Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby gt4tified » November 20th, 2011, 9:33 am

DYNAMIX SOUNDS wrote:I know! But its a topic which includes Dj Systems and Pro Audio, so ppl in this topic can see *euipment 4 sale* in the same field of interest which they are in!

We had agreed earlier on to not clutter the thread with FS stuff because we wanted to keep it as a discussion. I am sure we all have stuff to sell, and if each of us posts what we have and all we do is keep bumping, then the jist of the thread will lose its focus.

That said, it would be appreciated if you would kindly remove your FS post.

Postby gt4tified » November 24th, 2011, 11:22 pm

I have too many ongoing projects that need funding and I would like to supplement my income with some gigs. Does anyone know of any semi-upscale to upscale clubs/sports bars that require the services of a good DJ versed in all types of music? Gig must be weekends only though...my day job is quite demanding during the week.

I’d rather just a gig where I can walk with my hard drive or laptop and play on the house system but if need be, I can walk with my own players and digital interface.

If you guys know anywhere hit me a pm please? Thanks!

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » December 11th, 2011, 11:24 pm

anyone ever used Eminence loud speakers in there dj sets, wat was the outcome...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 12th, 2011, 8:34 am

I used eminence 12" Kappas in my monitors for a while. Sounded great. Also used the Kilomax 15" in some JBL single 15 scoops and was very pleased with the results. That was some time ago.

IMHO Eminence is a great brand thats affordable.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 12th, 2011, 12:21 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:anybpdy ever used heard of or used these amps & can give a review ? ...

http://www.mrdjusa.com/products/categor ... fiers.html

so long i ask & not even 1 reply ..... :( .......... :?

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 21st, 2011, 1:21 pm

^^I guess nobody did....

btw anybody have powered PA mixers for sale? i want one that does at least 100wrms x 2channels @ 8 ohms...

It would be nice if it has rca or stereo 1/4" inputs as well.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 4th, 2012, 11:40 am

anybody knows who is the authorized dealer for yorkville speakers?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 4th, 2012, 12:54 pm

Shammi I think

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2012, 10:16 am

how much do original yorkville folded horn subs cost so ?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 16th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Kasey wrote:Shammi I think

who is this shammi you speak off?

Postby gt4tified » January 16th, 2012, 11:42 pm

cherrypopper wrote:
Kasey wrote:Shammi I think

who is this shammi you speak off?

Shammi Sounds from El Socorro me thinks.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » January 17th, 2012, 8:26 am

Correct, Shammi is the authorized dealer for Yorkville pro audio, spoke to him a couple times concerning their line of amps.

a little louder

Postby a little louder » January 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm

what is the best 15" powered monitor i can get for $3000
behringer. gemini. mr dj ?
and where

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2012, 9:53 pm

how many "dj's" here can actually beat mix etc ?

it appears that most dj's nowadays only good at sliding mixer side to side
in one quick motion

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 20th, 2012, 7:57 am

^^ I learnt to mix on 1200's. then the old school gemini, denon and numark cd machines..

I still have a cortex dmix 600 home that uses mp3's but has no sync function so you still have to beatmatch. It does not give bpm readings either. I still use it from time to time for that old school mixing feel.

it's a shame that a LOT of people who call themselves DJ's only know how to mix when they have a sync button with their software - without it they can't do squat.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 20th, 2012, 10:21 am

^When I was younger I always wanted to learn to mix with records or on those numark CD machines... but no one would let me touch their stuff :(

Eventually learned to sync using the original PCDJ Silver.

I once played in a party with literally two CD players. No Pitch Shift. No Hot Cue.

Play, Pause, Stop. Luckily I had a crossfader.
I just think Virtual DJ makes life so much easier, especially since the demand for a DJ that scratches and puts on a real show is really low.

I'd love to eventually use some Technics....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 20th, 2012, 10:31 am

a little louder wrote:what is the best 15" powered monitor i can get for $3000
behringer. gemini. mr dj ?
and where

i guess u saw my ad ? - viewtopic.php?f=11&t=413105

my advice is to load up some songs on a flashdrive & go to each seller for a demo

i will gladly demo my Mr. DJ box for u in my store ....

