Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 7:54 pm

Dion76 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:some are getting edge and some are not, same with 4g from my understanding

i think the problem may be the type of package that the carrier is applying to the customers account because yesterday i called bmobile to have my package moved from blackberry unlimited plan to normal 4g data and they made the switch but the z10 stl100-1 only showed the 4g signal, able to make calls etc but no data, tried all the settings possible and still the same problem, i called back again and told another rep what was happening and she made some adjustments and told me in 5 mins do a battery pull, soon i did the batt pull the 4g data started to work, browsing etc

i tested the following z10 models on bmobile
the stl100-1 runs well on the 4g
the stl100-2 runs but only with EDGE capabilities because of the bands

i took out a sim from a s3 that has 4g data from digicel and soon i popped it in the z10 stl100-1 it worked right away, no changes to be done

ive tried numerous reps, actually going in and different packages but no luck

Postby Ted_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Gouudd. Best I stay away from those models

What about 9320 vs 9360

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 24th, 2013, 7:56 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:OtterBox FTW :lol:

i hate putting my phone in those things takes away the beauty of the phone, i usually go screen protector to the front and carbon fibre at the back

True, but I prefer to be safe than sorry :lol:

well am extra carefully and a bit lucky also

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 24th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:I'll go with the 9850. Pondering how solid is the screen to falls ect. What you think?

9850 and 9860 are the same i have mines trying to think if it ever fell, i have a screen protector on mines which usually absorbs any blows it may get

Screen protector ain't gonna help if it falls on the right spot. A proper case + a screen protector will reduce the risk of a cracked screen

the screen protector is usually made with the same material as the screen so it usually is strong enough and the carbon fibre at the back gets no dents so the phone is fully protected and looks great

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 24th, 2013, 8:00 pm

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 24th, 2013, 8:01 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Dion76 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:some are getting edge and some are not, same with 4g from my understanding

i think the problem may be the type of package that the carrier is applying to the customers account because yesterday i called bmobile to have my package moved from blackberry unlimited plan to normal 4g data and they made the switch but the z10 stl100-1 only showed the 4g signal, able to make calls etc but no data, tried all the settings possible and still the same problem, i called back again and told another rep what was happening and she made some adjustments and told me in 5 mins do a battery pull, soon i did the batt pull the 4g data started to work, browsing etc

i tested the following z10 models on bmobile
the stl100-1 runs well on the 4g
the stl100-2 runs but only with EDGE capabilities because of the bands

i took out a sim from a s3 that has 4g data from digicel and soon i popped it in the z10 stl100-1 it worked right away, no changes to be done

ive tried numerous reps, actually going in and different packages but no luck

U tried any digicel SIM cards?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 24th, 2013, 8:08 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Gouudd. Best I stay away from those models

What about 9320 vs 9360

Dan buy the s2 and save yourself from hitting a brick wall

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » March 24th, 2013, 8:08 pm

was considering buying a z10 but with all this headache for 4g....i might reconsider and stick to d cheap bb that working good

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 8:16 pm

fred1266 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:I'll go with the 9850. Pondering how solid is the screen to falls ect. What you think?

9850 and 9860 are the same i have mines trying to think if it ever fell, i have a screen protector on mines which usually absorbs any blows it may get

Screen protector ain't gonna help if it falls on the right spot. A proper case + a screen protector will reduce the risk of a cracked screen

the screen protector is usually made with the same material as the screen so it usually is strong enough and the carbon fibre at the back gets no dents so the phone is fully protected and looks great

screen protector is usually made with the same material as the screen? WHUUUTTTTT?!?!?!?!

dion, only got my hands on a digi 4g card, not a regular bis digi card

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 24th, 2013, 8:18 pm

tr1ad wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

screen protector is usually made with the same material as the screen? WHUUUTTTTT?!?!?!?!

dion, only got my hands on a digi 4g card, not a regular bis digi card

I tried a 4g that had 4g data for an s3 and soon I popped it in it worked right away

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 8:20 pm

well the stl100-2 will not work with 4g locally

however the apn did change to bbweb with the digi sim, just cant edit the apn with either sim

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 24th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

What about 9320 vs 9360

^x2 you're wasting your time with BlackBerry.... I probably chose the wrong place to say that.... :oops:

fred1266 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

.. How can a screen protector be made of the same thing as a screen? A screen protector is generally a thin film just placed on top of the screen offer little to no protection in terms of falls. It protects against scratching the screen.

