Petrotrin refinery shut down

Redress10

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down?

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 8:45 pm

sinister_14 wrote:If the people of trinidad allow this action of petrotrin being shut down an allow who is responsible for petrotrin being in debt get away free....they really stupid.....it is not the workers fault this happen it is solely management and the governments fault....they mismanaged the company and did nothing until now...why???...to fill their pockets and their friend pockets with a new investment..
...open all yuh fuckkkking eyes nah the government only fuckkkkking up d people of trinidad...

The base wage rates for labourers, craft-workers, tradesmen, technicians, supervisory and clerical level staff at Petrotrin are significantly higher than the average rates within the industry. In many cases, they are more than double the market rates.
https://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrot ... rgy-sector

According to the Energy Chamber's data, a foreman at Petrotrin earns approximately $22,000 monthly compared to a foreman in the private oil sector who earned just above $12,000.

For senior level jobs however, the trend changes, with Petrotrin senior managers, in many cases earning less than their counterparts in the private oil sector.

A senior engineer at Petrotrin earns a minimum of around $30,000, while the industry average is just under $45,000, a significant gap.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01- ... ges-higher.

OWTU had them dancing all the way off the cliff.
Last edited by Redress10 on August 28th, 2018, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 28th, 2018, 8:45 pm

sMASH wrote:^^sabga

ANSA McAL has 10 sectors of business that comprise the entire Group. I would think, if what you mentioned is true, that being in the energy sector now would allow the said Group to add 1 more sector unit to make it 11 by adding an "Energy" portfolio and thus have Niquan Energy listed there?

I mean, if this is true then why be so down low? It would have been much easier if we all knew that Niquan was a member of the ANSA McAL group. Just saying..

Postby sMASH » August 28th, 2018, 8:54 pm

becauuuuusssseeee,u cant really come out and buy over a state property especially when it have sentiments about the 1% buying out every thing, and reallll lay offs involed.
come nah man.... i mean, if u hornin u bredrin, at least do it when he not around,,, doh play yuh self when he there to see. :?

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 28th, 2018, 8:58 pm

I see, thanks for the insight.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 9:02 pm

Cyah wait for Petrotrin to be rebranded as Trintoc. LMAO

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » August 28th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Redress10 wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:If the people of trinidad allow this action of petrotrin being shut down an allow who is responsible for petrotrin being in debt get away free....they really stupid.....it is not the workers fault this happen it is solely management and the governments fault....they mismanaged the company and did nothing until now...why???...to fill their pockets and their friend pockets with a new investment..
...open all yuh fuckkkking eyes nah the government only fuckkkkking up d people of trinidad...

The base wage rates for labourers, craft-workers, tradesmen, technicians, supervisory and clerical level staff at Petrotrin are significantly higher than the average rates within the industry. In many cases, they are more than double the market rates.

According to the Energy Chamber's data, a foreman at Petrotrin earns approximately $22,000 monthly compared to a foreman in the private oil sector who earned just above $12,000.

For senior level jobs however, the trend changes, with Petrotrin senior managers, in many cases earning less than their counterparts in the private oil sector.

A senior engineer at Petrotrin earns a minimum of around $30,000, while the industry average is just under $45,000, a significant gap.

I hear what you are saying but if management didnt run the company to the ground and did proper servicing of the plants they would of produce more and profits would have been increased and the salary bill would seem smaller base on the profit....but they intentionally run it to the ground...but why judge these ppl on their salary...what they do the average person cannot do it....they put their life at risk every day working their....its like working on a ticking time bomb....i think these ppl deserve the salary....i could say that because i work in the energy industry...it have too much small minded ppl living in this country if someone works for money than them they hating..toting feeling...and glad to see them lose their job....

