*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Morpheus » August 28th, 2013, 11:40 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I switched my RCA composite cables for the FLOW digital cable box from the crappy generic ones to the AUVIO gold plated and it made a HUGE difference in picture and sound quality. I'm using the Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH to upscale to 1080p to the TV and BBC and NatGeo look almost like HD.

I still have the original coaxials going to the TV. Tell me more..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Morpheus wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I switched my RCA composite cables for the FLOW digital cable box from the crappy generic ones to the AUVIO gold plated and it made a HUGE difference in picture and sound quality. I'm using the Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH to upscale to 1080p to the TV and BBC and NatGeo look almost like HD.

While coax can carry better signal than RCA composite, I've found that the quality out of the FLOW digital box seems better via RCA than coax.

Regardless, most upscaling receivers do not have coaxial in. They use either HDMI or Composite (yellow, red & white RCA). So I was using the RCA output from the cable box to my upscaling receiver, however the quality was terrible with the generic cables. When I switched to the AUVIO cables the video and audio quality improved for me tremendously.

Postby Dave » August 28th, 2013, 1:38 pm

Morpheus wrote:

While coax can carry better signal than RCA composite, I've found that the quality out of the FLOW digital box seems better via RCA than coax.

Regardless, most upscaling receivers do not have coaxial in. They use either HDMI or Composite (yellow, red & white RCA). So I was using the RCA output from the cable box to my upscaling receiver, however the quality was terrible with the generic cables. When I switched to the AUVIO cables the video and audio quality improved for me tremendously.

Yup when i was RCAing, saw the same too even on a CRT was better with the RCA's

Postby pioneer » August 28th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Saw this in case anyone interested

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=525363

Postby gastly369 » August 30th, 2013, 8:01 am

SOooOOoOoo

yeh anyone got this projector (user reviews etc)

http://www.amazon.com/Acer-EY-JBU01-009 ... nk-c605-20

orrr

http://www.amazon.com/Epson-VS220-lumen ... +projector

epson will be via skybox tho but bad experience with bring down projectors

wizz $3105 1 year warranty acer

avg replacement bulb cost via wizz $no more than $1200
but will just order bulbs via amazon

got shaft twice already with bring down projectors last year
optima and a viewsonic
both start to get dead pixels in matter of months
going local wizz with the 1 year warranty or take a chance with the epson?

Postby Dave » August 30th, 2013, 8:30 am

Epson, reviews seemed stronger and Epson has more projector experience
U will quicker find someone with an Epson than an Acer

Postby gastly369 » August 30th, 2013, 9:47 am

yeh thinking the epson because where i working the projector that we use working pretty dam good and some hrs it clocked already. presentations, training, slides etc. and also boss carried it home for movies. problem free thus far
only reason i was considering the acer was the warranty :S

my use basically is for movies in rooms. computer screen to small and TV in living room
got spoil with the projector vs tv in room still got my screen up and projector mount 5.1 srs etc

oh forgot to mention CMR said they have the infocus in112

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 4th, 2013, 8:55 am

HDMI 2.0 officially announced: 18Gbps bandwidth, 60fps 4K, 32 channel audio

Only just after it leaked out, the folks at HDMI Licensing are announcing HDMI 2.0 officially. Arriving just in time for the wide rollout of a new generation of Ultra HDTVs, it adds a few key capabilities to the connection standard. With a bandwidth capacity of up to 18Gbps, it has enough room to carry 3,840 x 2,160 resolution video at up to 60fps. It also has support for up to 32 audio channels, "dynamic auto lipsync" and additional CEC extensions. The connector itself is unchanged, which is good for backwards compatibility but may disappoint anyone hoping for something sturdier to support all of those suddenly-popular dongles. The cables won't change either, as the group claims current high-speed Category 2 wires can handle the increased bandwidth. Some companies have suggested upgrade paths for their UHDTVs already on the market -- hopefully we'll find out more about those plans this week at IFA 2013.

