Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2021, 7:31 am

that is one of the main things that happens,
they use it to make a nice profit

many also use it to benefit friends and family

it should be changed to 5 years

Redman wrote:
death365 wrote:I think the issue isn't that they get soooo much taxes off ... its that at this point in time the country is at a very low point- economic and job wise.

Well the issue for me is that the person is allowed to buy the car tax free...about 50% off.
Gets a soft loan.
Has access to pool vehicles etc, travelling allowances and other travel related perqs

The vehicle is therefore unnecessary or underutilized.

2 years later they are allowed to sell the vehicle at market prices that include the 50% taxes.

So they make a profit, as a direct result of the tax free status of the purchase.
So the office gets the tax benefit...but the person monetizes it.

Benz and Porches being flipped every 2 years...they run down?

Steups...racket.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 9th, 2021, 8:07 am

Redman, that is the same point I made earlier . This is using the public purse for your own enrichment .
Habitual 7 says the state cannot lose what it never had.. If the same forex that was used to purchase vehicles that were sold to someone else ( dealers are begging for forex) the state would have received taxes . I don’t know if he really believes everything he says or if he’s just intent on spinning the truth to cover the corruption and waste.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 9th, 2021, 9:16 am

[facebookvideo][/facebookvideo]
sam1978 wrote:Redman, that is the same point I made earlier . This is using the public purse for your own enrichment .
Habitual 7 says the state cannot lose what it never had.. If the same forex that was used to purchase vehicles that were sold to someone else ( dealers are begging for forex) the state would have received taxes . I don’t know if he really believes everything he says or if he’s just intent on spinning the truth to cover the corruption and waste.

Habit7 says he don't lie and he calls out the liars and jokers. He also claimed Tobago is a rural municipality, Jesus is black and Mathematics and roti originated in Africa.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 9th, 2021, 9:27 am

Stuart, in trying to create a false impression that he's a considerate person, said he made the purchase when things were starting to look better.

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2021, 9:31 am

sam1978 wrote:Redman, that is the same point I made earlier . This is using the public purse for your own enrichment .

There must be somebody with that name because I never said that.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 9th, 2021, 10:07 am

j.o.e wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Terrence buying or not buying a vehicle changes what ?

It changes a lot. The country lost $300000 in taxes.

Can’t lose what you never had. Perks of the job, every few years we talk about this and same beat up. Both sides fixing themselves. I prefer to talk about more constructive things.

My apologies ,it was j.o.e .

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 9th, 2021, 12:17 pm

sam1978 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Terrence buying or not buying a vehicle changes what ?

It changes a lot. The country lost $300000 in taxes.

Can’t lose what you never had. Perks of the job, every few years we talk about this and same beat up. Both sides fixing themselves. I prefer to talk about more constructive things.

My apologies ,it was j.o.e .

Understandable error. Habit7 usually and regularly puts forward ridiculous things so one can understand why you'd naturally associate him with it.

Who knows j.o.e. is possibly one of his alternative accounts. The crew is small just they each have multiple accounts.
Last edited by Wraith King on July 10th, 2021, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » July 9th, 2021, 8:57 pm

Oh the irony
Chief Toolumhead went on tv to say "if you accustomed to eating 2 bananas, eat one", meaning things tough and sacrifices must be made if we are to weather the hard times.
Apparently either his ministers never got the memo, or all that talk of sacrifice doesn't include them.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 10th, 2021, 5:53 am

88sins wrote:Oh the irony
Chief Toolumhead went on tv to say "if you accustomed to eating 2 bananas, eat one", meaning things tough and sacrifices must be made if we are to weather the hard times.
Apparently either his ministers never got the memo, or all that talk of sacrifice doesn't include them.

PNM supporters satisfied with whatever the members of the party do. Politics boils down to race. All the other talk is just smoke and mirrors.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 10th, 2021, 7:45 am

88sins wrote:Oh the irony

wait wait wait i thought donna cox say is just greediness an ppl eh suffering out here, an is tru too, men saying things lookin up buying prado and benz and being exempted millions as the state/treasury in such a good state it is not needed.

