Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 4th, 2016, 9:04 pm

teems1 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Anybody here has a link in Flow? I spent $40 again today bringing it up to $100 in phone cards and I still cannot get an available agent in Flow.

I am trying to downgrade to 3MB

Dude, honestly I think your quality of life would increase if you ditch FLOW. You're not on contract so no need to worry there.

Switch to Digicel, GreenDot, blink, blink 4G anything else. You're doing a disservice to your health, wellness and sanity by fighting up with FLOW.

I agree with you but not that nasty Green Dot hoss. I had Blink before and its uptime was 99.99999%
got 4 disconnects in 8 years.

However I noticed since I switch to 3MB package my 15mb package has gone from 128k to 3MB. Maybe it had something to do when they switch me they put me on some other CGN thingy like what shaq was talking about who knows.

Lets see if this holds up else I go have to switch to save my health. I noticed since I signed up for Flow last year, my blood pressure is noticeably higher. I used to get a 128/82 reading and now with flow my reading is 156/97. My doctor told me this is largely due to switching over to Flow.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 4th, 2016, 9:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
teems1 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Anybody here has a link in Flow? I spent $40 again today bringing it up to $100 in phone cards and I still cannot get an available agent in Flow.

I am trying to downgrade to 3MB

Dude, honestly I think your quality of life would increase if you ditch FLOW. You're not on contract so no need to worry there.

Switch to Digicel, GreenDot, blink, blink 4G anything else. You're doing a disservice to your health, wellness and sanity by fighting up with FLOW.

I agree with you but not that nasty Green Dot hoss. I had Blink before and its uptime was 99.99999%
got 4 disconnects in 8 years.

However I noticed since I switch to 3MB package my 15mb package has gone from 128k to 3MB. Maybe it had something to do when they switch me they put me on some other CGN thingy like what shaq was talking about who knows.

Lets see if this holds up else I go have to switch to save my health. I noticed since I signed up for Flow last year, my blood pressure is noticeably higher. I used to get a 128/82 reading and now with flow my reading is 156/97. My doctor told me this is largely due to switching over to Flow.

I would assume the cgn pool is set to what ever cmts your modem terminates to..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2016, 10:17 pm

So this nasty disconnect start back, well atleast this time I only paying $137 a month. This is precisely why I switch to 3MB. Now my blood pressure is lower by a few points.

Funny enough a flow tech just call me, the guy say they going and send me a replacement modem, these people know me real good now yes. They know what time I does be waking and thing. :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2016, 10:22 pm

BTW my padner from Freeport says he stopped getting the disconnect issues. This means that Flow knows what the problem is. If they could fix his problem which he had for years, then they could fix mine.

He advised me to call and abuse Flow but since I don't have a land line for toll free I would be abusing myself instead.

Postby stev » February 5th, 2016, 10:40 pm

anyone got their free upgrade yet?

got upgraded to 45Mbps from 30Mbps for free

...had to reset modem.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » February 5th, 2016, 10:55 pm

bossmann wrote:Ed post a screenshot of that 128k nah also do a pingtest.net test and post results

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2016, 11:06 pm

just got this via email

240Mbps for TT$64.13 more per month!

I assume it's in addition to the TT$664.97 that I currently pay for 150Mbps

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 6th, 2016, 6:30 am

^^correct. i got the same email with the 30Mbps to 45Mbps

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » February 6th, 2016, 7:14 am

Does 50mb get upgraded too?

Edit: got email.... 50 goes up to 60mb
Last edited by novastar1 on February 6th, 2016, 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 6th, 2016, 7:17 am

Kronik wrote:^^correct. i got the same email with the 30Mbps to 45Mbps

I got that email and it says I should be getting 45mb on my speed tests. This I have to see. I have been getting 15mb and less. Mostly 10mb. On a 45mb connection.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 6th, 2016, 11:30 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

I got that email and it says I should be getting 45mb on my speed tests. This I have to see. I have been getting 15mb and less. Mostly 10mb. On a 45mb connection.

You may need to perform a factory reset on the WiFi router.
That worked for me on my 30Mbps connection.
I was getting 30Mbps when I connected my laptop directly to the Flow modem.
But only got 10-11Mbps over WiFi and the router's LAN ports.
A factory reset of the router sorted it out.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 6th, 2016, 12:07 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

You may need to perform a factory reset on the WiFi router.
That worked for me on my 30Mbps connection.
I was getting 30Mbps when I connected my laptop directly to the Flow modem.
But only got 10-11Mbps over WiFi and the router's LAN ports.
A factory reset of the router sorted it out.

Yes the factory reset worked. I'm up to 41mb from 10mb.

Postby Morpheus » February 6th, 2016, 1:43 pm

Hmmm I just saw the email. I am most willing to pay an extra $24 for double the speed :ugeek::geek:

konartis

Postby konartis » February 6th, 2016, 2:02 pm

Is it automatically adjusted?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 6th, 2016, 2:17 pm

Yes.... but you have to reset the modem by pressing the reset button for ten seconds while the modem Is powered on or removing the battery and re_inserting it.

konartis

Postby konartis » February 6th, 2016, 2:18 pm

Ok, thanks...wud that reset passwords etc on the router?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 6th, 2016, 2:36 pm

Flow could increase speed from 30Mbps to 3000Mbps for free, but what sense will that make when they blocking some of the programs that you use? It would still effectively be 0Mbps.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 6th, 2016, 2:42 pm

what programs do they block?

