nothing can be more "wack" than five different accounts of the same thingDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:You might think that concept is wack!!! Imagine then how silly it seems to others when you say Eve was made from
a rib
sMASH wrote:(these are my view points, and the view points of other muslims, for all u non-muslims. if it interests u, u can investigate it further, if u dont agree with it, that is your choice as well)
green 1-
the message being protected today is the qur'an. all the others were also sent by god, and were intended for a time period for a specific people. protection was removed after they served their purposes, and then people could interject, modify, eliminate what they please after. what u call the bible has some of what jesus (pbuh) taught, but plenty of it is not from him but from other guys, and some of that is against what jesus (pbuh) taught.
green 2-
as i said, the other revelations are not present in their unadulterated form, far less for the originals. so they were not being burned as they were not even existing at the time.
green 3-
the previous revelations were those given to all the messengers of god, like moses, abraham, david, and those we do not have record about (pbut). we do not have details of them as they are not in existence in their original form. what we do know is that they usually had a general common message which is that god is one, and nothing is close in power, and nothing is to be worshiped instead of him. the specific messages were to those people at the time for them to live under. like eye for an eye, etc. as those specific laws were not required any more, god sent other messengers with different specific laws, but the same general message... some times.
"If thou wert in doubt as to what We have revealed unto thee, then ask those who have been reading the Book from before thee: the Truth hath indeed come to thee from thy Lord: so be in no wise of those in doubt" (10:94).
sMASH wrote:10:94
the prophet muhammad (pbuh) was not much learned about the scriptures before. he was just given revelation about pharoh chasing the the isrealites and he was given this suggestion so that he would know that what was revealed was in reality and not a nancy story.
quran added to what would have been known by others at the time. it added that he was drowned and that his body be preserved as a sign. pharoh continuously begged god for forgiveness when things went bad, and proclaimed that he was god when things were good.
this happened a long time before the time this revelation was made and it was only in this century that scientists discovered the mummified body of a pharoh which they believe to be the one of moses' (pbuh) fame. strange thing is, it was found in a river bed, with signs of drowning, naturally mummified, i.e. with no artificial process.
previous scripture did not mention his mummification far less for his drowning, and this discovery make the french scientists who verified that it was pharoh, investigate the quran more with subsequent convertion to islam.
"We took the Children of Israel across the sea: Pharaoh and his hosts followed them in insolence and spite. At length, when overwhelmed with the flood, he said: "I believe that there is no god except Him Whom the Children of Israel believe in: I am of those who submit (to Allah in Islam). (It was said to him): "Ah now!- But a little while before, wast thou in rebellion!- and thou didst mischief (and violence)! This day shall We save thee in the body, that thou mayest be a sign to those who come after thee! but verily, many among mankind are heedless of Our Signs!" (10:90-92).
steups.....Moses said, "Thou knowest well that these things have been sent down by none but the Lord of the heavens and the earth as eye-opening evidence: and I consider thee indeed, O Pharaoh, to be one doomed to destruction!" So he resolved to remove them from the face of the earth: but We did drown him and all who were with him," (17:102-103).
megadoc1 wrote:nothing can be more "wack" than five different accounts of the same thingDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:You might think that concept is wack!!! Imagine then how silly it seems to others when you say Eve was made from
a rib
What was man created from, blood, clay, dust, or nothing?
1. "Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood," (96:2).
2. "We created man from sounding clay, from mud moulded into shape, (15:26).
3. "The similitude of Jesus before Allah is as that of Adam; He created him from dust, then said to him: "Be". And he was," (3:59).
4. "But does not man call to mind that We created him before out of nothing?" (19:67, Yusuf Ali). Also, 52:35).
5. "He has created man from a sperm-drop; and behold this same (man) becomes an open disputer! (16:4).
duane as long as it sounds foolish to you its doing exactly what it was intended to doDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that brings up an interesting question I have
Why does God use prophets and messengers?