This next pnm cyaow point mayor and chief coqueeye dunce ancil dennis sayin oh donate if you could afford to go make groceries, like dem too eh geh d memo, dem ppl jus greedy who collectin hampers and handouts, so nothin for dem let them haul dey greedy rass. The true leaders of the PNM (Al fasi, young, die-lie-singh) tellin us the factual truth, i.e. things lookin up, tollum head still sour cuz he jackass up d scene and create ah super spreader event by inviting everyone bago to lime an he geh covid and spoil he lime.

Postby matr1x » July 10th, 2021, 9:08 am

Maybe the cleaning bill too much?

Never use a blacklight on a minister vehicle

Postby j.o.e » July 12th, 2021, 8:24 am

IMG_3782.JPG
IMG_3783.JPG

Postby RedVEVO » July 12th, 2021, 8:36 am

Why the stampede ?

Anybody has a TALLY (total) for exemptions for 2020-2021 to date ?

Maybe it will be close to GDP :D

Seems there will be a CAP soon .

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 12th, 2021, 9:20 am

It's a business . Buying at subsidised prices , selling at market price.

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2021, 9:24 am

Habit7 wrote:The issue is in the title of the thread. You would swear this is a luxury only afforded to ministers. But nearly all politicians, judges and several positions in the public service are granted this as travelling officers. Nearly all doctors in the public service can buy their cars and claim back for the taxes.

But because the govt is PNM and the minister is Deyalsingh it is an epic beat up. But when somebody in the camp decides that "let's be consistent and condemn all" you see the following response:

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 9:38 am

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The issue is in the title of the thread. You would swear this is a luxury only afforded to ministers. But nearly all politicians, judges and several positions in the public service are granted this as travelling officers. Nearly all doctors in the public service can buy their cars and claim back for the taxes.

But because the govt is PNM and the minister is Deyalsingh it is an epic beat up. But when somebody in the camp decides that "let's be consistent and condemn all" you see the following response:

A PNM hypocrite has an issue with UNC hypocrisy. You are in no position to have an issue with political hypocrisy. That's reserved for the persons who don't support UNC or PNM.

Postby eliteauto » July 12th, 2021, 9:41 am

HSM GT, gum bumpers gonna bump, talking bout dealership and warranty like it's not a personal vehicle being bought

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2021, 9:52 am

Wraith King wrote:A PNM hypocrite has an issue with UNC hypocrisy. You are in no position to have an issue with political hypocrisy. That's reserved for the persons who don't support UNC or PNM.
Oh oh, somebody touch your precious UNC?

Wasn't you who just said
Wraith King wrote:If non PNM politicians got the same or even bigger tax breaks as your are claiming let's see some figures.
Well look you have it above from Ratiram and Saddam. Crying down Deyalsingh for buying his Prado, while they are buying theirs.

My post shows the exact hypocrisy of the UNC politicians and their supporters. And now you are just reemphasising it.

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2021, 9:57 am

Ravi bringing in his own Prado because there is no dealer's name on the exemption?

And if he is, where is he getting the US$ from?

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2021, 9:58 am

Allyuh Trinis just jealous allyuh driving RORO, base model, trinicarsforsale beatouts, color band maxi and 280c H and pull bullers.

Whether is tax exemption or not, minister or not, tax dollars or not, covid or not…..

The jealousy and fight down will always be there.

Stop the macooing….work hard and buy your own or learn to live without.

Safe driving.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:00 am

eliteauto wrote:HSM GT, gum bumpers gonna bump, talking bout dealership and warranty like it's not a personal vehicle being bought

Public officials granting benefits unto themselves and relieved when citizens make it political and not ask why are they giving benefits to themselves that citizens cannot access when they are there to serve citizens. The political dynamic is the citizens are employers and politicians are the employees but the politicians act like they are royalty and citizens are peasants because the citizens allow them to because of extreme obsession with racism and hate for each other.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:12 am

Habit7 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:A PNM hypocrite has an issue with UNC hypocrisy. You are in no position to have an issue with political hypocrisy. That's reserved for the persons who don't support UNC or PNM.

