Re: hunting ban

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 8:25 am

Ditto, ban it for 5 years.

Postby joker » October 7th, 2013, 8:46 am

Scarlet ibis tastes very good, but 18...nah man. And a pellet gun too?!! Small man rellll good ....ibis does fly with 10 grains embedded with out headshot!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 7th, 2013, 8:49 am

pete wrote:I've heard about people shooting them before and it really pissed me off. The fine should be increased to $100k per bird.

It should be $1 mill.

Postby Morpheus » October 7th, 2013, 8:56 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
pete wrote:I've heard about people shooting them before and it really pissed me off. The fine should be increased to $100k per bird.

It should be $1 mill.

It's our national bird!

Try getting caught with Bald Eagle in the US. Yuh arse dark :shock:

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 9:51 am

88sins wrote:GRIM dis isnt d first time somebody was caught wit scarlet ibis. iz jus d first since they impose this moratorium.
What I personally cannot stand is the lack of patriotism in this place. Of all the things to kill, is d national bird that protected by law for almost 50 years now them killin to cook? Where were this young man's parents? Why they didn't discourage this kind of activity? These persons are the ones that are the driving force behind this bs action without even realizing it.

pioneer wrote:They need to revoke ALL gun permits granted to these "hunters".

Whoever caught with gun, treat them the same way they does handle man from beetham.

Just a heads up, you might not be aware of this, but most poachers don't have time to bother with firearms permits(when all they need is a piece of 3/4" galvanize pipe a 12 gauge shell & a firing mechanism. And if you think a gun is the only way to catch an animal in d bush, you are sorely mistaken. There are things called cage traps, and there are also things called snares. And both are VERY effective at what they're designed to do

Ok captain swashbuckle, thanks for that englightening piece of info.

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 10:46 am

pios yuh always on some kinda kicks eh. all in all tho, I feelin a lil sorry fuh d lil dropout. they supposed to arrest & charge he parents too, not jus d youngster

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 7th, 2013, 11:00 am

well done game wardens

forget about small fines & make it 10yrs jail .....

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 11:16 am

How hard is primary school anyhow?...didn't kamala make it easier for them?

He deserve to be in jail forever :arrow:

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2013, 11:30 am

joker wrote:Scarlet ibis tastes very good, but 18...nah man. And a pellet gun too?!! Small man rellll good ....ibis does fly with 10 grains embedded with out headshot!

how u know dis? :roll:

Postby rfari » October 7th, 2013, 11:31 am

So according to pp in parliament he suppose to get a 100k fine and jail time. We'll see how that goes

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 1:02 pm

rfari wrote:So according to pp in parliament he suppose to get a 100k fine and jail time. We'll see how that goes

cant apply in dis case, since he is a minor & uneducated & unemployed. might just end up in boys industrial to breeze out till it sorted out, but any fine to be paid will have to come from d parents/guardians.
the outcome of this should be interesting :popcorn:

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 1:07 pm

oh ho right right...so if ah uneducated and unemployed youthman commit murder, he could get off cuz...well...he uneducated and unemployed

right right :arrow:

Postby joker » October 7th, 2013, 1:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
joker wrote:Scarlet ibis tastes very good, but 18...nah man. And a pellet gun too?!! Small man rellll good ....ibis does fly with 10 grains embedded with out headshot!

how u know dis? :roll:
use your imagination.

Postby rfari » October 7th, 2013, 1:10 pm

Well there is the oyster vender. He hadda get jam den

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 1:52 pm

pioneer wrote:oh ho right right...so if ah uneducated and unemployed youthman commit murder, he could get off cuz...well...he uneducated and unemployed

right right :arrow:

your thesis is flawed

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 2:22 pm

Nah   

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 2:37 pm

yuh sure?

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2013, 2:55 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:In the light of all this....

How u get poachers to stop....??
I have a brethren who manages a farm which is on a large property and up to 2 days ago...he hear 8shots fired...all hits...cuz they sound different when they miss

Now...this is happening all year around as well..

But since its banned now..
He noticed a greater frequency on gunshots...

So poachers reign supreme??

Somebody please explain the highlighted part

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 3:07 pm

discharge report of a firearm can sound different for many reasons, humidity, direction, obstacles disturbing the movement of the sound(trees, shooting from down in a gully or ravine), change of wind direction.
other than a difference in the sound of impact noise or lack thereof (sound of projectile hitting its target or other solid object) in the case of a hit or miss i'm not sure what he means by that. I believe he attributes the difference in discharge report to a hit or miss. this would be erroneous.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 7th, 2013, 3:12 pm

When I shoot the I find shot is louder than anything else.
but with an air rifle thats quiet you can hear the impact of the pellet on the animal.

I feel he just talking sheit.

If its pipe that the poacher using it is likely that all shots hit something

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2013, 3:50 pm

GRIM wrote:diaz true at first I thought "but why these men holding a set ah skinned chicken for?",then I read the article.
Unless the have some kinda DNA testing dey cant prove anything.

but they were caught with the air rifle on state land so they will still get charged for that

I asked about this and was told there is now a dna database and that Mr. Mcfarlane is their expect witness in identifying it as the scarlet ibis.
So things changed from since the last few yrs when case was thrown out, or so they say

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2013, 3:57 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
GRIM wrote:diaz true at first I thought "but why these men holding a set ah skinned chicken for?",then I read the article.

but they were caught with the air rifle on state land so they will still get charged for that

I asked about this and was told there is now a dna database and that Mr. Mcfarlane is their expect witness in identifying it as the scarlet ibis.
So things changed from since the last few yrs when case was thrown out, or so they say

dey have DNA dbase for animal too :shock:

cuz dey doh even seem to have a dbase for humans wit the detection rate so low

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 4:20 pm

I have yet to hear of a case in T&T where genetic data has led to the conviction of an individual accused of a criminal offence, be that accused of teefin yuh neighba duck, found wit wild meat outta season, rape or murder.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2013, 5:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:

dey have DNA dbase for animal too :shock:

cuz dey doh even seem to have a dbase for humans wit the detection rate so low

For animal :?

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 9:04 pm

Ah yes all the cyakers cyakin as per usual in the trinituner court of law

Meanwhile in reality, the 43 year old poacher plead guilty and got 18 months in prison

The minor was given a juvenile sentence (enjoy the YTC rape)

The third man is still on the run, the other two gave up his identity so he should be nabbed soon.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2013, 10:22 pm

So he said he was collecting oysters and the man who ran away said his bag was heavy so they were helping him carry the bag.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2013, 10:23 pm

This is good. The Magistrate didn't give any small fine.

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Warning to others, the Nat Sec agencies taking this serious.

Heard briko lending them some choppers also.

Postby joker » October 7th, 2013, 10:33 pm

Steupes ....dem will only catch novice hunters.... shoot and retrieve later!

Postby pete » October 8th, 2013, 8:27 am

Steups, 18 months concurrently.. so really 1 month in jail. WOFT.