COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 65 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby ST Auto » March 26th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Info
Screenshot_20200326-180320.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2020, 6:05 pm

https://twitter.com/tttliveonline/statu ... 40490?s=21

TTT reporting panic buying going on at PriceSmart currently

carluva

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 61 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby carluva » March 26th, 2020, 6:05 pm

I don't follow
sMASH wrote:
carluva wrote:These media outlets something else... PM clearly said that the country is not going into lockdown nor a SOE. It's if you are non-essential, stay home. And the list of non-essential will be sent out before Sunday

The media is pushing public fear and drama.

wah i bet ur monday run like normel.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 26th, 2020, 6:09 pm

Price smart ram out. Zero social distancing

carluva

Postby carluva » March 26th, 2020, 6:10 pm

Yes... I just ventured out to go to ABM at price plaza. Pricesmart have long line of people congregation outside as they seem to be limiting amount of people inside. Dumb people chook up close close outside but socially distancing themselves inside. What's the point?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://twitter.com/tttliveonline/status/1243287751736340490?s=21

TTT reporting panic buying going on at PriceSmart currently

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2020, 6:27 pm

ST Auto wrote:Price smart ram out. Zero social distancing

Pretty much expected.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2020, 6:28 pm

8-)
redmanjp wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Smash

You still not making any sense and I am wondering if it makes sense to even respond to you at this point. You all are stuck in your ignorant ways so no amt of scientific facts does change alluh minds.

I already broke it down for you down to infection and incubtion period. Now you come here talking abt ppl flying in and spreading corona during carnival and flying back out? Are you a proper dunce?

The incubation period is maximum 14 days. That carnival incubation period ends on 4th March. A whole week before our first official case. Are you trying to say that this was spreading all through months of February with all the feteing etc taking place? Steups.

Mild flu symptoms. Do you know what mild means? A flu is more severe than the cold. A cold runs its course over 3-5 days whilst a flu could last for up to a month. Flu symptoms are different to cold. Much different.

Anyone who had corona im Feb, the virus has already run its course cause its almost a month and the incubation period is 14 days.

but they could have spread it to other ppl and after about 3 or 4 transmissions there could have ppl now getting it- but because during carnival no traveller from US/UK etc. was quarantined or tested they could have come in infected and spread it to anyone in public and contact tracing would no longer be possible- so u went to a fete or play mas and get it but u doh know from who. so even if u report it they would have said well there is no KNOWN cases so it can't be covid so no test.

US had a small number of confirmed cases but we all know now that was because of severe undertesting- the CDC admitted it was spreading undetected for weeks! so those undetected cases could very well have come here for carnival, especially if they were from washington or new york. right now they almost reach Italy! so it is possible we have a few undetected cases although not much or otherwise the hospitals would be overwhelmed and more ppl would be dying of some unknown 'viral pneumonia'.

That's not how infectious diseases work? You not getting the point. People can't now be getting "carnival spread". That is nonsensical. Corona is highly contagious meaining carnival spread would have started mid february at earliest and early march at latest.

If each person infects 3-4 persons unknowingly do you really believe that we wouldn't have a visible outbreak by now due to the fact that carnival is the direct opposite of social distancing?

Remember as long as its allowed to spread, its going to reach an at risk group and some in that group are going to require intense medical care and assistance. What we are seeing in places such as Italy is what it looks like when the elderly contracts the disease. The younger generations are not fulling up the hospitals. The younger generations spread it to their grandparents but they don't require hospitalisation most times.

So according to your logic it's like this.

First person goes to play mas and gets infected.

Carnival is 26th February...infection spreads in 5 days which is 2nd March to the household to parent and siblings.

5 days after that parents share infection to grandparents on 7th March. Grandparents share infection to their elderly friends and their children around 12th and so it keeps going.

Remember these ppl are also interacting with wider community all the time. Children are going to school, parents working and young adults liming. This is just a scenario with one single infection for carnival. Multiply that by 25 and place those 25 people in party mode from middle of february and you would realise that carnival theory makes no sense. We would have been suffering multiple deaths of elderly by now if it was carnival spread. The numbers don't make sense.

