COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 8:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1642194251158.jpg

Prime Minister Dr the Hon. Keith Rowley will host a media conference tomorrow (Saturday 15th January, 2022) at 2:30 p.m. at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s.

Please note that coverage will be carried live on TTT.

YES

beaches and mandatory vax. and maybe restrict unvaxxed to grocery and drug store only

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » January 14th, 2022, 8:29 pm

nah, he eh doing chit again for prevention. Tomorrow he going to announce we have to live with the virus and CARNIVAL 2K22 ON, come hell or high water

everybody on the ground know it coming. keith taking he cues from abroad, covid is old news, case counts are irrelevant, hospitalizations decoupling, omicron is mild, economy need to keep moving, etc, and we going full 2019 again.

tl:dr:
As of Midnight tonight, covid done and carnival 2k22 coming.
Last edited by paid_influencer on January 14th, 2022, 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » January 14th, 2022, 8:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:nah, he eh doing chit again for prevention. Tomorrow he going to announce we have to live with the virus and CARNIVAL 2K22 ON, come hell or high water

everybody on the ground know it coming. keith taking he cues from abroad, covid is old news, case counts are irrelevant, hospitalizations decoupling, omicron is mild, etc, and we going full 2019 again.

tl:dr:
As of Midnight tonight, covid done and carnival 2k22 coming.
Ah yes the mother of all carnivals

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 8:33 pm

hospitalizations and deaths still high here though

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2022, 8:40 pm

if he was smart he could say those things contingent of getting to certain vax% milestones

Postby paid_influencer » January 14th, 2022, 8:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:hospitalizations and deaths still high here though

hospitalizations high everywhere, but the general belief is that people tired hearing about covid. They want to move on.

And what better way to move on than Carnival 2K22?
o7xz4w9.jpg

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 8:48 pm

pugboy wrote:if he was smart he could say those things contingent of getting to certain vax% milestones

too late now. carnival is next month. should have done it like 3 months ago

Postby MaxPower » January 14th, 2022, 9:06 pm

Where is Dohplaydat?

Hope he ok

Postby paid_influencer » January 14th, 2022, 9:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:if he was smart he could say those things contingent of getting to certain vax% milestones

we could dose a set of people with J&J one-dose. Two weeks and like dat, nominally "fully-vaxxed." J&J seems to have been the preferred option for them public servants.

But the conversation has changed. Consent has been manufactured to "move on" from covid. Keep harping on the vaxx/unvaxxed talk is not moving on.

We going to hear tomorrow about the "next stage of the pandemic," "living with covid," "reopening the economy", "going back to normalcy" and of course to make it okay, "omicron is mild", "everybody going to get it at some point," and "get vaccinated."

It's not like the government has a choice. We have no tools to fight omicron. We could have ordered a crap ton of N95 masks and invested heavily in air filtration, but that is too late now. The vaccines we gave out on-island are generally useless for stopping spread of omicron and we are late in giving mRNA boosters to the vulnerable (many of whom haven't even completed their primary series of Sinopharm). Government doesn't want to be responsible for this, so we get the next best option: making people accept high COVID mortality/morbidity as inescapable part of life (we already #1 in the world and NGAF, so we mostly there).

gonna take a shot of puncheon whenever somebody says "living with the virus" in the press conference tomorrow.
:drinking:
o7xz4w9.jpg

Postby hover11 » January 15th, 2022, 12:20 am

Meanwhile we studying safe zone concert
FB_IMG_1642220343678.jpg

Postby redmanjp » January 15th, 2022, 12:51 am

well hey at least dey have AC. hope they getting food dropped off as well.

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2022, 5:48 am

Thats proper self contained housing though.
You never see the ones in tobago opposite crown point hotel where the Chinese workers living while they building airport?

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2022, 5:52 am

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

we could dose a set of people with J&J one-dose. Two weeks and like dat, nominally "fully-vaxxed." J&J seems to have been the preferred option for them public servants.

But the conversation has changed. Consent has been manufactured to "move on" from covid. Keep harping on the vaxx/unvaxxed talk is not moving on.

We going to hear tomorrow about the "next stage of the pandemic," "living with covid," "reopening the economy", "going back to normalcy" and of course to make it okay, "omicron is mild", "everybody going to get it at some point," and "get vaccinated."

It's not like the government has a choice. We have no tools to fight omicron. We could have ordered a crap ton of N95 masks and invested heavily in air filtration, but that is too late now. The vaccines we gave out on-island are generally useless for stopping spread of omicron and we are late in giving mRNA boosters to the vulnerable (many of whom haven't even completed their primary series of Sinopharm). Government doesn't want to be responsible for this, so we get the next best option: making people accept high COVID mortality/morbidity as inescapable part of life (we already #1 in the world and NGAF, so we mostly there).

gonna take a shot of puncheon whenever somebody says "living with the virus" in the press conference tomorrow.
:drinking:

Government didn't do all of this:

Low vaccine uptake.
Widespread mask misuse.
Large crowds gathering.
Slow follow-up on vaccine dose completion
Slow booster dose follow-up.
Breaking isolation requirements.
Ignoring COVID symptoms and warning signs.
Ignoring self-isolation recommendations.
Spreading vaccine misinformation.
Spreading COVID misinformation.

