Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

Anton

Re: WTK: Who have Greendot Digital TV Service

Postby Anton » January 3rd, 2011, 12:39 pm

How do you remove channels from your guide?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » January 3rd, 2011, 1:46 pm

how is the service when its cloudy or rainy?
who in ptown can advise?

xtech

Postby xtech » January 3rd, 2011, 2:25 pm

gundelero wrote:how is the service when its cloudy or rainy?
who in ptown can advise?

not affected by rain, yuh distance from the transmitter is more likely to be a problem.
so unless u in a valley or cinco is yuh neigbour yuh safe

cinco wrote:my microwave is on the inside wall and the dish is mounted outside the wall directly behind the microwave when i use it the TV goes crazy

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » January 3rd, 2011, 3:06 pm

Directv offers 10 HBO/Max Channels for $73.00 & GD is offering 4 channels for $55.00 :?

sigh...are there any penalties for breaking the year in advance contract?

Postby M_2NR » January 3rd, 2011, 5:03 pm

LikaStick, you seriously gonna pay for movie channels? i seriously dont see the point of movie channels when there are on demand services available online. Unless people living in a deserted area with only edge/dial-up then i see a point for it.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » January 3rd, 2011, 6:02 pm

Well when your only option for internet is Green Dot as well and then they come telling me the price I paying for the past 3 years is really for 1/2 my speed and reduce my package which causes streams to stick constantly and a movie to take forever to download then yes I'll pay more for movies but i refuse to pay GD a cent more for their crappy service.... :-x

gundelero

Postby gundelero » January 3rd, 2011, 7:52 pm

man say his only option for internet is green dot yes.....

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » January 3rd, 2011, 10:21 pm

LikaStick wrote:Well when your only option for internet is Green Dot as well and then they come telling me the price I paying for the past 3 years is really for 1/2 my speed and reduce my package which causes streams to stick constantly and a movie to take forever to download then yes I'll pay more for movies but i refuse to pay GD a cent more for their crappy service.... :-x

I totally concur with the views expressed by you vis-à-vis Green dot's crappy service. Initially I took their internet service when I was doing my online studies but since that time the speed has deteriorated to the point where I would prefer to have no service at all than to wait for ages to download. I have decided to turn to Flow for internet service which is faster and cheaper when compared to Green dot's packages!

siner69

WTK: NO audio with Greendot TV,anybody else getting that to?

Postby siner69 » January 8th, 2011, 7:46 pm

I tink all of ah sudden my greendot tv stop playing audio...anybody else getting this problem?? I thought maybe was the jacks, but I try other jacks and same problem....

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2011, 8:30 pm

xtech, there is no way of getting those movie channels right? because of the nature of the service? or im wrong?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 2nd, 2011, 11:05 pm

so free month of the HBO channels done.

what about the free month of Sportsmax and Fox Soccer Plus they said we getting in Feb.?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 2nd, 2011, 11:35 pm

saw in the newspapers that Flow's monthly rate is going up......

GD better not be getting any ideas.......

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 2nd, 2011, 11:47 pm

GD has a shelf life, I predict they won't last long. I can name a lot of people who I know from class, friends, family and clients who switched to Flow and Directv. WRT internet, the motorola canopy dish we have is limited to 1MB shared between upload and download. In other words, if you have the 1MB package you could get a 0.8mbps download with a 0.2mbps upload. I could go on and on and complain about GD and their sickening customer service but trinituner have rules against this.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 3rd, 2011, 12:58 am

nah i ent going back to flow ever....cant imagine giving up gd tv to go back to flow....no way hosay......

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 3rd, 2011, 4:16 am

so after reading the first set of reviews from this thread, i decided to fack away wid flow analog and get the gd...

the quality is definetely better than flow analog....but i think it can definetely be better. their after sales service is really poor. the remote stopped working and my wife called them, explained the problem and they told her they would send someone to replace the remote....(i was out of country at the time).

So 3 weeks later i come home....no new remote as yet...they called 6 times saying they were on their way and they never showed up....so I called them.....asked to speak to a manager....told them i was severely dissatisfied and that i was on the verge of ripping the barbeque grill antennae off de roof and dropping it in their office.....she assured me i would get a replacement that same day....

needless to say i had a new remote in my hands about 2 hours later.....heheheh....i live in couva by de way

Postby turbosingh » February 3rd, 2011, 7:17 am

mitch wrote:so free month of the HBO channels done.

what about the free month of Sportsmax and Fox Soccer Plus they said we getting in Feb.?

Up till yesterday i wuz still getting HBO!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 3rd, 2011, 12:59 pm

Smeed I beleive they work with the contractors...Usually the office sends them out but you know these fellas .....always have somewhere else to go...Trini menatality.......thats what prob caused your delay..........

When i was doing my install...they promised to come before the day finished...Contractor showed up next morning......asked him why he wasnt here yesterday.....he said that he went to fix his car and begged me to not let GD office know...................

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 3rd, 2011, 11:37 pm

yea man.....they were prompt with the installation.....but i think 3 weeks to get a remote is tooooo long. buh small ting it wukkin now....and after suffering with flow analog for 3 1/2 years i jus happy to be getting a higher quality picture and less "off air" channels!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 3rd, 2011, 11:43 pm

good question......so if the remote fails......can no other universal remotes work?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 3rd, 2011, 11:58 pm

me nah know, i didn't try one - but the tech did say they were getting plenty complaints about the remotes and they were having to replace a lot of them

Postby M_2NR » February 4th, 2011, 12:08 am

maybe those that can "learn" might work. Saw a plugin one for the iPhone and i was thinking to get one since our tv remote died.

I must say great service thus far and yeh CSR is a bit... meh. i told them about the volume of channels, the level different and she was like... yeh... we know... trying to fix, no timeline... :(

Superstar2704

Postby Superstar2704 » February 20th, 2011, 7:34 pm

is it jus me or green dot tv down...i gettin no signal from all the channelsss!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Superstar2704 wrote:is it jus me or green dot tv down...i gettin no signal from all the channelsss!!!

Well its just you sorry,,,, cause its on.......all channels.....

Postby M_2NR » February 20th, 2011, 11:04 pm

it normel here. They prob cut u. Call them now. i believe its 24/7 service

Superstar2704

Postby Superstar2704 » February 20th, 2011, 11:21 pm

so i reading on the post before i see some of u all write up u getting HBO FREE(like for the month or something) ...what is that for ?? is it new Customers??

PS ...i called and getin no reply..i sent an email also.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2011, 11:29 pm

that was for xmas.....its over now.....no more freeness

Superstar2704

Postby Superstar2704 » February 20th, 2011, 11:34 pm

hmmm i still didnt even have it.that sucks..and i went by my cuz the other day and i really saw she had the hbo thing but nothing was showing on the channel

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2011, 11:44 pm

u have to do a channel search bro.......u prob missing nick as wll

Postby turbosingh » April 7th, 2011, 6:36 am

Any body got a mail from greendot containing a chip in it to be installed in the receiver box.I got one but i aint set it up yet!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 7th, 2011, 12:27 pm

nuthin yet on my end.......

there is a notice on one of the info channels........check it out....