Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

biggy82

Re: Plant Process Operator Job

Postby biggy82 » August 22nd, 2015, 9:17 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking to come back land now, biggie link meh nah.

Me? I haven't worked in trini since 2007 :roll:

sdawkcab

Postby sdawkcab » January 16th, 2016, 8:23 am

Guys, I'm watching things unfold in TT in the energy, gas and manufacturing sectors. Mittal close down, Powergen pos closing down, and we're in a recession...operator jobs on the line.

Got we wondering if I should really dip my toe into this field. I'm still pursuing it, and won't have my diploma in my hand until at least 2-3 years from now. Would love to hear the experienced guys take on all of this, and any advice?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 16th, 2016, 8:55 am

operator jobs are critical staff....for us to lose our jobs the plants need to shut down...unless there is extra operators per shift (most cases not) then you will see a reduction...u gee dem fire and have a sideline job and u okish...

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2016, 6:59 pm

Heard a big employer in pt Lisa's gearsing up to retrenchment about a hundred workers come Monday

jhonnieblue

Plant Process Operator Job

Postby jhonnieblue » March 4th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Hmm

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by jhonnieblue on March 7th, 2016, 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 4th, 2016, 11:09 pm

C3H6N6

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » March 4th, 2016, 11:20 pm

Curtms wrote:C3H6N6

The meeting was today. Waiting on d outcome.

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2016, 12:47 am

The German invasion

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 5th, 2016, 12:59 am

Prowoman

trinihub

Postby trinihub » March 5th, 2016, 6:21 pm

C3h6n6 2 may never restart anytime soon if this is the case

Postby Mark! » March 5th, 2016, 6:24 pm

nos_specialist wrote:operator jobs are critical staff....for us to lose our jobs the plants need to shut down...unless there is extra operators per shift (most cases not) then you will see a reduction...u gee dem fire and have a sideline job and u okish...

ent u said u in pap. all ollur plants always down.. :drinking:

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2016, 9:51 pm

Apparently , its official people getting cut, coming days the specific people will be decided upon and noticed. No more c3h6n6, so they will be overstaffed.
Great way to instill 'dedication'

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 6th, 2016, 12:55 am

Hard luck...
1457240096793.jpg

trinihub

Postby trinihub » March 6th, 2016, 2:39 am

sMASH wrote:Apparently , its official people getting cut, coming days the specific people will be decided upon and noticed. No more c3h6n6, so they will be overstaffed.
Great way to instill 'dedication'

Both plants or just plant 2?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 6th, 2016, 2:43 am

Across ALL divisions!

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2016, 11:17 am

Yuh know ting grim when IPSL start tuh leggo people.

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2016, 11:58 am

Lf: job.

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2016, 1:03 am

Update: apparently is only the same plant is being mudballed,,, even though its products command a high price.
The workers being absorbed into the remaining plants. Therefore technically and officially, and more importantly, legally they would be overstaffed.
Retrenchment is valid at this point, but not for the workers at the mudballed plant. They say attendance, performance assessments,,, what ever going to be used to select workers for retrenchment.
Lil Wayne would call that streamlining to the company minded workforce.
But but, the products have a high selling price.
Hold backs: gas shortage and plant equipment missing.

So plant mudballed
Guess what, gas will be available by next year, parts would be as well. The workforce still there.
So, use the legal opportunity to get rid of troublemakers, rabble rousers. Then change mind and start back up the plant, by pulling back all the workers, and getting new trainees, well indoctrinated.

I call that check and mate.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 7th, 2016, 1:32 am

^^^You mean "mothballed".

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2016, 2:21 am

Possibly... point taken regardless, I hope.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » March 7th, 2016, 2:38 am

They will use the opportunity to get rid of the ones they don't like. The Germ@ns have been keeping a close eye on all employees for quite some time now and it is rumored that the "cut list" was generated even before the buy out

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 7th, 2016, 12:17 pm

They gonna bust them union type people, ent smash 8-)

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » March 7th, 2016, 12:27 pm

Sometimes it's good to be a contractor. Seeing alot of company operators going home but because we are paid a fraction of the company guys we are being kept. Lost alot of good fellas I know due to job cuts and many other fellas quaking in there boots as to whether they are going home or not. Offshore operations are getting tougher and tougher. From one week on and one week off to two weeks on and two weeks off and very soon is three weeks on and three weeks off. But I am thankful that I have a job at the end of the day.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2016, 1:21 pm

trinidrift wrote:Sometimes it's good to be a contractor. Seeing alot of company operators going home but because we are paid a fraction of the company guys we are being kept. Lost alot of good fellas I know due to job cuts and many other fellas quaking in there boots as to whether they are going home or not. Offshore operations are getting tougher and tougher. From one week on and one week off to two weeks on and two weeks off and very soon is three weeks on and three weeks off. But I am thankful that I have a job at the end of the day.

Total Bullchit, u thankfull u have job while getting ripped off?

You are not paid a faction bro, normally if your contactor is paying you $30 an hour then they are charging the company around $120 per hour for you. Your just a tool and nothing else.

It's only a matter of time before some serious safety mishap happens.

Then again employment practice in Trini in primitive and Unions do jack chit while they are brought out by companies.

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2016, 8:14 pm

Curtms wrote:They gonna bust them union type people, ent smash 8-)

Rabble have to roll out!!

Over the course of the week letters will be distributed.

I find it real dumb to wake up early, bathe, fite up in traffic, and reach to work, just to get sent back home. They could send the text message to pass and collect the belongings as soon as is convenient.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2016, 8:42 pm

Hope workers learn theres no loyalty working for ur employer. At the end of the day ur just a tool.

Always look for other jobs and keep moving on, it's the fastest way to a bigger paycheck

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2016, 9:09 pm

They don't

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2016, 11:38 am

sMASH wrote:They don't

That's one of the problems with the Trin workforce they become complacent and believe in their employers propaganda.

Employers use all sorts of mind games and the economy to their advantage to keep workers down. Forget about unions they are total waste.

But then again what type of workers do we have in Trin, so there are two sides to every story.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 8th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Hmmm the bearded one is right... looks like a political purge when the first three employees to walk are hr managers. And we all know how much the shot caller is fond of operations.... word from a bird.. seniors better lookout.. as process engineers who have been idle may be offered those positions instead. But rite now just hold on for the ride folks....

Oh ps alyu kno to b a garbage collector requires experience??? alternatives slim to nil atm

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2016, 4:28 pm

Ye management wave is sweeping through the lands, and felling people with its palgue as we speak.