Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2010, 9:04 pm

of course that 20% could change to Julia anytime and it already hitting us

xtech

Postby xtech » September 8th, 2010, 9:47 pm

Chaguramas full up with yachts this week..........

nice strong breeze here in Couva thunder now snap an shake up the place a little

brickman

Postby brickman » September 8th, 2010, 9:50 pm

Level thundershowers in p.o.s.Clubbing folk should take the night off.

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2010, 10:08 pm

level rain in central flooding along the SMR

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2010, 10:20 pm

epic rain just finished

more to come?

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2010, 10:23 pm

wow the rain started back here in chag as i type

xtech

Postby xtech » September 8th, 2010, 10:45 pm

what rain u guys seeing? Epic rain too.

Is only light drizzle here in Couva non-stop for 2 hours now

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » September 8th, 2010, 11:38 pm

Dry here in La Romaine

Postby cinco » September 9th, 2010, 5:19 am

has rained all night here maybe stopped for 20 mins in between expecting epic traffic

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 9th, 2010, 5:40 am

Finally, some rain to cool the place down

Postby Mark! » September 9th, 2010, 6:04 am

rel rain in chaguanas

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2010, 6:04 am

duane d met office didnt release a bulletin for that yellow circle that already affecting us? didnt see anything on their website

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 9th, 2010, 6:11 am

Bulletin#2

Date: Thursday 09th of September 2010
ISSUED AT:05:45AM

AN AREA OF LOW PRESSURE IS ENHANCING SHOWERY
ACTIVITY ASSOCIATED WITH THE INTER-TROPICAL
CONVERGENCE ZONE OVER TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO.

Trinidad and Tobago experienced scattered showers
and isolated thundershowers during the course of
the night and early morning. Some of these
showers have been heavy, particularly in Northern
and Western areas of Trinidad. This rainfall
activity is expected to continue intermittently
throughout the day.

Downpours may lead to street/flash flooding and
further compound the situation in areas already
experiencing these conditions. Gusty winds
especially in areas of heavy
showers/thundershowers are also expected.

Residents in areas that are prone to street/flash
flooding and landslides/landslips are asked to be
vigilant and exercise caution.

Sea conditions may be disturbed, with waves
exceeding 2.5 metres in open waters and becoming
choppy in sheltered areas.

WE UNDERSCORE THAT AT THIS TIME TRINIDAD AND
TOBAGO ARE NOT UNDER ANY TROPICAL STORM THREAT,
WATCH OR WARNING.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service is
closely monitoring this weather situation and will
issue another bulletin at 6:00 pm today or sooner
if the situation warrants.

C. Subrath-Ali
Meteorologist

xtech

Postby xtech » September 9th, 2010, 6:31 am

MET Office is reactive. After people get rained on all night we get a bulletin to tell us what happened

Postby Hook » September 9th, 2010, 7:46 am

^^^ lol who cares? would you have believed it if we said it would rain? I think I can find a quote from you that says "de weatherman said hot sun today so walk wit allyuh umbrellas"

Besides which, it's not a forecast, it's an information bulletin for expected conditions and to set the "storm watch" idiots straight...KYR.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 9th, 2010, 8:58 am

dat was some friggin rain this morning jed, yesterday evening in p/town too

was coming up mt. hope,thought the highway was gonna be flooded yes...thank god it cleared up

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 9th, 2010, 9:12 am

any more rain and that river by trintrac there gonna overflow and flood chase village.

looked pretty high this morning.

Alexy

Postby Alexy » September 9th, 2010, 10:43 am

RAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!
:O
(penal, debe....)

apple

Postby apple » September 9th, 2010, 1:38 pm

sando dry

hi Hook :)

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Ulyuh we under "storm" watch?

seeing this on CNC3 FB Alerts and this is from NHC

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo_atl.shtml

beatrix is back

Postby beatrix is back » September 9th, 2010, 2:25 pm

Visit the odpm updates website...and on facebook...they said we not under a storm watch up to 25 mins ago

http://www.news.gov.tt/index.php?news=5255
http://www.news.gov.tt/index.php?category=23

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Trincity/ ... =ts&v=wall

xtech

Postby xtech » September 9th, 2010, 3:05 pm

yeah we watching a storm form over us so yeah we have to watch. hahahhaa....tell alluh bosses storm dey here

Hook wrote:^^^ lol who cares? would you have believed it if we said it would rain? I think I can find a quote from you that says "de weatherman said hot sun today so walk wit allyuh umbrellas"

Besides which, it's not a forecast, it's an information bulletin for expected conditions and to set the "storm watch" idiots straight...KYR.

lol.........like ah mash ah big toe down at d MET office.

I remember when I said that an I was talking about the TV6 Weather man. An it did rain an flood out that day eh.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2010, 3:07 pm

^ we are NOT under any storm watch

ODPM updated their status on facebook to say that we are not under any tropical storm watch or warning.

There is an area of low pressure over T&T that is connected to the ITCZ which is expected to bring alot of rain. However there is NO STORM WATCH

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2010, 3:14 pm

lol hence the "storm" watch

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 9th, 2010, 3:45 pm

All it takes is for one idiot to say storm coming bai and next ting grocery pack, gas station pack and everybody panic buying

apple

Postby apple » September 9th, 2010, 3:59 pm

*makes disaster list....crix, tea, candles, milk, matches, tin sausage, panadol*

Postby Hook » September 10th, 2010, 1:21 am

xtech wrote:lol.........like ah mash ah big toe down at d MET office.

I remember when I said that an I was talking about the TV6 Weather man. An it did rain an flood out that day eh.

lol...YOU cyar mash my toe pallie...just make an effort to understand what you're looking at before you pass judgement

moving on now...

hustla_ambition101 wrote:All it takes is for one idiot to say storm coming bai and next ting grocery pack, gas station pack and everybody panic buying

Correct...and that idiot was on the air on [insert radio station close to the high end of the FM band here] *stewps*
apparently he went on about some crap about some "tropical cyclone" that's supposed to affect us...sheit spread like wildfire and next thing you know, our phones were ringing like crazy after lunch for that nonsense...I find myself more and more desirable of a career in climatology and away from forecasting every time this happens 1sigh

PLEASE ppl, take your weather information direct from the source...not facebook, not BBM (don't call, text or BBM me either...you're not gonna get any special top-secret weather information), not the service station attendant, not your favourite forum troll, not that person next to you in line at the bank, not the lady wrapping your roti and now apparently not even the media, since we can't trust some of them to disseminate the information we provide without putting their own spin on it :roll:

Let's all try to be a little more intelligent about this.

http://metoffice.gov.tt

apple

Postby apple » September 10th, 2010, 1:43 am

Hook is the the badjohn weather man

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2010, 7:21 am

the low is just staying directly over us- if NHC raise it to like 70% or more chance of developing then it might make sense to issue a storm watch-otherwise it go become a storm and we wont have prior notice since it already here- and we already at the very peak of the season

Postby wagonrunner » September 11th, 2010, 12:46 am

sky is red here in la romaine.
light drizzle, with lightening.

freehand thing.
Last edited by wagonrunner on September 11th, 2010, 12:56 am, edited 2 times in total.