:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 8:31 pm

I used a piece of newspapers today. Spoonful of resin on it.
Works ok. Saw the papers warped though.

I have a 9.5cfm vacuume pump already. Not ready for bagging yet.
Wanna do some interior trims and if I succeed then a hood scoop.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 8:34 pm

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 6th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Try canvas

Postby Ted_v2 » February 6th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Anyone needs some insulated screwdrivers?
bought a set and never used it, would let it go for small $$.

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2017, 10:18 pm

Pics of the screwdrivers. Interested

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 5:18 pm

matix wrote:Pics of the screwdrivers. Interested

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 5:19 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I know two padnas who did similar projects with the CF cloth they bought online and clear FG resin.
It wont give the strenght of vacuum impregnated and heat treated CF, but you will get the look.

Did they skin anything? What did they use for base coat?
I know there is an epoxy priner for paints. Not sure if it will work

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2017, 6:04 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I know two padnas who did similar projects with the CF cloth they bought online and clear FG resin.
It wont give the strenght of vacuum impregnated and heat treated CF, but you will get the look.

Did they skin anything? What did they use for base coat?
I know there is an epoxy priner for paints. Not sure if it will work

Tbh..all i got was before pics with the material and after pics. Both of them did their stuff in privacy and only showed me the finished items...

This is a custom fender made for a motorbike.

Other padna made this for his car

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 6:22 pm

Looks good. I can understand men keeping their trade secrets to themselves. Thats why I haven't posted much here.
Work like that aint cheap.

Postby rspann » February 7th, 2017, 6:41 pm

FullSizeRender (3).jpg
What you want to make? First thing to do is make a mould by putting PVA on the original, let it dry .Then put on some gelcoat let that dry. Apply some mat/ cloth, and wet with resin. do that twice, or three coats and then when it dries,trim the excess and separate. you now have a mould. You can then make a product from the inside of the mould. Put PVA on the inside of the mould,let it dry.Lay up some epoxy ,build up good thickness, put on the CF when it dries and put more epoxy on . You can use two layers or more. If you using CF for looks, you can use cloth /mat too behind it .If you looking for strength, put more CF. Trim and separate, using water which melts the PVA. sand and buff or apply more epoxy to the outside if DESIred.

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 7:42 pm

A man come lego the whole process in moderate detail yes. Spann, didnt know you good so.

Made successful moulds already and copied structures. Will take a pic of a perfect sphere I built with polyester resin inna few.

Thinking of doing some interior trims (like for the power windows, ac / deck finisher, minor stuff nah).
If it comes out good might do a hood scoop. Im a bit iffy on that right now as a bigger scoop might obstruct me. Kinda 50/50 on that one.

Not finding the yellow patterned carbon fiber cloth at all online.

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 7:48 pm

Next set of spheres in the car right now. They came out better. Some of the paint didnt wrinkle enough on this set.

Postby rspann » February 7th, 2017, 7:49 pm

You could hydrodip the same parts in any color for a lot cheaper,yellow carbon fiber too. I'll show a pic tomorrow of my brothers hilux. Steering airbag, all finishers,deck, switches on doors ,etc in carbon fiber,hydrodipped.

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 7:50 pm

Nah, everyone can hydrodip lol.
Pardner right up de road have the equipment. But as usual, men eh want to pay.

Postby rspann » February 7th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Dog, is not only the scoop eh, it's the whole front too. Note, the fenders joined to the hood, and no fins in the grille.

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2017, 7:53 pm

I mean a scoop for my ride. My scoop can come off from the bonnet.
Saw a subaru at the grocery and was miring it. Had a nice big scoop.
Is when I watch the rear brakes I realise was a ts. Love the scoop though

hindian

Postby hindian » February 7th, 2017, 8:31 pm

Looking for a magnetic spirit level fellas. Anything 16"-24" would be fine, aluminium body preferably with 45 degree bubble too...

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 8th, 2017, 5:14 pm

Collected one of these today for home use. California Air Tools Ultra Quiet, 15 Gal
6.40 CFM at 40 PSI, 5.30 CFM at 90 PSI
Expensive though, $425 USD. Bout $800 TTD shipping and VAT.

You could talk normal around it while in operation.

Also one of these $50 USD

Postby Ted_v2 » February 10th, 2017, 10:29 pm

Good buy on the compressor, whats the main purpose for it?

For anyone looking for sockets check out L&G, they have some good prices on the gear-wrench socket sets. Comes with rails
i finally bought a flex head 84 tooth 3/8 from gear-wrench, always wanted one for a while and grab it immediately. Cant see how i went so long without one, it makes jobs so much easier.

anyone knows where selling socket rails?
So far i came across some for 55$TT per rail, which isnt too bad but its plastic. I recently started re-purposing one of my other rails from a crowfoot set, damn its so handy. Especially how most of my tools came in some big blow mold cases. Trying to clear up some clutter at the moment.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 10th, 2017, 11:31 pm

I have a tool kit dedicated just for sockets,extensions,adapters and ratchets

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 11th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Good buy on the compressor, whats the main purpose for it?

Nothing specific, just wanted one for around the house. Have many air tools at my shop, so cheaper to get a compressor than buy electric/cordless tools for home, plus minor painting etc.

Hate the regular noisy oil free offerings.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 15th, 2017, 10:32 pm

anyone knows what size allan key is needed for brakes on a mazda 3? or a sport 20?

i dont actually need a set, just this one key, i already have till 7mm

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 16th, 2017, 8:35 am

Anybody knows where sells keys for a angle grinder.... Ah loss the second one...

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 16th, 2017, 9:04 am

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone knows what size allan key is needed for brakes on a mazda 3? or a sport 20?

i dont actually need a set, just this one key, i already have till 7mm

I have sport 20 brakes and use 7mm or 8mm. Dont remember which straight off the bat. If the 7mm dont work then it's 8mm. Seeing the most wear on my 7mm though so I'm leaning towards that.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 16th, 2017, 10:51 pm

Perfect thx

Postby supercharged turbo » February 17th, 2017, 5:57 pm

I looking for a 3/3.5 ton low profile jack.I see alot of people using a purple Majic jack.Is it worth the money?Whats the average price?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 17th, 2017, 10:16 pm

Looks pretty good actually i saw the 2.5 ton recently, a tad bit bigger than a regular jack but looks much better built. Its red tho, i saw it by kemraj in debe, He sells quite a bit of majic products, someone told me he is a dealer, dunno.

I finally found some rails, 1/4 and 3/8 like 23$ at dansteel.

3/8 holds 8 sockets and the 1/4 holds 10

Postby supercharged turbo » February 18th, 2017, 7:56 am

Where in Debe is he located?

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 18th, 2017, 9:37 am

What about the Ford low profile twin piston jack Pricesmart has for around $900~1000? Anybody using it?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 18th, 2017, 9:51 am

Opposite ramai trace. Can't miss it.

I'm using one of those since September last year. No problems, so far but the wheels are a bit odd to get moving in a uneven surface. They are solid metal so that's a plus. If you need to move it regular in vehicles it's extremely heavy for one person. Other than that it's a great buy for the price.