If he wants all of mankind to hear his message then why doesn't he tell us?
that is just his way of doing stuff as foolish as it seems it is wiser than anything man can come up with because God is Holy? instead of secretly telling one person and then sending that one person off to the tumultuous task of spreading that word.
Doesn't seem too productive to me, considering that the idea is to spread the word.
It will never make sense to you because it is not something based on the wisdom of men
and before someone ups and says the reason is because "if God spoke to us all then there would be no need for faith",well to the ones who follows Jesus God do speak to us personally then is spreading the word less important to God than us having faith? faith comes by hearing the word of God.... so they are both important because if one truly have faith he will spread it for it is commanded of him
Also, specifically for megadoc and bluefete, why didn't Jesus just bring the bible to mankind? Jesus did bring the word of God to mankind from Genesis to revelation it is the way he did it that confuses you but thats all good thats exactly what he wanted Then it would truly be the word of God, instead of having a bunch of men to write it and compile it and choose what and what not to put in?as they were moved by the holy spirit.....so who are you really questioning?
18For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19For it is written:
"I will destroy the wisdom of the wise;
the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate."[c]
20Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. 22Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, 23but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, 24but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25For the foolishness of God is wiser than man's wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man's strength.
there was no attempt made to collect all of the sayings given by Muhammad during his lifetime. After all, Mohammad was continuing to give ' recitations' on a somewhat regular basis. But, after he died in 632, Abu-Bakr, Muhammad's father in law, became the caliph (religious leader of the Muslims) and there was a small effort to collect the fragments of Qur'anic sayings into a common place. But, it wasn't until the fourth leader of Islam, Caliph Uthman, that the whole Qur'an was finally assembled, approved, and disseminated throughout the Muslim world.
Shortly after Muhammad's death, the Muslim Uthman ordered all sets of the Koran manuscripts to be destroyed except the codex of Zaid. Why? Is it because Zaid's copy was better? If so, how do we know? Did differences in the copies arise so quickly that discrepancies were evident and Uthman recognized the need for a standardized copy lest Islam suffer division? It raises doubt on the Koran's supposed incorruptibility.
megadoc1 wrote:Jesus did bring the word of God to mankind from Genesis to revelation it is the way he did it that confuses you but thats all good thats exactly what he wanted
duane as long as it sounds foolish to you its doing exactly what it was intended to do
megadoc1 wrote:and duane why would that be only for me and bluefete?
didnt the muslims decided on what to put together in the Qu'ran and everything
that differs were ordered burnt?
megadoc1 wrote:Is it now OK to be Illogical as long as we are not quoting from the bible ?
sMASH wrote:10:94
the prophet muhammad (pbuh) was not much learned about the scriptures before. he was just given revelation about pharoh chasing the the isrealites and he was given this suggestion so that he would know that what was revealed was in reality and not a nancy story.
quran added to what would have been known by others at the time. it added that he was drowned and that his body be preserved as a sign. pharoh continuously begged god for forgiveness when things went bad, and proclaimed that he was god when things were good.
this happened a long time before the time this revelation was made and it was only in this century that scientists discovered the mummified body of a pharoh which they believe to be the one of moses' (pbuh) fame. strange thing is, it was found in a river bed, with signs of drowning, naturally mummified, i.e. with no artificial process.
previous scripture did not mention his mummification far less for his drowning, and this discovery make the french scientists who verified that it was pharoh, investigate the quran more with subsequent convertion to islam.
sMASH wrote: pharoh continuously begged god for forgiveness when things went bad, and proclaimed that he was god when things were good.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that brings up an interesting question I have
Why does God use prophets and messengers?
If he wants all of mankind to hear his message then why doesn't he tell us? instead of secretly telling one person and then sending that one person off to the tumultuous task of spreading that word.
Doesn't seem too productive to me, considering that the idea is to spread the word.
and before someone ups and says the reason is because "if God spoke to us all then there would be no need for faith", then is spreading the word less important to God than us having faith?
