Budget 2014/2015

Re: Budget 2014/2015

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2014, 7:50 pm

OK, say we build the train.
When that amount of people offload into a single city what you think is going to happen traffic wise.

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2014, 9:35 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Nah then only like red band maxi....steups. Eliteauto post your source.

Forget the source for the hour, I'll post it in a bit, but you have stated the PNM shut down Caroni, I'm asking you based on the knowledge you have that lead you to that conclusion, what are your thoughts on the statements made?

Postby pete » September 12th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Effectic seems to be confusing mass transit with mass teleportation.

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2014, 9:47 pm

nervewrecker wrote:OK, say we build the train.
When that amount of people offload into a single city what you think is going to happen traffic wise.

Every morning in POS 400 ppl instantly arrive from Sando via water taxi every hour. Some take buses to uptown, some walk. No major additional traffic added to the road.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Man wanna build a train like that...spend billions upon billions infrastructure...we go eat that train when we cant even buy some crix after?

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Well when you're pay +$10 per liter for gas, we still have the same traffic and an inefficient public transport system, you still can't buy crix.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2014, 11:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:OK, say we build the train.

Every morning in POS 400 ppl instantly arrive from Sando via water taxi every hour. Some take buses to uptown, some walk. No major additional traffic added to the road.

I get what you saying but in instances where people park their vehicles and board when they return thats say 1/4 of that 400 adding to the congestion at that particular point in time.
By the time they get out of there another 400 people done reach.

I'm not 100% against it btw

Postby Habit7 » September 13th, 2014, 8:40 am

Yeah true in Sando when they return there is some traffic but it's from the hospital visiting hours at the same time and no traffic wardens. But it clears up in 10mins.

Postby pete » September 13th, 2014, 10:31 am

A bus leaving every few minutes from main hubs like Chaguanas, San Fernando, Arima, Curepe and buses every half hour along main roads in more remote areas and there would be no need to drive.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 10:57 am

I agree there would be no need to drive if they have an alternative put in place and its properly managed. I shudder to think of such an expensive system coming onstream and management is equivalent to that of ptsc. San Fernando line does be out the next end and there will three buses lined up at an empty sangre grande hub. Dispatchers just chilling everybody docile and waiting so no need to reroute a bus.

I say put up a decent car park in the city's, let people pay to park, put a toll system in place for vehicles that don't have a full trip as an incentive for carpooling, more CNG stations with subsidized prices for CNG kits. Fix the roads to prevent these go slow drivers and put fines in place for who below the speed limit.
Then increase the fines for parking stupid and wreck like it have no tomorrow so instead of just throwing more $$$ into systems that act as plaster for a sore some income is being generated. Then talk rapid rail to me

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 13th, 2014, 11:13 am

d avg trinidadian have $$ " cud afford a car,therefore than majority wont give up the convenience of their personal transport!!!

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 11:50 am

That's why I said provide incentive.
There is a bus that runs from my home town straight to work and back home in the evening. Costs me $20.00 a day.
Didn't make sense using my car unless I have stuff to do and would miss the bus. That was incentive and convenience. Used to be punctual too but when they start messing up well I buy something that costs less than that bus.

Postby Habit7 » September 13th, 2014, 12:31 pm

But buses can be affected by traffic, weather, bad drive, mechanical problems, etc. Trains on a dedicated track, automated, with a single moving part electric engine powered by electricity from the track which is from the most efficient natural gas power plant, is the optimum form of transit from major urban area to another.

Buses could be used from the train hub to local destinations. This is already being done with the water taxi and it works swimmingly.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 1:05 pm

That's why they can reroute accordingly. Most of the time buses stuck in traffic by the flyovers. The ones that run straight north south make the trip faster.
But why have three empty buses parked up waiting on about 5 people to make a trip (sometimes try run empty) when you can allocate one to where it is needed? When the buses from the run return you reroute them to the route you took the buses from. By then it should have people waiting for a bus.

I have head stories like:

Bus shut down

That bus does only run that route, we can't reroute it

Have no driver

You miss the bus

We donno where that bus is

And all kind of Nancy story. Management sucks.

Again, I am not against mass transit but at the San Fernando port people park their vehicles and take the water taxi. When they return during peak hours they only contribute to the congestion.
All I am saying is put some measures / systems in place that can rake in some $$$ instead of spending again.

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Just to weigh in on the mass transit/transport debate
http://www.ptsc.co.tt/Tickets_and_Travel_.html

Is this sufficient? Is the schedule kept?

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 2:00 pm

Schedule not kept.

Where sando on that anyways?

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 2:54 pm

http://www.ptsc.co.tt/chaguanas-depot.html

http://www.ptsc.co.tt/san-fernando-depot.html

And there is the deluxe bus service in additional to the regular service

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2014, 6:12 pm

Seeing roodal presentation saying in 09 no contributions to hSF for that year.

It was at 3b in 2010
Now stands at 5.6b

The scene with vidara and 53m have any truth to it or jus using parliament to distract??

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 8:33 pm

rfari wrote:http://www.ptsc.co.tt/chaguanas-depot.html

http://www.ptsc.co.tt/san-fernando-depot.html

And there is the deluxe bus service in additional to the regular service

Oh ho, they have it like that.

The deluxe coach is another story. They don't mix matters and always punctual. Well worth the $10.00 fee to Sando. The hub is always clean and order is maintained.

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 8:42 pm

Never used the deluxe service but used the bus once recently. Last time before that was in secondary school days. Only suggestion for ptsc will be to have a real time bus schedule at the bus stops. Similar to subways with arrival times. Nothing special. Wirelessly updated 1"x1" led board

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 8:48 pm

16 cycles wrote:Seeing roodal presentation saying in 09 no contributions to hSF for that year.

