***2023 local elections thread****

Who will win the upcoming local elections????

PNM
32%
UNC
34%
NTA
2%
PEP
7%
TIED VOTE
7%
DON'T VOTE
17%

Total votes: 41

Re: ***2023 local elections thread****

Postby Rovin » August 12th, 2023, 11:00 am

somebody shud make at least 1000 of those & put it all over ....

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2023, 11:03 am

The one by Grand Bazaar to turn to go Bamboo 1. Only big truck can go over that hole. Thing is a crater like a bomb drop there.

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2023, 11:13 am

What the pnm really pushing in local elections campaigning about crime in particular?. I never hear about anything tbh.

Postby The_Honourable » August 12th, 2023, 12:48 pm

aaron17 wrote:What the pnm really pushing in local elections campaigning about crime in particular?. I never hear about anything tbh.

Because pnmites be like "iS nOt a lOcAl gUvaMEnT issUe"

Postby paid_influencer » August 12th, 2023, 2:57 pm

but it true. local govt have almost nothing to do with controlling the crime situation. maybe they could trim bush so bandit have less place to hide, but dais about it.

really you saying we should select people on criteria not at all related to the job description. and then youself will complain when the job not being done properly.

***2023 local elections thread****

Postby MaxPower » August 12th, 2023, 3:33 pm

Friends, i think i going with PNM.

UNC has not brought forward anything logical but corruption encouraging plans.

If Kamla goes, then maybe i will consider.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 12th, 2023, 4:09 pm

Kamla not going anywhere this decade...

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2023, 4:31 pm

paid_influencer wrote:but it true. local govt have almost nothing to do with controlling the crime situation. maybe they could trim bush so bandit have less place to hide, but dais about it.

really you saying we should select people on criteria not at all related to the job description. and then youself will complain when the job not being done properly.

Stop talking sense in here bai. Lock it, Rooster it and knock on dem again and again and again.

Postby Rovin » August 12th, 2023, 6:35 pm

seeing so much ppl at d poo nm meeting on ttt = we like it so ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2023, 7:32 pm

Rovin wrote:seeing so much ppl at d poo nm meeting on ttt = we like it so ...

Or maybe people don’t like the alternatives?

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2023, 7:33 pm

like pep run out of steam or wha?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 12th, 2023, 7:52 pm

pugboy wrote:like pep run out of steam or wha?

Why do you say that? Lime going on tonight at their main office. Motorcade rally tomorrow.

Postby The_Honourable » August 12th, 2023, 8:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:but it true. local govt have almost nothing to do with controlling the crime situation. maybe they could trim bush so bandit have less place to hide, but dais about it.

Central government supposed to work in tandem with local government to address the crime situation. Aldermen and councilors are better positioned and have the knowledge of what is happening in their community especially in high-risk areas.

Local government services such as municipal police, basic infrastructure maintenance (street lighting, bush cutting, community centers, recreation grounds), cultural programs, sports, partnerships with NGOs, etc come together to reduce crime especially if some type of community crime prevention initiative is enforced.

The problem is that the local government system is so broken, virtually all crime related decisions are decided upon at the central government level where a lot of those decisions are disconnected with "the ground". The occasional sporting event with the police and a random hamper drive with the security minister and your MP doesn't cut it.

When it comes to elections, the UNC is discussing changes to address crime at the central government level while the PNM is avoiding the crime topic as much as possible.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 12th, 2023, 8:16 pm

Maaaan I can totally do without all this ole noise in the road from these political parties all weekend long.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 12th, 2023, 8:19 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Central government supposed to work in tandem with local government to address the crime situation. Aldermen and councilors are better positioned and have the knowledge of what is happening in their community especially in high-risk areas.

Local government services such as municipal police, basic infrastructure maintenance (street lighting, bush cutting, community centers, recreation grounds), cultural programs, sports, partnerships with NGOs, etc come together to reduce crime especially if some type of community crime prevention initiative is enforced.

The problem is that the local government system is so broken, virtually all crime related decisions are decided upon at the central government level where a lot of those decisions are disconnected with "the ground". The occasional sporting event with the police and a random hamper drive with the security minister and your MP doesn't cut it.

When it comes to elections, the UNC is discussing changes to address crime at the central government level while the PNM is avoiding the crime topic as much as possible.

