What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby zoom rader » January 19th, 2016, 6:59 pm

Well yes taxes on books.

Well done PNM

Postby shogun » January 19th, 2016, 8:14 pm

Funny to see all the "sufferers ched" alumni complaining/beatupping about paying ANY new taxes

How you coming off as a nouveau sufferer so ZR?

The country needs us... PAY UP! :lol:

Postby j.o.e » January 19th, 2016, 8:40 pm

ZR about that gimme gimme life for a while now

Postby j.o.e » January 19th, 2016, 8:49 pm

De Dragon wrote:Don't add taxes to people and say it is better for their health, that reeks of sanctimonioussness, smugness and arrogance

http://nypost.com/2015/02/20/proposed-f ... bloomberg/

An influential nutritional panel sounded the alarm Thursday against sugary drinks and recommended taxing sodas to help stem America’s obesity problem.

“Higher sugar-sweetened-beverage taxes may encourage consumers to reduce sugar-sweetened-beverage consumption,” the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee said in a 571-page report Thursday.

The nutrition-focused panel even suggested that soda-tax revenues could subsidize much healthier fruits and vegetables.

The heavy-duty federal recommendation was vindication for Bloomberg.

The former mayor tried but failed to impose taxes and portion limits on sugary drinks.

“This esteemed Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee has caught up with New York City,” said Dr. Thomas Farley, Bloom­berg’s health commissioner who was the architect behind the anti-soda push.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 19th, 2016, 8:50 pm

There should not even be a VAT exempt list ... this is what I am most pissed off at this govahment. VAT should be on all items. End the freeness now.

Postby S_2NR » January 20th, 2016, 1:43 am

drchaos wrote:There should not even be a VAT exempt list ... this is what I am most pissed off at this govahment. VAT should be on all items. End the freeness now.

OK to ending freeness if those idiots dont squander and thief tax dollars and actually use it effectively

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 20th, 2016, 3:15 am

$90million to be spent on tarouba stadium vs staffing children's hospital?
yup sounds logical....hopefully have it up and running to host international events and thus earn some income...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2016, 3:42 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:$90million to be spent on tarouba stadium vs staffing children's hospital?
yup sounds logical....hopefully have it up and running to host international events and thus earn some income...

The benefits of hosting any major sporting event is sketchy to say the least for the host country. Take the CPL for example, the GORTT had to spend somewhere in the region of 20+m dollars to bid and win for us the right to host the semis and final last year. State Enterprises like NGC and Petrotrin further spent millions sponsoring the red steel and advertising in the Oval etc. We have to hear bout intangibles as the benefits - taxi men, hotels, restaurants benefiting etc. You really think we got 30m worth of benefits just to break even from last year's CPL??

The payback for a stadium that cost more than 1 billion dollars will be 1000 years.

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2016, 5:57 am

What of the highway?
Give us stadium and leave the highway hung up?

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 20th, 2016, 7:06 am

This looks like they gonna abandon couva hospital just like the last administration abandoned the stadium, looks like a tit for tat situation.

Postby Redman » January 20th, 2016, 7:12 am

nervewrecker wrote:What of the highway?
Give us stadium and leave the highway hung up?

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

Franklin Khan said that they are looking for financing and talking with OAS.

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2016, 7:13 am

shogun wrote:Funny to see all the "sufferers ched" alumni complaining/beatupping about paying ANY new taxes

How you coming off as a nouveau sufferer so ZR?

The country needs us... PAY UP! :lol:

Country needs us while PNM financiers tote away the money, boats sinking with baking soda

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2016, 1:53 am

j.o.e wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Don't add taxes to people and say it is better for their health, that reeks of sanctimonioussness, smugness and arrogance

http://nypost.com/2015/02/20/proposed-f ... bloomberg/

An influential nutritional panel sounded the alarm Thursday against sugary drinks and recommended taxing sodas to help stem America’s obesity problem.

“Higher sugar-sweetened-beverage taxes may encourage consumers to reduce sugar-sweetened-beverage consumption,” the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee said in a 571-page report Thursday.

The nutrition-focused panel even suggested that soda-tax revenues could subsidize much healthier fruits and vegetables.

The heavy-duty federal recommendation was vindication for Bloomberg.

The former mayor tried but failed to impose taxes and portion limits on sugary drinks.

“This esteemed Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee has caught up with New York City,” said Dr. Thomas Farley, Bloom­berg’s health commissioner who was the architect behind the anti-soda push.

