Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » November 11th, 2023, 7:34 pm

bluefete wrote:Image

So no property or room renting for less than $3,000.00. Carry on.

How much you want to bet, they gonna put the majority of properties somewhere in the $7500-$9000 range?

Edit
And how much you want to bet, many landlords going to raise their rentals to match the government suggested arv?

Postby bluefete » November 11th, 2023, 8:28 pm

How much you want to bet, they gonna put the majority of properties somewhere in the $7500-$9000 range?

Edit
And how much you want to bet, many landlords going to raise their rentals to match the government suggested arv?

Dem have to be 5kin mad to do that. If they do that, I going and vote back Tantie Kams. As Zoom would say - why should I pay that Property Tax when PNM Beethamites not going to pay one damn cent?

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2023, 10:53 am

bluefete wrote:

Edit

Dem have to be 5kin mad to do that. If they do that, I going and vote back Tantie Kams. As Zoom would say - why should I pay that Property Tax when PNM Beethamites not going to pay one damn cent?
Doh pay nah and see how fast they coming to seize ur home as an injun.

U think they seize a PNM home especially from Beetham and other hotspots .

This is nothing but an injun tax.

Postby bluefete » November 12th, 2023, 11:13 am

USA DOH PLAY!

In the filing, obtained by The Blast, the lien reports state that Bill Cosby owes nearly $650,000 for failure to pay property taxes.

Specifically, two liens were filed...one for $88,566.88 and another for $559,573.77. The large amount of cash is owned on taxes for the years 2019 and 2020.

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/bil ... 48569.html

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2023, 11:19 am

bluefete wrote:USA DOH PLAY!

In the filing, obtained by The Blast, the lien reports state that Bill Cosby owes nearly $650,000 for failure to pay property taxes.

Specifically, two liens were filed...one for $88,566.88 and another for $559,573.77. The large amount of cash is owned on taxes for the years 2019 and 2020.

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/bil ... 48569.html
Trust me and u know I have intel.

PNM has a network targeting injuns that not paying house tax. They will be aggressive and will be coming to seize homes.

It's not the Politicians doing this but the frame work of those PNM persons in government. This is how they plan to get back at injuns.

Postby 88sins » November 12th, 2023, 10:10 pm

Landlord in December: "ah kno ah was rentin yuh d hole in d wall fuh $1800, but guavamint say d minimum arv is $36K, so d rent suppose,to be $3k, so it going up to $3k/month from January 1st"
Tenant: "mammy, daddy, wah going on wit meh ole room? it still empty? me & meh gyul and d 2 chirren wah come and stay fuh a while"

coming soon to a residence near you (or even your residence)

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 12th, 2023, 10:17 pm

Does the ARV cover the entire property or each possible apartment on that property?

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2023, 12:06 am

DMan7 wrote:Does the ARV cover the entire property or each possible apartment on that property?

iirc
for buildings with multiple units/dwellings, each unit is evaluated individually to get the arv for each unit, and the values of all the sundry amenities servicing all units on the entire property are added (elevators, tanks, water pumps, water heaters, swimming pools, etc)

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 13th, 2023, 4:09 am

The saintly landlords will just send up the rent by the tax amount. Those are few and far between though. Rental market is gonna get a whole lot worse for tenants soon. Shaft without grease.

death365

Postby death365 » November 13th, 2023, 4:47 am

Always remember.... 'we have to allow the rich to get richer to provide jobs for the poor'

But then no matter what pnm does ... once my party is power .... ah go suffer..

Right pnm sickofans

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 13th, 2023, 7:24 am

I think the problem with introducing new taxes like this one is that there is now a new tax that never existed before which they can then increase in the future. So the % is 3% according to that image above, I can see them gradually increasing it in the future to 5%, 6%, 7% and so forth. Had this tax not existed in the first place there will be nothing to increase. It's worse that people realized when you put it in that context.

Also since this tax now exists do you think another future government will remove it entirely? Once a new tax is introduced it will stay there forever doesn't matter who comes into power in the future.

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2023, 7:43 am

the natural increase in property prices over time will also raise the tax...in some areas more than others... the areas with desirable real-estate especially... for the 1% to buy.. poor people getting run out...

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2023, 8:24 am

DMan7 wrote:I think the problem with introducing new taxes like this one is that there is now a new tax that never existed before which they can then increase in the future. So the % is 3% according to that image above, I can see them gradually increasing it in the future to 5%, 6%, 7% and so forth. Had this tax not existed in the first place there will be nothing to increase. It's worse that people realized when you put it in that context.

Also since this tax now exists do you think another future government will remove it entirely? Once a new tax is introduced it will stay there forever doesn't matter who comes into power in the future.

This isn't a new tax. It was known as land and building tax before.
There issues people have is that there are multiple unjust aspects with the way the law is written wrt this tax.
People are being taxed on homes as though they are making money from living in them.
If you don't pay, the home you ketch hell to buy or build can and will be taken from you, so essentially even tho you paid to buy/build it, it's never going to be yours, so everyone becomes a tenant of the state.
Absolutely no exemptions for nobody, only state owned/occupied properties.
They are taxing you on items in your home, items that when you bought them you paid tax on.
And most importantly, you will NEVER see any benefit for yourself and your property for the tax dollars you will be paying.