Postby gastly369 » August 28th, 2018, 9:14 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

I hear what you are saying but if management didnt run the company to the ground and did proper servicing of the plants they would of produce more and profits would have been increased and the salary bill would seem smaller base on the profit....but they intentionally run it to the ground...but why judge these ppl on their salary...what they do the average person cannot do it....they put their life at risk every day working their....its like working on a ticking time bomb....i think these ppl deserve the salary....i could say that because i work in the energy industry...it have too much small minded ppl living in this country if someone works for money than them they hating..toting feeling...and glad to see them lose their job....
That last few lines you typed is what I gathered from social media and tt ppl in general

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 9:20 pm

agent007 wrote:Interestingly enough, Ancil Roget made reference to this company and amongst other things where basically he was trying to say that something is up where future control/ownership of Petrotrin's E&P unit. Furthermore, the dude who made the video which circulated on social media where he brought information to us whilst driving his vehicle made references to this company.

Now this post is not a protest about the E&P shutdown and wider Petrotrin restructure as I support the government's decision on this one, however, I just want to know (if possible), who are the true owners of NiQuan Energy Trinidad Limited and what is their projected growth forecasts like or at least what is their short-to-medium term strategic plan? The typical web-search information obtained on NiQuan thus far reveals something very questionable.

questions asked already i guess

https://www.tv6tnt.com/originals/busine ... c600e.html

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » August 28th, 2018, 9:21 pm

gastly369 wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

That last few lines you typed is what I gathered from social media and tt ppl in general
But the ppl hating on these ppl do not understand the ripple effect of this.......these workers hire trade and skill worker to do work on their homes...they support bars..small parlour...taxi...small road side vendors...the list goes on and on...so let them keep hating soon it would reach them as well....

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 28th, 2018, 9:24 pm

sinister_14 wrote:I hear what you are saying but if management didnt run the company to the ground and did proper servicing of the plants they would of produce more and profits would have been increased and the salary bill would seem smaller base on the profit....but they intentionally run it to the ground...but why judge these ppl on their salary...what they do the average person cannot do it....they put their life at risk every day working their....its like working on a ticking time bomb....i think these ppl deserve the salary....i could say that because i work in the energy industry...it have too much small minded ppl living in this country if someone works for money than them they hating..toting feeling...and glad to see them lose their job....
There are no guarantees in life, whole industries and companies rise and fall all the time. Yes, management is to blame but if you are working for a company that is poorly run and know it going downhill and expecting nothing to happen you have to take some responsibility also.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » August 28th, 2018, 9:28 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:I hear what you are saying but if management didnt run the company to the ground and did proper servicing of the plants they would of produce more and profits would have been increased and the salary bill would seem smaller base on the profit....but they intentionally run it to the ground...but why judge these ppl on their salary...what they do the average person cannot do it....they put their life at risk every day working their....its like working on a ticking time bomb....i think these ppl deserve the salary....i could say that because i work in the energy industry...it have too much small minded ppl living in this country if someone works for money than them they hating..toting feeling...and glad to see them lose their job....
There are no guarantees in life, whole industries and companies rise and fall all the time. Yes, management is to blame but if you are working for a company that is poorly run and know it going downhill and expecting nothing to happen you have to take some responsibility also.
Yes i agree...but in companies like these...no manager is going to listen to an average employees concern...

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 9:29 pm

^ no but you could always make movements if you realise the direction they heading

car

Postby car » August 28th, 2018, 9:35 pm

bushwakka wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:What is an OWTU??

Official White Toteee Unit

Hope they start to import fuel quickly. Finally might get some good diesel.

bredda man, if u could afford the better quality diesel @ $11+/litre....gimme a wok in ur garden nah

Ultra low sulphur diesel = way more than the price of premium gas.
You will end up selling your diesel and buy a gas vehicle.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 9:36 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Where was OWTU and Rouget when this was occurring? Why didn't they down tools until management got a change. Why was all the action directed towards wage increases. A powerful union such as OWTU couldn't bring management to its knees? Oh please....Collective responsibility my friend. There needs to be a public enquiry into Petrotrin that would hold management and politicians to account. Right now we are dealing with 2018 operational limits. A company such as Petrotrin if it was in the private sector would have been shut down years ago...Those are facts.

