*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 21st, 2009, 8:35 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, looking to upgrade my receiver ... Any opinions on this?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... SC-07.Kuro

Prefer electronics with a warm sound signature to play nice with the Klipsh reference ...

That is an excellent receiver and just a step down from their flagship minus the colour screen and about 40W.

I can't afford all of that so I am thinking of going slightly lower down the ladder with a much more affordable VSX-23TXH which is still THX certified, 3 zones and full of features.

BTW
That Elemental Designs A7-900 is EPIC - only downside is that it makes your home theater look like DJ Lalo's store room.

X_Factor wrote:
dry wrote:
X_Factor wrote:imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

no doubt... it's also easier and cheaper to make a corned beef sandwich instead of going to a restaurant to get a steak and it won't cost 1/4 of it.

who said we using corned beef?..same steak, just made differently

a similar bash 500w powered amp costs under 250USD on parts express
and you have a choice of dayton, peerless, vifa, or car audio subs to choose from under 200USD and im pretty sure we have local guys with enough skill do design the enclosure entire which should cost less than 500USD for a really high quality build

u can probably build a decent HT sub set up for 1500.00 or so, with the hardest thing is getting the plate amp

with SWS cheapest sub starting at 500.00

a common mistake made in HT setups is matching speakers.
getting the sub to properly fill in what the front speakers can't and vice versa is alot different from car audio. Standing waves are a major menace to home audio setups too and alot of R&D is done by HT and home audio sub manufacturers for issues like these.

You may be able to get it right by building it, maybe.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 21st, 2009, 10:03 am

not to be a noob and ask
but what would be a better brand to get
Samsung or Sony
want a set up for a new room in the house and looking to put a ps3 on it but
32inch -46 inch
would it be better to go with a tv that hav a 60hz or spend the extra and get a 120hz?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 21st, 2009, 11:04 am

jhonnieblue wrote:not to be a noob and ask
but what would be a better brand to get
Samsung or Sony
want a set up for a new room in the house and looking to put a ps3 on it but
32inch -46 inch
would it be better to go with a tv that hav a 60hz or spend the extra and get a 120hz?

60Hz will be too slow of video games
240Hz if you into fast action games and movies

120Hz should be fine enough

Samsung > Sony for HDTV's any day

if you dont mind me asking, since its a new room you going to build, what is the size of the room?

Postby 16 cycles » December 21st, 2009, 11:15 am

^ both Samsung and Sony good but the xbr series of the Sony's have my vote.

Need to do alot of research on which model on which brand you are going to choose - reference to options / contrast ratio / frequency / warranty / price etc

Its hard enough deciding which brand....now you go to choose the model...lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 21st, 2009, 11:29 am

^ good advice WRT research
check the links I posted on the first post of this thread

Best HDTVs overall
http://reviews.cnet.com/best-high-defin ... umnArea1.0

Best LCD TV's
http://reviews.cnet.com/best-lcd-tvs/?t ... contentNav

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 21st, 2009, 11:35 am

was leaning towards the Samsung from reviews and was actually thinking of the 120hz
there is the samsung ln40b630 and the samsung ln32b650

viewing distance should be not more than 10 ft

i believe it was a 17x17 room..not too sure

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 22nd, 2009, 11:35 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:was leaning towards the Samsung from reviews and was actually thinking of the 120hz
there is the samsung ln40b630 and the samsung ln32b650

viewing distance should be not more than 10 ft

i believe it was a 17x17 room..not too sure

^ you realise that the recommended viewing distance for a TV that size is around 4 feet away :|

at 10 feet away on a 32" you may not be able to even read subtitles on the screen

[img::]http://common.ziffdavisinternet.com/util_get_image/19/0,1425,i=195316,00.jpg[/img]

Postby X_Factor » December 23rd, 2009, 12:16 am

btw, the panasonic 42" x1 is sellin for 6200(around there) in circuitzone...stupes!!
800 less than what we paid

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 23rd, 2009, 9:00 am

i dont know if this was mentioned in the thread before but heres a nifty little program to help with your room tuning

room eq wizard

http://www.hometheatershack.com/roomeq/

Room EQ Wizard is a Java application for measuring room responses and correcting modal resonances. It includes tools for generating test signals; measuring SPL; measuring frequency and impulse responses; generating spectral decay plots, waterfalls and energy-time curves; generating real time analyzer (RTA) plots; calculating reverberation times; displaying equaliser responses and automatically adjusting the settings of parametric equalisers to counter the effects of room modes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2009, 10:35 am

^ good stuff

most decent receivers now come with an SPL meter / Mic that will automatically setup your 5.1 or 7.1 system and optimize it for your room acoustics, even if you can't space speakers equally apart or in the optimal position.

take alot of the guesswork and eternal tweaking out of setting up your system

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 23rd, 2009, 8:05 pm

so i ended up changing my RB61's for the RF52's and realized my room just ran out of space,oh well. Didnt even play em yet,just admiring the craftsmanship on these things,they are really Reference quality.will try and post pic's soon.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 24th, 2009, 8:11 pm

^ the 5.1 RF52 setup or just a pair of floorstanders?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 24th, 2009, 9:03 pm

^just a pair of RF52's,doubt i'll get everything for the 5.1 setup,may just use the Quintet II's i have as surrounds,just get another Mirage Omni S8 and a RC-52 CC.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 24th, 2009, 10:39 pm

ME NEED HELP!!!

it have 3 jacks behind my TV, a red, blue and a green, so does my DVD player, i read d manual 4 d dvd player to hook it up but it not showing,., how to hook it up?

