THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2012, 7:10 am

Imagine I smoked my last cig quite in February and I NOW going thru withdrawal. Wasn't craving a pull for mths, but the last couple weeks it hitting hard.

I read it takes 12wks for the nicotene receptors in the brain to switch off so I guess this is normal, but like they putting up a fight.
I'll resist. I will beat this.

Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby rollingstock » June 1st, 2012, 7:15 am

^ The e-cigs not helpin?

btw tha's devil ting, smoke but no fire :?

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2012, 9:07 am

I'm on the low nicotene formula now. 'twas working fine all along inno...zero cravings, so I dunno what happened the last couple weeks.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » June 1st, 2012, 9:40 am

good thread - still reading all the entries

nice motivation for those who wants to stop

Postby Stephon. » June 1st, 2012, 9:41 am

Good job hook(er)

kual

Postby kual » June 1st, 2012, 9:44 am

I've read all the stories above. some making no sense but I have not smoked a cigarette for about 3 weeks now. Just a personal decision to quit of almost eleven years. What to expect after about 3 weeks? Vega, give me some advice.

Postby Sky » June 1st, 2012, 10:22 am

kual wrote:I've read all the stories above. some making no sense but I have not smoked a cigarette for about 3 weeks now. Just a personal decision to quit of almost eleven years. What to expect after about 3 weeks? Vega, give me some advice.

Nothing, just more energy. It takes months for your physical appearance to change, colour in fingers, gums etc.

Postby stev » June 1st, 2012, 12:35 pm

last time i tried to quit i started to wheeze :|

i slowing down now. using electronic but dat seems like a kinda waste at times.

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2012, 1:23 pm

^^^ the initial withdrawal from a pack a day to zero does be pressure...with some people, the body rejects your decision to quit...it used to happen to me

but you have to want it...quit for YOU and you'll do well.

If you're cutting down, set deadlines and goals. For the first two weeks, I maxed out at 3 a day at first, which is a dread reduction from 20/day, but I allowed myself roll-over cigs ( like if I cut back one today, I get to smoke 4 2mro...but I never used 'em anyway).
Then the next two weeks, 3 without the roll-over, then one a day with the roll-over, then a pack for the mth (of which I only smoked 14 anyway). By the end of the first mth, I noticed if I went a couple days without a smoke I was fine, and by the end of February, that was it for me and cigs.

The ecig thing is a good tool if you use it correctly. I does leave mine home, battery does discharge, all kinda ting. I doh even know why I still use it.

Postby Greypatch » June 1st, 2012, 1:43 pm

fellas smoke 1/2 cig den out it....smoke the rest later automatic cut down of 50%

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2012, 1:45 pm

hahahahaha...ah have chinee ancestory hoss...we does smoke it down to d sponge :lol:

Postby stev » June 1st, 2012, 1:50 pm

Hook wrote:hahahahaha...ah have chinee ancestory hoss...we does smoke it down to d sponge :lol:

:lol: fuh real...besides, that cig doh smell to pleasant if u keep it wit d rest. lol

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2012, 1:52 pm

nah dan! a half-smoked cig does kick up a dread scent

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 1st, 2012, 1:59 pm

Nearly 2 years now that I stopped and I did so cold turkey , I smoked for about 30 years don't miss it at all .

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 1st, 2012, 7:37 pm

quit a few months now,honestly doesnt bother me one bit and never use to when i was smoking.Was just a way to occupy my idle time i guess.

Postby dougla_boy » June 4th, 2012, 2:38 pm

used to smoke a pack and evening whilst studying in secondary school.....then i realized that it made no sense to smoke cigs so i stopped cold turkey with no withdrawal symptoms.....then in form 6 when i get stressed and gyal eh around.....picked up a pack........then a yr or 2 ago it started to be a social thing with some chicks i used to lime with.....level menthols.....now....i dont have that feeling to smoke cigs........

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 4th, 2012, 2:46 pm

there is nothing that can help you stop smoking , it's either you want to stop or NOT!!!

kual

Postby kual » June 4th, 2012, 2:49 pm

If you really want to, you will. I totally agree with cherrypopper. I just stopped 3 weeks ago. Its was not easy but from a pack and a half a day to none. No one can help you stop smoking. YOU have to do it.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 4th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Smoking is unhealthy, we all know that but we do it anyways. I smoked for 15years straight and then on my birthday 3 years ago I said " this is my last smoke " everyone laughed and doubted and well from that day I never touched a cigarette. I used to say to stop I have to stop drinking but that's a fools paradise cause I still drink and never wanted one.. 8-)

Postby Stephon. » June 4th, 2012, 3:21 pm

One thing I didn't like when smoking was the people around me that used to tell me, "omg do you know that smoking is very unhealthy for you?"