Brilliantly stated!!! :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2023, 10:21 pm

Local government is filled with a bunch of semi-literate wastes of time, who towed the party line long enough to get a corbeau sweat in politics. YES they have grassroots connections, but for the vast majority, that's all they bring to the table. Numbers to put them in positions for which they are ill-equipped and incapable of performing to any measurable degree.

Most of them are lacking basic communication skills, much less for critical thinking, strategic vision, leadership or any foundation for a board level position.

I would endorse the mandatory training for all councillors to complete an appropriately designed certificate programme with elements of corporate governance tailored to the LG subsystem - this would include other skills needed to function at a board level role.

firetruck this free ride BS.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2023, 11:01 pm

i live in woodbrook and it’s a continuous problem with the avenue noise and hooligans
they are forever having corporation meetings with the cops and ema complaints which all turn to nada
lg folks are good for simple things like yuh neighbor breaking the law with his drain to get it reported or advise but even that could be overridden by a crooked person higher up

Postby teems1 » August 12th, 2023, 11:04 pm

pugboy wrote:i live in woodbrook and it’s a continuous problem with the avenue noise and hooligans
they are forever having corporation meetings with the cops and ema complaints which all turn to nada
lg folks are good for simple things like yuh neighbor breaking the law with his drain to get it reported or advise but even that could be overridden by a crooked person higher up

Anyone selling a house in Woodbrook tacks on an extra 2-3m to what it would be because it's a commercial area, then go on FB and complain about noise.

Woodbrook residents need to make up their mind. Either it's a commercial area, or a residential one.

You can't have your cake and eat it.

Postby paid_influencer » August 13th, 2023, 11:44 am

teems1 wrote:Woodbrook residents need to make up their mind. Either it's a commercial area, or a residential one.

which one is it.

did it change

Postby paid_influencer » August 13th, 2023, 11:47 am

The_Honourable wrote:

what about kacking the 'matic. do the aldermen empty the garbage as well as the clip

Postby adnj » August 13th, 2023, 12:18 pm

teems1 wrote:
pugboy wrote:i live in woodbrook and it’s a continuous problem with the avenue noise and hooligans

Anyone selling a house in Woodbrook tacks on an extra 2-3m to what it would be because it's a commercial area, then go on FB and complain about noise.

Woodbrook residents need to make up their mind. Either it's a commercial area, or a residential one.

It doesn't matter. The Act for noise pollution controls doesn't make an allowance unless it's industrial.

Postby st7 » August 13th, 2023, 1:15 pm

troubles on a doubles

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2023, 1:42 pm

ignorance is bliss eh

adnj wrote:
teems1 wrote:

It doesn't matter. The Act for noise pollution controls doesn't make an allowance unless it's industrial.

Postby Rovin » August 13th, 2023, 2:15 pm

surprising this yr in d main areas of chaguanas i really eh hearing no setta ole noise with music truck, motorcade etc ... hadda be 1 of d quietest elections in yrsssssssssssss, i over glad

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2023, 2:18 pm

My guesstimate tomorrow

1: A 7-7 result and somebody crossing the floor somewhere

2: 8-7 in favor of unc

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 13th, 2023, 2:33 pm

7/7 looks plausible
I suspect incredibly low voter turnout.

Grande and Siparia might be the only two kinda corporations that may have surprises, or really close battles.

Postby Rovin » August 13th, 2023, 3:24 pm

last ditch effort for votes ? ..... https://www.facebook.com/ShardaSatramPN ... GQmmBGZqTl

Postby paid_influencer » August 13th, 2023, 3:34 pm

she coulda wait until they paint it

edit: she is the candidate, not the representative?

My dearly beloved residents of Couva East/ Balmain, I am a proud daughter of this native soil. I am your neighbour. I am your friend. We have all experienced the steady decline of our community due to the lack of proper representation and the neglect as a result. Our roads are poorly maintained and our drainage is inadequate.

I have answered the call to serve so that our community will be put first and we can finally get the rightful representation that we deserve. I endeavour to work on your behalf to restore our community to its rightful place and get the job done. In me, you will find a representative who is hardworking, competent, committed, and relentless in the pursuit of bringing service delivery to our community because as a resident myself I am personally acquainted with your issues that we face and will champion our cause. NO EXCUSES, JUST THE HARD WORK OF REAL REPRESENTATION!

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2023, 4:10 pm

People who fall for that just plain dotish. Then again is Trinidad.

Postby aaron17 » August 13th, 2023, 4:12 pm

:drinking: