offshore ppl ........your views.

13''strong

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby 13''strong » May 2nd, 2012, 10:08 am

@ crazybaldhead what ad is that..?....doh have access to a newspapers right now :-(

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2012, 10:46 am

Ask one of yuh family to check. It's a huge ad. Can't miss it.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » May 2nd, 2012, 11:23 am

@crazybaldhead are u referring to the Labour Market Report .?

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2012, 11:59 am

Nah, an ad looking for offshore workers.

Postby janfar » May 2nd, 2012, 1:06 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Nah, an ad looking for offshore workers.

Operators??? PM me with info... a bcpm fall on meh foot so i cant go and buy papers...

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 2nd, 2012, 1:29 pm

anyone here working weatherford trs dept as a jam (spelling) operator.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » May 2nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

I supposed to go to an interview for an offshore technician position very soon. After reading this entire post, I am honestly having second thoughts! I had no idea it was like that and never looked at it like the I way hear some ppl talking about family. I have a okayish paying permanent job on land 8-4pm mon-fri. But I get carried away with the figures I was hearing. Now I don't know if the money worth it...

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » May 2nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

I supposed to go to an interview for an offshore technician position very soon. After reading this entire post, I am honestly having second thoughts! I had no idea it was like that and never looked at it like the I way hear some ppl talking about family. I have a okayish paying permanent job on land 8-4pm mon-fri. But I get carried away with the figures I was hearing. Now I don't know if the money worth it...

Postby nervewrecker » May 2nd, 2012, 6:53 pm

I'd happily take your place, tell them sign me up. :)

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » May 2nd, 2012, 6:58 pm

anyone working Schlumberger >?

stretch

Postby stretch » May 2nd, 2012, 7:23 pm

Bro, I work 35 on and off. I'm 25, bought a150k vehicle. just finishing my mums house, with just a lil over a year working in the industry. well i work on offshore vessels.

Any one working in Brazil, Macae to be exact. Stationed down here now.

Postby S_2NR » May 2nd, 2012, 9:21 pm

Motofreek wrote:I supposed to go to an interview for an offshore technician position very soon. After reading this entire post, I am honestly having second thoughts! I had no idea it was like that and never looked at it like the I way hear some ppl talking about family. I have a okayish paying permanent job on land 8-4pm mon-fri. But I get carried away with the figures I was hearing. Now I don't know if the money worth it...

u cant expect to get that kind of money without sacrifice bro.

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » May 2nd, 2012, 10:37 pm

hmm wa day papers , pics or it didnt happen ! an link up

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 2nd, 2012, 11:02 pm

stretch wrote:Bro, I work 35 on and off. I'm 25, bought a150k vehicle. just finishing my mums house, with just a lil over a year working in the industry. well i work on offshore vessels.

What you doing on offshore vessels bro?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:19 am

trinibajan34 wrote:anyone here working weatherford trs dept as a jam (spelling) operator?

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » May 3rd, 2012, 10:57 am

@crazybaldhead how do i go about applyin ..????????????????

stretch

Postby stretch » May 3rd, 2012, 11:42 am

The One - i work as a mate

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 3rd, 2012, 4:35 pm

stretch wrote:The One - i work as a mate

Ohhh ok cool man, I also work on vessel but more on the project aspect of things...Not the marine.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 3rd, 2012, 6:22 pm

stretch wrote:Bro, I work 35 on and off. I'm 25, bought a150k vehicle. just finishing my mums house, with just a lil over a year working in the industry. well i work on offshore vessels.

Quite a few trini's stationed there. Where exactly do you stay and how often are you really on land? Be there in a 2 weeks.

stretch

Postby stretch » May 6th, 2012, 7:00 pm

Sh!t, dont know the address but its right on the beach with the long boulevard. Not much time I have there tho, maybe 2days then I hit d sea. Will be in Niteroi from July also, will have loads of time there.

wall

Postby wall » May 7th, 2012, 6:35 pm

stretch what size vessel are you working on?

Postby janfar » May 7th, 2012, 7:06 pm

stretch wrote:Sh!t, dont know the address but its right on the beach with the long boulevard. Not much time I have there tho, maybe 2days then I hit d sea. Will be in Niteroi from July also, will have loads of time there.

Spent a few months well back in 2k6-2k8 in Macae. Cavaleiros beach is ah boss during the summer time... Macae is a great place.

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » May 12th, 2012, 9:13 pm

@13"Strong what's the salary for an Auxiliary Fire Officer?

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » May 16th, 2012, 3:27 pm

basically the same rate as a regular officer which approximately $32 an hr ....the only difference is regular officers work way more hours than us AFF'S....

4g63

Postby 4g63 » May 18th, 2012, 7:44 am

is the man who started this thread still around? did he quit yet?
anyway here is my 4 cents without reading every single post -

big man, a lot of people work offshore because of the money, true. however, though the money might be a lot better than a typical office job, a lot of folks don't realise that the money they make offshore isn't that fantastic in ALL offshore jobs. this is why the decision becomes difficult at some times when they give you just enough to make a land job seem like crap money. so you sound like a mudlogger, and without intended affront, they doh really make any kinda money... i wouldn't work offshore as a mudlogger. i know you may say, nah boy you making real paper, but that is because you probably don't know what others make in other jobs.
so, with that job, the decision is easy, get out of that bris... if you can land a high paying offshore job and you are as skillful as you say you are, then, get a rotation where you don't stay there for more than 2 or 3 weeks max and get enough time at home, with a fat enough salary and offshore will be really nice. though that is easier said than done... it is also a lot more difficult than just getting a land job and cooling your beans and try to enjoy all the land based things that you've mentioned.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » May 20th, 2012, 7:28 pm

Like I mentioned, I was due for an interview for offshore. Did the 1st one and now waiting for part 2. My question is what percentage more would worth going offshore?

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » May 20th, 2012, 7:33 pm

Not sure if this posted already, but do you all think Kenson School of Production Technology is a good place to do an offshore course? I saw on their website they have a Offshore Mech Tech training course available. Any feedback will be great.

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2012, 7:40 pm

bassotronics wrote:Not sure if this posted already, but do you all think Kenson School of Production Technology is a good place to do an offshore course? I saw on their website they have a Offshore Mech Tech training course available. Any feedback will be great.

If is the one I think you asking about, it not gate approved eh. Just so you know.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » May 20th, 2012, 7:49 pm

bassotronics wrote:Not sure if this posted already, but do you all think Kenson School of Production Technology is a good place to do an offshore course? I saw on their website they have a Offshore Mech Tech training course available. Any feedback will be great.

If is the one I think you asking about, it not gate approved eh. Just so you know.

I called them last week they said it was gate approved. I think they said the person had to pay $4500 for something (can't really remember what).

http://www.kspt.edu.tt/courses.html

Postby Rooki3 » May 20th, 2012, 7:58 pm

saw some ads fro jobs in abu dhabi :shock:

how much dem does get pay so?