Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2011, 12:16 am

^^ i will wait for duane on this one :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 19th, 2011, 12:34 am

mickey17 wrote:what is a good workin fan controller?

I have 2 of these in my desktops: http://www.nzxt.com/new/products/fan_control/sentry_2

Compatible with 3 pin and 4 pin molex type fans. No problems with the touch feature either.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 19th, 2011, 5:36 am

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:what is a good workin fan controller?

I have 2 of these in my desktops: http://www.nzxt.com/new/products/fan_control/sentry_2

Compatible with 3 pin and 4 pin molex type fans. No problems with the touch feature either.

I agree i have the same in my case but remember it also lacks some power to get bigger fans going especially if its lighted, but go for it one of the best out there

You can also consider this

http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/acc/077/km03_detail.html

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 19th, 2011, 9:40 am

thinking bout this 1 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811998063

wat u think. de fans i am using will be 140mm wit some led

Virus

Postby Virus » September 19th, 2011, 9:59 am

mickey17 not bad either

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 19th, 2011, 12:42 pm

Virus wrote:mickey17 not bad either

kool.. like this 1 more.. saw chronic on de forum have 1 on his 600t looked really good

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 19th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Guys i need help asap please! Just installed 6 new fans and have no way of controlling their speeds from the mobo software...what program can i use to do this?!?!?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 19th, 2011, 11:53 pm

welll it all depends... it the fans u install are powered by molex connectors... no software can adjust thier speeds.. u will... otherwise... try speedfan..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 20th, 2011, 8:22 am

^^ ditto!

if your fans are connected directly to the mainboard, you should be okay with speedfan or any software that comes with whatever manufacturer. but, via molex like speedaholic said, you will need an external controller..like a bay controller.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 20th, 2011, 1:25 pm

anyone tested a usb 3.0 drive yet??

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 20th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Thanks...but ill have to get an external fan controller for my application,although its not molex fans

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 20th, 2011, 2:07 pm

yes iv used a usb 3.0 external on my laptop and WOW..... 75megabytes per sec.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 20th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 20th, 2011, 3:52 pm

^^ very!

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 20th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ very!

kool.. wasnt to sure if the brand was good jus saw good reviews

Postby Ted_v2 » September 21st, 2011, 1:16 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:The Computer Case
The Motherboard
The Processor
Hard Drives
Cables and Connectors
SATA and SCSI Cables
Power and Panel Cables and Connectors
Memory
Expansion Cards
Video Cards
Sound Cards
Network Cards and Modems
(no cd drives Nor floppy ,strickly usb)

and a rundown on the prices?

i wanna build a computer for mainly online use and to do small typing and communications(facebook msn ext)

anyone can give me what to look for when im gonna buy parts to build?

or a estimated price on a small pc build?

was looking at buying part by part

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » September 21st, 2011, 1:46 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:The Computer Case http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-RC- ... 998&sr=1-1

The Motherboard http://www.amazon.com/MSI-G31TM-P21-Int ... 648&sr=8-2

The Processor http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Pentium-Pro ... y_e_text_b

Hard Drives http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-C ... y_e_text_c

Cables and Connectors

SATA and SCSI Cables

Power and Panel Cables and Connectors

Memory http://www.amazon.com/PNY-Channel-PC2-5 ... 118&sr=1-3

Expansion Cards http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Express- ... 839&sr=1-2

Video Cards http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Expr ... 90&sr=1-16

Sound Cards http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Labs-SB0 ... 927&sr=1-1

Network Cards and Modems http://www.amazon.com/Startech-100Mbps- ... 962&sr=1-1

(no cd drives Nor floppy ,strickly usb)

and a rundown on the prices?

i wanna build a computer for mainly online use and to do small typing and communications(facebook msn ext)

anyone can give me what to look for when im gonna buy parts to build?

or a estimated price on a small pc build?

was looking at buying part by part

xaira

Postby xaira » September 21st, 2011, 2:47 pm

anybody figure out how to disable windows 8 boot manager?

i had it dual booting and everything was working fine, but like the crack giving the bootloader stress, i already try startup repair and vista boot pro

a word of caution, dont try xp bootloader with windows 8, im posting from a linux boot cd