Wasn't you who just said
Wraith King wrote:If non PNM politicians got the same or even bigger tax breaks as your are claiming let's see some figures.
Well look you have it above from Ratiram and Saddam. Crying down Deyalsingh for buying his Prado, while they are buying theirs.

My post shows the exact hypocrisy of the UNC politicians and their supporters. And now you are just reemphasising it.

As usual your assessment is not aligned to reality.

I don't support any political party in Trinidad especially UNC and PNM. If I wanted to support UNC I would openly do so but you have an issue with someone exercising their right when it doesn't align to your beliefs. Ironically you said your post reemphasised my hypocrisy when it just keeps showing yours.

For arguement's sake let's say I'm a hypocrite just like you, how can you have an issue with it? You're not even allowed to in that scenario much less with reality where you're a diehard supporter supporter of a political party and I'm not.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:14 am

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh Trinis just jealous allyuh driving RORO, base model, trinicarsforsale beatouts, color band maxi and 280c H and pull bullers.

Whether is tax exemption or not, minister or not, tax dollars or not, covid or not…..

Safe driving.

"Like Max the dummy, you've lost control of what was supposed to be a simple trolling and now it has become a part of your retard personality online." - rajulakan

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2021, 10:17 am

Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Wasn't you who just said

I don't support any political party in Trinidad especially UNC and PNM. If I wanted to support UNC I would openly do so but you have an issue with someone exercising their right when it doesn't align to your beliefs. Ironically you said your post reemphasised my hypocrisy when it just keeps showing yours.

For arguement's sake let's say I'm a hypocrite just like you, how can you have an issue with it? You're not even allowed to in that scenario much less with reality where you're a diehard supporter supporter of a political party and I'm not.

I already expressed my opinion on public servants getting tax exemptions. Once it is in their contract, they deserve it.
You beat when you saw PNM politicians getting a tax exemption in different threads.

I am yet to see you say anything negative about UNC politicians getting a tax exemption.

But you supposed to be neutral.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:24 am

Habit7's counter to PNM's missteps are the UNC did it so now it's okay and you should completely forget about the issue. That tactic will only work with a PNM supporter and encourage UNC supporters to direct the conversation away from the matter at hand from fear of their party looking bad.

It holds no weight with someone who doesn't support either party.

So Ravi and Saddam did it. They're just as heartless as the PNM. Explain how the it removes criticism from the PNM.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:29 am

Habit7 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Wasn't you who just said

I already expressed my opinion on public servants getting tax exemptions. Once it is in their contract, they deserve it.
You beat when you saw PNM politicians getting a tax exemption in different threads.

I am yet to see you say anything negative about UNC politicians getting a tax exemption.

But you supposed to be neutral.

They give themselves benefits. That doesn't mean they deserve it. Why is an employee given more benefits than an employer? As I said before both UNC and PNM corrupt. Although the PNM incompetent and more corrupt I wouldn't support UNC by choosing the lesser of two evils. At the end of the day neither party cares about the citizenry.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:36 am

Habit7 I don't understand your attempts to paint me as a UNC supporter. If I or anyone else wants to support any party, that's a right we're entitled to. If I wanted to support UNC I would openly do so. I don't see the need to restrain from expressing myself on any matter.

You act like supporting the UNC is taboo.

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2021, 10:52 am

Listen, I am not going to allow you to spam and derail another thread with your victimisation. I really don't care what you think.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 12th, 2021, 10:57 am

Habit7 wrote:Listen, I am not going to allow you to spam and derail another thread with your victimisation. I really don't care what you think.

Firstly, you were the one playing the victim card saying I'm bashing PNM and not UNC. Secondly, I was responding to your claims of hypocrisy. Lastly, you have no counter points so you're trying to save face. I was generous with the term counter points as what you put forward are lies, attempts at manipulation and propaganda.

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2021, 11:10 am

What you driving again?

I does walk and take bus because allyuh wannabe 1%-ers raff up all de US$.

So none fuh small people like me.

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh Trinis just jealous allyuh driving RORO, base model, trinicarsforsale beatouts, color band maxi and 280c H and pull bullers.

Safe driving.