Who cares...It's a job they choose and the benefits were part of what attracted them to the job in the first place. Why do we still promote this belief that this job belongs to these people and these people alone? These jobs don't belong to OWTU. This collective group think and behaviour is what have us in this position. Before there can be work there needs to be a viable product. Does Petrotrin has a viable product or is it a political product? If the Refinery can run with only 800 people then so be it. Jeeez...We produce a lowly 40,000 barrels of oil per day. This isn't rocket science.

Between Petrotrin and Clico taxpayers fitting a 50 billion dollar bill? That's more than our national budgest....WTF

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 9:39 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:
Yes i agree...but in companies like these...no manager is going to listen to an average employees concern...

BUT you claim to be OWTU...A UNION....What average employee you talking about? How refinery could shut down for wage increases and to apply political pressure but for operational and managerial concerns you all become "average employees" :? :? :?

Hear nah....Trinis really frigging conveniently bipolar inno
Last edited by Redress10 on August 28th, 2018, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 28th, 2018, 9:40 pm

Have men saying petro cyar shut down dan. Dey there to stay!
tr1ad wrote:^ no but you could always make movements if you realise the direction they heading

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 28th, 2018, 9:40 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Soo..since we're 'cleaning up', eliminating wastage and saving the country's economy and what not, who's next? WASA, TTEC, TSTT..Cabinet?

Refinery shutting down in the coming months according to Espinet and then out of the blue, some saviour company, origins unknown, will place a bid for it.

The_Honourable wrote:Ok sooo... the rumors from last week was pretty much spot on?

It wasn't "fake news" according to Guy Smiley?

Bear in mind, this is the same Guy Smiley that magnified A&V in Parliament only to deny any affiliation to them when the 'Fake Oil' scandal unraveled..we still take them seriously?

Wasa and co are not in the kind of trouble Petrotrin was in. I think also, the fact that the repayment of Petrotrin's loans were due for next year also played a role in the decision

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 9:42 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Have men saying petro cyar shut down dan. Dey there to stay!
tr1ad wrote:^ no but you could always make movements if you realise the direction they heading

And that they did... Until the end

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 9:44 pm

There are so many refineries world wide and right here in the caribbean that shut down or pause due to unfavourable market conditions.

I really starting to wonder if men like Rouget and his "comrades" have any clue about the oil business. They sold people dreams that breathe a sense of entitlement into the country.
Last edited by Redress10 on August 28th, 2018, 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 28th, 2018, 9:47 pm

Everything was good till they strike for salary increase yunno..
Is like that jackass called roget had a plan with the hobbit and smiley.

Btw, kara is khan daughter? She bess

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 9:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:

There are so many refineries world wide and right here in the caribbean that shut down or pause due to unfavourable market conditions.

I really starting to wonder if men like Rouget and his "comrades" have any clue about the oil business.

shhh

oil ha morney dan

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 28th, 2018, 9:50 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

You cannot pay exorbitant salaries when you have no money for exploration, the life blood of your business, you don't even have money to pay back your debts. In addition, the refinery had a capacity of 140,000 barrels of oil a day while the Soldado and other fields only produce 40,000 making it necessary to import from Gabon and co. Paying exorbitant salaries in a case like that is absolute madness bruh. The reason private energy companies make money is because they keep their companies employment regime in line with their company's profiprofits. Some on the estate have 1 man doing the work of 2 or three employees. Protein is a state company so you don't expect them to be totally profit driven but oh gosh, they can't over do it any longer

Postby The_Honourable » August 28th, 2018, 9:51 pm

PETROTRIN'S PLIGHT

Last edited by The_Honourable on August 28th, 2018, 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » August 28th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Redress10 wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:

BUT you claim to be OWTU...A UNION....What average employee you talking about? How refinery could shut down for wage increases and to apply political pressure but for operational and managerial concerns you all become "average employees" :? :? :?

You every worked in the energy industry or anywhere at all?

Postby The_Honourable » August 28th, 2018, 10:05 pm

PRESS RELEASE ON PETROTRIN by Vasant Bharath.

It is noteworthy that the announcement of the planned shutdown of the refinery of Petrotrin has emerged in the week of the observance of Trinidad and Tobago's 56th Anniversary of political independence.

Petrotrin is both an actual and symbolic expression of the nation's economic independence, since it is a flagship project and a core pursuit of our most prized and essential industry.

Its vision includes being ‘A high performing energy organisation, that delivers superior results to its shareholders every time, all the time’.

It is also the result of a dogged campaign by the people's sector for localisation of the commanding heights of the economy.

Petrotrin embodies Trinidad and Tobago's economic ambitions, our involvement in the most successful and vital sector in the global economic environment.

But Petrotrin is also the embodiment of poor corporate governance, expressed in bad policy decisions, wastage, corruption, nepotism -- and more.

Today, the pride of our energy sector stands bereft of the ability to ‘deliver superior results to its shareholders’ and is a testament of monumental debts, amounting to $13 billion, a lack of viability, resulting from an absence of innovation and of weak and indifferent leadership.

Most of this took place under the management of two so called energy czars, who have been honoured with the highest national awards and are lionised as icons.

Under their watch, the WGTL project cost taxpayers almost $3 billion, and yet the Rowley regime withdrew litigation for breach of fiduciary duties against the executive chairman and board of directors.

The cost of the gas optimisation project escalated from US $350 million to US $1.6 billion, and was delayed by several years.

The ultra-low sulphur diesel plant set taxpayers back by TT $3.1 billion, from an original budget of TT $780 million and requires a further $2billion to complete.

The structure of shame that is the ugly and incomplete corporate headquarters cost $170 million, and its land space was expanded from 60,000 to 168,000 square feet. It remains a painful and vivid reminder to thousands of motorists, on a daily basis, of mismanagement and squandermania of past PNM regimes.

There were other costly ventures, which led to staggering debt and to the downgrade of Petrotrin by international rating agencies.

Most of these projects were pioneered from 2003 to 2009, under successive PNM governments and when the current prime minister was an active and frontline member of the Cabinet.

Today, facing bond repayments of US$ 850mn in 2019 and US$750mn in 2022, with a wage bill in excess of twice the international average and adjudged by Solomon Associates, a leading global performance measurement company, as functioning in the bottom of the fourth quartile of the energy sector internationally, the future of the company’s operations look bleak.

The current state of the energy company is a legacy of the critical lack of national and industry planning, along with the absence of transparency and probity.

In fact, the Rowley regime shamelessly withdrew the legal action against the "energy czar" who masterminded the scandalous WGTL project, and even kept him as an important member of the National Energy Council.

Some of the very directors involved in WGTL are still hovering around Petrotrin, providing critical advice and bleeding the organisation.

Ultimately, over 2000 employees, and their families will be affected in addition to several ancillary businesses and their employees, which potentially can run into several thousand people being put on the breadline.

This will undoubtedly cause severe hardship and social and economic dislocation.

The critical question remains however is what has become of the Memorandum of Agreement signed in April 2018 between Petrotrin and the OWTU to establish a working committee comprising representatives of both parties that will work over the next 18 months to “address, resolve and agree on the four organisational structures, work processes and skills/competencies and manpower requirements which will make the company internationally competitive, thus ensuring its survival, sustainability and profitability.

This flagship venture has become a national financial albatross and the symbol of wretched governance of successive PNM regimes.

The collapse of the Petrotrin refinery is the result of systemic poor governance, also expressed at other loss-making State enterprise.

