The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* Chaguanas West Election Thread

Postby pioneer » July 30th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Something bout keith noel and murders?

I guess murders no linger bother cadiz, de morney nice

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » July 30th, 2013, 2:14 pm

K74T wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Nice :lol:

Postby janfar » July 30th, 2013, 2:22 pm

rfari wrote:I hearing ollur point and they all sounding good eh but any ideas who ilp should put for the other constituencies?

Good question...

I personally think he should stay away from the decrepid has beens. Bring new blood and new ideas into the politics. The old crab in barrel sydrome of the Indian and the Gimme gimme mentality of the African is at an end... Bring in representatives who reflect such.

In other words... eff Volney, Gypsy, Anil qand Fuad. Well maybe Fuad. Bring in ppl with actual experience and qualifications for the Ministry that they will end up in. Let the public know what they will be before the election and let them win their respective constituency based on representation on the constituence level as well as on the Ministerial level.

3NE-1VIA

Postby 3NE-1VIA » July 30th, 2013, 2:25 pm

By ANNA RAMDASS anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 30, 2013 at 12:42 PM ECT
(
Story Updated: Jul 30, 2013 at 1:03 PM ECT )

Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar is unfit to be a member of Parliament as he has insulted the people of Chaguanas West by describing Jack Warner's by-election victory as a dangerous development for the politics of this country.

Ramadhar in a release to the press offered congratulations to Warner but criticised "This victory represents a most dangerous development in the politics of our country. We have witnessed the emergence of a new vulgar concept of the politics of money based on the personal wealth of an individual versus politics of addressing of the issues as in 2010,".

Warner swept the Chaguanas West by-election polls on Monday with his newly formed Independent Liberal Party (ILP) being re-elected as the MP for the constituency with a landslide win.

Virmala Balkaran, ILP's interim Chairperson of the youth Arm issued a release yesterday taking issue with Ramadhar's comments.

"What is clear is that we, the people of Chaguanas West unlike Ramadhar voted to uphold the constitution, which pronounces innocence on our ''Uncle Jack'' until he is proven guilty and views Ramadhar’s approach as bordering on a dangerous trend especially for someone who has been leading the charge for constitutional reform within the Government," stated Balkaran.

Ramadhar, she added, cannot be serious and when he condemns the right of citizens to vote for their representative of choice.

"....Ramadhar is not only identifying himself to be unfit to be in charge of Constitutional Reform in this country but also unfit to be a Member of Parliament since such an office requires the holder to uphold the tenets of our constitution," she added.

Balkaran stated that as long as Ramadhar remains within the People’s Partnership questions will also be raised concerning the commitment of the coalition to uphold the constitution.

"His remarks have tainted him and his associates and have given to me further reason why I must vote again against the People’s Partnership Government," she stated.

"For the record Mr Ramadhar, Jack Warner is innocent until proven guilty and my vote for him was not a vulgar concept of politics but an action to rid this country of a selfish, self-centered and corrupt bunch of politicians being ruled by a shameless and gutless cabal," Balkaran added.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/ILP ... 11841.html

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 30th, 2013, 2:25 pm

She mean she may...perchance....lose at least 1...

Partap?

Postby janfar » July 30th, 2013, 2:25 pm

ILP: Ramadhar unfit to serve

...he has insulted the people of Chaguanas West

By ANNA RAMDASS anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 30, 2013 at 12:42 PM ECT
(
Story Updated: Jul 30, 2013 at 1:03 PM ECT )

Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar is unfit to be a member of Parliament as he has insulted the people of Chaguanas West by describing Jack Warner's by-election victory as a dangerous development for the politics of this country.

Ramadhar in a release to the press offered congratulations to Warner but criticised "This victory represents a most dangerous development in the politics of our country. We have witnessed the emergence of a new vulgar concept of the politics of money based on the personal wealth of an individual versus politics of addressing of the issues as in 2010,".

Warner swept the Chaguanas West by-election polls on Monday with his newly formed Independent Liberal Party (ILP) being re-elected as the MP for the constituency with a landslide win.

Virmala Balkaran, ILP's interim Chairperson of the youth Arm issued a release yesterday taking issue with Ramadhar's comments.

"What is clear is that we, the people of Chaguanas West unlike Ramadhar voted to uphold the constitution, which pronounces innocence on our ''Uncle Jack'' until he is proven guilty and views Ramadhar’s approach as bordering on a dangerous trend especially for someone who has been leading the charge for constitutional reform within the Government," stated Balkaran.

Ramadhar, she added, cannot be serious and when he condemns the right of citizens to vote for their representative of choice.

"....Ramadhar is not only identifying himself to be unfit to be in charge of Constitutional Reform in this country but also unfit to be a Member of Parliament since such an office requires the holder to uphold the tenets of our constitution," she added.

