Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2011, 11:22 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:UML you have containers to store/transport that?
i making right now actually. tank about 150 gal+ right now

have one that i not sure how much it stores and then a 30g container...still trying to figure out my best option in terms of location and quantity to transport.

btw how much gallons dem blue plastic barrel does store?

"blue" does not give us an idea of size pal... :lol: .................. if its d big barrels yuh does see people fulling water at d side of de road, well its 50gal

Postby UML » November 5th, 2011, 11:23 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:then for evaporation...

then water changes....

best u take bout 150 gal one time

can i use bottled water? since i just topping off?

you asking for algae bloom.
sharkman, when last yuh change yuh media in yuh DI? ent yuh make over 200 gal already?

ok i understand...but how does fish and coral survive in the wild with pollutants in the water, rain falling (considering rain water too) and all d other things.... ro/di water is ideal conditions and they exist not under those conditions.

Postby UML » November 5th, 2011, 11:24 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:UML you have containers to store/transport that?
i making right now actually. tank about 150 gal+ right now

have one that i not sure how much it stores and then a 30g container...still trying to figure out my best option in terms of location and quantity to transport.

btw how much gallons dem blue plastic barrel does store?

"blue" does not give us an idea of size pal... :lol: .................. if its d big barrels yuh does see people fulling water at d side of de road, well its 50gal

das d only way u wuda know wah ah talking bout :lol: :lol:

k thx....considering getting one of those.

Postby sharkman121 » November 5th, 2011, 11:28 pm

UML wrote:ok i understand...but how does fish and coral survive in the wild with pollutants in the water, rain falling (considering rain water too) and all d other things.... ro/di water is ideal conditions and they exist not under those conditions.

one word... dilution, the ocean is vast. Even though there are lots of toxic chemicals, the parts per billion that exists in the water is extremely small.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2011, 11:29 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Anthias??? priceee..

$450....................... but they not eating. once they not eating, thats a chance you taking

yup, big risk. Want a powder blue tang next.

yes...ich magnet.

yup, also very aggressive when it come to other tangs in the tank. I want one also to put in my tank. spoke to a good bit of men that i met by raj that have them and thesay its real pressure........................ the slightest thing and they get ich. i cant catch out nothing in my tank if that happen

Postby sharkman121 » November 5th, 2011, 11:30 pm

Even rodi water is not the "ideal conditions". ocean water has trace elements of almost everything that diff marine life need. magnesium, manganese, iodine, iron, copper,zinc etc etc

Postby sharkman121 » November 5th, 2011, 11:32 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Anthias??? priceee..

$450....................... but they not eating. once they not eating, thats a chance you taking

yup, big risk. Want a powder blue tang next.

yes...ich magnet.

yup, also very aggressive when it come to other tangs in the tank. I want one also to put in my tank. spoke to a good bit of men that i met by raj that have them and thesay its real pressure........................ the slightest thing and they get ich. i cant catch out nothing in my tank if that happen

its a shame cuz they very pretty.

Postby UML » November 5th, 2011, 11:33 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
UML wrote:ok i understand...but how does fish and coral survive in the wild with pollutants in the water, rain falling (considering rain water too) and all d other things.... ro/di water is ideal conditions and they exist not under those conditions.

one word... dilution, the ocean is vast. Even though there are lots of toxic chemicals, the parts per billion that exists in the water is extremely small.

so wudnt the bottle water/rain water/ dechlorinated water be diluted in the rodi water?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2011, 11:36 pm

think i might buy the powder blue and a naso and keep it outside in my concrete tubs for about a mth and then put them in my tank

Postby sharkman121 » November 5th, 2011, 11:39 pm

UML wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

so wudnt the bottle water/rain water/ dechlorinated water be diluted in the rodi water?

:lol: cant compare the rodi water anyone has to the amount of gallons of water in the ocean

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2011, 11:41 pm

UML wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

you can use it yuh know, but when the algae start to feed off all d stuff in that water, it will take you mths to get it out. yuh go bawl like ah cow

Postby sharkman121 » November 5th, 2011, 11:41 pm

HondaB20B wrote:think i might buy the powder blue and a naso and keep it outside in my concrete tubs for about a mth and then put them in my tank

been doing some research in anticipation of getting the powder blue, i think ill use copper/cupramine in a separate tank to treat if necessary. i think the hyposalinity thing sounds very risky.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2011, 11:55 pm

remember ich spores are always in your tank. all you want is one fish to be stressed and thats the fish that will get it.
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2011, 12:02 am

true... only in extreme cases would one venture to take the fish out to put it in a quarantine tank. That in itself stresses out the fish. Went thru a couple ich outbreaks already where the fish managed to ride it out. Just used my Garlic Guard and selcon.

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2011, 12:02 am

what channel do you have to go through to import fish on yr own? import license needed etc?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 12:11 am

what you could do is just get the powder blue bigger than the other tangs in your tank. you still have space to add other fish.
Last edited by HondaB20B on November 6th, 2011, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 12:17 am

sharkman121 wrote:what channel do you have to go through to import fish on yr own? import license needed etc?

will end up paying alot of money to get a C.I.T.E.S. to import fish/coral right now

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 1:02 am

ey sharkman................ how come we aint hearing from ryantt?

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2011, 1:10 am

dunno, when yuh see dat probably some accident happened to his fish or sumn.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 1:14 am

unless he inside for breaking SoE?

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2011, 1:39 am

:| :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2011, 8:08 am

Umm i got a pricing on the cone snail

should be around 3k to set up a home for it (salt water i believe)

so its like almost a 5k investment :S ill settle for some small turtles and come crabs

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 8:19 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Umm i got a pricing on the cone snail

so its like almost a 5k investment :S ill settle for some small turtles and come crabs

who give that price of 3k and whats d breakdown. So all this time you didnt realize that it was a marine snail?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2011, 8:59 am

HondaB20B wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Umm i got a pricing on the cone snail

who give that price of 3k and whats d breakdown. So all this time you didnt realize that it was a marine snail?

nope :oops:

i was told its gonna cost about 3K just to set it up and they would feed only on phytoplankton or other micro organisms which u could only get by adding corals and sufficient light to keep the corlas which could range frm an additional 2K - 4K

so its kinda out off my budget for while :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 9:42 am

so why not keep some shrimp and done?

ey sharkman, did you take a look at the fireshrimp by raj?

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2011, 3:10 pm

nah boi, now googled it to see what it looked like.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 6th, 2011, 3:30 pm

"Fire shrimp are able to change from male to female depending on the situation. This ensures that two random shrimp have the potential to pair up and eventually mate."

Nice shrimp though.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 4:20 pm

seeing it on the computer is one thing................ in real, the red is bright

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2011, 10:39 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:anyone interested in selling RO/DI water???

how much yuh want

i go start off with a 20 gallons..to cure the rock

then i wud need to fill my tank...so that go be like 60 gallons

ah taut you wanted water?

Postby UML » November 6th, 2011, 11:20 pm

yea i trying to source 2 ah d 50 gallon barrels with covers