Re: Power outage and load shedding

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2023, 4:59 pm

It eh go be cheap.

Postby maj. tom » November 25th, 2023, 5:15 pm

Would recharging end up costing more with a fixed rate? Because energy is always wasted as heat.
So recharging during off-peak at night makes sense in regions that bill power consumption like that, but in TT I don't see how it would make a difference unless you're completely off the grid and using wind and solar. Which would cost a lot to implement in the first place.

Also, the regular ac appliances can work on the dc battery power directly? Like fridge and fan and pump? You don't need a dc-to-ac inverter at least?

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2023, 5:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:Would recharging end up costing more with a fixed rate? Because energy is always wasted as heat.
So recharging during off-peak at night makes sense in regions that bill power consumption like that, but in TT I don't see how it would make a difference unless you're completely off the grid and using wind and solar. Which would cost a lot to implement in the first place.

Also, the regular ac appliances can work on the dc battery power directly? Like fridge and fan and pump? You don't need a dc-to-ac inverter at least?
Said he has an inverter

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2023, 6:36 pm

running a battery based inverter system to provide ac is not cheap because batteries have a lifespan
we had a cctv system running of solar and wind charging the batteries during the day
it used 4 deep cycle batteries and they lasted a couple years or so
we even added extra batteries and the lifespan did not change

also when a battery goes bad it pulls down the others so you have to have good battery mgmt

Postby paid_influencer » November 25th, 2023, 6:46 pm

how bad is 105V actually

say my automatic voltage regulators with the "low" light on today
voltmeter said 105v
105@0.5x.jpg

Postby maj. tom » November 25th, 2023, 6:49 pm

TTEC supplies 115V ± 6%

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2023, 7:01 pm

pugboy wrote:running a battery based inverter system to provide ac is not cheap because batteries have a lifespan
we had a cctv system running of solar and wind charging the batteries during the day
it used 4 deep cycle batteries and they lasted a couple years or so
we even added extra batteries and the lifespan did not change

also when a battery goes bad it pulls down the others so you have to have good battery mgmt
I was waiting for someone to say it.

Batteries have a lifespan. Total up battery cost and then total up electricity bill. The bill is still less. Batteries are still too expensive so those that doing it will learn the hard way.

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2023, 7:13 pm

i am curious to know how the lithium based home setups like tesla powerall last long term

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 7:17 pm

So the shutdown still on for 10pm?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 25th, 2023, 7:18 pm

caroni to charlieville without power atm

Postby teems1 » November 25th, 2023, 7:33 pm

Charliville back

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2023, 7:53 pm

7023ef8e-3919-4abe-ba22-200f8d6310c3.jpeg

T&TEC general manager Curvis Francois hopes customers will reduce their electricity load from Saturday night into Sunday morning when Trinidad’s largest power generation plant will be temporarily offline for critical upgrade works.

“Any form of conservation that customers could practice during that period would be good,” he said.

The shutdown is expected to take place between 10 pm Saturday and 9 am Sunday, a period with low electricity load across Trinidad. Francois hopes customers will reduce their use of high-energy-consuming appliances.

“The biggest use would be air conditioning load, and we would hope that customers would probably cut back, turning it on at night and come off in the wee hours of the morning,” he said

Allaying fears of a repeat of the February 2022 blackout in which the power grid experienced a catastrophic failure precipitated by a falling tree branch on a high-voltage circuit, Francois said: “I’d like to say that there is a very low likelihood of a blackout occurring or any kind of nationwide blackout occurring as a result of the TGU shutdown.”

Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU) produces approximately 50 per cent of Trinidad’s electricity. When that plant is taken offline on Saturday night, power from two other independent power generators, Trinity Power and PowerGen, will make up the shortfall.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-ho ... e_vignette

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 25th, 2023, 7:56 pm

Doesn't most Trini's sleep with A/C nowadays once they have an A/C unit that is? I think we're going to get a blackout.

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2023, 8:00 pm

Wait so cell phone towers/communications/data gonna be down to?

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2023, 8:22 pm

wonder if army will be on full alert

Postby gastly369 » November 25th, 2023, 8:26 pm

pugboy wrote:wonder if army will be on full alert
6ixxx and 7 and what ever dumbass number dey reach boys go be roaming

Postby paid_influencer » November 25th, 2023, 8:38 pm

DMan7 wrote:Doesn't most Trini's sleep with A/C nowadays once they have an A/C unit that is? I think we're going to get a blackout.

i used to use the timer function to turn off after 2 hours

might have to go back to that oui

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 9:48 pm

Just reach home and d room hot. Running AC till 9:59pm. After that I will just use fan.

Let's conserve to mitigate against any load shedding.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 25th, 2023, 9:55 pm

5 more minutes until everyone is required to shut their A/C off. How people go make?

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 10:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:5 more minutes until everyone is required to shut their A/C off. How people go make?

Lasco.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » November 25th, 2023, 10:17 pm

DMan7 wrote:5 more minutes until everyone is required to shut their A/C off. How people go make?
Required you say lolol

Postby st7 » November 25th, 2023, 10:21 pm

with all of allyuh ac off, dont mind me if i put my one on

thanks fellas!!

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 10:25 pm

The second best thing we can do is simply combine the fan and AC but raise the temp a few degrees like to 27-28C. But with a fan directly on you you will feel like it's 24C.

At 27C it's like outdoor temp so the compressor which pulls the most power is off most of the time as it only has to maintain that temp inside.

Postby st7 » November 25th, 2023, 10:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:The second best thing we can do is simply combine the fan and AC but raise the temp a few degrees like to 27-28C. But with a fan directly on you you will feel like it's 24C.

i always have my fan on, so whenever the AC on, it's 26 on a regular, and 24/25 for sleeping.

how much power is used/conserved running the AC at 27 degrees vs 20 degrees?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 25th, 2023, 10:29 pm

hope everyone good.

Postby Les Bain » November 25th, 2023, 10:32 pm

Do government and government rented facilities shut off the unnecessary power drains after business hours?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » November 25th, 2023, 10:35 pm

Les Bain wrote:Do government and government rented facilities shut off the unnecessary power drains after business hours?
Nope.. My ac will be pumping in a few rooms well

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2023, 11:38 pm

maj. tom wrote:Would recharging end up costing more with a fixed rate? Because energy is always wasted as heat.

Will need an inverter to run the appliances.
As per the charging, it won't be the most cost effective, since T&TEC is a flat rate service. It'd be better if they were charged via solar panels or wind.

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 11:47 pm

ST Auto wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Do government and government rented facilities shut off the unnecessary power drains after business hours?
Nope.. My ac will be pumping in a few rooms well

No ACs will be pumping if TTEC have to load shed in your area!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 26th, 2023, 2:03 am

my ac wukking as normal up in the bush. usual 27 with a fan though.