Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby Scarfex » March 27th, 2013, 10:13 am

ummmm are they cheap?

Postby Chimera » March 27th, 2013, 10:17 am

i charge $500 installed for torch strip (9800)

Postby j.o.e » March 27th, 2013, 1:32 pm

j.o.e wrote:looking for a trustworthy place to repair a 9900. Problem is callers can only hear me if I use the on board speakerphone or bluetooth..if I use the handset the normal way they can't hear me. Any suggestions?

Nothing fellas?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 28th, 2013, 10:58 am

j.o.e wrote:
j.o.e wrote:looking for a trustworthy place to repair a 9900. Problem is callers can only hear me if I use the on board speakerphone or bluetooth..if I use the handset the normal way they can't hear me. Any suggestions?

Nothing fellas?

Only solution is to get a Z10.

Postby j.o.e » March 28th, 2013, 11:00 am

fine *chucks 9900 out window*

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 29th, 2013, 2:01 pm

for those with z10's and wanna get the correct packages on bmobile the following i've tried and confirmed working, sometimes when u ask the csr's for the packages they give u a run around and tell you they not ready for the z10's but just take the following and ur good to go.

for post paid
4G blackberry BIS plan $99
4G 2GB data plan $50

once u ask for the 4G BIS plan that includes the 2gb data plan it works

for pre paid once they have a 4G blackberry plan running already they could simply dial *3282# and select the second option which is "buy bberry bundle" then select #2 for bb 1gb data week pass for $10tt or for the month select number 3 which is "bb 5gb data month $20tt"

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » March 29th, 2013, 5:16 pm

the z10 looks great and stuff...but i like bb for the keyboard so i'll wait to see the q10 when it release and what the reviews are....so far frm what im seeing here the z10 iz great compare to the previous failures of blackberrys

Postby Rooki3 » March 29th, 2013, 5:25 pm

wow bb data real cheap

recklessone

Postby recklessone » March 29th, 2013, 5:59 pm

Dion76 wrote:for those with z10's and wanna get the correct packages on bmobile the following i've tried and confirmed working, sometimes when u ask the csr's for the packages they give u a run around and tell you they not ready for the z10's but just take the following and ur good to go.

for post paid
4G 2GB data plan $50

for pre paid once they have a 4G blackberry plan running already they could simply dial *3282# and select the second option which is "buy bberry bundle" then select #2 for bb 1gb data week pass for $10tt or for the month select number 3 which is "bb 5gb data month $20tt"

I thought Z10 didn't have BIS :?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 29th, 2013, 7:59 pm

Rooki3 wrote:wow bb data real cheap
ent

Postby S_2NR » March 29th, 2013, 8:03 pm

Feeling to buy a bb to get cheap data...

Wait..

I take that back

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 29th, 2013, 8:47 pm

recklessone wrote:
Dion76 wrote:for those with z10's and wanna get the correct packages on bmobile the following i've tried and confirmed working, sometimes when u ask the csr's for the packages they give u a run around and tell you they not ready for the z10's but just take the following and ur good to go.

for post paid
4G 2GB data plan $50

yeah correct but for some reason currently on bmobile its needed for it to work however on digicel it works without it, if u have a sim with a data plan in an iphone or s3 and u take it out and place it in a z10 it works flawlessly with bbm etc etc

Postby Trini Hookah » March 29th, 2013, 9:09 pm

S_2NR wrote:Feeling to buy a bb to get cheap data...

Wait..

I take that back

Bess yuh get a hammer, chisel and slate with 4g

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2013, 9:20 pm

^^^ Moses made it work

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 30th, 2013, 8:03 am

organized another STL100-1 Z10 for a customer last night, this one was on digicel, when trying to activate a normal pre paid 4G 2gb data plan from the z10 itself after going through with requesting the service via the *400# they return a text stating that your device is not 4G compatible so i put the same sim card in a s3, requested the relevant 4G package, received the text from them saying the plan is now active, did a battery pull and then the data was active on the s3, was able to browse etc, i just took out the sim from the s3 and placed it back into the z10 and it worked right away, all services active.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 30th, 2013, 9:22 am

^^ what's the cost of that package on digicel again ?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 30th, 2013, 9:37 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ what's the cost of that package on digicel again ?

there's a week pass 2GB for $79sum and the monthly is around $230 for 5GB

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 30th, 2013, 6:55 pm

for post paid
4G 2GB data plan $50

THANK YOU. lol I thought that prices were still $30 a week.. $20 a month is amazing. Just took a plan on my old 8520..just there doing nothing anyway

EDIT : Bmobile really has great ways of advertising lol, the 4G bundle is supposed to be taken alongside a regular 2G plan. So it's basically upgrading your 2G plan to 4G, but ofc that was stated absolutely nowhere. I called and "I'm sorry but there's no way you can get a refund". This is absolutely retarded.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 30th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Why take a plan on an 8520, that's stuck with edge

Postby Ted_v2 » March 30th, 2013, 8:22 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Why take a plan on an 8520, that's stuck with edge

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 30th, 2013, 8:58 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Why take a plan on an 8520, that's stuck with edge

Because I have an iPad and a Nexus 7 (and a soon to be SIV/HTC One) which does everything I need done, without a data plan but I have a lot of friends on BBM so it's convenient.