Zagg is the only type of screen protector.. Skinomi too maybe, that MAY save you from a fall because they're a bit thicker than your usual screen protectors.

grimreaper009 wrote:was considering buying a z10 but with all this headache for 4g....i might reconsider and stick to d cheap bb that working good

Just buy the model that actually works here or wait till bmobile brings them. Not long again anyway

Postby Trini Hookah » March 24th, 2013, 8:48 pm

A privacy screen may offer protection than bare screen, but nothing to talk about.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

What about 9320 vs 9360

Okay.

Makes sense

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:31 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

What about 9320 vs 9360

^x2 you're wasting your time with BlackBerry.... I probably chose the wrong place to say that.... :oops:

[anyway

Wrong place? Yes lol

I'm interested why you would think that doh

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 24th, 2013, 11:41 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

What about 9320 vs 9360

[anyway

Wrong place? Yes lol

I'm interested why you would think that doh

Well my personal opinion, look at the S2 vs the Blackberries he's comparing it to.

Hardware may be fairly similar but in terms of software the S2 can do loads more. Apps/games on a BB.. There aren't much to talk about lol vs the Play Store. Not to mention the level of customisation available with an Android device rather than being stuck with the same basic interface all the time. You'd never get bored with an Android device.

Some will argue BlackBerry has BBM, but more and more people are switching to whatsapp so no big deal in that aspect.

Like I said it's my opinion, others may have different views.

The Z10 though has me very intrigued which is why I follow this thread. I really do think BlackBerry has a lot of potential and can get back into the game now. I really wanna play with a Z10

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:56 pm

He is comparing a s2 (Sammy's higher end phone) to a entry level blackberry that retails at half the price of an s2 used...

With the os7 devices, I believe the andriod apps were comparable till bb stopped side loading. Os10 allows it I know.

As far as interface and apps etc, I literally use like 5apps on my phone, each of which is multiplatform so it's just a matter of easy access, I use my iOS sheit for apps. The plus of blackberry, the price of device is cheaper and running cost lower than any other platform locally and it does exactly what an s3 did, just the battery lasted longer :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » March 25th, 2013, 12:08 am

I want a android. I know I will enjoy it but the only thing keeping me back from switching is bbm. Sometimes I like it for its usefulness but other times I just spend money on renewing my plan. I don't even use the Facebook app on my phone again because I use my android tablet for that.

Uhhh

Postby Trini Hookah » March 25th, 2013, 6:42 am

sound boy 64 wrote:I want a android. I know I will enjoy it but the only thing keeping me back from switching is bbm. Sometimes I like it for its usefulness but other times I just spend money on renewing my plan. I don't even use the Facebook app on my phone again because I use my android tablet for that.

Uhhh

Bbm keeping you back from life then

Postby Ted_v2 » March 25th, 2013, 7:17 am

the harsh reality

Postby Chimera » March 25th, 2013, 7:21 am

fred1266 wrote:

9850 won't work with local 4g.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 25th, 2013, 8:03 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:I want a android. I know I will enjoy it but the only thing keeping me back from switching is bbm. Sometimes I like it for its usefulness but other times I just spend money on renewing my plan. I don't even use the Facebook app on my phone again because I use my android tablet for that.

Uhhh

Bbm keeping you back from life then

Your life must suck :|

Postby Ted_v2 » March 25th, 2013, 8:11 am

NAHBOIDDAN

yuh taking that from kerps?

casper

Postby casper » March 25th, 2013, 8:15 am

i too following this thread still for d main reason of my interest in d Z10....if that was an android device it woulda been one of the best androids in the market IMO...

if ever i wanted to get back a berry to bbm i would just get a used 8520 or something...and use that just to BBM and use my normal phone to do everything else...berry dont even have skype cuz down to the Bold 4 dont have a front facing cam...phail...

so what exactly a 9900 can do differently than a 8520 other than lookin lil pretty???? if u buying a higher end BB just for a better camera and better processor with more RAM just so u can BBM faster then go strong lol

Postby tr1ad » March 25th, 2013, 8:22 am

so would you skype over 4g or wifi?

Postby Rooki3 » March 25th, 2013, 9:01 am

:shocked: @ some ppl who turn dey back on bb, few months ago they were avid followers

Postby Trini Hookah » March 25th, 2013, 9:39 am

Rooki3 wrote::shocked: @ some ppl who turn dey back on bb, few months ago they were avid followers

Know you can't be talking about me because I've always had both.

Just got fed up of waiting for bb upgrades.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 25th, 2013, 5:05 pm

why is local 4G so difficult like alot of stuff not working with it

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » March 26th, 2013, 11:33 am

tr1ad wrote:so would you skype over 4g or wifi?

I do this all the time on my L920.
What's your point?

Scarfex

Postby Scarfex » March 26th, 2013, 11:26 pm

anybody know where i can get a torch strip cheap asap please!!!!! :'( thanks in advance! :)