The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* Chaguanas West Election Thread

Postby rfari » July 31st, 2013, 8:46 am

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:What about the PNM in roads? they seemed to have lost some votes.

Didnt our dear PM say a vote for the ILP is a vote for PNM? Maybe the voters decided to cut the middle man and just vote for ILP.

CW is die hard UNC territory, this by-election was just infighting between PP and ILP (UNC A vs UNC B). PNM focus right now is for the marginal seats. Tobago is 2 sure seats. The 6 COP seats in their crosshairs. One UNC seat like Barataria/San Juan, La Horquetta/Talparo, Moruga/Tableland, St Joseph, Toco/ Sangre Grande, etc. will give them the 21 seats for governance.

Nah that old talk. Pnm in the grave yard right now. Pnm still not attracting the non hard core afro vote right now plus Rowley looking like a clown right now. They may pick up some seats in wine and jam or child father areas but not in productive areas

if thinking that brings peace to your mind, so be it. :D

pioneer wrote:Chaguanas East - Cadiz

I passed by his office over the weekend and there is moss on the wall and grass growing on the door.

most days i see him in the new model x5 on saddle road maraval prolly heading home. he eh have time for chageast

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 31st, 2013, 9:20 am

many of you are not looking at the bigger political picture here.
Years ago everyone voted to get the PNM out of power beceuse they were FEDUP of all of their sheet.
The current government is NOT doing a good job and people are starting to feel the same way.
JAck has already realised this and if you take this election as a giude, he has won in a UNC strong hold, these same ppl dont want pnm, are not frustrated with the govt and are also fedup, and want an alternative representative.

Come 2015, if the voting contiunes in this manner, no matter what this goivernment does between now and then on the campaign roads, watch and see who will be the next Prime minister.

THink about it, people no longer voting RACE, they are FED up with the propoganda put on by BOTH major parties and they are voting the alternate of the 2.

Postby rfari » July 31st, 2013, 9:27 am

aye! look rbf!

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 9:54 am

Sad part is the pnm grassroots always remain pnm...or they just don't vote

When they don't vote, pnm loses

The task now is to make them stay home on election day

Postby janfar » July 31st, 2013, 10:06 am

UNC need to send some ah them Rock Road badjohn to intimidate them pipsqueek in Laventille and Beetham...

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 10:08 am

Any party's grassroot supports always remain loyal :roll:
Of course if they dont vote, they will lose the election.

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:10 am

Laventille only ha one setta non-liftin, tight clothes phaggots with guns

Real badman fight fist to fist

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2013, 10:12 am

pioneer wrote:Only way to stop crime in Trinidad and by extension the caribbean is to kill the drug trade, but seeing that will never happen you best get yourself an AK-47 and lots of bullets.

Haiti here we come.

campaign financing laws have to be enacted- let ppl see who giving which party millions- and no hiding of funds so they can't accept money from drug-lords/money launderers :|

as for the judiciary lets fast tract all new murder cases so u murder someone today your case call as soon as u are charged

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:14 am

Habit7 wrote:Any party's grassroot supports always remain loyal :roll:

Difference is, if unc grassroots upset they still vote, whether is unc or another party besides pnm.

pnm grassroots (when upset) just don't vote, they rather not vote than vote for another party - they are that dumb and racist.

Swing voters make the big difference, and Jack can grab the swing votes on the east/west corridor. PNM has zero to offer the swing voters, they don't even have a proper leader.

It would be silly of the pnm to feel they can win the election by default, then again they don't really think things out and take time to verify something simple as email addresses.

Postby eliteauto » July 31st, 2013, 10:17 am

Habit7 wrote:Any party's grassroot supports always remain loyal :roll:

Difference is, if unc grassroots upset they still vote, whether is unc or another party besides pnm.

pnm grassroots (when upset) just don't vote, they rather not vote than vote for another party - they are that dumb and racist.

Swing voters make the big difference, and Jack can grab the swing votes on the east/west corridor. PNM has zero to offer the swing voters, they don't even have a proper leader.

It would be silly of the pnm to feel they can win the election by default, then again they don't really think things out and take time to verify something simple as email addresses.

spot on

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 10:19 am

pioneer wrote:Difference is, if unc grassroots upset they still vote, whether is unc or another party besides pnm.

Source?

I hope it is not Jaagriti Pollings and Opinions Ltd.

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:21 am

Man go pull the figures on voting trends from the 80's to now and do some analysis.

Postby rfari » July 31st, 2013, 10:33 am

in the east-west, some swing votes for pp, some swing votes for ilp, usual votes for pnm. looks like a good time to be had. and if jw continues preaching that 'accept me back into the partnership' line, he gonna lose the east-west vote cus we eh supporting unc again

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 10:35 am

Well I could pull from as recent as 2007 where PNM got 45.85% of the vote and the anti-PNM was 52.37%, PNM won though. But in 2010 PNM got 39.5% and the anti-PNM got 59.85%, the PP won.