:? :?
I fail to see your point. A duly appointed committee advised the State of New York, the key word being advised, that sugary drinks be taxed as a way to maybe "encourage consumers to reduce sugar-sweetened-beverage consumption" Here we have a MoH upon facing a public outcry, saying essentially well the tax will benefit you to eat healthier anyway (never mind that we're adding VAT to tuna and yoghurt). Chalk and cheese my friend. Nobody shoved it down New Yorkers throats is my point.

Postby Redman » January 21st, 2016, 2:20 am

Based on their tax...I'm gonna buy 12.5% less salt.

Blasted PNM. :roll:
Last edited by Redman on January 21st, 2016, 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 7:26 am

Jah bless the PNM as we live in tropical country where salt is vital for survival.

Next PNM go tax air cause it free

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 21st, 2016, 8:25 am

How much salt allyuh buying so? :lol:

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 5:35 pm

We should all do like Ghandi and make our salt.

It was Salt that brought down the British Empire after they tried to tax it in India

Postby RASC » January 21st, 2016, 6:44 pm

Real Sufferers in this thread yes...
Complaining about a $1500/year bill on a million dollar house.
Sufferer status CONFIRMED!

$3 increase on their organic free range gluten free GMO free Yogurt -Riot Gear Ready?

Sufferer Banton CONFIRMED!

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2016, 10:47 pm

RASC wrote:Real Sufferers in this thread yes...
Complaining about a $1500/year bill on a million dollar house.
Sufferer status CONFIRMED!

$3 increase on their organic free range gluten free GMO free Yogurt -Riot Gear Ready?

Sufferer Banton CONFIRMED!

And your bobolee status confirmed, but then I guess when iz yuh own bulling yuh in yuh buttam, iz orright.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 22nd, 2016, 8:18 am

I hear them mcs now looking for money to pay public servants specifically MoH/RHA workers.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 22nd, 2016, 6:24 pm

rowlie say vat on books justified because we are not a reading country....

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2016, 7:41 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:rowlie say vat on books justified because we are not a reading country....

Well this is true.

Trini is nasty country whose culture is fete and carnival and then every man jack broke in the aftermath

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 22nd, 2016, 7:58 pm

My 2cents Rowley is like how I knew it go play out.secondly de Syrian capitalism mafia back in power as the working class have been left a luxury of a decent ride.then I should touch on the topic of the vat which is smh and imbert is like a Bert on sesame Street another dumb puppet.where in their right minds u cud tink food would go up by 50 dollars which again would cause further strain and leaving the mega supermarkets to feed as we are a nation love out bellies.tell allyuh since d subsidiary on gas price removing I could is the further conspiracy for the working class to suffer as the government enjoy their fatty foods and free lifestyle. Why won't rowley and his cabinet take a cut

Postby shogun » January 22nd, 2016, 7:59 pm

^ Translation anyone?

Also, you on the No Fly List ZR? Why don't you leave?

Postby Morpheus » January 22nd, 2016, 8:06 pm

Uhmmm.....you know they removed the subsidy from Premium fuel years ago right? From around $160 to fill I went to around $240. So ease up and pay allyuh lil $13 something extra nah.....

And I am certainly not an "Audi or BMW driver"........

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2016, 7:37 am

shogun wrote:^ Translation anyone?

RASC and Habit7 left years ago but they had to run back to trini under dubious circumstances. Ask them why they left

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 23rd, 2016, 9:52 pm

Allu fellars realize that they devaluing the US dollar very quietly right in front we eye?

USD at RB yesterday was 6.49 ...

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 11:48 am

shogun wrote:^ Translation anyone?

RASC and Habit7 left years ago but they had to run back to trini under dubious circumstances. Ask them why they left

Nah zr, dem fellas come back because dey love dey country bad bad...........

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2016, 12:12 pm

drchaos wrote:Allu fellars realize that they devaluing the US dollar very quietly right in front we eye?

PNM ppl duh notice these things.
Once it's fete them up front

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 24th, 2016, 1:09 pm

drchaos wrote:Allu fellars realize that they devaluing the US dollar very quietly right in front we eye?

PNM ppl duh notice these things.
Once it's fete them up front

as long as we realize that a 20-30% increase in the exchange rate also translates as 20_30% in import bill. all how.. some corporations gonna have to shut down. this is exactly what was going on and china halted trading of 3 major offshor banks. you cannot just let a corporation undermine your economic stability with hole in the bucket foreign reserve drain strategy.

and all you go do is standup and watch? you hadda be a damn jackass. then to solve the problem you tax the bejeezus out of anything yuh could see? while the drain still running faster than the income.

tell me what the firetruck that solving?

but allyuh does say i mustnt cuss.