It is ironic that this is taking place while Trinidad and Tobago is celebrating national "independence."

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 28th, 2018, 10:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

I really starting to wonder if men like Rouget and his "comrades" have any clue about the oil business.

shhh

oil ha morney dan

Ofcourse it does....But do the ones we hire to manage it know how to make money from it. Remember, just because something is profitable doesn't mean that you know how to make it profitable. So if the people don't know how to get it then we will always be in a mess.

An oil refinery owned by the government of trinidad and tobago would operate differently to one owned by a private equity firm etc. Which one you think would be more efficient and be attractive to investors. Trinidad and Tobago don't operate in a vacuum. We need to seriously start bench marking and best practices. We need serious change and modern engineering plans.

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 10:07 pm

funny how opposition highlights what was done when they were not in power...

what did they do when they were in power though

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2018, 10:08 pm

Redress10 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

shhh

oil ha morney dan

Ofcourse it does....But do the ones we hire to manage it know how to make money from it. Remember, just because something is profitable doesn't mean that you know how to make it profitable. So if the people don't know how to get it then we will always be in a mess.

An oil refinery owned by the government of trinidad and tobago would operate differently to one owned by a private equity firm etc. Which one you think would be more efficient and be attractive to investors. Trinidad and Tobago don't operate in a vacuum. We need to seriously start bench marking and best practices. We need serious change and modern engineering plans.

sarcasm ... ah well
(in the industry over 20 years myself)

airuma

Postby airuma » August 28th, 2018, 10:11 pm

Redress10 wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:

Dind Ding Ding Ding Ding!!!!!!
And they are still coming here to say that they deserve the money and all the other rubbish about how they supporting the economy by patronizing local businesses as if no one else does. Most of these petrotrin employees overstate their importance and this is my issue with most of them. IMHO.... they are getting what was coming to them a long time ago! As I stated on another thread, if the management is incapable, the subordinates, who work according to their directive, cannot be doing the job according to international best practice and while I will agree that this is no fault of the subordinates, at the same time, they are still NON-PERFORMERS!

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » August 28th, 2018, 10:20 pm

I really wish people would listen to both sides of a story before passing judgement. This government and by extension Petrotrin’s corrupted board of directors have successfully convinced the general public that employees are the ones to blame for the financial situation which they face. Not highlighting the truth...

false information regarding workers salaries and also that wages make up 50% of the company’s expenditure when in truth it’s only 11%.

Spending billions of dollars on the GTL plant, turn around and sell it to a foreign company for under 30 million. A plant which they have stated is ready to run. Was there a tender process to sell this? Do you think you can approach a state owned company and buy a part of their property just so? Ask yourself how that just happen dry just so. The same plant which was intended to make petrotrin viable once again

Closing down a refinery... only sell crude oil to pay a debt? How? Not increase production and marketability? Then import fuel to sell locally?

Once sold it’s easy to sell this same refinery just as they did the GTL plant to another private company. For the country to now be faced with whatever fuel prices that they deem necessary? Are we as a country prepared for that or isn’t things hard enough on its own.

Everyone agrees that something needs to be done. But this is definitely not the way, make petrotrin viable once again and stop lying to the general public. You all are sending us as a country straight back to the days of slavery. With absolutely zero plan for the future. People need to know the truth and understand what type of “racket” is taking place by this corrupted government. Open your eyes now or you too would feel it in the very near future. This isn’t about petrotrin alone this is about our country. There are hundreds of other companies/contractors/suppliers who all depend on the business aspect from this company. When this fails so too will all the other fence lined businesses. So please open your eyes to the bigger picture. Unless you have no issues with paying $60 for an LPG gas tank to cook and $10 for a short drop.
The same people that passing their mouth on petrotrin today are the same ones who does ask yuh “ so you working there? Yuh can’t get a lil wuk for meh? Talk to somebody please” now you’re up in arms... smhhh