PNM base remain more or less the same. They struggle to attract new voters due to their legacy. However the anti-PNM vote has proven and is proving to be impotent because it just ushers in a party other than the PNM who can do no better.

Nevertheless it is not about percentage of votes but 'first passed the post' and PNM has the edge in the marginal constituencies. Their biggest challenger is ILP right now and most none 'eat ah food' trinis not seeing Jack or the PP as a viable option.

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:39 am

This system we have is so third world.

We should have had an executive president by now, but everyone fight down Manning for that...so here we are castin ballot fuh ah setta dodoi

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 10:44 am

UK, Australia, Japan, Germany dont have executive presidents

what so 3rd world about that?

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:45 am

We are too small.

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 10:50 am

Barbados? lower corruption than UK and US?

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 10:52 am

Still a colony, reached developed status.

We third world, no colony.

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2013, 11:03 am

Brother Michael has spoken

Michael Churchill Samuel
My considered opinion!!! The Peoples' Partnership is making a very serious mistake in the first place by having excluded Jack from the Cabinet based on allegations of his activities in a corrupt club called FIFA! He is the glue in the party not only as the best performing Minister but also as a black man who is most popular among the Indians! Who is any Minister to judge him on corruption when there is the perception that there are so many of them that are also corrupt. Should they all leave the Cabinet as well. So he has proven a point that any dumb ass could have seen would have been the result and now he is a serious threat not only to the PP Gov't and the local elections but also a long term threat to becoming the next Prime Minister(and I am not saying that I want him as the next Prime Minister) ESPECIALLY in the light of so much disenchantment with the present performance and fracturing of the Gov't. Whether we like it or not, what is uppermost in the mind of the electorate is PERFORMANCE and nothing else, and this man has not only performed but still continuing to PERFORM as NO OTHER!!!! So we had better humble ourselves and forget about our moral judgments and our hypocritical self-righteousness and think of what is good for country and the continuation of the present party staying in power, for whether we like it or not -JACK IS DE MAN!!!!

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 11:09 am

Brother Michael is who?

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2013, 11:11 am

Well then Australia and Canada should be called colonies too then? Or Jamaica, Grenada, St. Vincent, St. Lucia etc. should all be first world since they too are "colonies"?

What hope do we have of improving our governance when Barbados a "colony" is superseding their UK monarchy and the executive president run USA, in lower corruption?

Explain how an executive president would better T&T and stop being a "talk nah" like who always speak against.

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2013, 11:17 am

pioneer wrote:Brother Michael is who?

Principal of Pres Sando for 27 years
1975-2002

Postby nemisis » July 31st, 2013, 11:56 am

^^^ Them dates of the top of your head dan

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2013, 11:58 am

nah..wikipedia

i went to check if he was Principal when Panday & Manning were there lol

Postby equipped2ripp » July 31st, 2013, 12:41 pm

pioneer wrote:Man go pull the figures on voting trends from the 80's to now and do some analysis.

But ent u never went to school pios

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 31st, 2013, 12:51 pm

pioneer wrote:My fb friendlist being depleted :(

You never accepted my friend request...... :|

Postby pioneer » July 31st, 2013, 12:52 pm

Allyuh men ned to say who allyuh is

I have ah long list ah people that I dunno waiting on approval :|

Postby janfar » July 31st, 2013, 1:03 pm

I only add pios so that I can delete him... that kant

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » July 31st, 2013, 4:07 pm

Do the citizens of T&T really understand why we vote for General or by-Elections? As far as I understand we vote for the legislative arm of government where the party or coalition that commands the majority of seats in the house forms the executive. Their primary role is to make law. A Member of Parliament is provided with funding by the Parliament to maintain a constituency office (in some cases sub-constituency offices as well). The funds go towards rent, utilities and a couple office staff (not sure how many) and some sundry items as well like stationary. The MP is not equipped financially to provide infrastructure services to his/her constituency. This is the role of local government (borough, city and regional corporations and the THA). those bodies have funding and supposed checks and balances from a disbursement perspective to deliver the services required to the public.

What we vote for in T&T general elections is by default a Prime Minister and consequentially we reject Prime Ministers in like manner. To vote out Manning the majority of the country voted for personalities like Volney, Roberts and Warner. We knew exactly who they were before and it should come as no surprise what we see today.

The result of the CW by-election only becomes relative if the ripples cause a shift in who makes up the executive arm of government and the ministerial spin offs thereafter within the current term.

2015 will be the only inflection point when all seats are up for grabs and again the focus will only be who will make the best Prime Minister in the eyes of the people. Whatever happens in the space of time between now and then we shall see

The conjecture is entertaining though