Government is not solely responsible.

Postby Kenjo » January 15th, 2022, 6:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats proper self contained housing though.
You never see the ones in tobago opposite crown point hotel where the Chinese workers living while they building airport?

The video showing like 2 people trying to escape from a 2 weeks quarantine to prevent the spread of the disease . Swear they stuck in there forever

Postby timelapse » January 15th, 2022, 7:11 am

hover11 wrote:Meanwhile we studying safe zone concert
FB_IMG_1642220343678.jpg
That's what some of allyuh trinis need.

Postby De Dragon » January 15th, 2022, 7:14 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:Meanwhile we studying safe zone concertFB_IMG_1642220343678.jpg
That's what some of allyuh trinis need.

Easy dey Max :lol: :lol:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 15th, 2022, 11:13 am

I trusted in hover and waited for the unions . Alas the union seem to be toothless dogs and not putting things in place..I'm thinking of going to get a jab today but I am scared. I also cant handle needles. Going to the car park now and see. I went yesterday but I drove back out. What you guys did who have fears

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2022, 11:17 am

you studying hover

he done have his vax card since last week

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 15th, 2022, 11:18 am

Hoover got vaccinated long and he just trolling people in here. You all fell for it.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 15th, 2022, 11:39 am

So what to do with the needle

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2022, 11:45 am

Take that one chook to avoid multiple chooks and icu and ventilator and sufferation in public Healthcare

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2022, 11:52 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:I trusted in hover and waited for the unions . Alas the union seem to be toothless dogs and not putting things in place..I'm thinking of going to get a jab today but I am scared. I also cant handle needles. Going to the car park now and see. I went yesterday but I drove back out. What you guys did who have fears

Soldier, that mandatory talk gone out the window long time. Right now they just encouraging (begging) public servants to get vaccinated. Get in your car and go back home.

Postby hover11 » January 15th, 2022, 12:19 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I trusted in hover and waited for the unions . Alas the union seem to be toothless dogs and not putting things in place..I'm thinking of going to get a jab today but I am scared. I also cant handle needles. Going to the car park now and see. I went yesterday but I drove back out. What you guys did who have fears
I'm not vaccinated and reporting to work Monday.....thats your choice if you wish to vaccinate or not but don't be forced into doing something you are not comfortable with. You pay union dues for a reason your union will protect you. At present time , there is no legal basis for your employer to deny you access to your workstation as an unvaccinated employee

Postby Les Bain » January 15th, 2022, 12:33 pm

Whether is black mold in your office, central AC down for some months, no running water, toilets back up and flooding the place, it doh matter. Depend on the union to show up with a variation of "we want we money."

As for your fear of needles, just avoid looking at the process. Sit down, pull up your sleeve if necessary, stare at something else, doh move until they say they done.

Postby timelapse » January 15th, 2022, 12:35 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:So what to do with the needle
Hover has a different kind of injection for you

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2022, 12:44 pm

Remember when kyrie irving was banned from going to work because he was unvaccinated? The good old days.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 15th, 2022, 12:56 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:So what to do with the needle
I've gotten both shots and a booster. The needle feels like a mosquito bite. For 1 of them I didn't even feel it, was shocked when the nurse said I could go now.

Try not to think about it too much, take a few deep breaths and it'll be over before u know it.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 15th, 2022, 12:59 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Remember when kyrie irving was banned from going to work because he was unvaccinated? The good old days.
He's still banned from playing in the state of New York or even entering Canada. Means he can't play in home games since his team is in Brooklyn. He started playing in games outside of those locations, which he was always eligible to play.

Postby hover11 » January 15th, 2022, 1:01 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Remember when kyrie irving was banned from going to work because he was unvaccinated? The good old days.
He's still banned from playing in the state of New York or even entering Canada. Means he can't play in home games since his team is in Brooklyn. He started playing in games outside of those locations, which he was always eligible to play.
He has enough money to say F the NBA though, what's your point? 90 million net worth

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2022, 1:32 pm

hover11 wrote:
I'm not vaccinated and reporting to work Monday.....thats your choice if you wish to vaccinate or not but don't be forced into doing something you are not comfortable with. You pay union dues for a reason your union will protect you. At present time , there is no legal basis for your employer to deny you access to your workstation as an unvaccinated employee
But you're not a public servant and you are not affected.

There is no sense in your making pointless proclamations on Tuner.