Engadget

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 4th, 2013, 9:11 am

anyone ever heard klipsch rf 82's or 83's, curious as alot of division about the sound with many saying its very harsh and others that love it. would appreciate some feedback

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 5th, 2013, 6:40 am

Tuners have a question about heat issues and wall mounting a plasma tv.
The wall it is to be mounted to is west facing so after lunch that wall receives direct sunlight and it gets hot along with the room.The room will be fit with aircondition in about the next week or so.
Will the ac suffice despite being mounted on a pretty hot wall or should I buy a tv stand instead and keep it further from the wall?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 5th, 2013, 7:26 am

Skanky wrote:Tuners have a question about heat issues and wall mounting a plasma tv.
The wall it is to be mounted to is west facing so after lunch that wall receives direct sunlight and it gets hot along with the room.The room will be fit with aircondition in about the next week or so.
Will the ac suffice despite being mounted on a pretty hot wall or should I buy a tv stand instead and keep it further from the wall?

leave the a/c on 24/7

Postby Dave » September 5th, 2013, 8:14 am

Skanky wrote:Tuners have a question about heat issues and wall mounting a plasma tv.

You can insulate against heat
Use a light colour on the outside of the wall and on the inside use a heat barrier

Zim

Postby Zim » September 12th, 2013, 10:02 am

Thread going nice, folks! :) Lots of good links & info.

I recently sold my Home Theatre system (was running 3.1)
I decided to separates. Anyone here using / running / ran separates?
Any helpful tips & hints wud be greatly appreciated.

Wud upload pics in a bit :oops:

Zim

Postby Zim » September 12th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Old system:
Main Speakers: Infinity P362 towers (pair)
Centre: MCM Audio Centre Channel Speaker
Bass: Polk Audio PSW10
AVR: Denon AVR-E200

Postby X_Factor » September 13th, 2013, 7:24 am

what sort of cooling set up u all have for your equipment/cabinet?

Zim

Postby Zim » September 13th, 2013, 5:04 pm

I just have a cheap boxer fan that a pada gave me. Works wonders! Especially considering the heat generated in my cabinet & room :idea:

U got thru the speakers buddy? I ent heard from u

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2013, 8:03 pm

^ Zim you didn't get the PM?

Dave wrote:

You can insulate against heat
Use a light colour on the outside of the wall and on the inside use a heat barrier
Yes insulate the wall.
You can also make a false wall on your existing wall out of gypsum just a few inches thick and put the 3" fibreglass insulation in there. Just make sure to mount the TV on the studs. This will also make it easy to run all your cables in the wall for a custom flush mount with no wires showing.

I have my 58" plasma mounted flat on a concrete wall, but the wall in in the middle of the house, not an exterior wall. Since you don't always turn on the a/c every time you turn on the TV, I mounted 5 40mm fans horizontally on to the back of the TV to vent air upwards. They are mounted just below the bezel so you cannot see them. I spliced the wires and joined them up (using heat shrink tube)to a USB plug and plugged it into the USB port on the back of the TV, so the fans automatically come on when the TV is turned on. You need to get ball bearing silent fans though cause you don't want fan noise in the home theater. I used the noctua fans from Amazon, dead silent and move alot of air for their size.

http://www.amazon.com/40x10mm-Bearing-P ... 009NQLT0M/

In fact I changed all the 80mm and 120mm fans in my desktop PC and network storage case to these Noctua fans. I have to look at the PC light to see if it's on.

X_Factor wrote:what sort of cooling set up u all have for your equipment/cabinet?
two Noctua 120mm fans at the back of the cabinet

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 14th, 2013, 6:54 am

Those fans are a great idea Duane.Unfortunately I'm pressed for time so just going to wall mount it and turn on the ac when viewing between hours of 1300-1800.Will look into those fans later on.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 14th, 2013, 8:10 am

This is what i use for cabinet cooling.

2 x 80mm on top for my xbox 360 and 2 x 120mm below for my PS3. Both extract hot air from inside the cabinet. The 120mm fans are attached to a temperature controller so they only come on @ 35C.

