COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 65 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 8:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Paid influencer is actually right...according to aljazeera right now...Louisiana is set to be the next epicenter in the US and health officials are blaming madi gras celebrations for this

Dude, while that may be partially true. We are not overwhelming the hospitals yet like they are, that says one thing, it wasn't our carnival that escalated this.

In fact, we have no escalation yet, we are right now bouncing around local to local infections amongst the young/strong until it reaches the elderly. That happens when enough young people get it, roughly 2 weeks after the young get it.

If it was Carnival, you'd see a huge spike in local to local cases of the

- Week ending March 1st (90% of carnival visitors have left), Carnival ended 5 days prior.
- By March 8th, you'd expect to have 5 to 10 cases amongst the young and strong who may not notice they're sick
- March 15th, at least 30 people should have been affected local to local (at a minimum), including some elderly
- March 22nd, now is trouble, you'd expect to have at least 100 cases, however, most might be minor and go unnoticed, but you now would have had a couple of dozen elderly people requiring hospitalization.

This didn't happen. Covering this up in Trinidad is near impossible.

Now onto what's happening.

The USA falls asleep on Covid-19 testing and doesn't realize that as of 2-3 weeks ago (say March 1st), thousands are infected.
Travelers coming from the US and elsewhere within the last 2-3 weeks are the origin of 95% of our Covid cases. Prior to that, there was a possibility of a handful of cases being here undetected.

What scares me now is that we have had 20k arrivals within the last week or two. It is almost assured that at least 0.5% of them have Covid-19.

That's 1000 people, who will now infect a couple thousand more, who will then, in turn, infect thousands.

These infections are happening right now and I guarantee you'll see a huge spike in cases over the next 2 weeks.

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 8:27 pm

Dohplaydat, take win bai. I doh want to hear nothing about carnival again. i yield.

I want to talk about Roiley becoming Trump in press conferences. I find it entertaining when he roughing up reporters and politicians from across the room

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 8:28 pm

I aint gonna lie...allyuh men does operate that life cannot go on if carnival is not present...

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2020, 8:29 pm

hydroep wrote:He did say that supermarkets and pharmacies are "essential services". They supposed to release a full list either tonight or tomorrow.

Dem people who spending all their money hoarding food, ah hope they know they cyar return it...:|

hoarding? people looking to buy what they and their families need for atleast a 2 months so they dont need to come out to buy anything

Postby rspann » March 26th, 2020, 8:31 pm

Last edited by rspann on March 26th, 2020, 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 26th, 2020, 8:34 pm

Yes boy. But those reporters does ask some dotish and irrelevant questions.

paid_influencer wrote:Dohplaydat, take win bai. I doh want to hear nothing about carnival again. i yield.

I want to talk about Roiley becoming Trump in press conferences. I find it entertaining when he roughing up reporters and politicians from across the room

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2020, 8:40 pm

it could take 2 to 3 weeks between infection and hospitalization- some ppl even recover temporarily, then start to have trouble breathing- so the next week could make a difference

so far the media conferences giving info about CONFIRMED cases, nothing on whether ppl have shown up at hospital with respiratory ailments who were not tested. Any tuners working in hospitals might be able to give any insight as to whether there is any increase.

Postby shogun » March 26th, 2020, 8:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I aint gonna lie...allyuh men does operate that life cannot go on if carnival is not present...

And some men pretending every year that Carnival is the epicenter of everything wrong on the island? Carnival is one of the least of our problems. Didn't someone already state on another page, that there were more visitors/tourists post carnival season? Wait nuh, you're not the same fella that was saying white collar criminals better than common criminals in another ched?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 8:44 pm

It have people in here who believing every thing the govt says regarding our cases...Allyuh wake up nah...

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 26th, 2020, 8:46 pm

It's not like Trinidad running out of food... buy what can sustain you for a 2-3 weeks don't buy for 5-6 months it is not Armageddon

Importing is still going on... there is no need to rush, push, shove and all that other dotishness but Trinis will be Trinis

Postby rspann » March 26th, 2020, 8:46 pm

Rowley ,Deyalsingh and the rest talking down to everybody and with lots of attitude . Also lots of joking while addressing serious matters. Now is a time to put aside the arrogance and concentrate on getting across the message.

