.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 11:13 am

What we have is a two-tier system that benefit sections of society at different levels.

The lower level is agitated on the basis of race and the idea that they have been marginalised since arrival. Coupled with cultural norms that value a person on their skin tone and family, it does well to galvanise support for the group through hell or high water. Typically poor and downtrodden.

On the upper level we have the groups and individuals that benefit from the deception. Typically religious leader, politicians and businessmen. They know that regardless of what happens, they have the unwavering support of the lower level. The religious leaders and the politicians act as the intermediaries between the two levels.

The lower level may benefit by way of tangibles such as food cards, money etc. The majority of this level however may not be beneficiaries but receive gratification knowing that they have without hesitation supported the cultural norms of their people. They have little or no desire to strive beyond the culture's classification system that deems them as merely the bridesmaids in a bride's wedding (support the cause)

The upper level is merely in it for money and power

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 11:15 am

RASC wrote:Nah just ate some watermelon and fried chicken. I resting.

It's best you go back to DC to be with your people bro. Trini not for you, you can still get payless and KFC.

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2015, 11:17 am

Daran wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:and really and truly the PPG is doing way better?

like the 5 years we have had under their administration has been the most successful thus far since our independence?

our current opposition leader is a waste of time?

Actually, I'd say the last 5 years have been one of the most successful in Trinidad's history, similar to the 5 years of progress we saw from 1995 to 2000.

like the 5 years we have had under their administration has been the most successful thus far since our independence?

Under PP You in school bro.

With PNM you would have been on the block selling a lil weed or running hoes

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 11:17 am

rfari wrote:What we have is a two-tier system that benefit sections of society at different levels.

The lower level is agitated on the basis of race and the idea that they have been marginalised since arrival. Coupled with cultural norms that value a person on their skin tone and family, it does well to galvanise support for the group through hell or high water. Typically poor and downtrodden.

On the upper level we have the groups and individuals that benefit from the deception. Typically religious leader, politicians and businessmen. They know that regardless of what happens, they have the unwavering support of the lower level. The religious leaders and the politicians act as the intermediaries between the two levels.

The lower level may benefit by way of tangibles such as food cards, money etc. The majority of this level however may not be beneficiaries but receive gratification knowing that they have without hesitation supported the cultural norms of their people. They have little or no desire to strive beyond the culture's classification system that deems them as merely the bridesmaids in a bride's wedding (support the cause)

The upper level is merely in it for money and power

Nearly every society have that.

Postby Redman » April 17th, 2015, 11:20 am

Daran wrote:

Actually, I'd say the last 5 years have been one of the most successful in Trinidad's history, similar to the 5 years of progress we saw from 1995 to 2000.

What metrics you use to make this determination?

And by metrics I would expect a link to hard data. Unbiased and objective.

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2015, 11:29 am

I don't know why y'all trying to reason with these set of people Yuh know?

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 11:34 am

We have to accept that one party has for the most three truly safe seats at their lowest level of national popularity. The other party has at least 12 under similar circumstances.

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:04 pm

rfari wrote:We have to accept that one party has for the most three truly safe seats at their lowest level of national popularity. The other party has at least 12 under similar circumstances.

That 3, being NAR 33-. PNM 3

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:06 pm

rfari wrote:We have to accept that one party has for the most three truly safe seats at their lowest level of national popularity. The other party has at least 12 under similar circumstances.

Thank you ZR

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:09 pm

rfari wrote:

Thank you ZR

But u need to remember that PNM won by default as usual in the early 70s with

36 to 0. Mud slide

These tuner johnny come lately would not know of this.
Last edited by zoom rader on April 17th, 2015, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:13 pm

ZR. I made it very clear under which conditions I used those stats. Yes?

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:14 pm

rfari wrote:ZR. I made it very clear under which conditions I used those stats. Yes?

Nice, for once you being truthful.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:15 pm

thanks again ZR

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2015, 12:16 pm

The PNM doesn't have blind loyal followers even remotely close to UNC levels.

Many former strong holds have swung in favour of numerous other parties MANY times. The PNM always has to fight harder to get these votes.

