2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Conrad

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby Conrad » May 11th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Wow

No advice here but I'm curious. How much do you weight? How tall? Fat distribution?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 11th, 2014, 2:13 pm

I`m 5'8" age 29 weigh about 155.

Not sure of my body fat percentage tho.

According to that image I`m between 15 and 20 percent but not over 20 percent.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 12th, 2014, 7:47 am

First of all you need to establish your goal in order to properly assess where you're going wrong.

From what you're saying, its seems like you're just trying to be skinny due to low calorie diet and ur cardio, however walking a mile will have absolutely zero effect on your body. You need to run that mile to create exertion which is what brings the change

even your strength training routine could be too easy or redundant which brings and early plateau.

Whats ur goal and how do your workouts go?

Soundstream_626 wrote:Anybody tried carb cycling? I lost a good bit of weight but I seem to have hit a dred plateau. I am eating 1250 cals a day and now and I`m not seeing any change. I am getting a bit frustrated.

I work out 5 days a week and after each weight training session I walk a mile.

Any suggestions?

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » May 12th, 2014, 8:47 am

Quick question...where do you all go to buy your fitness clothes? Im lookin for a long pants but dunno where is the best place to go :/

Postby AllTrac » May 12th, 2014, 9:19 am

you eating 1250 cals? how are you even alive???

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 12th, 2014, 9:33 am

AllTrac wrote:you eating 1250 cals? how are you even alive???

Lol

He went hardcore on his diet too early. That's a serious plateau and the only way to break through it is to push harder.

Try a fat burner? Or Bump up the cardio

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 12th, 2014, 9:47 am

How are you measuring that 1250 cals? That's a very specific figure, must have your macros down to the fcuking gram!!

That's awfully low too; for weight loss, slow and gradual is generally recommended, as the weight will stay off. People who crash diet tend to put back on the weight when they resume normal eating. It's simply not sustainable and you're just suffering yourself for nought.

Make a few strategic lifestyle changes, cut 300-400 cals off your daily maintenance and include some form of exercise and watch the weight drop off. Slow but more likely to remain off.

*insert hodgetwins disclaimer here*

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 12th, 2014, 10:02 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:How are you measuring that 1250 cals? That's a very specific figure, must have your macros down to the fcuking gram!!

That's awfully low too; for weight loss, slow and gradual is generally recommended, as the weight will stay off. People who crash diet tend to put back on the weight when they resume normal eating. It's simply not sustainable and you're just suffering yourself for nought.

Make a few strategic lifestyle changes, cut 300-400 cals off your daily maintenance and include some form of exercise and watch the weight drop off. Slow but more likely to remain off.

*insert hodgetwins disclaimer here*

*but that's just our advice... You could do whatever THE FCUK YOU WANT* :mrgreen:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 12th, 2014, 12:30 pm

I feel I hit it too hard, too fast. As for counting the calories I use caloriecount, use a food scale and other packaged stuff well I go by the label. I try to keep my macros at around 50% carbs, 40 % proteins and 10 percent fats.

As for goals, Ill be happy at around 10-12 percent BF.

Thanks for the advice, ill try to eat a bit more and monitor how it goes.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 12th, 2014, 7:16 pm

Study from Alan Aragon et al. on natural bodybuilding fat loss. It should also be helpful for the normal guys like us.

"Caloric intake should be set at a level that results in bodyweight losses of approximately 0.5 to 1% / wk to maximize muscle retention. Within this caloric intake, most but not all bodybuilders will respond best to consuming 2.3-3.1 g/kg of lean body mass per day of protein, 15-30% of calories from fat, and the reminder of calories from carbohydrate. Eating three to six meals per day with a meal containing 0.4-0.5 g/kg bodyweight of protein prior and subsequent to resistance training likely maximizes any theoretical benefits of nutrient timing and frequency."

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2014, 2:59 pm

I don't agree with eating 3 to 6 times per day for fat loss. 3 times is too little bit. The more often you eat, the more your metabolic rate is "stimulated" so break those 3 meals in smaller portions and eat it in 5 to 6 meals.

Also, I personally don't see body fat decreasing by 1% a week for more than 3 or 4 weeks. That is way too much especially if the person isn't on any drug. 99% of these claims and values are coughed out by people who reached their goals using these values but also had another variable in the mix...... drugs.

I make my statement because no way in hell do i see a man with 20% body fat reaching down to 10% body fat in 10 weeks....even down to 14% is really really difficult especially if you want to do that and hold all your muscle tissue at the same time.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 13th, 2014, 6:41 pm

That study was based on empirical evidence. I don't think everything will work for everyone, it's just what was found from empirical data.
Here's a link to the full study to remove any ambiguity from the post.

www.jissn.com/content/pdf/1550-2783-11-20.pdf

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 13th, 2014, 7:17 pm

I read his stuff, trying IF and man it's giving me some more discipline and results towards my own personal goal of fighting the fat.

http://www.leangains.com/2010/04/leangains-guide.html

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2014, 8:05 pm

silent_riot, thats a really impressive case study there, I didn't even know that such a study existed. Surely a very interesting and informative read that im going to print and learn stuff from.

While I understand that the study states "natural body builders," it is naive to think that most of these "natural" bodybuilders did not use any sort of drug. I am 193lbs right now and that's me in my pic just this weekend, I am 100% natural but I have touched lightly on anabolics in the past (no time recently).

For example, clenbuterol isn't and anabolic steroid but it metabolises fat.....then HGH also reduces fat when used by itself and it isn't exactly detectable when used within a certain range and its a protein peptide....not an anabolic steroid.