Postby shogun » March 26th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Zetski wrote:It's not like Trinidad running out of food... buy what can sustain you for a 2-3 weeks don't buy for 5-6 months it is not Armageddon

Importing is still going on... there is no need to rush, push, shove and all that other dotishness but Trinis will be Trinis

This.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 8:49 pm

shogun wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I aint gonna lie...allyuh men does operate that life cannot go on if carnival is not present...

And some men pretending every year that Carnival is the epicenter of everything wrong on the island? Carnival is one of the least of our problems. Didn't someone already state on another page, that there were more visitors/tourists post carnival season? Wait nuh, you're not the same fella that was saying white collar criminals better than common criminals in another ched?

I couldnt really care less about carnival cuz it doh bother me and im not affected. However, people make it out to be "the greatest show on earth" which is pure bs...

While collar and common criminals should all be shot. We just end up in situations on a day to day basis where the common folks are highlighted more than the white collared ones...The discussion in the other ched relates to the lesser of both evils and which a person would "prefer"....but leave that deh

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 8:54 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shogun wrote:

I couldnt really care less about carnival cuz it doh bother me and im not affected. However, people make it out to be "the greatest show on earth" which is pure bs...

While collar and common criminals should all be shot. We just end up in situations on a day to day basis where the common folks are highlighted more than the white collared ones...The discussion in the other ched relates to the lesser of both evils and which a person would "prefer"....but leave that deh

Carnival is not about the show, it is the experience and as far as fun dance festivals and eye candy go, it is one of the best.

I had no problem delaying carnival if needed, but at that time it didn't make sense. There's not much the world can do, just flatten the curve and prep.

What else? We can't lock off borders and wait till a vaccine is ready....i mean we could, but would we have done that? Only country that might is N. Korea.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 26th, 2020, 8:55 pm

This
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:It have people in here who believing every thing the govt says regarding our cases...Allyuh wake up nah...

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 8:56 pm

the danger, in my mind, is the virus spreading rampant and minimum-wage grocery workers getting scared and abandoning their jobs. They don't have access to any PPE, not even masks right now. The whole system is being held up by these people that get paid next to nothing for the risk they are required to take.

Postby shogun » March 26th, 2020, 9:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I couldnt really care less about carnival cuz it doh bother me and im not affected. However, people make it out to be "the greatest show on earth" which is pure bs...

Daz all you had to say right there. Point proven.

Some of it doesn't appeal to me either, but it isn't as detrimental to us as a collective as other societal ills/attitudes as some pretend it is. Doh partake. Thaz all.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 9:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the danger, in my mind, is the virus spreading rampant and minimum-wage grocery workers getting scared and abandoning their jobs. They don't have access to any PPE, not even masks right now. The whole system is being held up by these people that get paid next to nothing for the risk they are required to take.

You think minimum wage workers going to stop working? I highly doubt that

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 9:14 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shogun wrote:

Carnival is not about the show, it is the experience and as far as fun dance festivals and eye candy go, it is one of the best.

I had no problem delaying carnival if needed, but at that time it didn't make sense. There's not much the world can do, just flatten the curve and prep.

What else? We can't lock off borders and wait till a vaccine is ready....i mean we could, but would we have done that? Only country that might is N. Korea.

As far as N Korea is concerned, Kim took some decisions (according to several media houses may have been signs of a mad man....but they still have 0)

We can only lock legal borders. Others ports down south still wukking as normal

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 9:15 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:the danger, in my mind, is the virus spreading rampant and minimum-wage grocery workers getting scared and abandoning their jobs. They don't have access to any PPE, not even masks right now. The whole system is being held up by these people that get paid next to nothing for the risk they are required to take.

They cant make that decision..If their employer has to close up shop, what happens??

