paid_influencer wrote:100k a year is like 2k a week
that isn't subsistence level spending
which i believe is zoom's whole point.
the credit card leading you to spend more than you normally would. the points and miles etc is just gimmickry to fool chupid people
I don't need nor care about a credit score.adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:Thanks,The_Honourable wrote:st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.
cash is king.
pay the plenty money to the travel agencies ent?
cash is king
Zoom and many others have the means to open bank accounts outside of T&T and get debit cards. Debit cards outside T&T is just like credit cards with the VISA or Mastercard logo. It's only in the past few years here in T&T that linx and the banks upgraded to visa debit cards but with limited features. If it wasn't for our forex situation, you can shop online with your debit card. Right now you can only pay utility bills online with your debit card but it's iffy across different banks.
The downside with debit cards for me is that it's directly connected to your bank account so if your debit card gets compromised online, the money is deducted directly from your bank account. I avoid this by having a second account with limited funds ($100 lol) and have the debit card connected to that account alone. If I want to do big purchases, i just transfer funds from my primary to my secondary account and then make the purchase.
Some people were either lucky or ahead of the curve by establishing accounts outside T&T and now they are benefitting.
I was waiting for some to highlight these facts. I did state before that I saw this issues will happen in Trinidad some 20 years ago and set out on banking overseas for me to not reach a state where I can't get forex.
I remember the days when a citizen could only get 600US from the banks per year, and that was stamped on ur passport on what US you got. When that was removed, Trinis was wild with careless US spending and not concerned with the future.
There are countless other Trinis that have bank roll abroad and don't rely on the Trini dollar, they are very careful with money.
Trinidad Card problems all lies with Forex and mismanagement by the PNM Government in favour of 1%.
Trinidad is under economic slavery when you have tuners asking how to buy airfare tickets online without a CC.
As for CC users that spend 100k in order to get 1k back, you tell me if that makes sense when u could have invested that and probably make 5% or more depending on investment. Then again, those spending 100k probably have very large cash flow. But the agv trini on 20k per month that is not feasible.
You will always hear they pay it back at the end of month, which is very few, why not hear about those who can't pay it off.
This is just a stupid response.
Only a sufferer would think that a financially literate person spends money just to get money back in points.
Buy your items with a UK debit card:
- Lose protection offered by section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act.
- Lose the month of interest that you could have earned while that money was still in a bank account.
- Lose cash back benefits and award points.
- Pay foreign transaction fees outside of the UK for most UK-based debit cards.
Or, get the benefits of a UK-based account with a credit card from a bank like Chase - no foreign transaction fees, no annual fee, travel and cash awards, fraud protection, extended warranty, purchase protection, etc. - if you have the credit score and can prove your income.
If you can't prove income, and don't have a decent credit score, you will just need to keep on swiping the debit card at checkout. Then log on to tuner and rant about the evils of a credit card.
Bro, while they yap about credit scores my Airbnb brings in US.MaxPower wrote:Zoom you eh fed up get bobolize bro?
paid_influencer wrote:I do all that stuff for less than 1k a week and I have 0 debt.
anybody's income can become "subsistence" level if your lifestyle upsizes enough
for $52,000 a year, for a 2-car family, and you live a reasonably comfortable life, you're better than 99% of the people in the world.pay for groceries, utilities, gas, insurance, phone, schoolbooks and uniforms, basic medical bills, home maintenance. etc.
The old injuns were smarter than present day folkspaid_influencer wrote:zoom tell me about old indian people
you think them used to spend that kind of money and call it subsistence
From Caroni daysChimera wrote:Big up zoom. But don't compare yourself to the masses.
You worked in the steel industry in the 80s not so?
So you're probably 50 plus now?
st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
in this example, a family of 4 who could more than afford to go.
st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
like he have no answer.![]()
Debit card
like u really hadda pay travel agencies 30% more vs $150/yr credit card scam
zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
like u really hadda pay travel agencies 30% more vs $150/yr credit card scamScreenshot_20241209_194137_Samsung%20Internet.jpg
zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
like u really hadda pay travel agencies 30% more vs $150/yr credit card scamScreenshot_20241209_194137_Samsung%20Internet.jpg
Yup it's donest7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
what you really showing me here? how someone in trinidad going to pay this with a debit card? lol
Total bullśhitadnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
Apparently, Lil Z doesn't understand that BA does not accept cash to purchase an airline ticket. And, BA will only accept debit cards for the purchase of airline tickets if those debit cards are issued in Spain or the UK.
Cash is king and stupid is queen.
zoom rader wrote:Yup it's donest7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
what you really showing me here? how someone in trinidad going to pay this with a debit card? lol
If the cost is in TT u can use a local debit card.st7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Yup it's donest7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
how? since when you could use a TT debit card for online transactions?
zoom rader wrote:If the cost is in TT u can use a local debit card.st7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Yup it's donest7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
The_Honourable wrote:zoom rader wrote:If the cost is in TT u can use a local debit card.st7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Yup it's donest7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:st7 wrote:st7 wrote:i still waiting to hear Zoom's solution for someone who wants to purchase tickets with another airline to travel out of CAL's reach with a local debit card.
Debit card
Correct... st7 yuh late
Once the linx cards was upgraded to the visa chip debit cards, you can do online TT transactions and very limited US transactions. However, it is iffy across banks. Try paying your bills online with your linx/visa debit card and you'll see for yourself.
The chip card upgrades were done during covid. Scotia was the first to have it since 2018 or so.
Doesn't sound very responsible that you can't pay off everything.MaxPower wrote:This Xmas i can’t pay off everything on the CC before the interest come…too much damage done.
But it go pay off.
That’s the point of credit.
Max , max out the rest of ur CCMaxPower wrote:This Xmas i can’t pay off everything on the CC before the interest come…too much damage done.
But it go pay off.
Nah, max kool .st7 wrote:allyuh know max trolling just to antagonize zoom right? and zoom biting that bait hard lol
Dave wrote:Doesn't sound very responsible that you can't pay off everything.MaxPower wrote:This Xmas i can’t pay off everything on the CC before the interest come…too much damage done.
But it go pay off.