TriniTuner Mobile App - Support & Comments UPDATED!!!

Re: TriniTuner Mobile App - Support & Comments

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2013, 10:41 pm

turned off signature

turned off notifications...will observe battery tomorrow

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 18th, 2013, 10:42 pm

ShIvAm wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ which device? What did the error message say?

ShIvAm wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ similar to the facebook app, you can switch off notifications for the app and it will use less power.

For android users the TriniTuner App uses Pull, not Push, so you can lengthen the time between pulls to help reduce battery life.

I have been running the app constantly on a iPhone 4 with no notable battery drain issues i.e. not any more than any other social media app with Push.

Ok cool I'll do some tweaking with the notifications.

Would a link in the email notifications to shoot you over to the app instead of the actual website be possible ?
the website on your mobile will direct you to the app. This is implemented already.

but to go straight from the email link to the app would require changes made to the app itself - we can look into it, though it may mean having two links now in each notification email: one for web and one for the app - this may cause issues with non mobile app users.

Might be "much ado" for the few users who experience battery drain who are willing to turn off notifications.

Yea tru, that would cause some kinda confusion. The email notifications work fine for me at the moment I jus dont follow the link, cause the website only sends me to the app and not the specific topic.

I switched off the notifications and the drain seems to have stopped
facebook app notifications is a worse battery hog

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 18th, 2013, 11:16 pm

BrandoHD wrote:Why are signatures working only for Trinituner and not for Tapatalk, is this intentional?
sort of

Didn't really want a bunch of posts with "posted with Tapatalk" in it.

:?

Sent from NeXus 4

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 12:01 am

BrandoHD wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:Why are signatures working only for Trinituner and not for Tapatalk, is this intentional?
sort of

Sent from NeXus 4
why the confused smiley?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 19th, 2013, 1:36 am

BrandoHD wrote:
sort of

Sent from NeXus 4
why the confused smiley?

Well personally, I rather use Tapatalk since I am a member of several Forums, it consolidates all of them into one app, these other forums also have their own forum app based on Tapatalk.

However, this is the first time I have encountered a forum with this type of restriction with regards to displaying a signature, when I asked, I thought it was an oversight, or something to do with advertising, never did I expect it to be what you said it was, so I am a bit bewildered.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 2:01 am

BrandoHD wrote:
sort of

Sent from NeXus 4
why the confused smiley?

Well personally, I rather use Tapatalk since I am a member of several Forums, it consolidates all of them into one app, these other forums also have their own forum app based on Tapatalk.

However, this is the first time I have encountered a forum with this type of restriction with regards to displaying a signature, when I asked, I thought it was an oversight, or something to do with advertising, never did I expect it to be what you said it was, so I am a bit bewildered.
it does have to do with advertising.

I don't want to advertise Tapatalk. I want to promote our own app!
Also the signatures in Tapatalk are actual text that becomes part of each post, unlike an embedded signature used on the web version. That makes for alot of instances of the word "Tapatalk" all over our forums which drives keywords for search engines up for the term "Tapatalk", but not for "TriniTuner".

Also if you set your signature in phpbb in the browser, all the posts you make, even those made via Tapatalk or the TriniTuner app will show with your signature to web users.
8-)

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 19th, 2013, 2:18 am

Yuh deserve a next :???: for that

Why didn't you say that the first time, cause now that I fully understand, I agree with the move

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » April 19th, 2013, 5:14 pm

Amm dont know if anyone talked about this before in the 34 pages so far but I get a issue on my phone with the bmobile ad at the bottom. I cant select any commands that are above the banner for example copy url.

I have to select before ad loads.
Disregard if it was posted before.
:mrgreen:

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby nemisis » April 19th, 2013, 5:44 pm

Ah fed up click on that blasted bmobile banner at the bottom of the app. Funny enough stag behaving himself

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Apologies if this has been asked before, but wondering if it would be released for pre-BlackBerry 10 models?

Thanks.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 19th, 2013, 6:01 pm

SRASC wrote:Apologies if this has been asked before, but wondering if it would be released for pre-BlackBerry 10 models?

