The guitar string (thread)

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 11th, 2008, 11:22 am

Mike ,when I inherited it , it was using steel strings ( can't remember the gauge) but originally it was nylon strung. It seems that with the increased tension, its caused the brdge to pull out.

I ponging an Ovation for the time being. Guitar prices are really good in Trinidad imo.Everytime i come trini I bring a used guitar back.
My bro from BRC jsut reveived his PRS which I really can't appreciate.

Snags

Postby Snags » December 11th, 2008, 11:42 am

^Don't worry, Zack. Nick is the reason your guitar broke anyway - freaking Judas that he is! :x As for guitar prices in Trinidad, well it's okay to me that you've been using those processed canadian drugs. Marijuana is healthy for your sanity Zack, so you know.

Postby Sky » December 11th, 2008, 10:32 pm

I totally understand the modern thing> that"s why I don't like Ibanez. Looks and tone.
That Martin isn't just a Martin, its a Martin & Co. Meaning it's VERY old....before the present Martin took over. Like pre CBS strats and those old Les Pauls with the P 90's (before humbuckers were invented).
Ebay he mc and buy a house :lol:
Btw I learned an interesting fact this week about early humbuckers. They're called paf's
the acronym P.A.F. has nothing to do with the design of the pickup. Some dude invented the double coil pickup and took it to Gibson, then they went to get it patented, but the process was long ( like they do it in a T'dad gov't office) So those humbuckers had "Patent Applied For" written below them until they actually got the patent :lol: So men stated calling them paf's...
I well say PAF meant a certain type of winding or something. It just signifies an era ( In music that's more important than science imo tho)

aidan

Postby aidan » December 14th, 2008, 7:37 pm

anyone know of a old/beaten up electric or bass that for sale? want to try my hand at bringing back one and doin a refinish. lemme kno nah :D

Postby Cjruckus » December 14th, 2008, 8:00 pm

Sky wrote:I totally understand the modern thing> that"s why I don't like Ibanez. Looks and tone.
That Martin isn't just a Martin, its a Martin & Co. Meaning it's VERY old....before the present Martin took over. Like pre CBS strats and those old Les Pauls with the P 90's (before humbuckers were invented).
Ebay he mc and buy a house :lol:
Btw I learned an interesting fact this week about early humbuckers. They're called paf's
the acronym P.A.F. has nothing to do with the design of the pickup. Some dude invented the double coil pickup and took it to Gibson, then they went to get it patented, but the process was long ( like they do it in a T'dad gov't office) So those humbuckers had "Patent Applied For" written below them until they actually got the patent :lol: So men stated calling them paf's...
I well say PAF meant a certain type of winding or something. It just signifies an era ( In music that's more important than science imo tho)

Speaking of pickups... Check your PM.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 14th, 2008, 9:10 pm

fenders just don't do it for me yes. Like they say...everyone has their own preference. Plus...i'm partial to my floyd rose....no matter how fricked up they are to keep in tune. Good thing the new edge zeros don't do it as much. Gibson i will try.....their neck scale really gives a diff feel to playing. Heavy as frick tho.

I am however partial to a nice modern G&L....lol! For me PRS is a good option for me for a fixed bridge guitar.

Postby Cjruckus » December 14th, 2008, 10:03 pm

Once the Floyd Woes is set up it doesn't go out of tune.

You really cant beat the resonance a stringed through guitar has.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 15th, 2008, 3:01 pm

true.....a string thru guitar has resonance to kill for!

Say anyone else following Guitar Idol 2009?

http://www.guitaridol.tv/

Postby Sky » December 16th, 2008, 11:48 pm

Got her back from InDeForest last week. Sounded sweet through an amp he had there. Outstanding job on the fretboard. It looks like he bought a new neck and forged the Serial # :lol:
Really impressed with the work. Now to get something to plug it into :(

Snags

Postby Snags » December 17th, 2008, 1:02 am

^Nice cellphone meng 8)

Postby Sky » December 17th, 2008, 11:37 pm

Sold the cybershot to buy this lol. So hadda rock the me2..

Postby buzz » December 18th, 2008, 12:15 am

all this strat fanboyisim :x

i have the squire now in my possession

i aint gonna sell it again tho just a pickup change and see how it goes from there

c wa allyuh do :x

Postby Cjruckus » December 18th, 2008, 12:48 am

hmmmmmmmmmmmm

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 18th, 2008, 7:25 am

Sky wrote:Image

OMG!!! sweet bed sheets!!! are those IKEA?

Postby Cjruckus » December 19th, 2008, 2:23 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:
Sky wrote:Image

OMG!!! sweet bed sheets!!! are those IKEA?

look like eddie bauers if you asked me

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 31st, 2008, 10:52 am

bump.....so anyone heard of the ColdPlay/Joe Satriani lawsuit?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 31st, 2008, 10:53 am

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 31st, 2008, 10:56 am

seanf3000 but isn't that how inspiration works though? Is there anything totally new anymore?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 2nd, 2009, 10:37 am

^ You took that pic?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » January 2nd, 2009, 10:41 am

christmas aids bump

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 2nd, 2009, 10:42 am

yups.

Snags

Postby Snags » January 2nd, 2009, 11:23 am

^Nice picture Zac. I'm willing to take it all off of your hands for uhm *looks around* an empty coca cola bottle. It'll be worth millions when I become bigger than Bill Gates. Think about it.

Postby Sky » January 14th, 2009, 11:56 am

A friend got a PRS SE Singlecut and got a pup from a Paul and asked me to change it for him. While I was doing it he had to go home because it was late last night. But when I was done, OMG, the difference between the SE pup in the bridge and the new LP pup in the neck is astounding!!! I got the guitar for the night and couldn't put it down jed.
Today he's going for another Paul pup for me to change out the bridge too. Nice project, he'll have a sweet axe when we're done :mrgreen:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 14th, 2009, 2:40 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:yups.

Very well composed shot man, lovin it 8-)

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 14th, 2009, 2:42 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:yups.

Very well composed shot man, lovin it 8-)

Postby Cjruckus » January 15th, 2009, 1:01 am

I want to get some Creme DiMarzio Single Coil covers, anyone have any spare ones?

Postby buzz » January 15th, 2009, 1:06 am

EOI squire FS :(

lookin to upgrade in abt 4 mths

when times eh so hard :x

ask sky abt condition

pics comin.. inna while

Postby Cjruckus » January 15th, 2009, 1:20 am

tighten your belt.

Snags

Postby Snags » January 15th, 2009, 4:35 am

There's a rock show in jens on the 31st I believe. Supposed to be the last show that vox deus is in before the band disbands. Matthew is flying out to live, so they're gonna break up.

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2009, 2:25 pm

buzz wrote:EOI squire FS :(

lookin to upgrade in abt 4 mths

when times eh so hard :x

ask sky abt condition

pics comin.. inna while

Only thing used about this guitar is the serial number indicating when it was made. Brand new guitars in some guitar stores have more wear than this baby. When I touched this guitar my fingers started missing wrinkles and my cuticles got lighter. I think the alder tree they made this from grew next to the fountain of youth. I think hey rub lime and sal....k i'll stop now. On a serious note, I think buzz played this guitar more than the previous owner...and Buzz dislikes fenders. The condition's that good. It's pristine x mint ^2. If its the price he told me and he don't mind taking two payments I'll take it actually. I'll love it. It's a great deal guys.