, chain, bracelet, bag, watch, phone, and if they could they'd go with the clothes on your back and the spit in your mouth.

Postby maj. tom » January 31st, 2024, 9:51 pm

The population responded though, and voted them out after 1 term.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » February 12th, 2024, 7:02 pm

Was told to fill out form before the visit as they would value what you put on the form. Someone did it and only $27 a month

Postby 88sins » February 12th, 2024, 7:31 pm

Rayden6 wrote:Was told to fill out form before the visit as they would value what you put on the form. Someone did it and only $27 a month

It should be $0.00 a decade.
Imagine, people paying tax on something they own that they already paid tax on to buy/build, simply because they own it.
So lemme ask allyuh sumn.
Lewwe say pnm say they implementing a body parts tax, & yuh hadda pay them for yuh hands, feet, eyes, ears, nose, mouth, heart, lungs, liver, kidneys bowels, bladders and brain. Allyuh go cosign that too ent?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 12th, 2024, 8:11 pm

Rayden6 wrote:Was told to fill out form before the visit as they would value what you put on the form. Someone did it and only $27 a month

Tell them the minimum ARV is 18k which is 486/year in tax. The notice that probably said 12k ARV was wrong and has to be redone at a Valuation office :lol: :lol: :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 12th, 2024, 8:26 pm

It should be $0.00 a decade.
Imagine, people paying tax on something they own that they already paid tax on to buy/build, simply because they own it.
So lemme ask allyuh sumn.
Lewwe say pnm say they implementing a body parts tax, & yuh hadda pay them for yuh hands, feet, eyes, ears, nose, mouth, heart, lungs, liver, kidneys bowels, bladders and brain. Allyuh go cosign that too ent?

What about the most important part of the body? People go hadda pay more the bigger it is. :lol:

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » February 12th, 2024, 9:53 pm

They will 5ax the air you breathe

Postby 88sins » February 12th, 2024, 11:39 pm

[quote="ProtonPowder"][quote="Rayden6"]Was told to fill out form before the visit as they would value what you put on the form. Someone did it and only $27 a month[/quote]
Tell them the minimum ARV is 18k which is 486/year in tax. The notice that probably said 12k ARV was wrong and has to be redone at a Valuation office :lol: :lol: :lol:[/quote]
I distinctly recall the minimum arv being 18k pa. That's $486/py, less 10%= an annual tax liability of $437/yr

So for a monthly tax rate of $27, which works out to $324/yr, is either Rayden6 padna either robbing the state, or he living in a hole in d ground, or he in cahoots with some politician, or maybe, just maybe, Rayden6 was lied to and believed said lie.

allyuh could pick which ever one helps allyuh reconcile the madness a lil easier

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 12th, 2024, 11:55 pm

18k ARV=486 tax/year already discounts the 10% for voids, no need to do it twice.

The gov rushed the first batch of notices because the managers didnt know their asses from their elbows and sent out notices below 18k when they should have said 18k by default.

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2024, 12:11 am

Assuming that it wasn't assessed and recorded as agricultural land - which would give you a nice, round number.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » February 14th, 2024, 1:56 pm

Person went to Barataria office filled out froms and produce Pic of property and that was the value they was give
So i was told dont let them come and see submit it first. they could be lying who knows

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2024, 8:59 pm

Rayden6 wrote:Person went to Barataria office filled out froms and produce Pic of property and that was the value they was give
So i was told dont let them come and see submit it first. they could be lying who knows

Everybody knows, except youapparently :lol:
Why you feel they ask for address, landmarks and images of the building? Is to make it easier to find your rxact house when they coming to verify what you submitted.