STORM1234

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby STORM1234 » October 15th, 2015, 9:33 pm

EATING DOUBLES CAN RUIN YOUR HEALTH
by Noel Kalicharan
I stopped eating doubles a few years ago when I learned about the dangers that modern wheat posed to our health (destroys gut flora thus weakening the immune system, making you vulnerable to a host of diseases, and it gives you “wheat belly”). More generally, I stopped eating anything containing wheat (white flour, whole-wheat flour, white bread, whole-wheat bread, any-number-of-grains bread, cake, pastries, biscuits, you get the idea).
Apart from the flour used to make the bara, it is probably fried in polyunsaturated vegetable oil (like corn oil, sunflower, soy bean or canola oil), making it “doubly” unhealthy. (Polyunsaturated oils increase the risk of cancer, among other bad things.)
Once again, I advocate the use of the healthiest oil on the planet, coconut oil, and beseech the Government to remove the 40 per cent duty levied on it, making it more affordable to all. I guarantee it will reduce the health bill of the country. But I digress.
Read the full story here : http://www.guardian.co.tt/…/eating-doubles-can-ruin-your-he…

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2015, 6:46 am

nick639 wrote:I stop chase village today and buy from a white van.. $5 for one 20$ for 5

I could live with that normal

That doubles eh so hot nah..

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

Postby Slartibartfast » October 16th, 2015, 7:45 am

twicedead2 wrote:EATING DOUBLES CAN RUIN YOUR HEALTH
by Noel Kalicharan
I stopped eating doubles a few years ago when I learned about the dangers that modern wheat posed to our health (destroys gut flora thus weakening the immune system, making you vulnerable to a host of diseases, and it gives you “wheat belly”). More generally, I stopped eating anything containing wheat (white flour, whole-wheat flour, white bread, whole-wheat bread, any-number-of-grains bread, cake, pastries, biscuits, you get the idea).
Apart from the flour used to make the bara, it is probably fried in polyunsaturated vegetable oil (like corn oil, sunflower, soy bean or canola oil), making it “doubly” unhealthy. (Polyunsaturated oils increase the risk of cancer, among other bad things.)
Once again, I advocate the use of the healthiest oil on the planet, coconut oil, and beseech the Government to remove the 40 per cent duty levied on it, making it more affordable to all. I guarantee it will reduce the health bill of the country. But I digress.
Read the full story here : http://www.guardian.co.tt/…/eating-doubles-can-ruin-your-he…

Calling doubles a healthy meal is like eating KFC for the protein cuz you going gym.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:03 am

rspann wrote:Up to now I still trying to figure how these men know who paying and who not paying tax,like they working Inland Revenue? They only beating up on the doubles man,but the same fried flour with a piece of fried fish or shark is $30-$35, but that is not a problem .A kiss sandwich loaf is flour and water with plenty air and is $13,no problem. Figure out what is the real problem. No matter how much apartments being built all being rented,and the Government cannot provide enough houses. Some of the renters will never qualify for a mortgage,where they will live? Syrians renting to the Government why you don't come down on them? PH drivers paying tax?, Corn soup vendors ? DVD vendors? I could go on and on. One set of outsiders not paying tax and burdening the health system and national security system, but fellas here only seeing what they want to see.

You have to understand that this doubles thing is a spin off from elections.

All doubles is injun and should not be put into office. I said that Syrian gyros gone up and not a man squeek. Doubles is seen as the enemy here but Charlee black pudding in San Do gone to $30 a pound and injun still buying, dem ent complaining . But PNM ppl complaining about their staple diet.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 10:09 am

rspann wrote:Up to now I still trying to figure how these men know who paying and who not paying tax,like they working Inland Revenue? They only beating up on the doubles man,but the same fried flour with a piece of fried fish or shark is $30-$35, but that is not a problem .A kiss sandwich loaf is flour and water with plenty air and is $13,no problem. Figure out what is the real problem. No matter how much apartments being built all being rented,and the Government cannot provide enough houses. Some of the renters will never qualify for a mortgage,where they will live? Syrians renting to the Government why you don't come down on them? PH drivers paying tax?, Corn soup vendors ? DVD vendors? I could go on and on. One set of outsiders not paying tax and burdening the health system and national security system, but fellas here only seeing what they want to see.

You have to understand that this doubles thing is a spin off from elections.

All doubles is injun and should not be put into office. I said that Syrian gyros gone up and not a man squeek. Doubles is seen as the enemy here but Charlee black pudding in San Do gone to $30 a pound and injun still buying, dem ent complaining . But PNM ppl complaining about their staple diet.

My point exactly zr. And to make matters worse yet 95% of people fail to even realize doubles eh even gone up since 2008. How many of them working for the same salary they were in 2008, unions had at least 2 to 3 rounds of negotiations since then. But no, by PNM logic, doubles men alone 'robbing' them....it is quite amusing behavior to observe.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:16 am

^^^ Duh worry PNM and unions join together now so it the working force that will loose out in the long run. Expect unemployment figures to slowly rise under PNM which has always been the case. Box drains and rural development has come to halt , PNM does nothing for rural development especially if its an Injun area. Frankly Khan has the easiness job in PNM as minster of doing nothing.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 10:24 am

Yup add the soon to be seen Nepotism, incompetent arrogant ministers (already seen), increased inflation especially in Real Estate and Food prices.