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:19 pm

RASC wrote:The PNM doesn't have blind loyal followers even remotely close to UNC levels.

Many former strong holds have swung in favour of numerous other parties MANY times. The PNM always has to fight harder to get these votes.

Maybe the PNM needs to learn from this and listen to what their employers want.

Remember the PNM Is ur best friend when they in opposition

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:22 pm

RASC wrote:The PNM doesn't have blind loyal followers even remotely close to UNC levels.

Yup. These constituencies tend not to be guided by cultural traditional guidelines and are swayed by issues of the day and not alignment to cultural norms

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:24 pm

rfari wrote:

Yup. These constituencies tend not to be guided by cultural traditional guidelines and are swayed by issues of the day and not alignment to cultural norms

Ppl vote for PP because they listen.

PNM does not listen and do wants its wants with the detriment of their voters.
Housing tax was a perfect example.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:29 pm

rfari wrote:

What happen between 2010 and now? There appears to be dissatisfaction with the UNC govt. We have lge2013, St Joseph and chagwest. What happened?

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 12:35 pm

rfari wrote:

What happen between 2010 and now? There appears to be dissatisfaction with the UNC govt. We have lge2013, St Joseph and chagwest. What happened?

St Joseph and Chagwest as we all know it is nothing but a fluke with split votes.
Ppl did not see those elections as important.

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2015, 12:37 pm

PNM propaganda......misleading the public.....voter padding.....rowley dig he nose and wipe it in d constituency wit e obeah self...etc etc etc

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 12:44 pm

rfari wrote:

St Joseph and Chagwest as we all know it is nothing but a fluke with split votes.

Now ZR. I gonna ask again but this time dig deeper and be true to urself and to the party you support as its this feedback they need to diagnose the problems they are experiencing. What happened to cause the popularity drop?

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2015, 1:03 pm

i fail to see how them elections wasnt important in the eyes of the constituents

please elaborate

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 1:05 pm

rfari wrote:

Now ZR. I gonna ask again but this time dig deeper and be true to urself and to the party you support as its this feedback they need to diagnose the problems they are experiencing. What happened to cause the popularity drop?

Some ppl where misguided and Certain MPs thought that they could get away with PNM type behaviour in office and misdemeanours.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 1:44 pm

rfari wrote:

Some ppl where misguided and Certain MPs thought that they could get away with PNM type behaviour in office and misdemeanours.

Your opinion is clear as mud ZR. We don't have to pay to post comments in the ched unno

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2015, 2:45 pm

So Mark refuses to refer VAT to the privileges committee.

So you can level rape allegations that have the same credibility as a Best Village monologue and not be held responsible for it.

I think Mark just vex he losing furniture from his home.

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2015, 2:47 pm

It came before the q&a? I tunes in late but must have missed it

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2015, 2:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:So Mark refuses to refer VAT to the privileges committee.

i doubt u surprised. i was expecting this. :|

awaiting shitty excuse as to why tho

just like the excuse given with the chair.

he/she order it after he/she say naw, and dey contacted seller to return it and seller said we go sue allyuh for fokin up, so dey decided to keep it as the cost to keep it was considerably less than the amount the would have been sued for

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2015, 3:20 pm

Speaker spares Alleyne-Toppin

Richard Lord

Published: 

Friday, April 17, 2015

House Speaker Wade Mark this afternoon said a prima facie case has not been made in the request to refer Tobago East Member of Parliament to the Privileges Committee.

Mark's gave his ruling as the House of Representatives began its meeting at the Parliament Chamber,Tower D , Waterfront Centre, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain.

Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner last week moved a motion for the Tobago East MP to be referred to the Privileges Committee for statements she made about Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley and his family on March 25.

Mark had previously ruled that the minister's comments be expunged from the Hansard records.

Last week, Alleyne-Toppin apologised for her statements.

Mark said he noted the apology from the minister and ruled that it would not be appropriate for her to be referred to the Privileges Committee for any investigation and possible disciplinary action.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-04-17 ... yne-toppin

Fox guarding the henhouse.

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2015, 3:34 pm

^^^ PNM beat up

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 17th, 2015, 7:19 pm