Balkaran stated that as long as Ramadhar remains within the People’s Partnership questions will also be raised concerning the commitment of the coalition to uphold the constitution.

"His remarks have tainted him and his associates and have given to me further reason why I must vote again against the People’s Partnership Government," she stated.

"For the record Mr Ramadhar, Jack Warner is innocent until proven guilty and my vote for him was not a vulgar concept of politics but an action to rid this country of a selfish, self-centered and corrupt bunch of politicians being ruled by a shameless and gutless cabal," Balkaran added.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/ILP ... 11841.html

Postby pioneer » July 30th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Put politicians on minimum wage for starters

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 30th, 2013, 2:59 pm

Outside with two party and race politics ---->

Put politicians on minimum wage for starters

Take away all dat security detail...let them deal with the realities of the crime situation just like every other citizen.

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2013, 3:10 pm

let dem line up in dad's dan like de rest ah..............um..................uh..................ooooh look, a puppy ^_^

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2013, 3:42 pm

janfar wrote:
rfari wrote:I hearing ollur point and they all sounding good eh but any ideas who ilp should put for the other constituencies?

Good question...

I personally think he should stay away from the decrepid has beens. Bring new blood and new ideas into the politics. The old crab in barrel sydrome of the Indian and the Gimme gimme mentality of the African is at an end... Bring in representatives who reflect such.

In other words... eff Volney, Gypsy, Anil qand Fuad. Well maybe Fuad. Bring in ppl with actual experience and qualifications for the Ministry that they will end up in. Let the public know what they will be before the election and let them win their respective constituency based on representation on the constituence level as well as on the Ministerial level.

Yuh see dem names? Rell dead weight. Jw good but i doubt his political shoulders that strong to tote all that weight. And the east-west will be very wary of these former pp members especially if jw continues with his wooing of the pp

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2013, 3:45 pm

pioneer wrote:Put politicians on minimum wage for starters

Nah. No more sufferers in government. Cus we see what happen with this pp administration. Dey eye does geh long and they get greedy

3NE-1VIA

Postby 3NE-1VIA » July 30th, 2013, 3:49 pm

rfari wrote:
janfar wrote:

Good question...

Yuh see dem names? Rell dead weight. Jw good but i doubt his political shoulders that strong to tote all that weight. And the east-west will be very wary of these former pp members especially if jw continues with his wooing of the pp

Postby janfar » July 30th, 2013, 4:35 pm

Its official.

July 30, 2013

Mr. Dave Tancoo,

General Secretary,

United National Congress,

Rienzi Complex,

COUVA

Dear General Secretary,

Last night on live national television I heard the Honourable Prime Minister and Leader of the United National Congress state that her government was still assured of the support of twenty six and possibly twenty seven Members of Parliament. I understood that to be a message to me that the Prime Minister and Political Leader has no interest in keeping me in the fold of her government.

Since my unjust dismissal from her government, the Prime Minister has done nothing to re-engage me with any relevance in her administration and has as Political Leader of the United National Congress equally made no attempt to include me in any form or fashion given that I remain a member of the United National Congress and one of its members of Parliament.

In April 2010 I was approached by the leadership of the United National Congress to join it in the struggle to return good government to Trinidad and Tobago and to contribute towards crime interdiction, criminal justice and offender management reform set out in the then draft manifesto of the People’s Partnership. I made the personal sacrifice of opting for early retirement as the senior judge of the criminal courts in order to join the struggle for peace, bread and justice in our land. I campaigned on a platform of returning Trinidad and Tobago to a sense of normalcy in public order by interdiction of criminal activity through the Speedier Justice Initiative. The electorate in the swing constituency of St. Joseph with no more than five thousand committed United National Congress supporters gave me 10,835 votes and overwhelmingly returned me as their Member of Parliament.

As the Minister of Justice I faithfully engineered criminal justice and offender management reform both in policy development and in statutory interventions like never before. I caused to be developed prototype drawings for presentation to, and received Cabinet approval for the construction of judicial centers across Trinidad and Tobago. I successfully sought and obtained the transfer of the Prison Service to the Ministry of Justice. I helped establish Rise Prison Radio. In the circumstances my termination as Minister of Justice and in the cruel way it was done was a clear indication to me that improper political motives engendered my invitation into the UNC and the partnership platform.

Put bluntly, I was used for my integrity on the campaign platform to help in its electoral success and when it became a problem to the corruption, cronyism, nepotism and oligarchic autocratic rule that was to follow, I was terminated from the government. I was used and abused for the political purposes of the political leadership of the United National Congress. The final insult of the Political Leader insinuating that I was not in her twenty six or twenty seven members underscores the need to sever ties where I am no longer recognized for my contribution and where I have become unwelcome.

I accordingly resign with immediate effect from membership of the United National Congress and request that you alter your membership roll to reflect my termination with the party.