Come 2020:
- Doubles will be close to $8
- A cheap house $2M
- The return of the always trustworthy SAUTT
- All serious crime up 50%
- Murder rate close to 700/year
- More Taxes everywhere

People think is joke, but this is exactly where we were headed. And PNM still banking on oil and gas increasing to fund their rapid rail.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:29 am

^^^ Crime already up under PNM.
2Million for a house is cheap by todays standards
When PNM in power you always have to spend money to fix car cause PNM dont do road repairs
PNM is now filled with form one Junior Sec type MPs

Postby Slartibartfast » October 16th, 2015, 10:38 am

I think the real reason the doubles men getting flak is because of their timing. They literally could not pick a worse time to announce a price increase. To make the increase so suddenly just made the problem worse.

They would have gotten a lot less criticism if there was talk of them discussing the price after the gas increase. Then they could say well this gas increase was the final nail in the coffin when coupled with the inflation of everything else over the past few years. Then they could give a date that the increase would take effect, like January 1st 2016. That way people would see it as a well thought out and planned move.

By making the increase the morning after the budget when gas prices raised with no prior warning of any kind makes it seem like it was a reactionary move. What makes it even worse it that a lot of doubles men them aren't even in agreement with it which makes it seem like more of a spite move by some of the doubles men. I'm not saying this is the case, I am just saying this is what it looks like.

Zoom Racist, maybe you can answer this. Are there any PNM doubles men? If yes, have any of them raised the price of their doubles?

Postby 1UZFE » October 16th, 2015, 10:42 am

As i said before. Only a FEW doubles men raise their price im sure no one here can list 5 doubles vendors raised their price. How every doubles vendor getting make out. Its like sayin all PNM persons are illiterate.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2015, 10:48 am

I eat doubles this morning

Still $3 for 1

Postby Slartibartfast » October 16th, 2015, 10:52 am

1UZFE wrote:As i said before. Only a FEW doubles men raise their price im sure no one here can list 5 doubles vendors raised their price. How every doubles vendor getting make out. Its like sayin all PNM persons are illiterate.

So true. It really seems like a spite move from a few vendors. Had doubles from the two old men opposite the OTB place on 55-57 park street this morning. They still selling for $4. The doubles decent but their sh!t talk is top class.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 17th, 2015, 7:03 am

if i remember correctly, in 2005 i used to pay $4 for a coconut and $5 in QPS. Now in 2015 is $7 and $10 in QPS. Fuel didnt go up, cutlass prices didnt go up, coconut trees get a lil taller an yet prices gone up, no body aint say boo and that is tax free money too an less wuk than making doubles.

civicman

Postby civicman » October 17th, 2015, 7:23 am

screwbash wrote:if i remember correctly, in 2005 i used to pay $4 for a coconut and $5 in QPS. Now in 2015 is $7 and $10 in QPS. Fuel didnt go up, cutlass prices didnt go up, coconut trees get a lil taller an yet prices gone up, no body aint say boo and that is tax free money too an less wuk than making doubles.

So true

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 17th, 2015, 8:17 am

civicman wrote:
screwbash wrote:if i remember correctly, in 2005 i used to pay $4 for a coconut and $5 in QPS. Now in 2015 is $7 and $10 in QPS. Fuel didnt go up, cutlass prices didnt go up, coconut trees get a lil taller an yet prices gone up, no body aint say boo and that is tax free money too an less wuk than making doubles.

So true

what is also true is that i stopped buying coconut from vendors completely. last time i drink that i was hanging with tourists and showing them around. and them pay! and i not lying. same thing will happen with $5 doubles. because i sure.. for about $40 worth of ingredients i could make 100 doubles home if i want doubles so bad. seriously tho, the buck stops at $5 for me.

i used to put down 10 doubles. when it raise to 4, i stopped buying for 2 years. and then like now i just buy 2... maybe 3 if i both hungry and on the move and it tastin good. just enough to carry me until i can get some real food. if they go $5 that number will fluctuate between 0 and 1. and well its game over if i get fedup and make doubles home. done have a padna want we try the doubles recipe online for we friday lime.

and i will add.. i does get internally vex when i go to buy doubles and it have no cucumber or roast pepper. dont care for d sweet mango sauce but they always have that.. steups.

Postby 1UZFE » October 17th, 2015, 8:44 am

^^So wait nah.
U buyin oil, flour, channa, salt, curry, geera, mango, cucumber, sugar, massala, seasoning, safron", pepper, black pepper, onion, etc. FOR $40. Wtf.... U shopping in 1930.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 17th, 2015, 9:44 am

Doh forget doubles men not supposed to charge for labor.

Is only the ingredients they supposed to charge we for.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 17th, 2015, 10:03 am

with respect to coconut it has a guy on my side, he does give he worker the pickup and $1000, he tells him he wants to see 1000 coconuts when he returns, the $1k is for him.