TV is a Sharp 29L-FG1L
DVD player is a Sony DVP-NS700H

Postby X_Factor » December 24th, 2009, 10:54 pm

u may need to go in the menu on the tv and select component video
press input and it should appear

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 25th, 2009, 1:05 am

Updated theater pic, new TV beyotches:

NZE guy

Postby NZE guy » December 25th, 2009, 2:02 am

Anybody using Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player :?:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 25th, 2009, 5:37 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Updated theater pic, new TV beyotches:

nice,but you sure that tv is safe on the CC speaker meng? :lol: also what floorstanders and CC are those?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 25th, 2009, 7:48 am

ru$$ell wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:Updated theater pic, new TV beyotches:

[/URL]

nice,but you sure that tv is safe on the CC speaker meng? :lol: also what floorstanders and CC are those?

Floorstanders and CC are Klipsch Reference. The TV is on the CC as well as a block behind the CC so it's quite stable and I really don't have another option I can see lol

Receiver is Rotel RSX-965, the Samson 1000W amp and eq is for the dual 16-46CS+ SVS subwoofers

The Xbox is the original, but modded ...

The planned upgrade list is:

Receiver - Pioneer Elite looks good for this : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002N4 ... d_i=507846

Xbox 360

A home theater PC - gonna custom build that, liking this case thus far:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001QX ... d_i=507846

Monitor Audio Silver speakers or maybe something from PSB ...

Postby 16 cycles » December 25th, 2009, 8:02 am

allyuh go make a fella brace christmas breakfast to gape at set-ups 8-)

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 25th, 2009, 12:27 pm

Mr. Go Slow,i figured that much that they are reference,but which ones? RB63's? RB83's?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 25th, 2009, 5:54 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Mr. Go Slow,i figured that much that they are reference,but which ones? RB63's? RB83's?

Oh sorry ... My bad ... They are Rf-3's with matching rc-3 center from (what is now) the classic reference line ... I in this ting a while now lol

I basically need more woofers for my increased room size. The Rf-3's were superb in the last room, but the new space is almost twice the size and with an opening to a bathroom.

I'm also considering that it would probably be cost effective to updrade the fronts to Rf-7's and an RC-7 and move the rc-3's to the rear .... Time will tell ...
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on December 25th, 2009, 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 25th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Oh some good deals and be found here: www.audiogon.com

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 25th, 2009, 6:21 pm

wooosaaa 8-)
Last edited by ru$$ell on February 5th, 2010, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » December 25th, 2009, 8:26 pm

^ WOW :shock:

suhweeeeeeet

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 25th, 2009, 10:00 pm

Mr. Go Slow, nice thermaltake case,my bro has one of those as well,they work great with the integrated software.i got one of these for the HT room due to restrictions on space on the shelf:

its no bigger than a analog cable box dual core Intel CPU,4GB Ram and 250gb HDD along with a bluetooth wireless keyboard and mouse,couldnt ask for anything more. Just need to set up a Media Server now

http://www.mini-itx.com/

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 25th, 2009, 11:19 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Mr. Go Slow, nice thermaltake case,my bro has one of those as well,they work great with the integrated software.i got one of these for the HT room due to restrictions on space on the shelf:

its no bigger than a analog cable box dual core Intel CPU,4GB Ram and 250gb HDD along with a bluetooth wireless keyboard and mouse,couldnt ask for anything more. Just need to set up a Media Server now

http://www.mini-itx.com/

Nice! but can it playback intense 1080p video without a hitch? I also require a digital sound out for the receiver ...

Too, you ever get a chance to compare the classic Klipsch reference to the current reference line?? Interested in the differences ... YOu got yours from the local dealer? They have any demo units?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 26th, 2009, 5:27 am

^yeah it can actually playback 1080p without any issues,then again it boils down to what player your using,i'm using PureCodec2008 which is great,has different video and audio quality settings which are noticable,once you thinker with it you'll find the best settings your happy with .It also has optical and digital out,so sending it to the receiver for processing,heck it even has ESATA and Wireless N,i stream some stuff over wireless N actually from my pc thats upstairs in my room. As for the Classic Klipsch Reference,i never heard them,but i can just imagine the noise they make with those 8" drivers. I got them from the local dealer,and they do offer demo's to your hearts content,my bro actually went 3 different times to get demo's of it before he actually made the purchase of his RF62's.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 26th, 2009, 7:20 am

ru$$ell wrote:^yeah it can actually playback 1080p without any issues,then again it boils down to what player your using,i'm using PureCodec2008 which is great,has different video and audio quality settings which are noticable,once you thinker with it you'll find the best settings your happy with .It also has optical and digital out,so sending it to the receiver for processing,heck it even has ESATA and Wireless N,i stream some stuff over wireless N actually from my pc thats upstairs in my room. As for the Classic Klipsch Reference,i never heard them,but i can just imagine the noise they make with those 8" drivers. I got them from the local dealer,and they do offer demo's to your hearts content,my bro actually went 3 different times to get demo's of it before he actually made the purchase of his RF62's.

local dealer = Monsteraudio? in maraval?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 26th, 2009, 7:33 am

^correctomundo