Remember as long as there is an outbreak as you are alluding a certain amount of persons must be infected/die. The numbers would reflect that.

death365

Postby death365 » March 26th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Yeah so.... I just leaving this here

#slapianalleyne

Not now obviously... When he fat better where ever u see him... #slapianalleyne

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 6:43 pm

ST Auto wrote:Price smart ram out. Zero social distancing

if only the govt could have predicted this :drinking:

boxy

Postby boxy » March 26th, 2020, 6:57 pm

This is exactly the point I trying to make. But apparently we have a bunch of WebMD graduates who know better than the blasted specialists in the field and further supported by the CMO who had to literally sarcastically tell a reported he didn't know a patients death should be public knowledge. A Lil bit again Allyuh go say he is a PNM because he not giving you the answers you want. Then we have people claiming there is a government cover up of cases. People really think doctors going to sit by and not sound the alarm? They already know that the chances of them being overwhelmed by covid 19 patients puts them in the at risk group of 8% of doctors that literally dies from this in Italy alone.

Smash yuh get yuh psuedo SOE but I was at work and could finish my post and guess what the same point I was gonna make earlier happening now I was to add what happens when one is called and everyone runs to stock up on food and medicine . We create the exact atmosphere that you trying to avoid.
I pass in the grocery yesterday for one or two items and the place was empty. Today the car park ran out

Redress10 wrote:8-)
redmanjp wrote:

You still not making any sense and I am wondering if it makes sense to even respond to you at this point. You all are stuck in your ignorant ways so no amt of scientific facts does change alluh minds.

I already broke it down for you down to infection and incubtion period. Now you come here talking abt ppl flying in and spreading corona during carnival and flying back out? Are you a proper dunce?

The incubation period is maximum 14 days. That carnival incubation period ends on 4th March. A whole week before our first official case. Are you trying to say that this was spreading all through months of February with all the feteing etc taking place? Steups.

Mild flu symptoms. Do you know what mild means? A flu is more severe than the cold. A cold runs its course over 3-5 days whilst a flu could last for up to a month. Flu symptoms are different to cold. Much different.

Anyone who had corona im Feb, the virus has already run its course cause its almost a month and the incubation period is 14 days.

but they could have spread it to other ppl and after about 3 or 4 transmissions there could have ppl now getting it- but because during carnival no traveller from US/UK etc. was quarantined or tested they could have come in infected and spread it to anyone in public and contact tracing would no longer be possible- so u went to a fete or play mas and get it but u doh know from who. so even if u report it they would have said well there is no KNOWN cases so it can't be covid so no test.

US had a small number of confirmed cases but we all know now that was because of severe undertesting- the CDC admitted it was spreading undetected for weeks! so those undetected cases could very well have come here for carnival, especially if they were from washington or new york. right now they almost reach Italy! so it is possible we have a few undetected cases although not much or otherwise the hospitals would be overwhelmed and more ppl would be dying of some unknown 'viral pneumonia'.

That's not how infectious diseases work? You not getting the point. People can't now be getting "carnival spread". That is nonsensical. Corona is highly contagious meaining carnival spread would have started mid february at earliest and early march at latest.

If each person infects 3-4 persons unknowingly do you really believe that we wouldn't have a visible outbreak by now due to the fact that carnival is the direct opposite of social distancing?

Remember as long as its allowed to spread, its going to reach an at risk group and some in that group are going to require intense medical care and assistance. What we are seeing in places such as Italy is what it looks like when the elderly contracts the disease. The younger generations are not fulling up the hospitals. The younger generations spread it to their grandparents but they don't require hospitalisation most times.

Carnival is 26th February...infection spreads in 5 days which is 2nd March to the household to parent and siblings.

5 days after that parents share infection to grandparents on 7th March. Grandparents share infection to their elderly friends and their children around 12th and so it keeps going.

Remember these ppl are also interacting with wider community all the time. Children are going to school, parents working and young adults liming. This is just a scenario with one single infection for carnival. Multiply that by 25 and place those 25 people in party mode from middle of february and you would realise that carnival theory makes no sense. We would have been suffering multiple deaths of elderly by now if it was carnival spread. The numbers don't make sense.

Remember as long as there is an outbreak as you are alluding a certain amount of persons must be infected/die. The numbers would reflect that.

VII

Postby VII » March 26th, 2020, 6:57 pm

You have rel patience bro.. 8-)

Redress10 wrote:8-)
redmanjp wrote:

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 7:03 pm

just putting this out there... the highest rate of confirmed cases of Coronavirus in the world is coming from Louisiana in the USA.