Thanks.

According to Duane, no it won't.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Ok cools. Another reason for a friend of mine to get something else I guess lol

Postby pioneer » April 19th, 2013, 6:53 pm

pioneer wrote:turned off signature

It worked...by lunch time battery was at 80% still

Then again I hardly use my phone...nobody really talks to me

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 9:55 pm

SRASC wrote:Apologies if this has been asked before, but wondering if it would be released for pre-BlackBerry 10 models?

Thanks.
more than likely not, since the BB10 version will be an Android port. But if we can offer the TriniTuner Mobile App for pre-BB10 devices we definitely will.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Rebelb14 wrote:Amm dont know if anyone talked about this before in the 34 pages so far but I get a issue on my phone with the bmobile ad at the bottom. I cant select any commands that are above the banner for example copy url.

I have to select before ad loads.
Disregard if it was posted before.
:mrgreen:

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app
can you post a screenshot of that?

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 19th, 2013, 10:35 pm

pioneer wrote:turned off signature

It worked...by lunch time battery was at 80% still

Then again I hardly use my phone...nobody really talks to me

Yep after watching it today it's much better for me also, before I felt as tho I was watching the percentage count down

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 10:38 pm

^ do either of you have notifications turned on for the Facebook app or Twitter etc?

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 19th, 2013, 11:02 pm

I have Skype, Instagram and Facebook notifications on...

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 11:04 pm

Facebook is a resource hog. Only turn it on when I want to check something. Lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2013, 11:19 pm

ShIvAm wrote:I have Skype, Instagram and Facebook notifications on...
facebook app uses far more resources than the TriniTuner app

But at least you can manage your notifications based in your personal needs

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 20th, 2013, 8:37 am

Yea under the mobile push settings I have very little selected.

I'll give the notifications for the 2ner app another try sometime.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 20th, 2013, 8:55 am

finally decided to install it after the forum began to move slow on tapatalk. wonder y :lol:

Elantari

Postby Elantari » April 20th, 2013, 10:54 am

Love love loooooove the app!
And the ads are not so bothersome.

Keep up the great work ;)

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using TriniTuner mobile app

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » April 20th, 2013, 11:03 am

Nice work. Practical app. Love how the ads are there but not an annoyance. 2 thumbs

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Elantari

Postby Elantari » April 20th, 2013, 11:03 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ :lol: hopefully no one will get fired for being on tuner in work now!

Well part of my job is keeping an eye on the company's Tuner thread, so I'm really happy :)

And I can get my daily kicks out of the crazy things Tuners posting en route to clients :)

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby *KRONIK* » April 20th, 2013, 4:31 pm

Duane,
Twice i had a problem whereby when i selected the app, it opened the browser and went straight to the ad.
Is that supposed to happen?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2013, 7:38 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Duane,
Twice i had a problem whereby when i selected the app, it opened the browser and went straight to the ad.
Is that supposed to happen?
you "selected" the app and it opened in the browser and went straight to the ad?

I'm trying to understand what you're saying.

when you say "selected" the app, you mean you clicked / tapped on it to open?
And when you opened it, instead of opening the actual app, it opened the web browser?
Which ad did it go to in the web browser?

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » April 20th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Can the ads be kept at the base of the screen at all times? The ads don't bother me but I see that it changes position in & out of threads & I think being kept at the bottom of the screen, it might not bother others as much.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2013, 10:14 pm

GTcruzer wrote:Can the ads be kept at the base of the screen at all times? The ads don't bother me but I see that it changes position in & out of threads & I think being kept at the bottom of the screen, it might not bother others as much.
not really getting too much complaints about the ads.

the ads DO show only at the bottom of the screen . They only show above the menu on screens that display the menu, but it's still at the bottom

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » April 20th, 2013, 10:25 pm

Yea, yea. That's what I mean. What if you kept it at the bottom of the screen at all times, meaning when the menu is displayed also. I figure people are accidentally tapping the ads instead of the thread they want to go on which is why they find it annoying.
As I said, the ads doh bother me, it's just a suggestion so it doesn't bother those users that don't like them.