Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2023, 9:38 am

j.o.e wrote:
Dave wrote:In the gas paid at the pump is a road tax supposedly for road maintenance.
Is this tax working?

That tax was discontinued over a decade ago
The service was removed but the Tax remained.

Gas tax was never removed

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2023, 9:41 am

j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:
No son. It is simple to you. BUT, I guarantee you that many pensioners will not have a clue when they get their valuations.

The government could have written an algorithm that would have automatically calculated the property tax based on the valuation. and put it on the notice one time.

But Noooooooooooooooooooooooo, PNM living up to its name to pressure people more. Pensioners will not have a clue to decuct 10%, then multiply by 3%.

yuh making pensioners look like they illiterate and uneducated dey bai.

In any event, as I said before, this tax is unjust and unnecessary, and homeowners will never see any benefit from paying it. The sole purpose of this tax is one thing, to rob and pressure the population in order to get the money required to enrich politicians and their financiers.

Last time l&b taxes were collected was in 2009. In case ppl eh realize, that was 14 years ago. The economy collapse yet? During that time, was there any instances where public sector workers didn't get paid for a few months? Are roads not being paved and are drains not being cleaned and maintained?

So what they really want to collect money via this tax for?

I see the point you TRYING to make but you find the roads, drainage etc adequately maintained ? You’ve set the bar for maintenance very low
In indo and far remote areas these services are very limited.

It's a racist issue not to service indo areas.

Remember PNM said in Parliament that they will taking taxes from Indo areas to service PNM areas.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 20th, 2023, 11:04 am

j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:
No son. It is simple to you. BUT, I guarantee you that many pensioners will not have a clue when they get their valuations.

The government could have written an algorithm that would have automatically calculated the property tax based on the valuation. and put it on the notice one time.

But Noooooooooooooooooooooooo, PNM living up to its name to pressure people more. Pensioners will not have a clue to decuct 10%, then multiply by 3%.

yuh making pensioners look like they illiterate and uneducated dey bai.

In any event, as I said before, this tax is unjust and unnecessary, and homeowners will never see any benefit from paying it. The sole purpose of this tax is one thing, to rob and pressure the population in order to get the money required to enrich politicians and their financiers.

Last time l&b taxes were collected was in 2009. In case ppl eh realize, that was 14 years ago. The economy collapse yet? During that time, was there any instances where public sector workers didn't get paid for a few months? Are roads not being paved and are drains not being cleaned and maintained?

So what they really want to collect money via this tax for?

I see the point you TRYING to make but you find the roads, drainage etc adequately maintained ? You’ve set the bar for maintenance very low

You really believe that this property tax would allow for such maintenance jobs to be done on a more regular basis? You really believe that the money gained would be used for what is being said?

In the last 8 years, which promise has materialised?

death365

Postby death365 » November 20th, 2023, 12:02 pm

this they promises property tax was coming and its here now. its an actual pnm Govt achievement.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:In the last 8 years, which promise has materialised?

Postby j.o.e » November 20th, 2023, 12:07 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Dave wrote:In the gas paid at the pump is a road tax supposedly for road maintenance.
Is this tax working?

http://tt.loopnews.com/content/what-roa ... -bad-roads

You and Colm can argue about it. I’m just stating what is on public record

matix

Postby matix » November 20th, 2023, 12:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Is this tax working?

Public record means nothing in sweet T&T

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2023, 2:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:In the last 8 years, which promise has materialised?

iirc, I remember a dense dunce tobagonian liar once said
"we will not close down petrotrin"
and somehow, not long after, and by his doing, petrotrin ceased to exist.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 20th, 2023, 3:44 pm

So does the more taxes means better services by the government like better roads, better health services at hospitals, more resources for schools etc... or is the same thing as usual before the new taxes were implemented?

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2023, 3:48 pm

It mean that Kamla teef out d Treasury more than ever now.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2023, 6:43 pm

DMan7 wrote:So does the more taxes means better services by the government like better roads, better health services at hospitals, more resources for schools etc... or is the same thing as usual before the new taxes were implemented?

lemme answer yuh query, with one of my own.
How much benefits do you get from paying VAT, OPT, and import duty when you buy imported goods that NOBODY here can produce?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2023, 8:04 pm

matix wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
Is this tax working?

Public record means nothing in sweet T&T

If the tax was removed at that time then there would have been reduction in the price of gas. This never happened meaning we are still paying for it to this very day.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 14th, 2023, 8:19 am

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 14th, 2023, 3:48 pm

A padna get his assessment and they give his arv to be 6k. His annual tax is like 155 dollars.
Last edited by VexXx Dogg on December 14th, 2023, 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2023, 4:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:A padna get his assessment and they give his arv to be 6k. His annual tax is like 155 dollars.

HDC house?

technically that ARV should be zero as renting it out not even allowed :?:

death365

Postby death365 » December 15th, 2023, 7:49 am

He said Clause (6) of the Bill made adjustments that will waive the revenues from property tax for 2023 and previous years.

This means that the tax will “only be a liability to the public from January 1”, going on to accuse the Opposition of liking to “spread mauvais langue” and “confuse people”.

“I want people to understand that property tax is applicable from January 1, 2024,” Imbert stressed.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/property-tax-starts-in-january/article_b9316e3c-9a21-11ee-b416-0b5ad6ffbb1e.html

This is great news.