Guess what Louisiana had during in late-Feb? I not saying, because I honestly tired of that debate and want to move forward. The next few weeks are far more critical. The situation now at Pricesmart is far more concerning.

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2020, 7:05 pm

carluva wrote:I don't follow
sMASH wrote:
carluva wrote:These media outlets something else... PM clearly said that the country is not going into lockdown nor a SOE. It's if you are non-essential, stay home. And the list of non-essential will be sent out before Sunday

The media is pushing public fear and drama.

wah i bet ur monday run like normel.

what goin on this week , same ting will go on next week. cause trini is trini

carluva

Postby carluva » March 26th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Actually, it may be better given the PMs statement today.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » March 26th, 2020, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:just putting this out there... the highest rate of confirmed cases of Coronavirus in the world is coming from Louisiana in the USA.

Guess what Louisiana had during in late-Feb? I not saying, because I honestly tired of that debate and want to move forward. The next few weeks are far more critical. The situation now at Pricesmart is far more concerning.

Wat?
https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/us/

Postby aaron17 » March 26th, 2020, 7:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:just putting this out there... the highest rate of confirmed cases of Coronavirus in the world is coming from Louisiana in the USA.

Pricesmart has no social distancing awah?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2020, 7:28 pm

SnipeR wrote:

Wat?

Your statements are not based on facts so stop trying to attribute cases to carnival. It simply doesn't make epidemiological sense.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 7:31 pm

SnipeR wrote:

Wat?

So Louisiana was the only place with Carnival?

Iff Carnival brought Covid-19 cases here where are they? We should have been on round 3 or those infections now.

It's far more likely and proving to be true that it was the people who left for Carnival and came back a week or two later were the ones who brought it here. No fault of their own mind you, just let's be real the numbers don't support carnival being the cause.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 7:31 pm

NYC has ah whole lot more than Louisiana

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2020, 7:31 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Pricesmart has no social distancing awah?

PM should have said TODAY whether groceries would be considered essential services after sunday- cuz if not ppl have to eat and this will cause a run on supermarkets- if he said it is there would be no need to rush.

it should be as other countries even italy with 1000s of cases allowed that.

on another note i hope all the stores in malls except drugs & groceries will be shutdown.

Postby hydroep » March 26th, 2020, 7:38 pm

He did say that supermarkets and pharmacies are "essential services". They supposed to release a full list either tonight or tomorrow.

Dem people who spending all their money hoarding food, ah hope they know they cyar return it...:|

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2020, 7:50 pm

Everything is always next week...

This virus have no set timeline.

Postby aaron17 » March 26th, 2020, 8:00 pm

Tune in next week.

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2020, 8:04 pm

China had no new reported cases today. So you see, strict quarantine works.
Too bad we still have a lot to learn in this country.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 8:05 pm

maj. tom wrote:China had no new reported cases today. So you see, strict quarantine works.
Too bad we still have a lot to learn in this country.

While I do believe they have it under control, China is undoubtedly lying about their numbers.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2020, 8:08 pm

Paid influencer is actually right...according to aljazeera right now...Louisiana is set to be the next epicenter in the US and health officials are blaming madi gras celebrations for this

abducted

Postby abducted » March 26th, 2020, 8:10 pm

STATEMENT OF OPPOSITION LEADER THE HONOURABLE KAMLA PERSAD-BISSESSAR, SC, ON PNM GOVERNMENT’S COVID-19 COVERUP

I have noted with deep concern the Government’s ongoing efforts to suppress valid calls and questions from the population, and especially the Opposition UNC, to be accountable and transparent during this unprecedented Coronavirus crisis in our country. I therefore feel constrained to respond in a comprehensive manner to their vicious attacks on our sacred, inviolate Constitutional rights and democracy as a whole.

In the past few weeks, as the seriousness of the Coronavirus pandemic continued to threaten our country’s very survival, the Rowley Government realized that they simply could not combat the resulting crisis on their own, and then rushed to do damage control.

They appointed as their spokespersons three of the most incompetent Ministers in the history of their ineffective Government, who have so far only succeeded in lulling the people of this country into a treacherous sense of false security over their risks of contract Covid-19.

These dangerous, reckless propagandists include Stuart Young, who has failed at every single task in the crucial area of National Security he oversees, and Camille Robinson-Regis, whose very credibility is seriously compromised by her checkered financial past. Meanwhile, Terrence Deyalsingh is a complete and utter failure, whose term as Health Minister has plunged this country into the worst health sector crisis in our modern history.