The guy returns with 1000 coconuts middle of the night. So he is infact paying $1 for a coconut and selling it back for $10. As for coconuts selling for $10 hmmm there could be a legitimate reason for that I think. Its called Lethal Yellowing Disease, the amount of trees we have that died from that and just remember those trees taking 5 years when you plant a new one eh.

So it is possible that is is why the price is so high because they can't find enough nuts to sell, but the most likely reason is Trinis are just willing to pay $10 so they sell it for $10. This is also a niche market, not many going and climb a tree with a million biting ants in 8 feet tall bush and having to make multiple trips to different areas to get a pickup load. So all that could be in play, hopefully bluewaters will reduce the price of coconuts a little when they start to bottle and sell.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 17th, 2015, 11:11 am

1UZFE wrote:^^So wait nah.
U buyin oil, flour, channa, salt, curry, geera, mango, cucumber, sugar, massala, seasoning, safron", pepper, black pepper, onion, etc. FOR $40. Wtf.... U shopping in 1930.

but.. i have all them ting in meh kitchen right now and always do. coconut milk powder too! lol so out of what i already have in stock i might use $40 worth lel

Postby 1UZFE » October 17th, 2015, 11:15 am

I now see y men calling u chupid in d other threads.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 17th, 2015, 11:19 am

1UZFE wrote:I now see y men calling u chupid in d other threads.

not buyin $5 doubles bro. and u need to take a small lesson in exaggerations to make a point.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2015, 2:17 pm

Is how the media brings across these things is what makes this country react to little matters, this was a huge topic on the radio when the lone doubles vendor raised his....

Was acting like is the end of the world, but then again they friad Indian get more wealthy....

Postby desifemlove » October 17th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Daran wrote:Doh forget doubles men not supposed to charge for labor.

Is only the ingredients they supposed to charge we for.

Supposed? they can charge what they want...never heard the doubles pricing regs from dis PNM or UNC budgets....

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 17th, 2015, 8:02 pm

Gyro really gone up by 5 dollars and the lines long with no complaints ...gyro man Givin attitude too. .

Postby 1UZFE » October 17th, 2015, 8:03 pm

Dan. I does loud up dem gyto men all d time. Fak d doubles men but when an illegal immigrant playin up is loud up.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 17th, 2015, 10:32 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Gyro really gone up by 5 dollars and the lines long with no complaints ...gyro man Givin attitude too. .

gyro man hadda pay me to eat he damn lettuce and roti yes ..

I not paying 45 dollars for something I can make at home steups

Postby Chimera » October 17th, 2015, 10:36 pm

Eurogirl im just curious.. ..what type of fastfoods or outside food do you buy?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 17th, 2015, 10:55 pm

umm it depends on my mood

Breakfast : doubles by shaun in valpark once im not late for work , if i am starve , sushi
Lunch : Subway , greasy lady food by peakes ( avg $30.00) , cafeteria food, sushi
Dinner : massy stores currant roll and fruta ( no lie i don't have time sometimes or im too tired to go home n cook lol ) , tnt bar a box of hong kong squid for or kfc real deal , sushi .

doh knock my sushi addiction ok its an expensive addiction

If i'm out liming I do go to dinner but it has to be somewhere i want to go or try new .

I have the same spices home , my anut gave me some and i did lamb and beef with it and it was yummy I even replicated a gyro !! it was yummy ! . i make authentic arabic food home roast lamb and fatoush , baba ganoush , rice with pine nuts , raisins , bulgur with pine nuts and dried apricots or tabouli my arab friends taught me ..

I don't really like gyros I don't think its worth the money or the taste . I use to like hassan's alot on the avenue but now ..not too much idk why

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 18th, 2015, 12:18 am

eurogirl wrote:umm it depends on my mood

Breakfast : doubles by shaun in valpark once im not late for work , if i am starve , sushi
Lunch : Subway , greasy lady food by peakes ( avg $30.00) , cafeteria food, sushi
Dinner : massy stores currant roll and fruta ( no lie i don't have time sometimes or im too tired to go home n cook lol ) , tnt bar a box of hong kong squid for or kfc real deal , sushi .

doh knock my sushi addiction ok its an expensive addiction

If i'm out liming I do go to dinner but it has to be somewhere i want to go or try new .

I have the same spices home , my anut gave me some and i did lamb and beef with it and it was yummy I even replicated a gyro !! it was yummy ! . i make authentic arabic food home roast lamb and fatoush , baba ganoush , rice with pine nuts , raisins , bulgur with pine nuts and dried apricots or tabouli my arab friends taught me ..

I don't really like gyros I don't think its worth the money or the taste . I use to like hassan's alot on the avenue but now ..not too much idk why

pics of this 'eurogirl'. willing to try a taste in your gyro. lol

but as though i bought gyro at hassans on the ave about 3 months ago and it was like $25 for one. since when is $45??

Postby De Dragon » October 18th, 2015, 3:37 am

Cook more local, eat out less, save bousands..............