Also, specifically for megadoc and bluefete, why didn't Jesus just bring the bible to mankind? Then it would truly be the word of God, instead of having a bunch of men to write it and compile it and choose what and what not to put in?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why?
bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why?
To preach the Gospel and spread the Word. The second coming of Jesus is premised on the Gospel being preached throughout all the world. There are countries and villages where this has not yet happened.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why?
To preach the Gospel and spread the Word. The second coming of Jesus is premised on the Gospel being preached throughout all the world. There are countries and villages where this has not yet happened.
I hate to be the one to break it to you, but.....
Jesus ain't coming.
MG Man wrote:Jesus saves
but Jordan scores on the rebound
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:oh BTW I just watched Religulous on HBO. It was great and I hope that everyone posting in this thread watches it.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Jesus did bring the word of God to mankind from Genesis to revelation it is the way he did it that confuses you but thats all good thats exactly what he wanted
duane as long as it sounds foolish to you its doing exactly what it was intended to do
So what you are saying is that Jesus wants to confuse us?
no but he used something so foolish so that men cannot boast about themselves but you think you are beyond that.....lol
can we agree that you are too smart for it ?
I agree that we cannot begin to understand the greatness of God. It is, as someone said, like trying to explain how a colour TV works to an ant. The ant cannot possibly conceive something so complex and so it would be pointless even showing a colour TV to the ant. My question though is then why would God tell you about the colour TV and then provide a user manual but then tells you that you are too simple to fully understand what it is for, you just have to have faith.because he wants us to trust in him and not in ourselves, we learn the manual speak the commands and he does the works
Seems there are convenient prefabricated walls such as "God has a plan and knows best", "it is too complex for our simple minds", "God works in mysterious ways", "we just need to have faith" etc that blocks all questions. I never used any of them feel free to ask
I want to believe in religion LESS when you claim it is Gods intention to confuse us. I would rather believe you don't know what you are talking about. Especially since we have a lil more proof of that in your posts.I never claim that it is Gods intention to confuse us!!! God doesn't intend to confuse us but it is our reliance on our own wisdom against that of God, is what confuses us
and based on scripture its the god of this world that wishes to confuse usmegadoc1 wrote:and duane why would that be only for me and bluefete?
didnt the muslims decided on what to put together in the Qu'ran and everything
that differs were ordered burnt?
Christians accept that the bible and its various versions are compilations done by men. The men were guided by the holy spirit. This is what Christians believe.
Muslims on the other hand believe in only one Qu'ran and the believe it was revealed in its entirety to Muhammad. This is what Muslims believe.we will deal with this later
I can only state what I know each religion believes.yuh sure?megadoc1 wrote:Is it now OK to be Illogical as long as we are not quoting from the bible ?
what is illogical about that?never mind Do you know the meaning of the word illogical?
megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:oh BTW I just watched Religulous on HBO. It was great and I hope that everyone posting in this thread watches it.
mamoo_pagal
ah man join tuner just to post a vid that Duane talk about![]()
anyways cool video I liked it
but Duane how come ah man could join tuner and post two mins after?
rules change orr?
version 3.0 does not have the 24hr waiting period.megadoc1 wrote:but Duane how come ah man could join tuner and post two mins after?
rules change orr?
Not at all and I have no clue where you got that idea from. I only wish to learn why you believe what you do. I have a hunch though that d spike is smarter than you.megadoc1 wrote:can we agree that you are too smart for it ?
Who is the "god of this world"?megadoc1 wrote:based on scripture its the god of this world that wishes to confuse us
megadoc1 wrote:yuh sure?Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can only state what I know each religion believes.
bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why?
I have to wonder though: Where was God when Satan was encouraging Adam and Eve to eat of the fruit? Why did he not interject, rid Eden of Satan and allow his greatest creation (mankind) to live on in Eden which he created them in in the first place?