Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2023, 8:00 pm

No, let ppl feel is only yuh house and land they want to take.
So, you owing them this tax, and if they want they come to your residence and see a vehicle parked in your yard, & after a quick check they confirm it's in your name, they tell you "pass dem keys boi"

Postby paid_influencer » November 15th, 2023, 8:33 pm

coltspeed wrote:Cant remember if i posted this here already but this was some disturbing facts i gathered. Correk me if I'm wrong.

pnm people know this and still vote pnm

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2023, 8:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
coltspeed wrote:Cant remember if i posted this here already but this was some disturbing facts i gathered. Correk me if I'm wrong.

pnm people know this and still vote pnm

& they does feel they bright eh :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » November 17th, 2023, 10:50 am

Got my letter today :?

What I don't understand is why Valuations don't state the amount in property tax you have to pay one time. The letter is only stating the Annual Rental Value (ARV) so people are going to confuse the ARV as the tax they have to pay per year. Prepare to do your own maths.

Saw this table on fb. With the ARV stated in your valuations letter, you can use the table to average your Annual Property Tax amount you have to pay per year.
Property Tax Table.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 17th, 2023, 9:21 pm

Imbutts trying ah ting orh^

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2023, 9:30 pm

Laventille and Beetham will disappear.

East Morings here 1% come

All yuh take bull, never seen an arsehole nation like Trini

Postby 88sins » November 17th, 2023, 10:31 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Got my letter today :?

What I don't understand is why Valuations don't state the amount in property tax you have to pay one time. The letter is only stating the Annual Rental Value (ARV) so people are going to confuse the ARV as the tax they have to pay per year. Prepare to do your own maths.

Saw this table on fb. With the ARV stated in your valuations letter, you can use the table to average your Annual Property Tax amount you have to pay per year.

Two things
1-Is a VERY SIMPLE calculation. ARV-10% × 0.03
2- That table is tad erroneous. That table puts the lowest ARV @ 3000/month. Iirc, the lowest ARV touted ny toolum-head-in-chief was $1800/month.

But they gonna put most properties in the l mid-range
Can't really rob ppl properly by putting them in a lower bracket

Postby alfa » November 17th, 2023, 10:41 pm

Laventille and Beetham will disappear.

East Morings here 1% come

All yuh take bull, never seen an arsehole nation like Trini

Who going to collect property tax in them areas? They're an exception just like the 'free' electricity they receive

triniringo

Postby triniringo » November 18th, 2023, 8:41 pm

Houses in my area annual rental value is $60000 however valuation dept indicated that its $106000.Already sent in a complaint so waiting for a home visit from them

Postby bluefete » November 18th, 2023, 9:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Got my letter today :?

Two things
1-Is a VERY SIMPLE calculation. ARV-10% × 0.03
2- That table is tad erroneous. That table puts the lowest ARV @ 3000/month. Iirc, the lowest ARV touted ny toolum-head-in-chief was $1800/month.

But they gonna put most properties in the l mid-range
Can't really rob ppl properly by putting them in a lower bracket

No son. It is simple to you. BUT, I guarantee you that many pensioners will not have a clue when they get their valuations.

The government could have written an algorithm that would have automatically calculated the property tax based on the valuation. and put it on the notice one time.

But Noooooooooooooooooooooooo, PNM living up to its name to pressure people more. Pensioners will not have a clue to decuct 10%, then multiply by 3%.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 19th, 2023, 5:35 am

Imagine you make a complaint because you believe your figure was unjust, when they review they hit you a higher figure.

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2023, 6:19 am

bluefete wrote:
No son. It is simple to you. BUT, I guarantee you that many pensioners will not have a clue when they get their valuations.

The government could have written an algorithm that would have automatically calculated the property tax based on the valuation. and put it on the notice one time.

But Noooooooooooooooooooooooo, PNM living up to its name to pressure people more. Pensioners will not have a clue to decuct 10%, then multiply by 3%.

yuh making pensioners look like they illiterate and uneducated dey bai.

In any event, as I said before, this tax is unjust and unnecessary, and homeowners will never see any benefit from paying it. The sole purpose of this tax is one thing, to rob and pressure the population in order to get the money required to enrich politicians and their financiers.

Last time l&b taxes were collected was in 2009. In case ppl eh realize, that was 14 years ago. The economy collapse yet? During that time, was there any instances where public sector workers didn't get paid for a few months? Are roads not being paved and are drains not being cleaned and maintained?

So what they really want to collect money via this tax for?

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2023, 11:45 am

Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert, MP, said he has taken note of a “misunderstanding regarding the meaning and effect of the Notices of Valuation which are being posted out to residential property owners.”

In a Media Release today (Saturday 18th November 2023), Minister Imbert said, “Although these Notices of Valuation do not refer to Property Tax and are not issued by the Board of Inland Revenue, it is being erroneously promoted by mischief-makers that the annual rental value is equal to the property tax that owners will have to pay. For the record, the Property Tax Act makes it clear, Property Tax is only THREE PERCENT (3%) of the annual rental value for residential properties, after first deducting 10% from the Annual Rental value. It is NOT the same amount as the rental value.”

https://youthere1.weebly.com/home/finan ... operty-tax

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2023, 11:52 am

Colm Imbert
@ImbertColm
Why does our media thrive on so much misinformation? I just saw a Letter to the Editor where the writer said he got the valuation notice for his property and he will now have to pay $5,980 a month in property tax for his house. But his tax is really 90% x 3% x $5,980 = $161/month

https://twitter.com/ImbertColm/status/1 ... 3313140111

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2023, 12:52 pm

@bluefete
90%×3%×$5980=
180%×$5980=
$10764

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 19th, 2023, 1:22 pm

Did everyone get their property tax letters or just some? I haven't gotten it in the mail yet. :S

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2023, 2:34 pm

DMan7 wrote:Did everyone get their property tax letters or just some? I haven't gotten it in the mail yet. :S

Be careful what you wish for, you might get it.

Doh rush de brush, it will soon come. I have not gotten any as yet either.

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2023, 2:38 pm

88sins wrote:@bluefete
90%×3%×$5980=
180%×$5980=
$10764

Actually, the valuation was $71,760.00 per year. So you have to work from that to calculate his property tax:

$71,760 -10% = $64,584.00

$64,584. x 3% = $1,937.52 per year - property tax. or $161.46 per month.

Imbert did not tell the truth in his X post.

BTW - can you pay property tax monthly?

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2023, 3:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:Did everyone get their property tax letters or just some? I haven't gotten it in the mail yet. :S

Kinda hard to get ting in d mail when ttpost doh pass by regular.
It even harder when u eh put up no mailbox :lol:

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2023, 3:24 pm

Kinda hard to get ting in d mail when ttpost doh pass by regular.
It even harder when u eh put up no mailbox :lol:

That is not an excuse when they come to sell your house for not paying the property tax eh.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 19th, 2023, 3:42 pm

Men done start hiding their mailbox from the impending property tax letters yes. :lol:

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2023, 7:42 pm

DMan7 wrote:Men done start hiding their mailbox from the impending property tax letters yes. :lol:

done start hiding?
bruh, i never put one up since I buy the place, and the one that was there come down before I bought it way back when dinosaurs roamed the planet :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 19th, 2023, 7:46 pm

Allya too wicked!!! :lol:

assassin

Postby assassin » November 19th, 2023, 8:28 pm

bluefete wrote:
90%×3%×$5980=
180%×$5980=
$10764

Actually, the valuation was $71,760.00 per year. So you have to work from that to calculate his property tax:

Excellent question
If the tax is single annual payment, why are rates being quoted in monthly figures?
Deliberate manipulation to make the impact seem less?

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2023, 8:28 pm

bluefete wrote:
90%×3%×$5980=
180%×$5980=
$10764

they should let we pay it daily

that way it will cost less than a doubles

Postby The_Honourable » November 19th, 2023, 9:04 pm

MEDIA RELEASE

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP, has taken note of a misunderstanding regarding the meaning and effect of the Notices of Valuation which are being posted out to residential property owners.

Although these Notices of Valuation do not refer to Property Tax and are not issued by the Board of Inland Revenue, it is being erroneously promoted by mischief makers that the annual rental value is equal to the property tax that owners will have to pay.

Postby The_Honourable » November 19th, 2023, 9:07 pm

NOTICES OF VALUATION

The Commissioner of Valuations wishes to advise that Notices of Valuation are currently being dispatched to property owners.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=73 ... 9937043693

Postby j.o.e » November 20th, 2023, 8:14 am

bluefete wrote:

yuh making pensioners look like they illiterate and uneducated dey bai.

In any event, as I said before, this tax is unjust and unnecessary, and homeowners will never see any benefit from paying it. The sole purpose of this tax is one thing, to rob and pressure the population in order to get the money required to enrich politicians and their financiers.

Last time l&b taxes were collected was in 2009. In case ppl eh realize, that was 14 years ago. The economy collapse yet? During that time, was there any instances where public sector workers didn't get paid for a few months? Are roads not being paved and are drains not being cleaned and maintained?

So what they really want to collect money via this tax for?

I see the point you TRYING to make but you find the roads, drainage etc adequately maintained ? You’ve set the bar for maintenance very low

Postby Dave » November 20th, 2023, 9:01 am

In the gas paid at the pump is a road tax supposedly for road maintenance.
Is this tax working?

Postby j.o.e » November 20th, 2023, 9:13 am

Dave wrote:In the gas paid at the pump is a road tax supposedly for road maintenance.
Is this tax working?

That tax was discontinued over a decade ago