I thank the Political Leader and the National Executive for the opportunity to carry the banner of the United National Congress. I did my best for the party and for the government. I will continue to serve my constituents from the Parliament, and I will continue to serve the nation.

As for you, General Secretary, I have always been touched by your sincerity and thank you for it.

Please be guided accordingly,

HERBERT VOLNEY

Member of Parliament for St. Joseph

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-07- ... l-congress

Postby Morpheus » July 30th, 2013, 4:36 pm

Please no more has beens. That is what people trying to get away from.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » July 30th, 2013, 4:38 pm

why they dont invest in the police service and work on enforcing traffic laws that alone go change the landscape of this country...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 30th, 2013, 4:43 pm

Volney resigns from UNC

The Member of Parliament for Maracas/St. Joseph, Mr. Herbert Volney, has resigned from the UNC.

He told C News he decided to walk away from the party in the face of repeated public rejection by the Prime Minister.

On Monday night, the MP for Maracas/St. Joseph was dealt another blow when Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said she stills holds the majority in Parliament with 26 or 27 seats.

At the time, she was speaking at the UNC camp, in the wake of an overwhelming defeat in the Chaguanas West bye-election to IPL Leader Jack Warner.

The Prime Minister said that she is confident that Mr. Warner's victory means she has a 28th seat on the Government side, alluding to the fact that Mr. Warner may join the coalition and thereby also implying that Mr. Volney and another Cabinet colleague is on the fence about where their loyalty lies.

Thus, Mr. Volney justified his immediate defection from the UNC.

"I cannot continue to sleep in bed with the UNC. I cannot. You can't be abusive towards me and expect me to be your lover."

Noting that his obligations as an MP superseded his rights as a citizen, Mr. Volney said he plans to consult with his constituents before he officially joins Mr. Warner's ILP.

But he is certain that the Chaguanas West victory for the ILP will be a catalyst for change, causing a chain reaction among Cabinet Members.

"I think there will be a domino effect. I expect that before the end of this year, there will be a fall in the number of seats that Mrs. Persad-Bissessar can command a majority in the Parliament."

Only time will tell whether or not others in the Cabinet will "cross the floor" but MP Volney said the results of the bye-election will undoubtedly have a ripple effect among the sitting representatives.

Mr. Volney indicated that he will remain the Member of Parliament for the area in which he was elected to represent, unless "unlawfully removed."

http://ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=6131:volney-resigns-from-unc&catid=137:c-news&Itemid=707

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » July 30th, 2013, 4:45 pm

buh before elections everybody know he was gna jump ship when jack win

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2013, 6:03 pm

i was thinking '26 maybe 27 MPs' mean the PM might decide to welcome ILP into the PP making the 27th- cause ILP look like it could take some seats away come local/general elections

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2013, 6:11 pm

As u talk tht. Kamla doh believe in the magical powers of the 24th day of the month for elections any more?

Postby rspann » July 30th, 2013, 6:28 pm

Why you think UNC lose? They put the election on the 29th.

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2013, 6:34 pm

Like kamla spiritual advisor theef she head

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 30th, 2013, 6:54 pm

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2013, 7:08 pm

And in other news of unimportant people, Ishmael Samad shaves head in protest of Jack Warner's victory and continues to protest.

Postby wagonrunner » July 30th, 2013, 7:16 pm

who??

Postby shogun » July 30th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Is De Fosto and Robin Montano i see deck out in green there? lol
Last edited by shogun on July 30th, 2013, 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2013, 7:24 pm

3NE-1VIA

Postby 3NE-1VIA » July 30th, 2013, 7:34 pm

K74T wrote:And in other news of unimportant people, Ishmael Samad shaves head in protest of Jack Warner's victory and continues to protest.

this man is one clown... is he the one who dropped out of the election last minute ?

his strategies to gain attention over the past few years have been really questionable.

and how on earth will SHAVING YOUR HEAD unfold into some form of protest , and what will this LOSS OF HAIR achieve ?

I really fed up of this 'Fatel Rozack' kinda politics yes....

Postby pioneer » July 30th, 2013, 7:38 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:why they dont invest in the police service and work on enforcing traffic laws that alone go change the landscape of this country...

More money to be made from narco-trafficking and laundering.

3NE-1VIA

Postby 3NE-1VIA » July 30th, 2013, 7:43 pm

the police GENERALLY don't watch their job/role as a responsibility or a career...... but rather another form of occupation, next to fire service... ambulance driver... etc.. etc...

others feel is some kinda 'rankin ting' , and prefer to bully people to yield results.

police is the disconnect between the law, and the citizens.

let's not even start about the judicial process - that's a big joke by itself.

Postby pioneer » July 30th, 2013, 7:45 pm

Only way to stop crime in Trinidad and by extension the caribbean is to kill the drug trade, but seeing that will never happen you best get yourself an AK-47 and lots of bullets.

Haiti here we come.