It is no wonder, then, that instead of giving the population truthful information about the real statistics of Covid-19 infections to protect the lives of citizens, these three dangerous, irresponsible propagandists, with the aid of their equally irresponsible Prime Minister, have engaged in the daily abuse of taxpayers’ dollars by shamelessly converting Health news conferences into their political pulpits.

They continue to spew a daily diatribe of malicious propaganda, dehumanization and demonization of the media, the Opposition and our very citizens who happened to unfortunately be caught abroad when the worst of the crisis hit.

Under a false premise of trying to protect the population, these PNM propaganda Ministers are playing a very nasty and dangerous game of pitting our citizens against each other in a time when we should be united in this battle against the worst crisis to hit our country.

Now, people have begun to die because of their dangerous and illegal policy of cover up and State sanctioned hate-mongering of citizens. This is unforgiveable and must not be tolerated anymore by the population. The people of this country must open their eyes and see the Government’s behaviour for what it truly is—sick, sociopathic and destructive to our democracy.

I will continue to inform and educate this population of the Rowley Government’s cover-up, lies and stifling of democracy, because it is the only way we can save the lives of our country’s citizens from the Coronavirus pandemic.

I wish to further state categorically that the PNM threats, bullying and intimidation tactics can never silence me, or the Opposition UNC, from doing our duty to the citizens of this country.

I do no need the PNM’s permission to speak out on any matter, especially one of such serious national concern which threatens to destroy our country’s economy, health and the very lives of our citizens.

Until the PNM Government acts in the interest of all citizens in a manner that can protect their lives during this ongoing and deadly Coronavirus crisis, the UNC and I, as its leader, will not be silenced. We will continue to lobby on behalf of the people of this country for truthful, accurate statistics and information to be forthcoming from the PNM Government.

So far, their failed and very destructive and dangerous methods have significantly put our citizens’ lives at risk. For over 30 years I have given my life to serving the citizens of this country. Now that we are at this crucial point in our nation’s history and very survival, I will not shirk in my duty and sacred democratic mandate to represent the people to the best of my ability. I will not stand by and let the Rowley Government destroy our country.

I therefore urge every citizen to ignore the Rowley Government’s vile example and maintain our long cherished values of humanity and tolerance at this very difficult and uncertain time of our nation’s life. After all, when the Covid-19 crisis has passed, as God willing it must, we will all have to rebuild our country and democracy together in faith, unity and harmony.

Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP
Leader of the Opposition

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/opposition-leader-concerned-over-covid-19-cover-up/

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Hope Kamla stock up on she White Oak and haul she useless, drunken mc for the next 3 weeks.

Postby shogun » March 26th, 2020, 8:16 pm

US now has the world’s most coronavirus cases

On Thursday, the United States crossed an unfortunate milestone in the global fight against the novel coronavirus: leading the world in confirmed cases. By Thursday afternoon around 3 p.m. PT, the U.S. reports 82,404 confirmed cases of the coronavirus to China’s 81,782 according to a popular COVID-19 tracking tool from Johns Hopkins. Italy, regarded as the world’s emerging hotspot in recent weeks, dropped to third with 80,589 cases.
As the scientific community warned in the U.S. for some time, a lower case count doesn’t necessarily mean there’s no cause for concern. Widespread testing is one of the most effective ways of containing an early epidemic, but it can also lead to boosted numbers when compared to countries doing less testing. Without complete population-wide testing, case counts only represent the sample of a given population that’s undergone testing and do not offer a complete picture of the situation on the ground.

In some parts of the U.S., testing remains far from easy to come by. At one hospital in Queens this week, potential COVID-19 sufferers waited hours to be tested and many were still turned away after the wait. With cases continuing to tick up dangerously in New York, the U.S. also reported 1,000 deaths from the coronavirus on Thursday.

While the hardest-hit areas of the country are still struggling to accommodate an alarming influx of COVID-19 patients, testing is becoming more broadly available. Test availability ramped up dramatically over the last week after a fumbled response from the federal government led to a delay in deploying tests to healthcare providers — a critical factor in the explosion of coronavirus cases the U.S. is grappling with today.

https://techcrunch.com/2020/03/26/does- ... -covid-19/

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2020, 8:20 pm

I read Kamla whole statement. 750 words with nothing useful :drinking:

Roiley really moving like Trump in the press conferences tho.