Postby Gladiator » March 26th, 2020, 9:17 pm

Shows how shallow and meaningless their lives are.... might as well let Covid take them

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

They cant make that decision..If their employer has to close up shop, what happens??

That's a different thing entirely now. Mass layoffs and petty crime, as a result, is something I do expect if we don't manage this well.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2020, 9:27 pm

Don't care for carnival. Personally think it's unproductive and useless.

Only care for facts and the facts point to a very narrow course of transmission up until now.

Some of you all are not getting it. Disease transmission is a numbers game. This means that once its out in the general population undetected then a certain percentage of your population is going to be affected regardless. This would be represented by various factors. This would mirror conditions reflected in other countries so Trinidad would have been looking like Italy or China by now.

Remember our health system is far less sophisticated than theirs so we would have been worst off. The reality simply doesn't reflect that. This has nothing to do with testing. This is about disease spread and according to some of you the virus has been spreading since mid February undetected in TT. That is 6 weeks ago. Do the maths. Italy a developed nation with advances medical treatment and care is suffering a very high death rare of 8000+ deaths for 80000 cases or 1 in 10.

Our health system is way less sophisticated and capable than Italy's so don't you think that we would have been suffering even greater losses than Italy's? Add to the fact that we already have a high number of persons suffering from non communicable diseases such as obesity and diabetes etc. Italy has what is considered a high life expectancy plus healthy cuisine.

An infectious disease left to its own devices will run rampant. If you have ever worked in the medical field in the area of diseases and testing etc then you would have a greater understanding and appreciation of diseases. You can't "hide" a disease once it's out amongst the general population.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 9:41 pm

Another thing people don't get is that you don't aim to never get Covid-19, you aim to minimize it's spread so that we don't f*ck over our already sh*t healthcare system.

Once it's out in the west world it would end up here.

What no one thought possible was what we saw happen in Italy and Iran first. A sudden epidemic.

By April 12th, we would have at least 200 reported cases locally, then sh*t hits the fan from that point onward to perhaps mid to late May.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 26th, 2020, 9:49 pm

Can anyone answer what is the average age of covid deaths?

Postby teems1 » March 26th, 2020, 9:50 pm

Look at the population of Louisiana when compared to the numbers of new cases.

It is quite alarming.
SnipeR wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:just putting this out there... the highest rate of confirmed cases of Coronavirus in the world is coming from Louisiana in the USA.

Guess what Louisiana had during in late-Feb? I not saying, because I honestly tired of that debate and want to move forward. The next few weeks are far more critical. The situation now at Pricesmart is far more concerning.

Wat?
https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/us/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 26th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Are there people in their 30's and 40's dying from Covid or needing ventilators? if so how many are we looking at what percentage?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 26th, 2020, 9:57 pm

Wuz gonna vote UNC in the next election but based on Auntie Kams useless exaggerated statement of hyperbole and drama I will prob change my vote.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2020, 10:03 pm

Italy and Iran also caused the world to switch how they attack the virus. That is what people in here not understanding about viruses. Your strategy is based on the disease transmission that is why understanding the disease and its transmission is crucial. Timelines are extremely important when understanding diseases.

The clock starts when you discover your first patient and ends when the last patient recovers. The time spent in between is focused on stemming the spread. This is about breaking the disease by isolating it. The only way that happens is if the virus dies or the host dies without passing it on. The virus is basically a parasite.

What people not getting is everytime they behave irresponsible such as gather in crowds or not practice social distancing then there incubation window resets. So those price mart crowds and other dumb trinis continue to reset their incubation windows.

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 10:03 pm

^I see Kamla's incompetence and raise you this.

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, wishes to advise all taxpayers of the following:

Notwithstanding the restrictions on activities that were announced today (March 26th, 2020), the Offices of the Board of Inland Revenue will be open on Tuesday March 31, 2020 to allow taxpayers to make quarterly payments of corporation tax and income tax that fall due at the end of the current Quarter on that day.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/arrangem ... n1e024pASk

:drinking: