Bull 5hitHabit7 wrote:The Point a Pierre refinery failed before. It was configured to make fuel oil which was good for WWII, ships and power plants. But the world shifted away from that and it failed in 1985. The then govt breathed new life and capital in it reconfigured it. But factors like T&T's declining local production, oil price fall in 2014, oil glut and others, excluding the local politics, put the nails in the coffin for the refinery.
Even if PaP had gotten a $1b injection in 2018, 2020 with little product demand and low prices would have found it in the red again.
Agian what is wrong in down sizing for a smaller operation.Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:KantHabit7 wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Habit7 wrote:If we were using forex to buy feed stock for the refinery and the product was selling at a loss, how is that generating forex?We are producing approximately 40,000 barrels of oil a day and the refinery operates at a capacity of 140,000 barrels a day, so we have to go to the market to buy about 100,000 barrels of oil to make up the shortfall. This results in a net loss in foreign exchange.
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/petrotri ... -ErbYEXaf0
Simple answer is we were not selling the product at a loss. Don’t forget the politics involved in selling the idea to the population. Current actions prove that not all that was said when shutting down was correct else no one would want to operate the refinery.
I expected a comment like this from Zoom.
Do you have any proof what you are saying is true or is it a speculation. Did those same factors close down refineries in Curaçao and US Virgin Islands? Did those factors close down refineries around the world?
Curacao and st Thomas have no oil wells. They have to import oil at a great cost. That's one reason why they shut it down.
Plus Shell has other fields that was more importatnt than the South American operations.
However Trinidad has 3 billions of the stuff that pours in peoples back yard.
Trinidad owned oil refineries was a management and sales problem.
But like anything else Kams to blame from dutty kants like you that spread mis leading fictitious information.
Whether we have oil wells or not, we still have to import 100k barrels of oil everyday much like Curaçao and St Croix. 3 billion barrels in reserves and the capacity to bring it into production is a lot of work. But the last time T&T saw that kind of local production sufficient for the refinery was in the 80s and 90s.
Then you retool and down size rather than let Malcolm Jones run corruption and run it into the ground.Habit7 wrote:The refinery is not a hotel. In order to met efficiencies you need a certain volume of crude oil. The cat cracker can't run on 5 barrels of oil today then 180,000 barrels tomorrow.
sMASH wrote:saved a tonne of cash by shutting down our biggest forex earner.
sMASH wrote:https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=266260673998893&id=387986111346373
Anesha is a unc. Clears tings up.
sMASH wrote:Well, we In a forex crunch right now and guess what shut down at the moment?
Caroni.
Train1
Movie Town chaguanas
Hopefully sonel brought some us in she grip when the come tru.
I didn't talk to uc supporters, spoke to the people working the offices,
They used to bring in a lot of ships for sales.
Habit7 wrote:sMASH wrote:https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=266260673998893&id=387986111346373
Anesha is a unc. Clears tings up.
Yes she said it one of the largest foreign exchange earners not the largest as you said prior. Plus I don't know when that video was produced but the audited statements of Petrotrin stated that there were year on year losses, therefore it cannot be an earner when it costs money every year to run it while it is depreciation our credit rating.
Petrotrin refinery is closed for 2yrs now and we still have 8mths import cover. Plus you refuse to acknowledge that its successor Heritage has been earning profit and forex by sell 100% internationally that was something the refinery was not achieving for years.
Please, don't be ridiculous and mention Caroni, Caroni 1975 hardly ever made a profit since 1975 and the sugar industry is collapsing throughout the Caribbean as we no longer have access to the preferencial markets.
How MovieTowne brought in forex?
Atlantic LNG Train 1 still operational
Being wrong so often doesn't dissuade you?
When you come with bull5hit you will be labeled as a kant.elec2020 wrote:^ and when that fails. Insult forum users that oppose/question you
Come clean and become a non kant, that's all bro.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said.
Last time I dealt with you, you stated to cry. So let's not go there today.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said. And numerous times? When? You just vex because i said i voted pnm once in my life. So everything i say is wrong. So u saying only those who vote unc/pp/cop/pep have correct opinions and/or insights on tnt? If that isn't flawed logic then idk what is.
zoom rader wrote:When you come with bull5hit you will be labeled as a kant.elec2020 wrote:^ and when that fails. Insult forum users that oppose/question you
You have been made out as a liar and blogger on tuner.
I have posted your fables numerous times and tuners have viewed dem with disgust.
So until you come clean you will remain a kant
zoom rader wrote:Last time I dealt with you, you stated to cry. So let's not go there today.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said. And numerous times? When? You just vex because i said i voted pnm once in my life. So everything i say is wrong. So u saying only those who vote unc/pp/cop/pep have correct opinions and/or insights on tnt? If that isn't flawed logic then idk what is.
elec2020 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Last time I dealt with you, you stated to cry. So let's not go there today.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said. And numerous times? When? You just vex because i said i voted pnm once in my life. So everything i say is wrong. So u saying only those who vote unc/pp/cop/pep have correct opinions and/or insights on tnt? If that isn't flawed logic then idk what is.
why would i take to heart the tirades of a known racist? also why u still on tuner? u lost to elite. a man who cannot honour his word is not a man at all
Habit7 wrote:If we were using forex to buy feed stock for the refinery and the product was selling at a loss, how is that generating forex?We are producing approximately 40,000 barrels of oil a day and the refinery operates at a capacity of 140,000 barrels a day, so we have to go to the market to buy about 100,000 barrels of oil to make up the shortfall. This results in a net loss in foreign exchange.
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/petrotri ... -ErbYEXaf0
elec2020 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Last time I dealt with you, you stated to cry. So let's not go there today.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said. And numerous times? When? You just vex because i said i voted pnm once in my life. So everything i say is wrong. So u saying only those who vote unc/pp/cop/pep have correct opinions and/or insights on tnt? If that isn't flawed logic then idk what is.
why would i take to heart the tirades of a known racist? also why u still on tuner? u lost to elite. a man who cannot honour his word is not a man at all
Hoss you blowing my coverHabit7 wrote:elec2020 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Last time I dealt with you, you stated to cry. So let's not go there today.elec2020 wrote:^ you see what i said. And numerous times? When? You just vex because i said i voted pnm once in my life. So everything i say is wrong. So u saying only those who vote unc/pp/cop/pep have correct opinions and/or insights on tnt? If that isn't flawed logic then idk what is.
ZR is not a racist. He is a self-loathing Black man who trolls tuner on the basis of being anti-PNM and anti-Afrotrini. He does this to rile up a small but vocal racist base who sees his comments as cover for them to spew their real racism.
I have seen him do this for years now. He is the Clayton Bigsby of trinituner.