Then again there are steroids with a half life of only a few hours and they happen to be very powerful so it is possible to be tested within just days of a shot and pass the test. Bodybuilding today is so obscure and there are so many ways to have some edge while beating the test that it's really difficult for me to believe that there are so many true natural bodybuilders out there.

Honestly, it's near impossible to get a true body building physique + mass and be ripped to shreds especially over 185lbs without anabolics. The most your body's chemistry will allow you to get is a model physique with some extra mass.

Maybe the guys in this study were smaller and lighter, but im just shedding some light on the topic because thats the reality of the sport.

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2014, 8:16 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:I am 100% natural

No supps?

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2014, 8:26 pm

what about the protein overdosers ?
long circular gym full of them,

I have to go early or wear a gas mask

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 13th, 2014, 9:16 pm

Good points, b18, and impressive physique there.
I don't believe anabolics should remain illegal, because from what I'm hearing here is that even the "natural" guys use them and pass tests. Abuse is another topic, but I don't see what's the big deal about its knowledgeable usage. 10 years down the road, creatine may be considered a banned substance for all you know.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 13th, 2014, 10:03 pm

b18 dat dere beast mode.
#yesImjellybrah

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2014, 11:53 pm

silent_riot, i share the same view as you. I honestly don't think anabolic steroids etc are bad its really about knowledge, responsibility and knowing when to use it. They are used every day in medicine, but its the abusers who give it a bad name. Then again, people fear that which they dont understand, so education is the biggest factor here and using wisely. However, I do not encourage anyone to use any substances as such. It's a personal choice and should only be considered long into a plateau where you have hit your genetic limit.

meccalli wrote:
b18b_turbo wrote:I am 100% natural

No supps?

Oh sorry, supplements are natural. When I say 100% natural, I am referring to exogenous hormones and androgens. I believe in using supplements wisely in order to maintain your physique. Some may say I am on a lot of supplements but they are all foundational, basic supplements and they really do make a difference. Here is what I use:

Upon rising : 2 x Liv 52 DS, 1 pantanoic acid, 1 opti-men, 2 x flax seed caps, 1 scoop beast whey isolate or carnivor

Between breakfast and lunch : 1.5 scoop beast whey isolate or carnivor, 1 cup oats, 1 tbsp crunch peanut butter, 2 tsp coffee in blender and chug it down

Pre workout shake : 2 scoops PRIMOCARB (50g carbs), 1.5 scoop Beast Mode or Nitraflex, 1 scoop creatine, 1 optimen tab

Intra workout : 1 scoop primocarb (25g carbs), 1 scoop aminolytes in 20 oz water

Post workout shake : 1.5 scoop beast whey isolate or carnivor or 2 scoops re-animate, 1 serving creatine, 2 x flax seed caps banana or handful of grapes

Before bed : 2 x Liv 52 DS, 1 pantanoic acid, 3 caps ON ZMA

The goal here is to cleanse, build muscle slowly, get leaner and maintain general health.

Postby sharkman121 » May 14th, 2014, 7:08 am

anyone here ever dealt with bicep tendinitis?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 14th, 2014, 9:18 am

No but I have a pec strain/pain that's been nagging me for weeks. I thought about giving it a rest, but didnt. Maybe I should.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2014, 9:54 am

sharkman121 wrote:anyone here ever dealt with bicep tendinitis?

It takes months to a year to heal on its own. In the worst case you could end up doing surgery .
I had it for over 4mts, usually it's cause when you over do a workout and not giving it enough rest time.

Postby sharkman121 » May 14th, 2014, 10:54 am

got it from doing really heavy drop sets on bicep curls with easy curl bar. Caught it early though, gonna take at least a month off an reassess from there. Many people mistake it for DOMS and try to work thru the pain, this is where it deteriorates and surgery may be needed.

Working around it though, so doing more chest and legs... all pulling exercises are out for now, Curls, bent over rows, pullups etc. have compression sleeves to assist in the interim.

Postby dougla_boy » May 14th, 2014, 11:08 am

yuh big fgt.....fuh nutting yuh go pass thru sweat eh

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 14th, 2014, 11:13 am

^ Solid advice, fractured my wrist some years ago goalkeeping and recently while doing some close grip bench press it started to act up again, trained like I normally did and I'm currently paying the price. Anyone know where i can get some wrist wraps locally? lol http://www.amazon.com/Schiek-Wrist-Wrap ... rist+wraps definitely need to get these asap

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 14th, 2014, 11:19 am

kM_89 wrote:^ Solid advice, fractured my wrist some years ago goalkeeping and recently while doing some close grip bench press it started to act up again, trained like I normally did and I'm currently paying the price. Anyone know where i can get some wrist wraps locally? lol http://www.amazon.com/Schiek-Wrist-Wrap ... rist+wraps definitely need to get these asap

Body world I think has them.

Postby X_Factor » May 14th, 2014, 11:45 am

made some nice progress over the last mth
sucks that i hadda stop for a while since newborn = no gym or sleep!

Vex---i think u are/was in a similar situation what did u do hoss?

Postby dougla_boy » May 14th, 2014, 12:34 pm

congrats meng! only thing i cud suggest with regards to no gym....probably body weight exercises .....like when u have a lil free 10mins or something

quick push ups....or pull ups....or something nuh.......

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 14th, 2014, 12:44 pm

Congrats bro!

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 14th, 2014, 12:51 pm

Congrats pal!

It's hard to make time to sweat, but it helps me that I train at home. I just make sure that the missus can cover me with the little one for an hour or so while I hammer out a workout. SOme days that's not possible so my routine has become disjointed - but I try to get at least 2 weeksdays at about 1 hr each and train both saturday and sunday for 2+ hours.

Side note: keep your diet in check. I realized that the first couple months with our first and only child, I found myself devouring everything in sight, and at some ungodly hours too.