Postby teems1 » December 17th, 2023, 11:12 am

Consequences of living in a democracy.

If elections were to be called today, the party in power will remain in power.

The will of the people is to have this extra tax. You don't like the decisions that your leaders make, then vote them out.
Last edited by teems1 on December 21st, 2023, 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » December 17th, 2023, 1:09 pm

not really.

I in a safe seat, how you propose I vote out PNM?

realistically if u dont want pnm, your only choice is to go to a next country free of PNM

people only really thrive once they get off the island

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2023, 9:02 am

So if pensioners can't pay, payment deferred! Imbuttt say so

Aka inheritance tax....nice nice

Postby bluefete » December 24th, 2023, 10:06 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So if pensioners can't pay, payment deferred! Imbuttt say so

Read this:

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... 2d605.html

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 24th, 2023, 10:12 am

I see plenty homeless people in the future. Start buying up those empty card board boxes and securing your spot on the streets.

wing

Postby wing » December 24th, 2023, 10:25 am

Many of the biggest complainers have no problem finding money for carnival, phone, brands, vice, rum and all kinds of unnecessary things. Then on the other side, the money going to party hacks...we really deserve what we voted for.

Postby aaron17 » December 24th, 2023, 10:45 am

The collector ..XD

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 24th, 2023, 11:02 am

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So if pensioners can't pay, payment deferred! Imbuttt say so

Read this:

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... 2d605.html

Yup, that’s screwed up.
Chances are the majority of people who inherit land won’t be able to afford the accumulation of back taxes. Old people are living longer and young people are dying out. So the people who inherit property might just have to sell it to pay off the tax and bank the remaining. Which will not be enough to buy a new piece of property.

This is going to nuke the middle class who have been trying to put things in place for generational wealth.

Or it would force a situation to transfer ownership and unleash a whole new level of family bachannal for the boomers with many kids.

Oddly enough this situation would serve to benefit the rich who can afford to swoop in and buy property, clear back taxes, and still turn a profit via rental.

Hate to sound like a doomsday preacher but there are many factors that are killing the middle class and pushing towards either extreme poverty or wealth.

This lien on property angle is a bad move. I’m wondering if it would have been better to introduce a new municipal tax like a small percentage of income, payable by all working people in a constituency so that assets would not have been lost. I eh talking about big numbers like paye. 1% of your monthly salary woulda easily cover that and turn profit for gubment too.
This is just a random brain fart eh, didn’t really assess the viability.

Postby maj. tom » December 24th, 2023, 11:04 am

2023-06-13
In a Twitter post yesterday, Imbert stated, “The Leader of the Opposition is spreading a false and malicious rumour that the Government plans to impose a 25 per cent inheritance tax on citizens who receive money or property from the estate of a deceased person. This is a huge LIE, clearly designed to upset the voting population.”
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/imbert-kamla-misleading-public-over-inheritance-tax-6.2.1729913.265ec7daae

WEDNESDAY 14 JUNE 2023
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/06/14/unc-is-government-imposing-inheritance-tax/
“Tonight, I have to warn you that worse is yet to come. The property tax is only the beginning. I have been told and I’m asking if this is true, that the Rowley PNM plans on imposing a 25 per cent inheritance tax on citizens. I have been informed of this and I call on the PNM to come clean to the country about this tax. Your parents pass away, you pass away and you leave a little something for your children and grandchildren and before they could get it, they have to pay inheritance tax.”

She said the tax is levied on the value of the inheritance received by the beneficiary.

“So whether you leave $5, $10, $20,000, $30,000, a 25 per cent tax on your beneficiaries. It is a tax that you pay when you receive money or property from the estate of a deceased person. Unlike an estate tax, the beneficiary of the money or property is responsible to pay the tax, not the estate.

“And so we are being told the government will establish a threshold value under which no inheritance tax will apply. Once that threshold value is surpassed they will put on the tax.

They’re going to tax you even after you’re dead.”

Postby paid_influencer » December 24th, 2023, 11:33 am

rich men collecting property like pokemon cards
poor people who can't afford the tax will have to sell their property
way to run we families out of desirable real estate

one fella in the govt does bill himself as an attorney. but the vast majority of his income (a substantial amount in raw terms by anybody's measure) comes from collecting rents on property. strange he doesn't bill himself as a landlord

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2023, 11:44 am

If you talking about Faris....most of that property is originally his in laws

Postby paid_influencer » December 24th, 2023, 11:51 am

so he wife is the landlord?

Postby gastly369 » December 24th, 2023, 11:59 am

wing wrote:Many of the biggest complainers have no problem finding money for carnival, phone, brands, vice, rum and all kinds of unnecessary things. Then on the other side, the money going to party hacks...we really deserve what we voted for.
I welcome property tax... Not that we go benifit but to see the yappers them catch ass..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 24th, 2023, 1:40 pm

wing wrote:Many of the biggest complainers have no problem finding money for carnival, phone, brands, vice, rum and all kinds of unnecessary things. Then on the other side, the money going to party hacks...we really deserve what we voted for.
Leave me and mih rum alone plz Sir

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 24th, 2023, 1:42 pm

I just want to see the realistic figures of this tax and then I will yap if necessary. So far we calculating with what info they give us...