No the notification on the box that says "smoking is bad for your health" was completely ignored, as well as all of those commercials I see everyday and the obvious factors that I myself physically felt when smoking. When I see someone I know smoking now I don't tell them anything, it's 2012 and no one is ignorant on the dangers of smoking anymore, if you're around someone that smokes, telling them how bad it is for them won't make them stop. When they're ready to stop, (if they ever decide to) they will.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 4th, 2012, 9:13 pm

Hook wrote:nah dan! a half-smoked cig does kick up a dread scent

ENT and taste worse too.....it actually tastes like an ashtray!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » June 4th, 2012, 9:16 pm

Stephon. wrote:One thing I didn't like when smoking was the people around me that used to tell me, "omg do you know that smoking is very unhealthy for you?"

No the notification on the box that says "smoking is bad for your health" was completely ignored, as well as all of those commercials I see everyday and the obvious factors that I myself physically felt when smoking. When I see someone I know smoking now I don't tell them anything, it's 2012 and no one is ignorant on the dangers of smoking anymore, if you're around someone that smokes, telling them how bad it is for them won't make them stop. When they're ready to stop, (if they ever decide to) they will.

exactly!! smokers are probably well aware more than anyone of the dangers of the habit.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 4th, 2012, 9:57 pm

kual wrote:I've read all the stories above. some making no sense but I have not smoked a cigarette for about 3 weeks now. Just a personal decision to quit of almost eleven years. What to expect after about 3 weeks? Vega, give me some advice.

I just took it one day at a time....yes the urge is still there after 3 weeks but I was firm in my mind to stay off the blends....I took deep breaths when I felt the urge or did some pushups or a lil sprint or drank some water...or all of the former....I also simply didn't carry any cash whatsoever on me nor in the car so I didn't have any money to buy a pack (that may be considered a risky thing but I work not so far from home and any problem that may arise a phone call could sort me out)....days would turn to weeks and the urge gradually gets less.

I never believed in those e-cigs.....that still condones the habit. If the habit is still fed then the will/resolve to quit won't be as firm....but then different ppl would react differently.

Postby S_2NR » June 4th, 2012, 9:59 pm

men smokin 1.5 packs/day in here :shock:

a pack lasts me 3 days

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2012, 8:46 am

S_2NR wrote:men smokin 1.5 packs/day in here :shock:

a pack lasts me 3 days

If I liming whole weekend, Id smoke out a pack in 2/3 days.

On a norm I manage a pack whole week (3-4per day), if Im using my ecig that number cuts down cause during the day I wont smoke until I get home. With menthols, I find they get stale after a few days, thankfully that timeline proceeds into the weekend (family time) so I could say no to buying a new pack and spend at least my Saturday and Sunday smoke free.

Had cut down to nil for 12 days, then a padna offer me a cig and I was like "meh wth" next thing I know I buying a halfpack and bumped back to a full pack 2weeks now :| Regret that one day I lime with that dude yes, right now I trying to go back to my half pack a week stage and use the ecig more.

geodude

Postby geodude » June 5th, 2012, 10:04 am

i doh know about you guys but i like smoking,
i chose to work in another country and learnt another language and endure travel for days at a time so i can work in brazil, why because here we can smoke on drilling rigs, i have opportunities to work in Trinidad but that won't go well with my smoking habit.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » June 5th, 2012, 3:54 pm

smoke some grade.. zero cravings for devil sticks afta!

Postby Sky » June 5th, 2012, 4:46 pm

Stephon. wrote:One thing I didn't like when smoking was the people around me that used to tell me, "omg do you know that smoking is very unhealthy for you?"

I usually tell them "The minister of health advises that telling me about my smoking is dangerous to health. Leave me alone"

Postby sharkman121 » June 5th, 2012, 7:06 pm

geodude wrote:i doh know about you guys but i like smoking,
i chose to work in another country and learnt another language and endure travel for days at a time so i can work in brazil, why because here we can smoke on drilling rigs, i have opportunities to work in Trinidad but that won't go well with my smoking habit.

you did all this just to smoke on an oil rig :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 5th, 2012, 7:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:men smokin 1.5 packs/day in here :shock:

a pack lasts me 3 days

and if you don't check yourself that 3 days will get less and less....so make the effort to stop whilst you still green in the scene...

I had reached the point where it was more economical for me to purchase by the carton than a pack.....