The sad thing tho, is that the people of this country knew that these parasites were going to do this years in advance, and that they still vote for them. As zr does say, this is a stupid country full of stupid people.
Last edited by 88sins on November 13th, 2023, 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

death365

Postby death365 » November 13th, 2023, 8:26 am

No incoming government will roll back any taxes aka money making items. The amount of taxes will go up due to the upward movement of property values.

Ah old so I remember vat was a temporary measure and it's still around.
DMan7 wrote:I think the problem with introducing new taxes like this one is that there is now a new tax that never existed before which they can then increase in the future. So the % is 3% according to that image above, I can see them gradually increasing it in the future to 5%, 6%, 7% and so forth. Had this tax not existed in the first place there will be nothing to increase. It's worse that people realized when you put it in that context.

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2023, 8:37 am

death365 wrote:No incoming government will roll back any taxes aka money making items. The amount of taxes will go up due to the upward movement of property values.

What incoming government?

With the idiots and Conts in Trini it's a PNM Victory 2025

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2023, 10:04 am

death365 wrote:No incoming government will roll back any taxes aka money making items. The amount of taxes will go up due to the upward movement of property values.

That's the thing you and many others getting wrong.
It's got nothing to do with the market value of your property as if you were selling it, this tax is based solely on what the state thinks you could make by renting your property. It's a suppy and demand based tax. So, if they want to make more money off you, all they have to do is in a few years re-assess your place using the information you gave and say you can rent it for more money now so you will have to pay more, due to a higher demand for rentals in the housing market, or do a site visit and see if you made any additions or improvements.

So, basically, the more money you put into your place the more money they want from you to allow you to keep your house.
If that ain't a criminal extortion racket then I eh kno what else again to say

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 13th, 2023, 6:20 pm

Ent Rowley have about 8 houses?
He paying taxes on all of those properties?

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » November 13th, 2023, 6:30 pm

Could 1 file tax returns on this property tax??

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2023, 8:36 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Ent Rowley have about 8 houses?
Most likely not, Imps Bert pays no taxes

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2023, 9:06 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Ent Rowley have about 8 houses?

See section 16 e of the act for evdence of the answer to your question.
Basically, he won't be, since the minister can grant an exemption from it to any property he so chooses, and nowhere in the law does it state that he/she is obligated to provide any explanation or reason for the purpose of granting said exemption.

Postby The_Honourable » November 13th, 2023, 9:59 pm

Good stuff...

Every year, Trinis wait with bated breath until the Trinidad & Tobago Budget is read. This year was no different. On this episode of Ask Terra Caribbean, we chat with Colin Ramsey, Tax Partner at Ernst & Young Trinidad to discuss the effects of the 2024 T&T National Budget on Real Estate.

Postby bluefete » November 14th, 2023, 9:22 pm

PNM MC.

My cousin lives in an upstairs and downstairs house.

You know these %^$$##@@@@'s put TWO SEPARATE VALUATIONS - ONE FOR UPSTAIRS AND ONE FOR DOWNSTAIRS.

F---ing suffer under the PNM.

Postby zoom rader » November 14th, 2023, 9:52 pm

bluefete wrote:PNM MC.

You know these %^$$##@@@@'s put TWO SEPARATE VALUATIONS - ONE FOR UPSTAIRS AND ONE FOR DOWNSTAIRS.

Can he appeal it ?

death365

Postby death365 » November 15th, 2023, 3:01 am

It's the same for 2 or more houses on the same land. Separate assessment.

BTW everyone knew once pnm won election last time it was coming hell or high water

wing

Postby wing » November 15th, 2023, 5:23 am

death365 wrote:It's the same for 2 or more houses on the same land. Separate assessment.

BTW everyone knew once pnm won election last time it was coming hell or high water

Exactly, and rather than take a lil hour to come and vote, we prefer to stay home and complain on social media.

Postby bluefete » November 15th, 2023, 7:12 am

Can he appeal it ?

Yes. Got notice in mail yesterday and has 30 days from receipt to appeal.

Postby zoom rader » November 15th, 2023, 7:32 am

bluefete wrote:

Can he appeal it ?

Every citizen should appeal

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2023, 4:48 pm

bluefete wrote:

Can he appeal it ?

Correction
Every citizen should riot

Postby The_Honourable » November 15th, 2023, 6:08 pm

bluefete wrote:

Can he appeal it ?

Correction
Every citizen should riot

Riot wey? NCC just launch Carnival this month

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » November 15th, 2023, 6:49 pm

Cant remember if i posted this here already but this was some disturbing facts i gathered. Correk me if I'm wrong.
fsfsf (1).JPG
fsfsf (2).JPG
fsfsf (3).JPG
fsfsf (4).JPG
fsfsf (5).JPG