It was at 3b in 2010
Now stands at 5.6b

The scene with vidara and 53m have any truth to it or jus using parliament to distract??

Questions.
1. In 2009, was there a surplus or deficit budget?
2. Would you borrow money to save?

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2014, 8:58 pm

rfari wrote:Never used the deluxe service but used the bus once recently. Last time before that was in secondary school days. Only suggestion for ptsc will be to have a real time bus schedule at the bus stops. Similar to subways with arrival times. Nothing special. Wirelessly updated 1"x1" led board

They should remove all that yankee dotishness they show on the screens in City gate and replace it with a valid time schedule to all destinations.

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 9:10 pm

bluefete wrote:
rfari wrote:Never used the deluxe service but used the bus once recently. Last time before that was in secondary school days. Only suggestion for ptsc will be to have a real time bus schedule at the bus stops. Similar to subways with arrival times. Nothing special. Wirelessly updated 1"x1" led board

They should remove all that yankee dotishness they show on the screens in City gate and replace it with a valid time schedule to all destinations.

That would be a start. Would be a nice project to track the buses and update the locations in realtime. Later on to develop an app

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2014, 10:22 pm

rfari wrote:1. In 2009, was there a surplus or deficit budget?

If you have a mortgage or borrow money for rennovations to your home, would you still try to save some money from your salary for a rainy day?

Postby rfari » September 13th, 2014, 10:29 pm

16 cycles wrote:
rfari wrote:1. In 2009, was there a surplus or deficit budget?

If you have a mortgage or borrow money for rennovations to your home, would you still try to save some money from your salary for a rainy day?

Yes

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 13th, 2014, 10:32 pm

I say put up a decent car park in the city's, let people pay to park, put a toll system in place for vehicles that don't have a full trip as an incentive for carpooling, more CNG stations with subsidized prices for CNG kits. Fix the roads to prevent these go slow drivers and put fines in place for who below the speed limit.
Then increase the fines for parking stupid and wreck like it have no tomorrow so instead of just throwing more $$$ into systems that act as plaster for a sore some income is being generated. Then talk rapid rail to me

This won't work, every three months 10,000 cars hits the already congested roads, the highways are packed constantly with traffic on every flyover at all hours of the day. There needs to be an alternative that doesn't use this medium.

kjaglal76v2 wrote:d avg trinidadian have $$ " cud afford a car,therefore than majority wont give up the convenience of their personal transport!!!

You will be surprised at some of the people that use the water taxi currently, its about time saved. If you prefer to be on the road for 2 hours in your car thats ok, but many prefer the take 40 mins on the seas, do a little work on their laptops and relax rather than battle it out on the road every day.

nervewrecker wrote:That's why they can reroute accordingly. Most of the time buses stuck in traffic by the flyovers. The ones that run straight north south make the trip faster.
But why have three empty buses parked up waiting on about 5 people to make a trip (sometimes try run empty) when you can allocate one to where it is needed? When the buses from the run return you reroute them to the route you took the buses from. By then it should have people waiting for a bus.

I have head stories like:

Bus shut down

That bus does only run that route, we can't reroute it

Have no driver

You miss the bus

We donno where that bus is

And all kind of Nancy story. Management sucks.

Again, I am not against mass transit but at the San Fernando port people park their vehicles and take the water taxi. When they return during peak hours they only contribute to the congestion.
All I am saying is put some measures / systems in place that can rake in some $$$ instead of spending again.

There is only so much re-routing that can be done. For example, Beethamites decide they need a handout, the block the beetham, the only options for thousands are the Lady Young and the PBR and the Eastern Main Road, at this time both Buses and cars will be diverted to one of these routes thus causing congestion and the buses will face the same traffic the cars face.

With a Train, like the water taxi it provides another option, meaning another way of leaving the city. Trains are cost efficient (electric) and fast, they are not hindered by traffic and does not share roads like our buses currently do, and this thing about, billions in cost and trinis can't run stuff, we have many people working in the oil and gas industry and thats doing fine. Also the cost of the subsidy is 4 billion.

I don't know about you all but I would prefer a Train and no subsidy rather that a whole lot of CNG cars and no subsidy

Cliffs

Train - Best Idea
CNG - Good idea for environment (but bad idea for traffic)
Buses - Bad idea

Postby The_Honourable » September 13th, 2014, 11:37 pm

As you mention the Beethamites src1983, I hope they don't put the train track near the beetham area... they blocking it for sure.

Postby desifemlove » September 13th, 2014, 11:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ think about the time wasted in traffic, how much more productive the workforce would be with a train going around Trinidad at 300KM/H We could recover 5 hours of our life everyday that we spend in traffic. Dude can you imagine going to any beach in this country within minutes?

How would you feel about going to west mall all the way from sando within minutes?

We would cut back on pollution, less people would care about driving to work and this would free up the nation's roadways. They can put it high up like in that picture I posted, scrap iron man won't be able to just cut out the tracks and go with it. This system would also pay back for itself, there are poorer countries than us in this world that still has a train system.

So fast?

if yuh want rail crash instead car crash, go ahead...

Postby zoom rader » September 14th, 2014, 3:10 am

Ok enough of this Triain crap,

Is a train service needed; YES
Can it be built under PNM: NO
Why not PNM, all PNM projects are ill conceived and doomed to failure.
Fuel for Trains: NCG will be super cheap for all.
Will the natives mash up trains; YES
Will Nags steal rail lines as scrap; YES pnmites stole out two trains systems before. TGR and Caroni.

Postby 16 cycles » September 14th, 2014, 7:13 am

Majority of existing infrastructure has been built under pnm esp in the energy, health and education sector e.g. john d

Us, the ppl, who resposible for cost overuns or mashing it up....greed is a hell of a thing