Postby X_Factor » September 14th, 2013, 8:37 am

thoughts on putting a 120 or 200mm fan directly on the receiver?
i can build a little frame out of plexi or mdf and rest that on the receiver so the fan wont be just floating on the top

my thing is, the hotter electronic parts get for long periods of time, the more prone they are to failure

so my ideas

http://www.amazon.com/Holmes-Personal-S ... 22+box+fan
one of these attached to the back of the cabinet

or one 200mm on the top of the receiver and 3 to the back like smurf's pic

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 14th, 2013, 10:16 am

^You could put this ontop your receiver
http://www.amazon.com/Coolerguys-120x25 ... pd_cp_pc_0 and get fancy and extend the exhaust with a duct made from acrylic or mdf or something and vent straight out the back of your cabinet?

check these guys out
http://www.amazon.com/b?me=A2F13KK758WM ... 1379167589

you can search "cabcool" to see their ready to install kits. Might be what you're looking for.

Zim

Postby Zim » September 16th, 2013, 12:35 pm

:lol: Duane hush eh before I PM u 2!
God going Sumrfy Lee..
I was contemplating those same fans...
If u don't mind my asking, where u bought ya cabinet?
I looking around but the ones down here I saw are 2 expensive for the build quality :|

NZE guy

Postby NZE guy » September 16th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Help!!!! Does anybody know someone who repairs home theater receivers, I had some power outages last week and that seemed to have messed with the HDMI section of my amp, I have no video output only audio, any help would be greatly appreciated, it's a Sony STR-DA5300ES av receiver .

Postby meccalli » September 16th, 2013, 10:12 pm

Noctua's are amazing for ht cooling systems, htpc's in particular. The amount of air a little 80mm will produce that quietly is beyond my knowledge of fan tech lol. Felt a single 80 in a lanbox and I could feel a large surge of air a few feet from the exhaust.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 16th, 2013, 10:42 pm

NZE guy wrote:Help!!!! Does anybody know someone who repairs home theater receivers, I had some power outages last week and that seemed to have messed with the HDMI section of my amp, I have no video output only audio, any help would be greatly appreciated, it's a Sony STR-DA5300ES av receiver .
take the opportunity to get a Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, Marantz, Integra etc. instead.

Postby X_Factor » September 16th, 2013, 11:28 pm

yeah the price to repair if a technician can do it locally might be alot
pricemart has decent prices on a few

NZE guy

Postby NZE guy » September 17th, 2013, 8:57 am

Going to have someone look at It today just to see if it could be repaired and the price comparison if it could,but so far it seems like replacement is the way out :(

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 17th, 2013, 9:12 am

guys I am in a bit of dilemma. my tv room is a bit small to really and effectively put 7.1 surrpound sound so I was thinking of doing a 5.1 .. thing is many of the higher end manuf has discontinued 5.1 and seems to focus on 7.1 .
My question is that can I buy the 7.1 and use the 5.1 and still be effective?
my tv room so far consists of a sony 55in with green dot stb and a regular dvd player as well as apple tv . I mostly use my tv apps as well as my apple tv to stream movies .

Postby X_Factor » September 17th, 2013, 1:22 pm

yeah you can
all you need to do is select 5.1 when setting it up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2013, 2:02 pm

MonsterPower wrote:guys I am in a bit of dilemma. my tv room is a bit small to really and effectively put 7.1 surrpound sound so I was thinking of doing a 5.1 .. thing is many of the higher end manuf has discontinued 5.1 and seems to focus on 7.1 .
My question is that can I buy the 7.1 and use the 5.1 and still be effective?
my tv room so far consists of a sony 55in with green dot stb and a regular dvd player as well as apple tv . I mostly use my tv apps as well as my apple tv to stream movies .
all 7.1 receivers can be set to 5.1. In fact most if not all of them detect if you have speakers connected to the rear channels and set to 5.1 automatically.

Most movies are done in true 5.1 anyway, even if there is a DTS-MA 7.1 track it may be produced by digitally manipulating the 5.1 original.

Check this for a list of movies in 7.1. Note that not all are true 7.1
http://www.blu-raystats.com/Stats/Stats.php
42 movies in total for 2013