My dad has a 9810 and my 8520 can do everything the 9810 can do, more or less. 4G in general on a BlackBerry is rather pointless cuz it can't do much to begin with, exception being the Z10.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 2nd, 2013, 8:13 am

Dion76 wrote:
recklessone wrote:

for post paid
4G 2GB data plan $50

yeah correct but for some reason currently on bmobile its needed for it to work however on digicel it works without it, if u have a sim with a data plan in an iphone or s3 and u take it out and place it in a z10 it works flawlessly with bbm etc etc

For the sake of clarity I just want to correct the info,

the Z10 and all BB devices with BB10 dont use BIS, a BlackBerry Data plan != BIS

the requirement for a BB10 data plan is simply so that when you phone connects to the network it knows what APN to provide it for data services. the blackberry.net10 APN that gets pushed to BB10 devices does not tie back to BIS.

BIS is a bit more complex than i think is generally known, BIS is really a private data channel that take all BBOS traffic and routes it over a private network as opposed to the open internet. To use BIS services it required a BIS "account" which is what your service books are all tied to. all BBOS devices are accessing an account to which the user identifier is the PIN.

This is why if you don't pay for a BIS plan you cant use BBM on wifi (assuming the device was never provisioned) with BBOS devices. with the Z10 out of the box u connect to WIFI and you have BBM normal.

So even though Bmobile is requiring a BlackBerry data plan for the Z10, this is more to ensure you stick to the plans they want you to buy and the APNs they want you to use, has nothing to do with BIS. You could take that same sim in your z10 and stick it in an android phone and use the blackberry.net10 APN and you will get data.

You will notice BB10 has no PIN to PIN messaging because that is a strictly BIS service and BB10 does not use BIS.

There is atalk of providing additional BIS services to BB10 for a fee in the future but i havent seen/heard anything on that as yet.

recklessone

Postby recklessone » April 3rd, 2013, 6:37 pm

Khafra wrote:There is atalk of providing additional BIS services to BB10 for a fee in the future but i havent seen/heard anything on that as yet.

Do you think that there is a practicality of this happening??

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 3rd, 2013, 6:41 pm

recklessone wrote:
Khafra wrote:There is atalk of providing additional BIS services to BB10 for a fee in the future but i havent seen/heard anything on that as yet.

Do you think that there is a practicality of this happening??

As it is if you use BB10 devices on BES you are using BlackBerry's secure data network and services,

I could see them extending this to non-corporate subscribers who want extra security in the data transport aspect. BlackBerry protect already offers remote location finding, remote wipe and other features and come built in to the BB10 OS.

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2013, 9:06 pm

digicel had training for their people yesterday for release of z10

both bmobile and digicel should be releasing at end of this month.

i've seen some corporate customers with digicel z10s already though.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 3rd, 2013, 9:14 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:digicel had training for their people yesterday for release of z10

that is such great news

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 3rd, 2013, 11:39 pm

hey guys.. friend just got a z10.. pretty decent.. but she wants whatsapp to work.. it wont work with the current OS version and needs to upgrade but Digicel doesnt have any updates or as a matter of fact, suppot the OS10 phones yet
was wondering if anyone was successful in manually upgrading their OS10 to the latest to get whatsapp to work and what to do? HELP!

Many Thanks!

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 4th, 2013, 4:44 am

scotty_buttons wrote:hey guys.. friend just got a z10.. pretty decent.. but she wants whatsapp to work.. it wont work with the current OS version and needs to upgrade but Digicel doesnt have any updates or as a matter of fact, suppot the OS10 phones yet
was wondering if anyone was successful in manually upgrading their OS10 to the latest to get whatsapp to work and what to do? HELP!

Many Thanks!

Is this the verison version?

if it ia blackberry and Verizon already know about the problem and they say they say it would be solve by next week, he insnt the only one

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2013, 6:14 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:digicel had training for their people yesterday for release of z10

emailed corporate about the z10 yesterday and my lazy ass representative ain't even reply yet ugh. :(