Virus

Postby Virus » September 22nd, 2011, 6:04 am

I saw a link somewhere i will see if i find it again where people have done the dual booting with success, i tock a try at it and worked but later i would discover it was just easier to use two drives and just choose which one to start up with :) checks bookmarks for post

xaira

Postby xaira » September 22nd, 2011, 7:43 am

got around it actually, i formatted the win 8 drive, disconnected all the others and did a fresh win7 install, reconnected the original win 7 drive then added it to the win 7 bootloader with vista boot pro...every time microsoft releases a new os this happens and i never learn

Elyon

Postby Elyon » September 22nd, 2011, 9:01 am

rumors abound that amd fx chips are going to retail for alot less than expected

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/news/amd ... ext-month/

It's interesting because according to that article the highest end 8 core cpu will be less than the current highest end sandybridge cpu. It will be interesting to see how it stands up to the 2600k and sandybridge-E.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 22nd, 2011, 10:28 am

Early benchmarks of Bulldozer showed that Zambezi was never likely to be competitive with Intel’s Core i7 — and these prices, which are all well below any of Intel’s comparable i7 (and even some i5) Sandy Bridge chips, suggest that the FX Series chips are priced to sell rather than compete. The nearest-spec chip to the FX-8150, for example, is the Core i7-2600, which has an Intel-suggested retail price of $294 — some $60 more than the AMD chip. If you compare the FX against the “overclockable” 2600k, the price difference is even more pronounced.

In all likelihood, though, AMD probably never intended to compete with Intel in terms of raw processing power — and the just-announced Intel i7-2700k, which will arrive around the same time as the FX Series, will certainly make sure of that. Zambezi, if anything, is simply intended to close the widening gap between Phenom II and Sandy Bridge — to prove to consumers and OEMs that AMD still knows know to make a competitive CPU. Here’s hoping.

Source: http://www.extremetech.com/computing/95 ... ndy-bridge

I for one understand that Intel cpu's are def faster but if I getting almost the same performance @ a more affordable price I definitely going that route. AMD again for my future build fck dat

xaira

Postby xaira » September 22nd, 2011, 4:08 pm

yeh, some sysoft sandra benches leaked somewhere and on averagethe bulldozer was 35% slower than the i7 2600, but that was the 8130 which runs at 2.8

Postby M_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 8:29 pm

was getting this issue FWIW.
i recently redid win7 and started getting it A LOT.
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 7d10e67241

i'll see how it goes now...

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 22nd, 2011, 8:55 pm

M_2NR wrote:was getting this issue FWIW.
i recently redid win7 and started getting it A LOT.
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 7d10e67241

i'll see how it goes now...

Lower the clocks on your video card with evga precision and run a game.

Usually happens when your clocks too high, which is why i doh oc my gpus unless i run a benchmark or using super cooling.

xaira

Postby xaira » September 22nd, 2011, 9:13 pm

+1, was happening to a gt-240 i had alot, i found some stable clocks and flashed the bios with nibitor and nvflash, smooth sailing since

Postby M_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 9:16 pm

im not overclocked... forgot my rule?
temps excellent. I changed nothing since my last redo/update. Oh wait i did... i updated windows (DO'H stupid me) I did the reg tweak to take off TDR... nothing so far...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 22nd, 2011, 10:42 pm

i am getting this problem also.. when i playing high graphic games.. a while into the game i wud get a BSOD.... i just did the Reg tweak... i'll see how it goes... (running a Radeon HD 5770 1gb GDDR5)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 23rd, 2011, 5:49 pm

im still tryin to understand why you guys doing the reg tweak, shouldnt even have to

Postby M_2NR » September 23rd, 2011, 9:11 pm

speed, that is TOTALLY different to what I was getting. I never had a BSOD. Yet. Thank God. Check your heat etc.

IM still trying to understand why after a windows update it appeared... i never updated my almost 2 year old Windows 7 copy and it worked fine.
Updated this one and boom... :/
no problems since i removed TDR though...

BTW i used to get this error:
crashnvidia.PNG
crashnvidia.PNG (17.73 KiB) Viewed 2104 times