Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

PariaMan

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby PariaMan » January 27th, 2024, 8:16 am

Last edited by PariaMan on January 27th, 2024, 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 27th, 2024, 8:18 am

Postby bluefete » January 27th, 2024, 10:01 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Living behind God back has it's advantages

Property tax of $790.00 per year or $66.00 per month - Impsbert give yuh some exemptions orr?

So hear this nah shakes: - Any land for sale by you - in de bush - preferably not close to any mapipires!

wing

Postby wing » January 27th, 2024, 11:19 am

After all the talk and bluster, men put their tails between legs and comply. Whatever happened to principle and PNM this and that? Anyway, at least it's affordable for some, hopefully at least some of the money goes to actually improving services.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2024, 2:10 pm

bluefete wrote:

Property tax of $790.00 per year or $66.00 per month - Impsbert give yuh some exemptions orr?

So hear this nah shakes: - Any land for sale by you - in de bush - preferably not close to any mapipires!

Have plenty lots for sale...mind you, my folks didn't submit anything eh....i didn't submit for my house , would see how that goes

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 27th, 2024, 2:26 pm

Same here I did not submit

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 27th, 2024, 2:28 pm

Is there a payment portal or something so you don't have to go to Inland Revenue to pay it in person? If not might as well sell every last thing I have back in Trini because I don't want to have to be going back every year to pay a nuisance tax.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 27th, 2024, 2:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Have plenty lots for sale...mind you, my folks didn't submit anything eh....i didn't submit for my house , would see how that goes

The exact thing that happened to the man in the news article in Dinsley happened to you then. Is just the house footprint on google maps * a rate per square metre depending on the area.

Yours could come down even further when they exclude shed and roof eaves if you object.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 27th, 2024, 2:45 pm

Yea they really need to setup a payment portal online linked through TTConnect or TTBizLink to pay these property taxes. Email us a receipt as well as have payment history on the portal so they can't come and say in the future we didn't pay and take our house for 5 years of non-payment.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2024, 5:05 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

The exact thing that happened to the man in the news article in Dinsley happened to you then. Is just the house footprint on google maps * a rate per square metre depending on the area.

Yours could come down even further when they exclude shed and roof eaves if you object.

Whatever strategy they used, my old man not disputing nothing :lol:

And this is a regular single storey house, 5 bedrooms, Ac, 3 1/2 baths, 2 kitchens, Garage and gazebo separate...nothing spectacular...but when you go on Google maps and see the jungle around the area ...well!

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » January 27th, 2024, 8:34 pm

If you have two points of entry(2 gates) what is the tax on that ppl saying you pay more?

Postby 88sins » January 28th, 2024, 12:07 am

Uncle say he applied for the deferral, and get blank.
So now I a tad curious.
Who d eff go qualify for a deferral?
cuz if yuh tax mobthly liability is 20% of your measly $3k monthly pension, and you still don't qualify, exactly who does?

But then again, allyuh vote fuh dat

Postby adnj » January 28th, 2024, 12:26 am

Did the distribution of the Notice of Assessment of Tax Liability start already?

Postby 88sins » January 28th, 2024, 6:48 am

adnj wrote:Did the distribution of the Notice of Assessment of Tax Liability start already?

To my understanding, yes

Postby alfa » January 28th, 2024, 7:00 am

Yeah I got mine recently. Poorly written, meen care about annual rental value. Just tell me how much I have to pay and focus on the rest after

Postby 88sins » January 28th, 2024, 9:38 am

I still want someone to explain in detail, exactly how does one go about getting this mythical and elusive deferral

cuz if you living on a limited fixed budget and your liability is taking up a significant portion of your limited income, and THAT ain't a,good enough reason to be granted an deferral, then we in trouble.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 28th, 2024, 10:31 am

Deep doo doo.

This tax will be a real setup for old people

We will all be old at some point in time.

Resist people do not go gently into the dark night

If you have not sent in your documentation as yet DO NOT DO IT!

As long as PNM enforces this act, they must never win another election

And guess what? The law-abiding folk will end up subsidizing those people where the authorities are afraid to visit.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 28th, 2024, 11:05 am

I think they disingenuously put just the ARV on the letter and not the amount you pay because they know Trini's will see that value and think that's how much they have to pay and pay it thereby giving them more money than they were supposed to get. Every bill has the amount of money you have to pay so why doesn't this?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 28th, 2024, 12:32 pm

By law the valuation division has nothing to do with the property tax act, that's your answer.

Postby bluefete » January 28th, 2024, 5:37 pm

Postby bluefete » January 28th, 2024, 5:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:I think they disingenuously put just the ARV on the letter and not the amount you pay because they know Trini's will see that value and think that's how much they have to pay and pay it thereby giving them more money than they were supposed to get. Every bill has the amount of money you have to pay so why doesn't this?

That is exactly what some people thought when they got their letters but Imbert said another letter will come with the actual property tax figures.

Wasting paper and money.

Postby bluefete » January 28th, 2024, 5:45 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Is there a payment portal or something so you don't have to go to Inland Revenue to pay it in person? If not might as well sell every last thing I have back in Trini because I don't want to have to be going back every year to pay a nuisance tax.

Allyuh not supposed to talk sense in here.

You really believe that the PNM would make things easy for people to pay their taxes? Like setting up a payment portal?

That is not part of their DNA. Is sufferation if you are an ordinary citizen. Line up in hot sun and rain to pay. They do not even have Linx when you go to shed 10 to clear goods. Cash only.

Postby bluefete » January 28th, 2024, 5:46 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:By law the valuation division has nothing to do with the property tax act, that's your answer.

Correct. Two separate issues. The BIR has to issue the property tax letters.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 28th, 2024, 6:06 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I think they disingenuously put just the ARV on the letter and not the amount you pay because they know Trini's will see that value and think that's how much they have to pay and pay it thereby giving them more money than they were supposed to get. Every bill has the amount of money you have to pay so why doesn't this?

That is exactly what some people thought when they got their letters but Imbert said another letter will come with the actual property tax figures.

Wasting paper and money.

Imbert trying a smartmanism, he feel Trini's dotish and wouldn't realize it. And the funny thing is he might be right.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » January 28th, 2024, 7:45 pm

bluefete wrote:Anybody know anyone living in Beetham who got valuation notices as yet?

X3000
Wondering the same

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2024, 7:47 pm

wha bout morvant ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2024, 8:30 pm

unimatrix-001 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Anybody know anyone living in Beetham who got valuation notices as yet?

X3000
Wondering the same

If a big valuation company could have beetham as a "No go zone" on their website y'all really think people going and chance distributing property tax letters inside these areas ?

Postby 88sins » January 28th, 2024, 8:31 pm

pugboy wrote:wha bout morvant ?

What about Morvant?

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2024, 8:33 pm

them get valuation letters ?

pugboy wrote:wha bout morvant ?

What about Morvant?

Postby 88sins » January 28th, 2024, 8:38 pm

I here still trying to figure out what one must be to qualify for a deferral.
So far as I can see, to get this mythical deferral, your name have to be Mr./Ms./Mrs. No Body, and your property must be situated right on the corner of Nowhere & Oblivion.

Short of that, Clown Impinbottom tellin yuh flat out "come up out dem pockets, meen bidness with yuh sufferation"