Samo

Postby Samo » January 20th, 2012, 10:36 am

I use VDj....with Hercules rmx, most times i dont use the sync...even if the program sets the pitch for u, stilll i adjust it. Habit i guess.
Serato with 800's, well normal beatmatch..no sync button there..

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 20th, 2012, 2:31 pm

DJ Q wrote:^When I was younger I always wanted to learn to mix with records or on those numark CD machines... but no one would let me touch their stuff :(

Eventually learned to sync using the original PCDJ Silver.

I once played in a party with literally two CD players. No Pitch Shift. No Hot Cue.

I remember doing parties with two discman...the trick was to know upfront what songs would mix. (besides dancehall within the same riddim of course)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 20th, 2012, 4:35 pm

Anybody have Technics and don't mind me passin through :oops:

Postby gt4tified » January 21st, 2012, 10:02 am

Also learnt on 1200’s. My first pair of tables was a Numark DD50IV or something so....not bad beginner tables. Eventually I bought myself a pair of 1200MKII’s and put them away in a nice numark coffin. My first dual CD player was a Denon DN2000F and I’ve been pretty loyal to the Denon brand ever since.

The Pioneers are nice in their own way, but I’m quite happy with my DNS5000’s. What I need to invest in is a good Mixer, perhaps the DNX400 or DNX800....would have preferred something smaller like the DNX120 but more loaded. Looking also into Vestax, Stanton and American Audio options.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 21st, 2012, 4:51 pm

DJ equipment just so damn expensive :(

I really wanna learn to scratch like this ( start at 2:36)

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2012, 11:59 pm

gt4tified wrote:Also learnt on 1200’s. My first pair of tables was a Numark DD50IV or something so....not bad beginner tables. Eventually I bought myself a pair of 1200MKII’s and put them away in a nice numark coffin. My first dual CD player was a Denon DN2000F and I’ve been pretty loyal to the Denon brand ever since.

The Pioneers are nice in their own way, but I’m quite happy with my DNS5000’s. What I need to invest in is a good Mixer, perhaps the DNX400 or DNX800....would have preferred something smaller like the DNX120 but more loaded. Looking also into Vestax, Stanton and American Audio options.

if its within your budget, check out the A&H Xone22 or the ttm56 or 56S

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 22nd, 2012, 2:58 am

a big part of me does want to learn how to scratch like that but as cool as it sounds for the majority of gigs that i normally do its not required so...

i have a old Nikko with a slip mat on it...i should bring out some old school dancehall 45's and try meh hand!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 26th, 2012, 7:58 pm

Here's what I want to know:

Is this possible to do live?

I know it's a game but I want to know if it can be done.

I don't think so because they had an unusually HIGH number of samples.
And also they stop the beat to scratch a portion and somehow when they "press play" it magically continues from where it should be.

In addition to that you juggling two acapellas and two instrumentals!

Can anyone do it??

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2012, 8:14 pm

^

you can have just the beat on one deck and the other deck with random vocal samples to scratch with

might have to prepare some stuff before hand doh

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 26th, 2012, 8:19 pm

of course it can be done. ALOT of practice + proper preparation.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 26th, 2012, 8:21 pm

^Nah it's not like that.
You can have the beat loaded as a sample and scratch with the two channels too.

But in this case they scratching EVERYTHING.

I'm a complete noob so there might be something out there that I don't know about... jsut wondering if the remixes in that game possible to do live.

Wouldn't mind learning some of them

nizmoB12

Postby nizmoB12 » January 26th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Samo wrote:I use VDj....with Hercules rmx, most times i dont use the sync...even if the program sets the pitch for u, stilll i adjust it. Habit i guess.
Serato with 800's, well normal beatmatch..no sync button there..

Hey Samo, i'm thinking of purchasing Hercules RMX, is it any good? And can you pull songs from your Serato Playlist with it?

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 27th, 2012, 7:33 am

^^it'll work fine.

as to your other question, the hercules comes with VDJ.
i'm not sure what format serato saves the playlist. if it's a pls or m3u file i believe VDJ will open it.