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 6th, 2016, 3:21 pm

[quote]Well im not sure of your network topology.. why not push ipv6 to the modems the cmts should more than be capable to perform this v6 addressing? I have heard a few people having issues on the cgn tho... hire me and let me optimize flow's network..i think u guys will have less issues if u provide ipv6 to the cpe. If proper network design was done, there would have been no need for using a cgn. Think and implement for the future...would not be suprised if flow's backbone have a million type 5 lsa.. or god forbid there are static routes to fix ibgp issues[/quote/

We're always looking for good people, send me your resume..
Just once your not one of those who can only do theory and not practical. We interview alot of those....
IPV6 and its implementation is a whole other story, we could start another thread..
And I'm not going to discuss the core network here of course :).
BTW, if your a DIA customer and want to test IPV6, we can arrange :)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 6th, 2016, 3:24 pm

konartis wrote:Ok, thanks...wud that reset passwords etc on the router?

Yes it would. Back to defaults. I had to re insert the things but it wasn't a long process.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 6th, 2016, 3:56 pm

tourniquet wrote:what programs do they block?
Mostly just small games and apps which consume literally 1/100th of the bandwidth used by a torrent at full speed. If they still block Smite, next month would make it 2 YEARS. I tried another MMO game last month, and same thing. They don't completely block it, but the games are so severely crippled, it makes no sense playing. Imagine playing a team based game, but you can do absolutely nothing, not even communicate.

WarrLordd didn't say what game they were blocking for him, but I assume it was something different in addition to the app they were developing.

WarrLordd wrote:Anyhow my reason behind this is i complain before that a few certain apps on ipad as well as one online game in particular doesn't work since i sign up for flow, let me correct that it doesn't work at a certain time on an average of 6 days max and i sorted that the issue starts to happen at 6pm till 2am using a vpn or blink fixes that problem so i know it has nothing to do with their server but it's flow behind this somehow i feel like they lie and say there's no filter but look whatever happen tonight seems pretty normal to me

WarrLordd wrote:
fouljuice wrote:
WarrLordd wrote:App isn't out yet to public we're currently testing it on testflight but however it can be tested on Facebook beta server I don't want to add link here Incase of any advertising rules so msg me if interested

The reason I ask is because I used to play a game a few months ago and at exactly 6:00pm, it would start to run like so much shiit it was unplayable, and at 2:00am it would go back to normal, and for the whole 48 hours of Saturday and Sunday it would work normal. I thought it was the game servers, but now that you mention that same 6pm-2am time frame, I see the pattern.

Yea same pattern, I mean other games run normal like league dota.. But this one game always has issue around 6pm during the week and you're right weekend is fine flow better fix their nonsense cause it only at peak hour majority of my developers and staff members on my server are on at that time and I'm unavailable which forces me to use VPN

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » February 6th, 2016, 4:15 pm

no flow internet or tv since 7am. in st joseph.
waste of time calling , just listening to the same automated hold messages

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » February 7th, 2016, 3:02 am

Yep the game I'm developing still got issues from time to time when i connect to my server without a vpn but i fed up complain, Might get digicel as a second option soon once the App goes live.

Makko Jammah

Postby Makko Jammah » February 7th, 2016, 4:14 am

Hey All,

Flow just upgraded the 30Mb/s package to 45 Mb/s.

Upload clocking at 3 Mb/s.

Postby De Dragon » February 7th, 2016, 6:22 am

I've had not internet (Flow) since Thursday. I tried resetting modem several times no luck. I'll call and see what can be done today.

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2016, 7:02 am

De Dragon wrote:I've had not internet (Flow) since Thursday. I tried resetting modem several times no luck. I'll call and see what can be done today.

What lights you getting on the modem?
Nothing happening till Thursday. So if you could self diagnose and be on your way, do it

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 7th, 2016, 9:28 am

Flow has serious problems. One problem I had was that I wasn't getting the speed I was paying for and every time I'd have to call and they would get it back up and coupled days back to slow...now I realize my Internet's timing out from pinging. And speed is 4mbps on html speed test and flow server showing 15. But do it anywhere else it shows 5mbps I gotta reset modem for for it to get normal if I'm lucky and when it times out..I get like 0.47mbps and nothing loads besides YouTube and I have to reset like 5 times and wait for it to get back up its crap!! They came by me twice and every time they come it works good but they said they reading bad... Next week they come again and fix a box at my junction but same sheit!!
I can't even get a latency test on ping test it always fails :/

Makko Jammah

Postby Makko Jammah » February 7th, 2016, 11:02 am

Hey Dragman,

I know what you going through. Months ago flow was giving me really terrible service, days at a time.

THREE times they sent over someone because they could not troubleshoot over the phone.

And all times it just so happened the internet would come back on when the techs arrived. Of course they could not do anything. I was very frustrated. What really ticked me off was when one of the techs was using my computer to show me on youtube the expensive $5000+ camera he planning to get for xmas. I could not really care less, since all I wanted to know is how they planned to resolve my situation.

Fortunately, the issue somehow resolved itself. I have not had any problems in months though. I think it was from their end, not mines.

Anyways, if you are waiting really long to speak with someone on the phone, call after midnight. They have people 24/7. I am not confident in the techs abilities to fix anything though.

Hope you get through.

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2016, 11:22 am

since my speed was upgraded, my ping got worse.
not sure if related

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » February 7th, 2016, 3:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:since my speed was upgraded, my ping got worse.
not sure if related

anyone can confirm this? :shock: